Batman Beyond #27

Writer: Dan Jurgens Artist: Brett Booth, Norm Rapmund Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: January 2, 2019 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 11 User Reviews: 7
8.1Critic Rating
7.5User Rating

+ Pull List

The Clown Prince of Crime amasses his own army, and there might not be enough of Batman and Robin left to stop them. The only thing more dangerous than The Joker is a city full of weaponized Jokerz being pointed at Gotham, led by the Clown Prince himself! With his old nemesis firmly back in play, retiree Bruce Wayne becomes obsessed with bringing him down. But does he have enough in the Bat-tank? And what happens when Gotham's terrified citizens start backing The Joker's play?

  • 10
    Infinite Earths - J.D. Jr. Jan 2, 2019

    This is the Batman Beyond book we've been waiting for! Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    The Batman Universe - Bill Heuer Jan 3, 2019

    Overall, this issue was much more enjoyable compared to the last few of this arc. It captured the psychotic nature of the Joker brought into the future Gotham. Although not a lot of action nor any additional details into how the Joker is present in the future, it felt true to the characters ever-changing mood. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comic Watch - Amit Malaviya Jan 4, 2019

    Between Dan Jurgens and Brett Booth, this book is fun, and firing on all cylinders. Fans of Batman, Batman Beyond, and classic comic book storytelling should absolutely check this book out. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Forces Of Geek - Lenny Schwartz Jan 7, 2019

    Jurgens has written a crazy yet completely fun script that just works. The art and the writing mesh together incredibly well. I'm loving the world they have created. It's full of great characters and some really exciting storytelling. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Dark Knight News - Adam Ray Jan 2, 2019

    It takes a unique creative team to take a character everybody knows, completely re-frame him, yet keep him sincere. Great work. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    DC Comics News - Derek McNeil Jan 3, 2019

    Batman Beyond is still one of the most interesting of the Bat-Family of books. Part of the draw is that it is decoupled from the continuity of the main DCU, so no character is safe from being killed or having their status quo permanently affected. And with the Joker bent on reprising his triumph for A Death in the Family, Matt's future looks to be rather grim. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Charlie Ridgely Jan 2, 2019

    There isn't much story to tell with this issue, but Jurgens' writing of Joker Beyond makes it worthwhile. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    You Don't Read Comics - Russ Bickerstaff Jan 9, 2019

    Jurgens delivers a solidly satisfying bit of storytelling here that fails to live-up to its potential. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    GWW - Nick Friar Jan 1, 2019

    Now, on to the Nightwing note. When Matt McGinnis left to find his brother before confronting the Joker, Dick addressed Bruce's comment that Robin would be fine in this fight by saying, "Until he takes a crowbar to the face. Or a bullet to the head. The sad truth is that things don't end well for Robins."Unless he's done it in another series, this is the first time Dick Grayson"not Ric"has acknowledged being shot in the head. So for those who can't stand Ric Grayson and are worried their beloved Dick Grayson is lost forever, this is proof he'll be back. Maybe not as Nightwing, but certainly as Dick Grayson, at the minimum. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Geek Dad - Ray Goldfield Jan 2, 2019

    Definitely an improvement over last month's issue, but Brett Booth's stint on Batman Beyond is still not really capturing the vibe of the issues that were leading up to it. Read Full Review

  • 5.8
    Weird Science - Eric Shea Jan 2, 2019

    While the art looks great and the Joker's motivations are fun, this issue just feels really off for how all the characters act......... or fail to act in this serious situation that the story presents.  There's still some fun to be had if you don't look to closely to whats going on, but I was hoping for way more than what we're getting here.  Still though....... Great art. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More