Steve J Ray's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 43
8.7Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #6

Mar 24, 2017

Dan Jurgens and Bernard Chang are onto a winner. Batman Beyond brings action, humour, character developement and surprises, wrapped up in gorgeous artwork. The whole package is a yummy bat-tastic delight. Now, Terry! Get off your heinie, leave Dana be and go and fight some ninjas!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 26, 2017

It's a joy when a tried and tested comics veteran like Dan Jurgens works with a fresh and promising new talent like Bernard Chang. The writing and the art combine to bring characters and situations – that could become stale under the guidance of lesser creators – and elevate them. This book is fun, it's reminiscent of the classics and yet totally in the now, all at the same time. Batman Beyond #7 gets a very healthy rating of:

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #8

May 25, 2017

This month's instalment of Batman Beyond delivers in every way possible. Fantastic writing and art, action, thrills and surprises. We get a look into Bruce's past and a shocking glimpse of the future. When I say that Ra's Al Ghul isn't the man he used to be, I'm really not kidding! The cliff-hanger ending to this episode will grab Batman fans' attention and change the landscape of this series going forward. Excellent stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jun 30, 2017

With Bruce arriving on the scene to witness his sons attempting to kill each other as the climax to the issue, the desire to keep reading is intense. This book is all action, but without sacrificing the important character beats. Dan Jurgens' slow reveals of the new history between today's Batman and the Batman of the future, married to the superb visuals of Bernard Chang and Marcelo Maiolo make every issue a very satisfying read. "Rise Of The Demon," PartFour is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #10

Jul 28, 2017

"Rise Of The Demon," PartFive is a total roller-coaster ride of an issue. The tension rides through every page and leads to a conclusion that definitely has me on tenterhooks for the next instalment. Four weeks can't go by fast enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #12

Sep 29, 2017

This issue has closed a terrific 12 months for the Rebirth version of Batman Beyond. This book has been an action packed, futuristic, thrill-ride for a whole year. This story was great fun, and deserves a very respectable:

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond (2016) #13

Oct 27, 2017

While big changes are coming on this title, this issue delivers the great quality that I have come to love and to expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #14

Nov 24, 2017

Images Courtesy Of DC Entertainment.(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #952

Mar 10, 2017

James Tynion and his collaborators have delivered another hit with Detective Comics 952. The milestone 950th issue was truly just a taster of what is yet to come. My appetite is whetted and I really can't wait to sink my teeth into the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #953

Mar 22, 2017

Another rock solid romp. Action with depth, violence tempered with grace and spot on dialogue with character. I don't know if I'll have any nails left by the time issue #954 crash-lands into my inbox. This chapter gets a rip-roaring:

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #954

Apr 12, 2017

This issue keeps the pressure building from the first page to the last, and there's a real sense of doom and foreboding raking at the readers' souls. This atmosphere and tension make this title a consistently entertaining read, therefore I have to give this issue another solid:

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #955

Apr 26, 2017

Detective Comics is having an incredible run, right now. The book has consistent character development, thrilling writing and beautiful art. Add to all that the tension inducing and nail-biting cliffhangers – and the latest one is a killer – I am left with noother choice thanto give this issue the ever elusive (and richly deserved):

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #957

May 26, 2017

Whether it's multi-issue story arcs or single issue character pieces, Detective Comics doesn't put a single foot wrong. I can only describe this run as consistently superb. Roll on issue #958.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #958

Jun 16, 2017

ConclusionDetective Comics keeps delivering great entertainment issue after issue. Consistently brilliant scripts, impressive new artists delivering equally impressive visuals and yet another “We should have seen that coming” denouement. Issue #958 receives another well deserved:

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Jun 28, 2017

This issue is perfect. I read all the reviews my colleagues write and many of them rave, quite correctly, about the books they cover. Issue by issue Detective Comics just delivers and delivers. I can't fault a thing that this creative team does. Even the fill-in issues with guest artists are A++ quality, so the regular epics with a consistent team are comic-book clinics. Detective Comics is regularly the epitome of "How to make great comics".

