Nick Friar's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 86
8.0Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Assassin's Creed: Conspiracies #1

Aug 7, 2018

And if you give this issue a read, you'll definitely be back for Assassin's Creed: Conspiracies #2. Because Dorison can take this in two directions and it's 50/50 where he goes with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016): Secret Files #1

Oct 30, 2018

Looking at the entire issue as a whole: I really like the idea, and everything was well executed. Some stories were superior to others, but it was an all-around fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #25

Oct 24, 2018

Batman Beyond has been going strong for a while, but it really has a chance to turn a corner with the Joker coming into play. Very excited to see what Jurgens has in store next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #26

Nov 27, 2018

And maybe this all has an effect on Bruce's stance on anyone being Batman. By helping Terry do what he does he's putting another young man's life in danger. As much as Terry can handle it and is capable of making his own choices, the guilt may become too much for Bruce.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman Beyond (2016) #27

Jan 1, 2019

Now, on to the Nightwing note. When Matt McGinnis left to find his brother before confronting the Joker, Dick addressed Bruce's comment that Robin would be fine in this fight by saying, "Until he takes a crowbar to the face. Or a bullet to the head. The sad truth is that things don't end well for Robins."Unless he's done it in another series, this is the first time Dick Grayson"not Ric"has acknowledged being shot in the head. So for those who can't stand Ric Grayson and are worried their beloved Dick Grayson is lost forever, this is proof he'll be back. Maybe not as Nightwing, but certainly as Dick Grayson, at the minimum.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #1

Aug 21, 2018

Basically, the good doctor needs to get over herself and focus on her job. I understand it's not exactly easy dealing with the Joker, but I'm pretty sure he's going to be his crazy self no matter what.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #2

Sep 25, 2018

And that's where I was most confused. Based on what happened, I thought Batman might have been dreaming after being knocked out by Scarecrow and was his captive at Arkham the entire time. Because how the hell DID Batman get on the roof? Then I realized: the roof is in the city. The background clearly shows they're not at Arkham.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #3

Oct 24, 2018

This is a great issue to show off Scarecrow for the outstanding villain he is. Batman is putty in his hands the entire time. That probably won't change next issue since he's one of the few villains " may be the only one " who can take away Batman's greatest weapon: his mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #4

Nov 27, 2018

Scott Peterson has done an exceptional job with this story and it's pacing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #5

Dec 18, 2018

Batman Kings of Fear #5 ends with Batman injecting himself with something. It might be more scarecrow juice, maybe something else? It's hard to tell what, making it impossible to figure out exactly how this mini-series will wrap up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Kings of Fear #6

Jan 9, 2019

Peterson did very well with Scarecrow in this series. He forced Batman into this insane soul-searching experience that any reasonable person in his position could believe. (Maybe not the part about all the villains being great people, but certainly the part about Gotham thriving.) He's such a dangerous character and can easily be underwritten, but Peterson certainly didn't do that, which made this series a good a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #1

Oct 25, 2018

I'm not quite sure how Deadpool walks away from this fight successfully. I honestly expect this ends with him being a head in a jar, left alone in a closet for all eternity. Meanwhile Black Panther, yet again, saves the day and finds the cure for cancer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #2

Nov 30, 2018

Before any of that happens, though, he and Black Panther have to team-up against Jack O'Lantern. Though I don't know why they need to team-up to take him down, he's not exactly Thanos.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #3

Dec 22, 2018

So he's got the weight of the world on his shoulders, while Deadpoolis getting his arm back and, per usual, not thinking straight. There's no wayhe thought Black Panther would be OK with him killing Jack O'Lantern. He musthave known that'd send him over the edge. His actions point to the contrary,but not even Wade Wilson could be that dumb, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Rising Spirit #1

Nov 13, 2018

In Bloodshot Spirit Rising #1 this was the third time Project Rising Spirit tried to implant a fake memory. Not sure how they fix things from here, but I cannot wait to see where Bloodshot Rising Spirit goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Cable/Deadpool Annual #1

