Nick Friar's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 163
8.1Avg. Review Rating

6.5
Assassin Nation #1

Mar 13, 2019

If you like over the top satire with a touch of violence, this series might be for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Assassin's Creed: Conspiracies #1

Aug 7, 2018

And if you give this issue a read, you'll definitely be back for Assassin's Creed: Conspiracies #2. Because Dorison can take this in two directions and it's 50/50 where he goes with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016): Secret Files #1

Oct 30, 2018

Looking at the entire issue as a whole: I really like the idea, and everything was well executed. Some stories were superior to others, but it was an all-around fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #25

Oct 24, 2018

Batman Beyond has been going strong for a while, but it really has a chance to turn a corner with the Joker coming into play. Very excited to see what Jurgens has in store next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #26

Nov 27, 2018

And maybe this all has an effect on Bruce's stance on anyone being Batman. By helping Terry do what he does he's putting another young man's life in danger. As much as Terry can handle it and is capable of making his own choices, the guilt may become too much for Bruce.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman Beyond (2016) #27

Jan 1, 2019

Now, on to the Nightwing note. When Matt McGinnis left to find his brother before confronting the Joker, Dick addressed Bruce's comment that Robin would be fine in this fight by saying, "Until he takes a crowbar to the face. Or a bullet to the head. The sad truth is that things don't end well for Robins."Unless he's done it in another series, this is the first time Dick Grayson"not Ric"has acknowledged being shot in the head. So for those who can't stand Ric Grayson and are worried their beloved Dick Grayson is lost forever, this is proof he'll be back. Maybe not as Nightwing, but certainly as Dick Grayson, at the minimum.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #28

Jan 30, 2019

Plus we get some pissed off Dick (not Ric) Grayson. He's not exactly a fan of the Robin program and putting kids in danger like Bruce does. And how about Bruce's line when Grayson questions him about Matt McGinnis, the new Robin? "He'll be fine. Hehasto." He "has" to? Tell that to Jason Todd or pretty much every other Robin through the years, Bruce. It's comments like those that make you wonder how he's survived this long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #29

Feb 27, 2019

Both Pasqual Fery and Dave McCaig's main cover and Shawn Martinbrough and Andre Szymanowicz's variant cover are great this issue. The main cover is heavy. Really leads you to believe things are going in a certain direction. The variant has a futuristic feel that comes with Batman Beyond.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #30

Mar 27, 2019

Batman Beyond #30 ends with a familiar face stick her nose where she shouldn't, teasing the idea that another character could return, again. Hopefully, Jurgens doesn't walk down that path too soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman Beyond (2016) #31

Apr 24, 2019

Terry finds himself up against a unique villain in Splitt. He's actually two people in one. When morphed together, Splitt's helmet looks just like Deathstroke. (I thought it was Slade Wilson or something like a "Deathstroke Beyond.") But these two are definitely not Deathstroke, but still dangerous. Their weakness seems tough to exploit, though doable based on their difference in personality. But Terry has one other major issue to deal with before figuring out how to stop this twosome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #32

May 22, 2019

Which brings things to the last point: we're dealing with False Face while Bruce is stuck at Arkham Asylum. We haven't seen Bruce's face in the prison yet, but Dan Jurgens made it fairly clear as to what's going on. While the stuff with Splitt has been good, A Bruce Wayne-False Face switcheroo has the making of an intense chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman Beyond (2016) #33

Jun 26, 2019

And now False Face has taken on a new form. I wonder if the effects of his powers will wear off of the real Bruce now that he's not the one being impersonated anymore. Seems like the only way for Melanie and Matt can get out of this mess unscathed " though the former has done a good job taking charge throughout this mess.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman Beyond (2016) #34

Jul 24, 2019

Next issue should be a good one with Splitt and fake-Batman teaming up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman Beyond (2016) #35

Aug 28, 2019

Last thing: Chris Stevens and Sunny Gho's variant cover was great. Best Batman Beyond cover in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #36

Sep 25, 2019

Regarding Splitt, it looks he's got some other powers now? Or at least one of the brothers does. Poor guys can't catch a damn break.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #1

Apr 30, 2019

It's still just the first issue, but Batman/TMNT III is already showing the potential to be the best chapter in this recurring mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #2

Jun 5, 2019

Batman/TMNT III #2 clears up a lot of the questions from the first issue. Though, Tynion just gave us a new set of things to think about for another month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #3

Jul 2, 2019

It's a twist I particularly enjoyed and am excited to see unfold further. Because now that Oroku Saki is in the mix, more characters should come to the forefront.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #4

Aug 7, 2019

Lastly, Shredder is already getting short with Batman and the Turtles. Something says he's going to get into a scrap with them once Joker and Krang have been put in their place.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #5