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #960

Jul 14, 2017

With magic brewing, spells being cast, plans coming to fruition, and danger on the horizon, I am one happy Bat-Fan. For two issues in a row now, I must give Detective Comics:

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #961

Jul 28, 2017

The pieces are all in play, and all that awaits is the endgame. I'm both dreading and anxiously anticipating the conclusion to this story. I can't wait to see what happens next, but don't want it to end. People have been asking me for years, why I still read comic-books. The reason, is issues like "Intelligence," Part Four in Detective Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #962

Aug 11, 2017

I read a ton of comics… ask my wife, she'll tell you. Of all the books out right now, Detective Comics is my hands down favorite. The method of having a revolving art team, that changes with each story-arc is a winning one. It keeps the look, and the quality of the book consistent and very high."Intelligence," Part Five is a perfect conclusion to an excellent story. Questions have been answered and one adventure has come to an end… but Ra's Al Ghul is still out there, and there's Anarky in the air. I'm ready for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #963

Aug 26, 2017

I'm actually on vacation right now, but I couldn't pass up on reading and reviewing the latest issue of Detective Comics. As long as these incredible creators keep producing great work like they have in“Utopia,” Part One, then they can count on me to be on board for chapter two.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #964

Sep 15, 2017

Utopia was a great read. It let the audience catch its breath after "Intelligence" and set the tone for what's coming next. Batman and his team now know that Tim Drake is alive, but they don't know where he is or how to get him back. I can't wait to read the next issue! "A Lonely Place Of Living" begins in two weeks" two loooooong, thankless Detective Comics-less weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #965

Sep 29, 2017

This issue has everything; nostalgia, character, action, and emotion. The way the writing and art come together as a cohesive and gorgeous whole is a constant with Detective Comics. I will never get tired of singing this title's praises while the quality remains this high, and I really don't see this team dropping the ball any time soon. This book truly is “Great comics 101”.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #966

Oct 13, 2017

Detective Comics #966 continues to deliver the same high quality that we have come to expect. Writing that excites, and pulls at the emotions. Art that pleases the eyes and tugs at the heartstrings (Page 21 is KILLER!) I need to invest in a new thesaurus, because I'm quickly exhausting my supply of superlatives.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #967

Oct 27, 2017

This story has me totally hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #968

Nov 10, 2017

Man, am I excited or what?!? The title alone is deep, and a clever reversal of the name of the arc that began James Tynion's DC Rebirth era of Detective Comics, "The Rise Of The Batmen." The new story begins in two (frustrating) weeks time. While I'm waiting, I think I'll read issue #968 again, because as comics go, this one's another:

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #969

Nov 24, 2017

Batman's Gotham Knights are under threat, not just from a reunited Victim Syndicate, but from Gotham's own government. The title of this new arc isn't just a throwback to the story that started the Detective Comics DC Rebirth run, it's an ominous portent of what may be coming. The entire plan is coming together, as the 1.000th issue of Detective Comics creeps ever closer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doomsday Clock #1

Nov 24, 2017

As first issues go, this one is an absolute winner. Yes, the DC Universe characters only appeared at the end of the issue, but what an appearance! The use of the Watchmen characters has been brilliantly, and respectfully handled. The writing is perfect, and I could wax lyrical about Gary Frank and Brad Anderson's art for days on end. Yes, I was initially very sceptical about any sequel to Watchmen ever being attempted, but I am now a believer. Fellow Dark Knight News reporter Steven Conroy and I will be reviewing alternate issues of this title, before coming together for the grand finale, 11 months from now. It's going to be a wild ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #13

Mar 8, 2017

As cliffhangers go, the one at the end of Suicide Squad#13 is a doozy! I need to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #14

Mar 22, 2017

I really shouldn't be surprised after reading comics for over 40 years, but DC is on a roll. I read the old Ostrander Suicide Squad comics back in the day, but only dipped in and out of the subsequent reboots. The work of Rob Williams and the gang is refreshing and really keeps me coming back for more. Suicide Squad #14 gets another solid:

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #15

Apr 14, 2017

This title lulls the reader into a false sense of security like no other. One box has been closed, but another can has been opened, threatening to leak its wriggling, disgusting contents everywhere. Mister Williams and his collaborators have delivered another solid:

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #16

Apr 26, 2017

Right from the start, the quality of the writing on this title has been consistently high. There are always surprises and twists aplenty to engage the audience. Comics, though, are generally viewed as a marriage between writer and artist and supposed to give asum greater than its individual parts. In my humble opinion,the level of the artwork in this instance has not matched the standard of the writing, so I'm sad to only award this issue:

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #17

May 11, 2017

Rob Williams is taking this book to new heights and uncharted depths. His revelations and surprises still shock us and hold our interest. Harcourt's actions and their repercussions finally come to a head and the story's cliffhanger is, as usual, incentive for us to pick up the next instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #18

May 26, 2017

With a host of bat baddies, great action, romance and rambunctiousness Suicide Squad #18 ticks all the right boxes. As always the book closeswith a cliff-hanger, and an appearance by two of comics heavy-hitters. Bat-fans have always been treated by this title, but our unexpected visitors should bring in Man Of Steel fans too! Very entertaining stuff. I'm anxious to see what synapse sizzling scenes the next instalment will bring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #19

Jun 16, 2017

I count myself fortunate with the books I review. Suicide Squad hasn't always been the greatest comic in the world, but since the DC Rebirth Rob Williams has beenwriting one of the best team books on the shelves. In most instances his storieshave been complemented with some spectacular artwork.Suicide Squad19 continues this tradition.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2016) #20

Jun 30, 2017

This team has earned Suicide Squad its first ever perfect score. DC's HR department have done a fine job managing people.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #21

Jul 14, 2017

I always enjoy seeing Amanda Waller being brought down a peg or two, and the comedy this issue helps diffuse a few shocking moments. I dread to think of how Enchantress will react when she wakes up… once you've read the issue you'll know what I mean! While not the strongest issue in the run, the latest Suicide Squadstill brings plenty to the table.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #22

Jul 28, 2017

Harley is every bit the leader that Waller intended her to be, in all the darkest ways possible. The next mission has been set. The Squad has learned the identity of Hack's murderer, and are united. I'm always excited for new comics, but when I'm teased with guest appearances from Killer Frost and Batman himself… then call me fanboy #1!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #23

Aug 11, 2017

Anyone who regularly reads Suicide Squadknow it's a consistently excellent read. I have always rated the writing as some of the best around, but have given some issues average scores due to inconsistent artwork. This latest arc is firing on all thrusters. Adding Batman to the mix has not only shown us his strengths, but also highlighted the abilities of certain " sometimes overlooked " members of the squad. Great plot, great script, great art" great issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #25

Sep 15, 2017

I'm really looking forward to the second year of all the DC Rebirth titles, Suicide Squad being near the very top of the list. The "Kill Your Darlings" story has closed the first year off beautifully with consistently excellent storytelling. Who can ask for more?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #26

Sep 29, 2017

Whilst I was very impressed with the way Rob Williams handled this crossover, I do sympathise with the readers who only buy this book. I am well ensconced into the whole Metal event, but realise that not all fans want to be, or can afford to be. The writing and art on this issue are top notch, full marks quality to a fan who's had access to the whole picture. With this in mind, I give the third chapter of Gotham Resistance:

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #27

Oct 13, 2017

I'm probably a little too fussy, but I do like a certain level of consistency. While I would gladly give Rob Williams' efforts 10/10 almost every issue, comics must be judged on writing and art. Sadly, one half is far stronger than the other this time around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #28

Oct 27, 2017

This was a solid, well written issue, with art more to this veteran reader's tastes. It was a satisfying read, and kept my interest from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #29

Nov 10, 2017

The creation of the Suicide Squad is clearly much more complicated than we first imagined. Rob Williams and his collaborators are really creating a "Secret Origin" type tale here, and so far it's a winner. I am intrigued and eager to read more. The cliffhangers that regularly end these issues help with this, and the fact that we have two stories with evil endings to deal with don't hurt either. This issue is strong!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #30

Nov 24, 2017

Images Courtesy Of DC Entertainment(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More