Aug 17, 2018

Last thing: when you go to the very last page of the story, take a second to soak in the very last panel. I believe Paco Diaz drew that one. It is SCARY how much Cable looks like Josh Brolin in that picture.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Superman/Top Cat #1

Oct 30, 2018

DiDio had one of the better pairings in the Hanna-Barbera " DC crossovers. Top Cat is conning everyone he can, per usual, and is paired with pretty much his opposite. I wouldn't mind seeing them work together again. They keep it fairly light, as it should be with Hanna-Barbera cartoons.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2018) #4

Sep 6, 2018

Though, if my king murdered one of my fellow soldiers for seemingly no apparent reason, I guess I'd be upset, too. Pretty sure that's how Game of Thrones started.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Deadpool (2018) #5

Oct 8, 2018

Seriously though, an OK issue, by no means a must-read though.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool (2018) #6

Nov 8, 2018

Lastly, I like Scott Hepburn's style. It works well for Deadpool and his wackiness. But does Deadpool need to squint ever second he has his mask on? It's a small change, but one I would appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deadpool (2018) #7

Dec 9, 2018

So I'm glad Deadpool didn't pull the trigger and actually solved the problem. This goes to show "shoot first, ask questions later" isn't always the answer. Hopefully, everyone caught that very important message.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2018) #8

Jan 7, 2019

Hopefully, Young doesn't cut things short on this Zaggy v. Deadpool battle, because as mockable as it is, I would love to see how Wade roasts this hog.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool: Assassin #5

Aug 15, 2018

Mark Bagley did a great job with the art. Big fan of the detail in Deadpool's fight scenes. I also think he and the color artists, Edgar Delgado and Dono Sanchez-Almara, did an exceptional job with Threnody's major moments in the fight with the Assassins Guild's henchmen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool: Assassin #6

Aug 30, 2018

Odd way to end the story. Not sure if that's "prime" Deadpool, or not, but either way it didn't sit all that well with me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Deathstroke (2016) #34

Jul 31, 2018

Never thought I'd say this, even with a Priest story, but I think I'm taking the verbal punches between Deathstroke and Batman in this one. They just get downright frigin dirty with each other and hold nothing back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #35

Sep 4, 2018

I'd also like to point out Talia is a very bad parent. As is Deathstroke. Don't be like them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #36

Oct 3, 2018

Priest also made a random addition to the story, an Arkham patient name Devon. I'm not certain how important he'll become. Though, he and Slade were abducted together when they escaped Arkham. Regardless, he was pretty awesomein Deathstroke #36. He dropped a "Wakanda Forever," mid-group therapy session and had the last word on the issue, telling Deathstroke as they were abducted, "This is why you'll never get a movie." He really didn't add much outside of that, but what else did you really need from an extremely minor supporting character?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathstroke (2016) #37

Nov 6, 2018

There's no reason to believe the next issue of Deathstroke will be any less confusing, but whenever the payoff comes it'll be worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #38

Dec 4, 2018

One thing that was odd about the final image, aside from the doctor wrapping her arms around Strange, Two-Face was somehow in the image. I'm not sure if that was an accident or deliberate. If it's an accident, how does that happen? If it's deliberate, I'm very much confused.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deathstroke (2016) #39

Jan 9, 2019

The Deathstroke artwork continues to be among the best in DC. Hats off to Carlo Pagulauan & Fernando Pasarin. Also, another stunning cover from Tyler Kirkham.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Domino (2018) #6

Sep 13, 2018

Excited to see what Domino does next, now that she has her mojo back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Domino (2018) #7

Oct 12, 2018

Domino #7 is a great start to the new Domino story. Seems like there's a lot of potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Domino (2018) #8

Nov 19, 2018

Gail Simone's story continues to go in different directions, but I love how this band of three still finds a way to keep it light at all times. Domino keeps getting better and better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Domino (2018) #9

Dec 22, 2018

They've got their hands full with Longshot now, who's apparently lost a lot of weight, or bone density?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Domino (2018) #10

Jan 14, 2019

The only real issue with Domino #10 is there are too many artists involved in this. Artist changes happen all the time, that's understandable; obviously, business decisions have to be made"even when though some of them aren't good. But was it absolutely necessary to bring in three artists in addition to David Baldeon?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Domino (2018) Annual #1