Sep 3, 2019

Lastly " and I have to hit on this because I review Red Hood, too " I'm not certain if Freddie E. Williams strictly kept to red Hood's new look or did a combo of his classic look and the new one. Because when the Bat Family shows up, it looks like Jason Todd is wearing the old Red Hood mask. But then on the final page, the shadows make it hard to tell which mask he's wearing. Either way, I like how Williams draws Red Hood. Though I will say, personally, I hope he's rocking the old helmet with the new outfit. Seems like an awesome combo.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III #6

Oct 1, 2019

Batman TMNT III #6 was a great ending to an all-around fun series. Yes, there is an overarching theme to the miniseries, like anything else. But it's still a light message and doesn't consume the entire story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #1

Jul 24, 2019

Much like Batman: White Knight was, this is a must-read for all comic book fans, not just those who love Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #2

Aug 27, 2019

Because it's impossible to know what's coming next with Sean Murphy running the show.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #3

Sep 25, 2019

Lastly, The main cover is great, but the "Gordon smoking" variant is pinnacle Sean Murphy artwork. True grit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Curse of the White Knight #4

Oct 25, 2019

Not only that, Batman left Barbara hanging out to dry once he disarmed her. Azrael could've done much worse damage than he did. Now, it looks like he broke or dislocated Batgirl's arm. If he broke her back, I don't know how Barbara ever forgives Batman. Because that's entirely on him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #1

Aug 21, 2018

Basically, the good doctor needs to get over herself and focus on her job. I understand it's not exactly easy dealing with the Joker, but I'm pretty sure he's going to be his crazy self no matter what.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #2

Sep 25, 2018

And that's where I was most confused. Based on what happened, I thought Batman might have been dreaming after being knocked out by Scarecrow and was his captive at Arkham the entire time. Because how the hell DID Batman get on the roof? Then I realized: the roof is in the city. The background clearly shows they're not at Arkham.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #3

Oct 24, 2018

This is a great issue to show off Scarecrow for the outstanding villain he is. Batman is putty in his hands the entire time. That probably won't change next issue since he's one of the few villains " may be the only one " who can take away Batman's greatest weapon: his mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #4

Nov 27, 2018

Scott Peterson has done an exceptional job with this story and it's pacing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #5

Dec 18, 2018

Batman Kings of Fear #5 ends with Batman injecting himself with something. It might be more scarecrow juice, maybe something else? It's hard to tell what, making it impossible to figure out exactly how this mini-series will wrap up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #6

Jan 9, 2019

Peterson did very well with Scarecrow in this series. He forced Batman into this insane soul-searching experience that any reasonable person in his position could believe. (Maybe not the part about all the villains being great people, but certainly the part about Gotham thriving.) He's such a dangerous character and can easily be underwritten, but Peterson certainly didn't do that, which made this series a good a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Last Knight on Earth #1

May 28, 2019

This series has the makings of a must-read for any DC Comics fan, not just Batman fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Last Knight on Earth #2

Jul 30, 2019

All that's left is the answer to "who is Omega?" Has to be a member of the Bat-Family. Jason Todd and Damian Wayne would probably be the favorites if Vegas put out odds. But wouldn't it be something if Scott Snyder went with someone out of left field?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman: Universe #1

Jul 9, 2019

Not a must-read, but a fun one if you're looking for something different and can't get caught up in the other, heavier Batman miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #1

Oct 25, 2018

I'm not quite sure how Deadpool walks away from this fight successfully. I honestly expect this ends with him being a head in a jar, left alone in a closet for all eternity. Meanwhile Black Panther, yet again, saves the day and finds the cure for cancer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #2

Nov 30, 2018

Before any of that happens, though, he and Black Panther have to team-up against Jack O'Lantern. Though I don't know why they need to team-up to take him down, he's not exactly Thanos.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #3

Dec 22, 2018

So he's got the weight of the world on his shoulders, while Deadpoolis getting his arm back and, per usual, not thinking straight. There's no wayhe thought Black Panther would be OK with him killing Jack O'Lantern. He musthave known that'd send him over the edge. His actions point to the contrary,but not even Wade Wilson could be that dumb, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Rising Spirit #1

Nov 13, 2018

In Bloodshot Spirit Rising #1 this was the third time Project Rising Spirit tried to implant a fake memory. Not sure how they fix things from here, but I cannot wait to see where Bloodshot Rising Spirit goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Cable/Deadpool Annual #1

Aug 17, 2018

Last thing: when you go to the very last page of the story, take a second to soak in the very last panel. I believe Paco Diaz drew that one. It is SCARY how much Cable looks like Josh Brolin in that picture.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Superman/Top Cat #1

Oct 30, 2018

DiDio had one of the better pairings in the Hanna-Barbera " DC crossovers. Top Cat is conning everyone he can, per usual, and is paired with pretty much his opposite. I wouldn't mind seeing them work together again. They keep it fairly light, as it should be with Hanna-Barbera cartoons.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2018) #4

Sep 6, 2018

Though, if my king murdered one of my fellow soldiers for seemingly no apparent reason, I guess I'd be upset, too. Pretty sure that's how Game of Thrones started.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Deadpool (2018) #5

