Adam Ray's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News, DC Comics News Reviews: 36
7.7Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #1

Aug 2, 2018

Our heroes were met with the most unlikely antagonists at the end of the issue. All seems dire right here from the beginning. This has done a great job roping me and many readers to find out the comings and goings of the sons of heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #2

Sep 7, 2018

Despite really enjoying this issue, it was good, it didn't really advance the story aside from showing the sinister kids' plan and them realising it. Even so, the stakes don't feel high yet. Compared to the previous installment it's mostly just setup and exposition leading from the heroes' capture to the surprise twist at the end, which leads into the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #3

Oct 3, 2018

The storyline, though an engaging one when you think of the questions regarding the villainous kids, is dragging a little for my tastes. Yes the heroes facing the challenge of putting Superboy back together and them gaining unexpected help is a welcome change, but I need an upped sense of the stakes. I love this series so far, but I need something truly dangerous to root for or hope to avoid, and I don't know if I see one coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #4

Nov 8, 2018

The super sons don't know how dire their situation is. They're faced with the most unlikely thing possible in this haunted house. Each ending leaves us as befuddled to read on as the boys involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #41

Oct 17, 2018

A watery apocalypse is here and a desperate act might mean a sudden turn for the worse in the coming. Will Aquaman and the Justice League be up to the task?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016): Secret Files #1

Nov 1, 2018

Short stories around one character in a wider universe have a lot of freedom. You can say a lot without really risking anything, because they're not part of a wider narrative. The many talents that contributed to this issue were able to ask brave questions and I respect that effort in this collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #1

Sep 27, 2018

The shock and angry vowel reaction of issue 23 is hard to top, but the quality of the action in this issue certainly puts it up to match, pairing it with Conrad's perfect recreation of the future Gotham look and action he puts to page, makes this issue an exciting read. When you consider the tease for the 25th special issue, dropping soon, it certainly makes many want to read on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #23

Aug 23, 2018

I think any ending that can make me shout incoherent, angry vowels at a comic's page, is a pretty strong one. Curse you Dan Jurgens, why must you play with my emotions like this? The situation looks so bleak. The trust of steadfast allies means nothing to the powers of this Scarecrow. All seems dire and I have to know how Batman gets out of this one, if at all!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #24

Sep 27, 2018

The shock and angry vowel reaction of issue 23 is hard to top, but the quality of the action in this issue certainly puts it up to match, pairing it with Conrad's perfect recreation of the future Gotham look and action he puts to page, makes this issue an exciting read. When you consider the tease for the 25th special issue, dropping soon, it certainly makes many want to read on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #25

Oct 24, 2018

Why is he here? What does he want? Why does he have to be wearing that shirt? You'll understand when you read the issue, and shout angry vowels at the air, as Jurgens leaves us hanging. Again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Damned #1

Sep 20, 2018

The simplest way I can describe my take away from this story is that this is the single strongest comic, from any publisher, about any character, I have read this year. It is deeply remarkable and will be remembered in the conversation of one of the greatest Batman stories ever told. And it's barely started.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Catwoman (2018) #1

Jul 5, 2018

The next step in the story could lead us anywhere, and that's the kind of excitement a new team on a new title should leave us with.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2018) #2

Aug 9, 2018

Lots of competing powers are up in the air right now. We found out why whoever brought these copycats together did so and we hear about troubling changes in Catwoman's world. All the while we see Selina, sad and alone after her departure in Batman #50. I'm excited to read where the story goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2018) #3

Sep 13, 2018

Catwoman's reasons for being in town are a sudden but shocking surprise. As we continue, I'm starting to wonder if Mrs Creel has any measurable, sinister plan other than corrupting people and politics. What I'm interested most in seeing is how Selina herself will respond to the changing world she's in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman (2018) #4

Oct 11, 2018

Jones ropes us back into the invested storyline right at the end. Threatening the very thing that's keeping Catwoman invested in this place would make her capable of anything. This may be the moment that really triggers all the true action of the series, which I'm grateful to see, but was eager to see sooner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2018) #5

Nov 14, 2018

Jolle Jones and Laura Allred are really doing some terrific work. This is the issue I have been waiting for in this series.Tensions are mounting and we see Catwoman in a situation that leaves her vulnerable. I'm really looking forward toThe Big Showdown.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Beach Blanket Bad Guys Summer Special #1

Jul 27, 2018

It's hot out. It's very easy to get sluggish and sticky in this weather. Find somewhere cool, kick back, and let your mind expand in some harmless fun. Well, until the Owl Man story on Earth 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Looney Tunes: Catwoman/Tweety and Sylvester #1