Sep 28, 2018

I'd like to see them do more with this issue and Domino down the road. Again, it's being subtle about a larger topic that can afford to be mixed in when the majority of comic book characters are jacked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #45

Oct 3, 2018

One side note: no-show out of Jason Todd. Wouldn't have minded if he made an appearance and clocked Green Arrow one time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #46

Nov 6, 2018

Lastly, German Peralta did a great job with the artwork this issue. Probably my favorite art from an issue of Green Arrow in at least 15 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #47

Dec 4, 2018

Green Arrow #47 saw an end to quite a few things, with the trial ending recently and the ninth circle stuff seemingly in the rearview. Oliver has a lot to deal with in the aftermath, but things could go anywhere from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #48

Jan 9, 2019

In fact, you could argue she's passed up Oliver as the best character in the series. The way she saved Oliver from Citizen was quite impressive"and very cool"and seeing her catch Green Arrow is always a sight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hardcore (2018) #1

Dec 18, 2018

And it really is a mano-a-mano showdown, since Pierce killed everyone in the Hardcore Program and Markus killed her because of one mistake"at least, that's what we're led to believe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mr. and Mrs. X #2

Aug 23, 2018

Another outstanding job by Thompson in this issue. She has a firm grasp on this relationship and seems to really understand them as individuals, too. She also elected to not have Deadpool talk to the audience at all. I like that call. This isn't about him. Deadpool is there to add to the story, not take over (though I guess he did kind of take over this whole review).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mr. and Mrs. X #3

Sep 21, 2018

Thompson has done well with Deadpool as a secondary character, but that's nothing when compared to what she continues to do with Rogue and Gambit. She just gets them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mr. and Mrs. X #4

Oct 18, 2018

Their art just isn't my cup of tea, that's all. Certainly not enough to turn me away from the stories in characters, but definitely not enhancing my experience. If Thompson continues with Mr. & Mrs. X, or whatever the title turns into next, I wouldn't mind if someone else handled the artwork going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mr. and Mrs. X #6

Dec 17, 2018

Mr. & Mrs. X #6 might be Kelly Thompson's most impressive issue of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mr. and Mrs. X #7

Jan 6, 2019

But between the timing, Mojo's reaction and the instability with Rogue, this move yet another brilliant one by Thompson.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #49

Sep 18, 2018

Nightwing #49 has a great tempo. The whole racing theme may have played a part in it, but I really think it has to with Percy writing Nightwing the perfect amount of internal monologue. Sometimes Nightwing can talk to himself just a tad too much. The next issue will probably go in the opposite direction with the situation only becoming more complex.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #50

Oct 3, 2018

I'm not saying this is 100 percent the Dick Grayson/Nightwing I want now and forever, but this might be a nice change of pace. Even if it only lasts four or five issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #51

Oct 16, 2018

Lastly, looks like a Bldhaven cop, Detective Sapienza, is taking over the mantle of Nightwing Looks very similar to Nightwing, especially with the mask on. Not sure how everyone's going to receive the gun though. I give him three issues, max.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #52

Nov 6, 2018

Also, really loved Chris Mooneyham and Nick Filardi's cover and artwork this issue. My favorite image, even more than the cover, was the very first page where Grayson is watching the ambulance scene at Melville Section in Bldhaven. Very gritty and un-Dick Grayson-like.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #53

Nov 21, 2018

He's in big trouble, too. Bea might be for that matter, too. Because it looks like Scarecrow is back, and the foreshadowing in Nightwing #50 insinuates he's hunting Nightwing. Though Ric might be able to avoid the fight if he chooses to, something says he won't in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #54

Dec 4, 2018

Ric will become something more, soon. What exactly that is, is too hard to tell right now. But he won't stand on the sidelines while people are in danger because of him (or that loser, Dick).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #55

Dec 18, 2018

When Ric does step in, if he's not wearing any Nightwing garb"and he probably won't be"Crane will finally put two and two together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #56

Jan 9, 2019

All in all, it's good to see some level of promise from Ric as a crime fighter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) Annual #1