Oct 8, 2018

Seriously though, an OK issue, by no means a must-read though.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool (2018) #6

Nov 8, 2018

Lastly, I like Scott Hepburn's style. It works well for Deadpool and his wackiness. But does Deadpool need to squint ever second he has his mask on? It's a small change, but one I would appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deadpool (2018) #7

Dec 9, 2018

So I'm glad Deadpool didn't pull the trigger and actually solved the problem. This goes to show "shoot first, ask questions later" isn't always the answer. Hopefully, everyone caught that very important message.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2018) #8

Jan 7, 2019

Hopefully, Young doesn't cut things short on this Zaggy v. Deadpool battle, because as mockable as it is, I would love to see how Wade roasts this hog.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool: Assassin #5

Aug 15, 2018

Mark Bagley did a great job with the art. Big fan of the detail in Deadpool's fight scenes. I also think he and the color artists, Edgar Delgado and Dono Sanchez-Almara, did an exceptional job with Threnody's major moments in the fight with the Assassins Guild's henchmen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool: Assassin #6

Aug 30, 2018

Odd way to end the story. Not sure if that's "prime" Deadpool, or not, but either way it didn't sit all that well with me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Deathstroke (2016) #34

Jul 31, 2018

Never thought I'd say this, even with a Priest story, but I think I'm taking the verbal punches between Deathstroke and Batman in this one. They just get downright frigin dirty with each other and hold nothing back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #35

Sep 4, 2018

I'd also like to point out Talia is a very bad parent. As is Deathstroke. Don't be like them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #36

Oct 3, 2018

Priest also made a random addition to the story, an Arkham patient name Devon. I'm not certain how important he'll become. Though, he and Slade were abducted together when they escaped Arkham. Regardless, he was pretty awesomein Deathstroke #36. He dropped a "Wakanda Forever," mid-group therapy session and had the last word on the issue, telling Deathstroke as they were abducted, "This is why you'll never get a movie." He really didn't add much outside of that, but what else did you really need from an extremely minor supporting character?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathstroke (2016) #37

Nov 6, 2018

There's no reason to believe the next issue of Deathstroke will be any less confusing, but whenever the payoff comes it'll be worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #38

Dec 4, 2018

One thing that was odd about the final image, aside from the doctor wrapping her arms around Strange, Two-Face was somehow in the image. I'm not sure if that was an accident or deliberate. If it's an accident, how does that happen? If it's deliberate, I'm very much confused.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deathstroke (2016) #39

Jan 9, 2019

The Deathstroke artwork continues to be among the best in DC. Hats off to Carlo Pagulauan & Fernando Pasarin. Also, another stunning cover from Tyler Kirkham.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #40

Feb 6, 2019

The last thing of note was Death Masque trying to be a knock-off Deadpool, who's a knock-off Deathstroke. It was a fun, little idea by Priest. Death Masque's best line was, "it would be freaking ironic if they sued us." (He was referring to Marvel, of course.) It was a nice way to end the character from a wild arch in the story of Deathstroke.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathstroke (2016) #42

Apr 3, 2019

Last thing that shouldn't be lost in this: Black Mask is still an idiot. Did anyone else think for one second Deathstroke would help the other prisoners escape? Suicidal or not, that was never happening.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #43

Apr 30, 2019

On the other hand: he got shot in the eye with an arrow by a world-class marksman. Even for Deathstroke, that has to be hard to bounce back from. Plus, Priest teased Deathstroke #44 as "Funeral for a Friend." That can't be good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deathstroke (2016) #44

Jun 5, 2019

Also, Jericho's interactions with the Legion of Doom and his emotional state lead me to believe he'll join them and somewhere along the way, Rose (and hopefully Slade) will have to intervene.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathstroke (2016) #45

Jul 2, 2019

But now, thanks to Shado, it looks like Rose is going to go bananas on the Teen Titans, Red Arrow in particular. I wonder how Jericho will factor into it all, given the proposition a certain evil mastermind threw his way. Based on Jericho's current mental state, it seems likely he takes advantage of the offer. For what purpose though " good or evil " is hard to tell at this juncture.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Deathstroke (2016) #46

Aug 7, 2019

And it looks like Rose got some new Deathstroke gear. That's, of course, assuming that's her on the last page of Deathstroke #46. The dual swords look sick. The whole outfit does. Hopefully we get more from her in next issue. Though it seems likely Deathstroke #47 will still be Jericho-heavy, given what we saw him do to Rose and his lover, Terrence. (No to mention what we saw on Ed Benes, Richard Friend and Dinei Ribeiro's cover.)