Sep 6, 2018

The battles heroes and villains get themselves into are grand, and hold the fate of the universe in the balance. We root for them, and hope that reality doesn't crumble around them. It can all get very serious. So, if a talking cat or canary tell you they'vethe fate of cat and bird kind is at stake, it still counts as a grand battle, but just light enough to help fans like us breathe between apocalypses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #33

Jul 5, 2018

The issue ends with Slade figuring something out. The whole series has had these two at each other's throats thinking as to who could organise something like this. Slade may have figured it out, making the penultimate issue one where we get our answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League: No Justice #1

May 10, 2018

Looking ahead, Scott Snyder and company have drawn together lots of powerful players in all-new combinations. Only the coming issues will show how these teams work together. I'm curious and excited to see what happens next. What do you think? Be sure to let us know.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: No Justice #2

May 17, 2018

The outcome of their mission have left the teams reeling, and with Amanda Waller interfering in all sorts of business back on Earth, digging up something ancient and dangerous in the snow, we're all left wondering what will happen next. I can't help think about what Supergirl saw at the end of DC Nation #0. Those beings are coming, and I'm downright giddy to see how these unlikely teams handle it in future issues of No Justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League: No Justice #3

May 24, 2018

With the situation looking the most dire heading into the final chapter, I'm eager to see how it could all end peacefully. Ancient powers sitting on the edge, ready to destroy everything with the heroes set adrift. I've not been this excited for a conclusion in a very long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League: No Justice #4

May 31, 2018

No Justice was a roller coaster from start to finish. It gave the same classic experience of the stuff I read when I first started reading as a child, mixed with today's grandiose storytelling. The perks of being raised on comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League: Odyssey #1

Sep 27, 2018

Being called out to deep space at the request of a dark power to answer an age old prophecy is very much in the day's work of Justice League members. The action and intrigue is there from issue one of this long awaited series and it can go many different directions in Williamson's capable hands, made real with Sejic's attractive cosmic backdrops.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League: Odyssey #2

Oct 24, 2018

With what feels like a very dark ending to the issue, we're all left bemused by the mystery. It's too early into the series to receive any real answers, but I feel that the mystery isn't what we're meant to focus on. Maybe we should see how this team tackles the troubles they find in deep space, and wonder about their shared fate later.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #24

Jul 12, 2018

Issue 23 was a somber look into an important character's past. We learned a lot about Jason. Here, we see him act on it in truly shocking ways. Ways that warrant an intervention from someone very important. It makes reading issue 25 all the more exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #25

Aug 10, 2018

Jason Todd is beaten and broken, successful from getting his revenge, and on the run. His allies are indisposed, and Batman is coming. All seems dire for DC's morally dubious hero and anything could happen in their annual edition in three weeks time!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #26

Sep 13, 2018

The two distinct action scenes in the issue both show Jason as a silent master, but also as a real intimidating presence. The training he received from Batman shines through when criminals see him too late, or when he's emerging from the shadows. All the while, he shows the cocky side we all know and love, like plugging his ears over his hood before the big explosion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #27

Oct 11, 2018

With the emotional weight of what has happened, Jason can go on investigating the criminal underworld. It takes a character driven vision like this to really bring that kind of news home and remind us that masked heroes are people, and can feel deep loss just like we do.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #27

Oct 11, 2018

With the emotional weight of what had happened, Jason can go on investigating the criminal underworld. It takes a character driven vision like this to really bring that kind of news home and remind us that masked heroes are people, and people can feel remarkable loss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #28

Nov 14, 2018

With the new/old ally, I feel that Jason is better equipped than ever for dealing with the "Underlife." As long as the dynamic artwork and quick action draws us in again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #2

Aug 30, 2018

This annual has done a great job of progressing the main title's story while being open enough for anyone to fall in, know learn what's just happened in the continuity, and want to get the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #2

Aug 30, 2018

This annual has done a great job of progressing the main title's story while being open enough for anyone to fall in, know learn what's just happened in the continuity, and want to get the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Supergirl (2016) #24

Nov 16, 2018

VerdictThis is a great extension of the current storyline. It's more of a pit stop than an important junction, or new turning. We can see all the complications and divergences that could lead the story further. The arc can go anywhere from here, making issues like this exciting points for readers like us to see the possibilities.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Brave and the Bold #5

Jun 22, 2018

Everything about this series screams unique and flavorful. This issue leaves the action starting to boil, and this reviewer ready for an epic conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Brave and the Bold #6

Jul 19, 2018

Lovers of both comic book and fantasy genres were given an absolute treat in this series. Batman solving a mystery and foiling an escape in the realm of the faerie is an event, and it's sad when it's over… If it's over. The ending is left wildly open. Four words left by Mister Sharp are there to excite all manner of collectors. Watch this space.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More