Aug 28, 2018

Also, I don't care about the talk they had in Batgirl #25. These two make as much sense together as anyone else.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #25

Aug 7, 2018

Regarding the art, sad to see Dexter Soy depart, though I am excited about Red Hood's new design. But Soy went out with a bang, just as you'd expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #26

Sep 11, 2018

Now we know: he's not exactly handling his new situation in the best manner. But I don't mind that for a second. In fact, I'd say this is the closest thing to Jason's original Red Hood since he formed his first band of Outlaws. We're talking Batman: Under the Red Hood and Batman: Red Hood – The Lost Days level. Only I'd argue more graphic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #27

Oct 9, 2018

AWESOME cover. One of my favorite Red Hood covers. Good stuff from Pete Woods.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #28

Nov 13, 2018

Last thing, both Woods's cover and Yasmine Putri's variant cover were SO SICK. Putri's has me wondering something, too. Any shot we could get some more crowbar? Haven't seen it since Red Hood: Outlaw 26.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #29

Dec 4, 2018

I really, really like this team-up. The tension between Red Hood and Batwoman feels very natural, probably because they have no reason to like each other. Something about fighting alongside someone out of necessity, and not by choice, suits Red Hood very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #30

Jan 16, 2019

Lastly, it looks like Red Hood found Solitary. Now, Jason had been looking for someone else in addition to this mad scientist, and it appears these two might be one and the same. Hopefully, we get that answer to start Red Hood: Outlaw #31.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #2

Aug 29, 2018

We also got a peek at where Artemis and Bizarro's status. (Lobdell wrote that section, with art by Neil Googe, colors by Marcelo Maiolo and letters by Taylor Esposito.) I'd rather see these two get a mini-series than devote 50 percent of the ensuing Red Hood issue to them. That probably won't happen. Maybe just devote one issue to Artemis and Bizarro when they finally find their way back to Jason? I could get on board with that.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Spawn Kills Everyone Too #1

Dec 13, 2018

Put simply, Spawn Kills Everyone 2 #1 was disappointing. Main reason being no one was killed. Heck, there wasn't anything close to resembling a fight. When a character is set to "kill everyone" usually that entails some level of fighting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder in Hell #1

Jan 15, 2019

If you're looking for a mini-series for a change of pace, this is a great place to start. It's a character-driven story with a dark tone, a good pace, and great artwork, what more do you need?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 12, 2018

Lastly, Jock's artwork, combined with David Baron's coloring, is perfect for this story. Their dark, raw edge is perfect for this story. As much as The Grim Knight's spree was awesome, the best page was the return of The Batman Who Laughs. So dark, so vicious. His presence alone is enough to send a shiver down your spine. And it sendsone message: things are about to get real.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #2

Jan 16, 2019

Batman always finds his way out, but much like in Dark Nights: Metal, beating The Batman Who Laughs feels impossible. He's Batman's brain and relentlessness mixed with The Joker's chaos and evil. How do you stop that twice in a lifetime?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Silencer #9

Sep 25, 2018

Hopefully, they put Quietus and Honor back in their own bodies ASAP.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Silencer #10

Oct 24, 2018

Really, really liked the cover of Talia al Ghul, so I was a bit disappointed when she wasn't in the issue. But The Silencer #10 was still pretty darn good. Hats off to Viktor Bogdanovic, Jonathan Glapion and FCO Plascencia for sculpting a cover that should draw the attention of any fan walking by a comic book rack.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Silencer #11

Nov 27, 2018

And now everyone is back in line with Talia. That is, everyone other than The Silencer, of course. As much as she has Raze, who met this issue and specializes in invisibility, she's shown time and again that she wants Honor Guest back in the fray. Given she's in a room filled with assassins and criminals, something tells me Honor will have to play along for at least a little while longer. Hopefully, she doesn't keep her husband waiting too long since he and their son think she's dead and all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Silencer #12

Jan 1, 2019

By and large, DC's New Age of Heroes hasn't been a can't miss initiative. Only a few series have yet to meet the chopping block, The Silencer being one. If DC only keeps one series, it has to be The Silencer"especially after what happened in The Silencer #12.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Hit the Road #1