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #47

Sep 3, 2019

Lastly, I like the new outfit. I don't love it like I did the Ikon suit, but it's cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #48

Oct 1, 2019

Deathstroke is on track and back to being the best ongoing series DC has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #49

Nov 6, 2019

Can't wait to see how he concludes Slade Wilson's story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Domino (2018) #6

Sep 13, 2018

Excited to see what Domino does next, now that she has her mojo back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Domino (2018) #7

Oct 12, 2018

Domino #7 is a great start to the new Domino story. Seems like there's a lot of potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Domino (2018) #8

Nov 19, 2018

Gail Simone's story continues to go in different directions, but I love how this band of three still finds a way to keep it light at all times. Domino keeps getting better and better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Domino (2018) #9

Dec 22, 2018

They've got their hands full with Longshot now, who's apparently lost a lot of weight, or bone density?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Domino (2018) #10

Jan 14, 2019

The only real issue with Domino #10 is there are too many artists involved in this. Artist changes happen all the time, that's understandable; obviously, business decisions have to be made"even when though some of them aren't good. But was it absolutely necessary to bring in three artists in addition to David Baldeon?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Domino (2018) Annual #1

Sep 28, 2018

I'd like to see them do more with this issue and Domino down the road. Again, it's being subtle about a larger topic that can afford to be mixed in when the majority of comic book characters are jacked.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Excalibur (2019) #1

Oct 30, 2019

Howard and To are off to a strong start. Based on the start to the series, Excalibur will appeal to Psylocke, Rogue and Gambit fans, particularly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #45

Oct 3, 2018

One side note: no-show out of Jason Todd. Wouldn't have minded if he made an appearance and clocked Green Arrow one time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #46

Nov 6, 2018

Lastly, German Peralta did a great job with the artwork this issue. Probably my favorite art from an issue of Green Arrow in at least 15 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #47

Dec 4, 2018

Green Arrow #47 saw an end to quite a few things, with the trial ending recently and the ninth circle stuff seemingly in the rearview. Oliver has a lot to deal with in the aftermath, but things could go anywhere from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #48

Jan 9, 2019

In fact, you could argue she's passed up Oliver as the best character in the series. The way she saved Oliver from Citizen was quite impressive"and very cool"and seeing her catch Green Arrow is always a sight.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #49

Feb 6, 2019

It's a shame two awesome characters, Arrow and Black Canary, won't have more time together. They really do work well off one another. But at least we'll get what looks to be an unforgettable matchup coming up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hardcore (2018) #1

Dec 18, 2018

And it really is a mano-a-mano showdown, since Pierce killed everyone in the Hardcore Program and Markus killed her because of one mistake"at least, that's what we're led to believe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hardcore (2018) #2

Jan 22, 2019

Furthermore, the biggest obstacle for Drake won't be Lupe or Vasquez's men hunting him. Markus and his cronies are priority number one. But they can see every move he makes in Esteban's body because of the Hardcore tech. It seems like an impossible feat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hardcore (2018) #3

Feb 26, 2019

One thing Diggle has also done well, each issue has had the perfect cliffhanger. Hardcore #3 is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hardcore (2018) #4

Mar 26, 2019

The story comes to an end with Hardcore #5 due to come out at the end of April. Diggle can go whichever direction he wants with this. Although Drake has potential, there's no reason to keep him alive " which should make for a wild ride in the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hardcore (2018) #5

Apr 24, 2019

Again, Diggle provides an open ending to the story. Not only can there be more Hardcore Program stories, both Drake and Markus survived the final altercation. There's a chance now for two Hardcore Program to be developed " if the government still has Markus' blueprints and the series' villain creates a new one for himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mr. and Mrs. X #2

Aug 23, 2018

Another outstanding job by Thompson in this issue. She has a firm grasp on this relationship and seems to really understand them as individuals, too. She also elected to not have Deadpool talk to the audience at all. I like that call. This isn't about him. Deadpool is there to add to the story, not take over (though I guess he did kind of take over this whole review).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mr. and Mrs. X #3

Sep 21, 2018

Thompson has done well with Deadpool as a secondary character, but that's nothing when compared to what she continues to do with Rogue and Gambit. She just gets them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mr. and Mrs. X #4

Oct 18, 2018

Their art just isn't my cup of tea, that's all. Certainly not enough to turn me away from the stories in characters, but definitely not enhancing my experience. If Thompson continues with Mr. & Mrs. X, or whatever the title turns into next, I wouldn't mind if someone else handled the artwork going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mr. and Mrs. X #6

Dec 17, 2018

Mr. & Mrs. X #6 might be Kelly Thompson's most impressive issue of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mr. and Mrs. X #7

Jan 6, 2019

But between the timing, Mojo's reaction and the instability with Rogue, this move yet another brilliant one by Thompson.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #49

Sep 18, 2018

Nightwing #49 has a great tempo. The whole racing theme may have played a part in it, but I really think it has to with Percy writing Nightwing the perfect amount of internal monologue. Sometimes Nightwing can talk to himself just a tad too much. The next issue will probably go in the opposite direction with the situation only becoming more complex.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #50

Oct 3, 2018

I'm not saying this is 100 percent the Dick Grayson/Nightwing I want now and forever, but this might be a nice change of pace. Even if it only lasts four or five issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #51

Oct 16, 2018

Lastly, looks like a Bldhaven cop, Detective Sapienza, is taking over the mantle of Nightwing Looks very similar to Nightwing, especially with the mask on. Not sure how everyone's going to receive the gun though. I give him three issues, max.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #52

Nov 6, 2018

Also, really loved Chris Mooneyham and Nick Filardi's cover and artwork this issue. My favorite image, even more than the cover, was the very first page where Grayson is watching the ambulance scene at Melville Section in Bldhaven. Very gritty and un-Dick Grayson-like.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #53

Nov 21, 2018

He's in big trouble, too. Bea might be for that matter, too. Because it looks like Scarecrow is back, and the foreshadowing in Nightwing #50 insinuates he's hunting Nightwing. Though Ric might be able to avoid the fight if he chooses to, something says he won't in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #54

Dec 4, 2018

Ric will become something more, soon. What exactly that is, is too hard to tell right now. But he won't stand on the sidelines while people are in danger because of him (or that loser, Dick).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #55

Dec 18, 2018

When Ric does step in, if he's not wearing any Nightwing garb"and he probably won't be"Crane will finally put two and two together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #56

Jan 9, 2019

All in all, it's good to see some level of promise from Ric as a crime fighter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #57

Feb 20, 2019

Lastly, looks like the Joker's Daughter is back in the fold. She has to be one of the more disturbing characters in DC's roster. How in any way could it make sense to anyone to wear a dead person's face as a mask? Who cares if it's your "dad?" You have to be a different kind of crazy to think that's OK in any capacity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #58

Mar 19, 2019

Nightwing #58 ends with Ric picking up Barbara Gordon on her way to the airport. The conversation they have and Ric's facial expressions giving the feeling there's something more to what's said. That at the teaser for the next issue being "Old Flames" could have multiple meanings.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightwing (2016) #60

May 14, 2019

Now, when it comes to his potential battle with Sapienza, this has a ton of promise. It could divide the group and lead to some serious down and dirty hand-to-hand fights. Ric will win, but it should still make for a wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #62

Jul 16, 2019

Lastly, it looks like the Nightwings have put the "Is the Cabbie good or bad" conversation to bed, which is a little disappointing. Like Ric pointed out, it takes four people to do the job of the real Nightwing. Wouldn't it be fun to see those four people take on the real Nightwing?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightwing (2016) #63

Aug 20, 2019

Looking ahead to Nightwing #64, if Talon seriously harms Be a, I wonder what direction Dan Jurgens will take with Ric.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #64

Sep 17, 2019

She expressed how she's supposed to take care of Zak because he's her younger brother. Maybe the combination of that belief and the fact she essentially ignored his warnings are what led to this outburst.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #65

Oct 16, 2019

Looking at the larger picture, if at the end of this whole experience Ric becomes Dick again, I think it will all have been worth it. It's been a frustrating experience, no question. But it'll be something that helps shape Nightwing going forward. Also, it'll serve as another example of Dick Grayson's ability to persevere in the toughest of times.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) Annual #1

Aug 28, 2018

Also, I don't care about the talk they had in Batgirl #25. These two make as much sense together as anyone else.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) Annual #2

Oct 29, 2019

DC took a huge risk by changing Ric so much, and it's not been well received. Now that we all know he's been corrupted and twisted as part of a bigger plan, this story is far less frustrating.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
No One Left To Fight #1

Jun 18, 2019

There are other things at play in No One Left to Fight #1 " including some sweet action " the will bring you back for more in the next issue of this promising series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
No One Left To Fight #2

Aug 7, 2019

Lastly, I feel for Winda. I respect how she's put herself out there, but it's never going to be what she wants it to be. Vle isn't a bad dude, but he just can't seem to move on from Krysta. If he hasn't gotten over her by now, it probably won't ever to happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
No One Left To Fight #4

Oct 3, 2019

And while this is all going on, The Hierophant has started something big.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #25

Aug 7, 2018

Regarding the art, sad to see Dexter Soy depart, though I am excited about Red Hood's new design. But Soy went out with a bang, just as you'd expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #26

Sep 11, 2018

Now we know: he's not exactly handling his new situation in the best manner. But I don't mind that for a second. In fact, I'd say this is the closest thing to Jason's original Red Hood since he formed his first band of Outlaws. We're talking Batman: Under the Red Hood and Batman: Red Hood – The Lost Days level. Only I'd argue more graphic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #27

Oct 9, 2018

AWESOME cover. One of my favorite Red Hood covers. Good stuff from Pete Woods.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #28

Nov 13, 2018

Last thing, both Woods's cover and Yasmine Putri's variant cover were SO SICK. Putri's has me wondering something, too. Any shot we could get some more crowbar? Haven't seen it since Red Hood: Outlaw 26.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #29