Jul 31, 2018

If you have a choice between the four covers IDW offers, I'd personally go with the one done by Cory Smith (art) and Peer (colors). Smith make's Bebop and Rocksteady look about as badass as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Hit the Road #2

Aug 6, 2018

If you have a choice between the three covers for this issue I would go with Dustin Weaver's (Cover B), particularly because I'm a fan of how he drew Bebop in human form.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Hit the Road #3

Aug 14, 2018

There are three cover options with this issue. Cover B by Ryan Browne is my pick. More than anything I like the way his colors contrast with the lettering on the cover and Weaver's art in the book. It's a nice change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Hit the Road #4

Aug 21, 2018

Bebop and Rocksteady's contributions to the issue weren't major, but Weaver continues to do an outstanding job with their script. This is also the second issue where he's been in charge of the art. Nothing against Bates but I like Weaver's pencil work a little more. It just seems to mesh better with Peer's colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
TMNT: Bebop & Rocksteady Hit the Road #5

Aug 28, 2018

This series' greatest strength was without a doubt Dustin Weaver's script. He did an excellent job of capturing the humor and stupidity of these two thugs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-23 (2018) #3

Aug 30, 2018

One small thing I didn't notice right away: when Laura scrolls through her contacts before she calls Angel, you also see Wade Wilson, Kurt Wagner, Marc Spector and Janet van Dyne listed. Somehow she managed to get Tamaki, Woodard and X-Men Group Editor Jordan D. White's phone numbers, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-23 (2018) #4

Sep 12, 2018

I appreciate a quick and easy read as much as anyone, but I feel like some of these issues have less writing than children's picture books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-23 (2018) #5

Oct 12, 2018

Lastly, one big thing the X-23 series has going for itself is these are very quick issues. If these were long reads with this little fighting, I'd probably more consideration into dropping this from my list. That being said, if Marvel changes the tune of X-23 starting in issue #6, I'm OK with that. So long as they make the right changes, of course.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-23 (2018) #6

Nov 10, 2018

A very nice change of pace from Tamaki, and I felt Georges Duarte's best work in the issue was X-23. He still maintained her look, while making her fit right in as a young, fit teacher.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-23 (2018) #7

Dec 17, 2018

The art in X-23 has been quite good up to this point. However, Diego Olortegui and Chris O'Halloran took things to another level in X-23 #7.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-23 (2018) #8

Jan 14, 2019

My one gripe with Tamaki's run with X-23 is the speed of the issues. In some ways, it's nice to have a very quick read. And while X-23 has been great under Tamaki's control, there isn't a ton of depth. It doesn't make this series bad"I'd recommend it to anyone looking for something different, or it'd be one of the books I'd recommend to anyone who's just getting started with comics"but it limits how good the story can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Red (2018) #7

Aug 25, 2018

The covers in this series continue to be knockouts, though this is the first one where Jenny Frison " who also has the next three covers " has taken over for Trevor Charest. A slightly different look, but she still captures that intense feel Charest has been driving home since X-Men Red #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Red (2018) #8

Sep 28, 2018

My one knock on the issue was Trinary's monologue about all the hate on the internet that she's protected the world from. I don't have a problem with her mentioning it in general, but it seemed a bit forced here. Kind of messed with the flow of things. The X-Men are always great about social consciousness, but it's their subtle way about it that I've always appreciated. This was a bit too on the nose, but a small piece in another good X-Men Red issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Red (2018) #9

Oct 25, 2018

By the way, what a viscously miserable being she is. Calling Rachel Grey "dog girl" is a bit much. I'm not saying it's unnecessary dialogue. Far from it; I thought it was a small but great line that made me hate the character significantly more than before. Well done by Tom Taylor.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Red (2018) #10

Nov 8, 2018

This issue didn't have a lot going on, but had just the right amount of moments to make up for that. All of it is building up for what should be a pretty intense X-Men Red #11.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Red (2018) #11

Dec 17, 2018

Tom Taylor and company ended the run of X-Men: Red perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More