Dec 4, 2018

I really, really like this team-up. The tension between Red Hood and Batwoman feels very natural, probably because they have no reason to like each other. Something about fighting alongside someone out of necessity, and not by choice, suits Red Hood very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #30

Jan 16, 2019

Lastly, it looks like Red Hood found Solitary. Now, Jason had been looking for someone else in addition to this mad scientist, and it appears these two might be one and the same. Hopefully, we get that answer to start Red Hood: Outlaw #31.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #32

Mar 13, 2019

Lastly, Stephen Segovia took over the penciling this issue. He got rid of Jason's buzz cut, or whatever Pete Woods had given him before " a smart move. Definitely not the looks of a "businessman." Jason also looks less bulky. We'll see if that remains the case if suits up as Red Hood under Segovia's watch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #33

Apr 9, 2019

Lastly, you'll notice the score for this issue is an 80 out of 100. If Jason didn't say, "Hold my beer," to Isabel, the score would've bumped up to an 85. It was forced humor. Failed humor. Red Hood is better than that. Scott Lobdell is, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #34

May 8, 2019

One tiny complaint with the art " and this might be a bit knit-picky, even for a review. Pete Woods has drawn Jason Todd, the crime boss, as a very slender character. Obviously he's still muscular, but by no means is he bulky. Then he puts on the Red Hood outfit and becomes bulkier. He's not Ben Affleck's Batman-big, but he has a little extra size. It's a small consistency issue, but one that should probably be addressed. This might not be the only time that's happened

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #35

Jun 12, 2019

The fight with essence was great, too. Lokus did an excellent job with creating a fluid transition. Now, the "one little thing" I appreciated from Woods in the course of this fight was the very beginning of it. When Jason drops his katana and crowbar, I thought he wasn't fighting Essence. For some reason, I thought he might try to talk it out, given their history. (Stupid me.) And this could have been a decision by Lobdell, but Woods did an excellent job emphasizing Red Hood had thrown down his weapons " only to exchange them for the All-Blades soon after!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #36

Jul 9, 2019

Regarding the art, I like Jason Todd's look right now. I'm not talking about Red Hood. Jason has the businessman look down. Regarding his outfit, Peter Woods' rendition of the original Red Hood outfit is good, but not for me. I stand by his and Lobdell's decision to change the character's look with the shift in artists as much as I did when the change was first announced.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #37

Aug 27, 2019

Last thing regarding Red Hood: Outlaw #37: the variant cover is sick. There have been some outstanding Red Hood variant covers " maybe the most consistent good-or-better variants out there " and I definitely don't mention them enough. Excellent job by Philip Tan, Marc Deering and Jay David Ramos with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #38

Sep 25, 2019

I will admit, if Lobdell slow-playing Bizarro and Artemis' return leads to a full issue or two with Pup-Pup actually talking and not being a figment of Bizarro's imagination, I'm all in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #39

Oct 25, 2019

Speaking of the Dark Trinity Outlaws, looks like we may have a reunion on our hands soon. Just in time for a gigantic catastrophe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #2

Aug 29, 2018

We also got a peek at where Artemis and Bizarro's status. (Lobdell wrote that section, with art by Neil Googe, colors by Marcelo Maiolo and letters by Taylor Esposito.) I'd rather see these two get a mini-series than devote 50 percent of the ensuing Red Hood issue to them. That probably won't happen. Maybe just devote one issue to Artemis and Bizarro when they finally find their way back to Jason? I could get on board with that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #3

Jul 30, 2019

But, things are going to get weird if Jason is still with Isabel when Artemis gets back. (Drama!)

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Shazam! (2018) #2

Jan 23, 2019

Johns has also placed significant emphasis on two of Billy's siblings: Freddy and Mary. Something tells me Mary is right to be questioning every idea Freddy proposes. Not just because they've been questionable at best, but more to do with Freddy's actions on the train. In particular, the panel where he says, "Let's do this, magic subway car!" Everyone else is freaking out while Freddy's face is covered by shadows in such a way that he appears menacing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Spawn Kills Everyone Too #1

Dec 13, 2018

Put simply, Spawn Kills Everyone 2 #1 was disappointing. Main reason being no one was killed. Heck, there wasn't anything close to resembling a fight. When a character is set to "kill everyone" usually that entails some level of fighting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Spawn Kills Everyone Too #2

Jan 18, 2019

Hopefully, Spawn gets his act together so he can get in on the fun. He just needs to embrace the violence. Look at his "kids". They could not have been more vicious. Maybe McFarlane's saving him for some of the other characters. Between Spawn's hit list and the babies going after Alien, McFarlane has made it clear, DC and Marvel characters are not the only ones in play.Everyoneis fair game.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn Kills Everyone Too #3

Feb 14, 2019

Lastly, the art from Will Robson and Greg Menzie has been great throughout the series. They've been a perfect reflection of the story McFarlane's been telling throughout the miniseries. And their renditions of the characters Spawn has killed are great. (In a good way, I still can't get over Captain Canada from Spawn Kills Everyone Too #3.)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman: Up In the Sky #1

Jul 2, 2019

Andy Kubert drew some awesome action throughout Superman Up In The Sky #1. Outside of the fights, there are quite a few other shots that'll catch your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder in Hell #1

Jan 15, 2019

If you're looking for a mini-series for a change of pace, this is a great place to start. It's a character-driven story with a dark tone, a good pace, and great artwork, what more do you need?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 12, 2018

Lastly, Jock's artwork, combined with David Baron's coloring, is perfect for this story. Their dark, raw edge is perfect for this story. As much as The Grim Knight's spree was awesome, the best page was the return of The Batman Who Laughs. So dark, so vicious. His presence alone is enough to send a shiver down your spine. And it sendsone message: things are about to get real.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #2

Jan 16, 2019

Batman always finds his way out, but much like in Dark Nights: Metal, beating The Batman Who Laughs feels impossible. He's Batman's brain and relentlessness mixed with The Joker's chaos and evil. How do you stop that twice in a lifetime?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #3

Feb 13, 2019

Last thing, the Joker looksterrible, even by his standards. Jock's art and David Baron's colors only make things look a million times, worse"in a good way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #4

Apr 9, 2019

In general, the outlook is pretty bleak for Batman. The Grim Knight is shooting his shot to take vengeance for what befell him in his universe. James Gordon Jr. is giving Batman advice that's not necessarily helpful, given his condition. And, once again, the real Batman Who Laughs is at least two steps ahead of everyone else.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #5

May 8, 2019

We may be near the end, but it can't be stressed enough that this is a series for any fan. Batman or Superman, Marvel or DC, it's a non-stop thrill ride. Hop on before it's all over. (Or wait for the trade and definitely pre-order it if that's an option.)

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #6

Jun 12, 2019

Jock and David Baron lit the world on fire with the artwork this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #7

Jul 30, 2019

The Batman Who Laughs is the perfect modern-day comic book addition. Although he's not exactly a “brand new” character, he's a new take on a beloved character and he pushes Batman to greater lengths to win than readers have ever seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018): The Grim Knight #1

Mar 13, 2019

The way Scott Snyder and James Tynion lay out the origin, it doesn't appear The Grim Knight could have his own series. It'd be worth a shot. The character almost makes The Punisher seem soft. But because he's made it so hard for villains to exist in Gotham, a full-fledged story, or even a mini-series, would likely just entail The Grim Knight mowing his adversaries.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018): The Grim Knight #1

Mar 13, 2019

The way Scott Snyder and James Tynion lay out the origin, it doesn't appear The Grim Knight could have his own series. It'd be worth a shot. The character almost makes The Punisher seem soft. But because he's made it so hard for villains to exist in Gotham, a full-fledged story, or even a mini-series, would likely just entail The Grim Knight mowing his adversaries.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Silencer #9

Sep 25, 2018

Hopefully, they put Quietus and Honor back in their own bodies ASAP.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #10

Oct 24, 2018

Really, really liked the cover of Talia al Ghul, so I was a bit disappointed when she wasn't in the issue. But The Silencer #10 was still pretty darn good. Hats off to Viktor Bogdanovic, Jonathan Glapion and FCO Plascencia for sculpting a cover that should draw the attention of any fan walking by a comic book rack.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Silencer #11

Nov 27, 2018

And now everyone is back in line with Talia. That is, everyone other than The Silencer, of course. As much as she has Raze, who met this issue and specializes in invisibility, she's shown time and again that she wants Honor Guest back in the fray. Given she's in a room filled with assassins and criminals, something tells me Honor will have to play along for at least a little while longer. Hopefully, she doesn't keep her husband waiting too long since he and their son think she's dead and all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Silencer #12

Jan 1, 2019

By and large, DC's New Age of Heroes hasn't been a can't miss initiative. Only a few series have yet to meet the chopping block, The Silencer being one. If DC only keeps one series, it has to be The Silencer"especially after what happened in The Silencer #12.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Silencer #13

Jan 29, 2019

But now I want more of The Silencer's early days with Talia. Not right away, but somewhere along the line, this character may warrant a more in-depth origin story. For now, we'll have to settle for the mess she's into thanks to her old friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Silencer #14

Feb 27, 2019

Lastly, Underlife has been inserted into the Silencer's story. Arsenal put Red Hood on their trail. Maybe they will cross paths at some point?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Silencer #15

Mar 27, 2019

Sandu Florea remains the best choice to draw Honor Guest and her supporting going list of cool supporting characters. He doesn't mess around with the violence but doesn't go too, too far with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Silencer #16

Apr 24, 2019

Hopefully, we get a team-up once this whole issue with Honor's family gets sorted out. That way, the lovely "sisters" can torch Talia and her beloved band of degenerates.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Silencer #17

May 22, 2019

From the beginning of the issue, Marion and Abnett led us to believe Honor would rejoin her family in some capacity. It seemed like she might reveal her other identity, but now it looks as unlikely as ever. As much as she'll likely have to suit up in The Silencer #18, The Silencer #17 felt like the ideal time for her to tell Blake the truth. Hopefully, he presses her on the matter. It feels like that's the only way he's going to get any answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Silencer #18

Jun 26, 2019

Even if she doesn't pop up there, DC needs to find a way to keep her in the mix. Honor Guest is too cool of a character to be benched.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Hit the Road #1

Jul 31, 2018

If you have a choice between the four covers IDW offers, I'd personally go with the one done by Cory Smith (art) and Peer (colors). Smith make's Bebop and Rocksteady look about as badass as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Hit the Road #2

Aug 6, 2018

If you have a choice between the three covers for this issue I would go with Dustin Weaver's (Cover B), particularly because I'm a fan of how he drew Bebop in human form.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Hit the Road #3

Aug 14, 2018

There are three cover options with this issue. Cover B by Ryan Browne is my pick. More than anything I like the way his colors contrast with the lettering on the cover and Weaver's art in the book. It's a nice change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Hit the Road #4

Aug 21, 2018

Bebop and Rocksteady's contributions to the issue weren't major, but Weaver continues to do an outstanding job with their script. This is also the second issue where he's been in charge of the art. Nothing against Bates but I like Weaver's pencil work a little more. It just seems to mesh better with Peer's colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Hit the Road #5

Aug 28, 2018

This series' greatest strength was without a doubt Dustin Weaver's script. He did an excellent job of capturing the humor and stupidity of these two thugs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman: Come Back To Me #1

Jul 16, 2019

Wonder Woman Come Back #1 to me is a light read that gives those who haven't read about the character much, but may be looking to do so with what appears to be a story that's not impacted by the rest of the insanity in the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wonder Woman: Come Back To Me #2

Aug 20, 2019

Other than that, not sure how Wonder Woman Saves Steve Trevor from this one. Not that he and the other two military members are helpless. But big bugs just always seem like a tough task.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-23 (2018) #3

Aug 30, 2018

One small thing I didn't notice right away: when Laura scrolls through her contacts before she calls Angel, you also see Wade Wilson, Kurt Wagner, Marc Spector and Janet van Dyne listed. Somehow she managed to get Tamaki, Woodard and X-Men Group Editor Jordan D. White's phone numbers, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-23 (2018) #4

Sep 12, 2018

I appreciate a quick and easy read as much as anyone, but I feel like some of these issues have less writing than children's picture books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-23 (2018) #5

Oct 12, 2018

Lastly, one big thing the X-23 series has going for itself is these are very quick issues. If these were long reads with this little fighting, I'd probably more consideration into dropping this from my list. That being said, if Marvel changes the tune of X-23 starting in issue #6, I'm OK with that. So long as they make the right changes, of course.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-23 (2018) #6

Nov 10, 2018

A very nice change of pace from Tamaki, and I felt Georges Duarte's best work in the issue was X-23. He still maintained her look, while making her fit right in as a young, fit teacher.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-23 (2018) #7

Dec 17, 2018

The art in X-23 has been quite good up to this point. However, Diego Olortegui and Chris O'Halloran took things to another level in X-23 #7.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-23 (2018) #8

Jan 14, 2019

My one gripe with Tamaki's run with X-23 is the speed of the issues. In some ways, it's nice to have a very quick read. And while X-23 has been great under Tamaki's control, there isn't a ton of depth. It doesn't make this series bad"I'd recommend it to anyone looking for something different, or it'd be one of the books I'd recommend to anyone who's just getting started with comics"but it limits how good the story can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Red (2018) #7

Aug 25, 2018

The covers in this series continue to be knockouts, though this is the first one where Jenny Frison " who also has the next three covers " has taken over for Trevor Charest. A slightly different look, but she still captures that intense feel Charest has been driving home since X-Men Red #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Red (2018) #8

Sep 28, 2018

My one knock on the issue was Trinary's monologue about all the hate on the internet that she's protected the world from. I don't have a problem with her mentioning it in general, but it seemed a bit forced here. Kind of messed with the flow of things. The X-Men are always great about social consciousness, but it's their subtle way about it that I've always appreciated. This was a bit too on the nose, but a small piece in another good X-Men Red issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Red (2018) #9

Oct 25, 2018

By the way, what a viscously miserable being she is. Calling Rachel Grey "dog girl" is a bit much. I'm not saying it's unnecessary dialogue. Far from it; I thought it was a small but great line that made me hate the character significantly more than before. Well done by Tom Taylor.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Red (2018) #10

Nov 8, 2018

This issue didn't have a lot going on, but had just the right amount of moments to make up for that. All of it is building up for what should be a pretty intense X-Men Red #11.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #11

Dec 17, 2018

Tom Taylor and company ended the run of X-Men: Red perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More