Daniel Goldberg's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 62
5.8Avg. Review Rating

5
Batman and Robin (2023) #4

Dec 13, 2023

All in all, this book is sober but is also fun, well-written, well-sequenced, and well-paced. I'm intrigued and look forward to see where the creative team takes it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.4
Batman and Robin (2023) #5

Jan 9, 2024

It's not a stellar book but hopefully Batman and Robin #6 will accelerate the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Batman and Robin (2023) Annual: 2024

Feb 11, 2024

Batman and Robin 2024 Annual is a fun, compact annual which hits scarcely a wrong note.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman: Legends of Gotham (2023) #1

Feb 1, 2023

For a story about the Outsiders that is not written by Brandon Thomas, this is a surprisingly well-crafted and well-sequenced book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: One Dark Knight (2021) #1

Dec 23, 2021

You should read it, I loved it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: One Dark Knight (2021) #2

Mar 31, 2022

I remain excited about this book and am looking forward to its conclusion. Batman: One Dark Knight is a gem in the Black Label crown. This is a solid middle installment in a terrific series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman: Urban Legends (2021) #2

Apr 14, 2021

With the departure of a Harley story, this collection really only stands upon the "Cheer" story involving Red Hood. The Outsiders story is niche and only worth it if you are already following the Outsiders. The Oracle adventure is not good. And as the first chapter hinted, Grifter just isn't weighty enough of a character to merit this many pages. All that said, the Red Hood arc in "Cheer" is excellent, so if you love Red Hood, you might consider investing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman: Urban Legends (2021) #5

Jul 14, 2021

Urban Legends steams ahead, though this issue feels a bit uneven. The "Cheer" story remains the stalwart and promises to close with the force of its opening. The Grifter story never really belonged, and/or if it did ought never should have lasted for five issues. Tim and Stephanie's relationship deserved more time and care than it is apparently receiving, and that remains a major disappointment.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman: Urban Legends (2021) #9

Nov 10, 2021

The Kate/Beth Kane story is fantastic. The remaining three stories are forgettable, but at least they are all Gotham-centric.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman: Urban Legends (2021) #13

Mar 9, 2022

The Batman-Zatanna-Constantine story is subpar and unfortunately has three parts remaining. The six-part stories in general are really dragging down the quality of the book. Ram V's tight, nightmarish three-part story proves the point and is a real gem in the book thus far. More Ram V, please!

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Batman: Urban Legends (2021) #14

Apr 14, 2022

Unfortunately, Batman: Urban Legends #14 is one of the weakest books in the entire run. Only the Birds of Prey story that is arguably not really a Birds of Prey story manages to stir up much interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman: Urban Legends (2021) #15

May 11, 2022

Batman: Urban Legends #15 is by no means a strong book, but the Plastic Man story is entertaining. It's still a thrill to see that the Miracle Molly and the two 6-part stories are mercifully drawing to a close.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman: Urban Legends (2021) #17

Jul 13, 2022

Although the stories here are of uneven quality, I much prefer the one-shot format of the present issue. Here, the theme of Batman-DC Hero team-ups is effective and picks up a book that has been struggling.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman: Urban Legends (2021) #19

Sep 14, 2022

The Outsiders story alone lifts the book, but none of the rest of the stories sing. That said, the Ventriloquist tale is well-illustrated and creepy as the calendar turns closer to Halloween.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman: Urban Legends (2021) #21

Nov 9, 2022

The book remains uneven, but the peaks are higher here than in many previous issues. The Montoya-Batwoman story succeeds, and other than the "Arkham Academy story, the others have strengths as well. The overall quality of the artwork is not topline; however the linework is muddy, and the Golden Age overtones sometimes jar.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Batman: Urban Legends (2021) #22

Dec 21, 2022

As we hurtle towards the end of Batman: Urban Legends, The Murder Club story is the star here and stands as a reminder, perhaps, of what the book could have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman: Urban Legends (2021) #23

Jan 11, 2023

Three out of the final four stories in the book are solid, and one story is incredible. I will remember "Murder Club for a good while. Although I cannot honestly say I am sorry to see the book end its run, it has been an honor to review it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics (2016) #1035

Apr 27, 2021

Both the main story of Detective Comics #1035 and the backup story soar. Writer Mariko Tamaki is off to a fantastic start, and I am so excited to see where the book goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Detective Comics (2016) #1053

Feb 15, 2022

Detective Comics and Shadows of the Bat continue to shine under Tamaki's confident writing and pacing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Harley Quinn #1

Jan 6, 2021

I love Harley Quinn, and it's fun to see what a solid creative team can do unfettered from the constraints of continuity. The writing especially feels authentic to the Harley I most like to see represented, and in particular it honors her character development and growth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Catwoman #1

Jan 20, 2021

Future State: Catwoman #1 is a fun, well-crafted book that packs in a lot of action, movement, and interest. Ram V and Otto Schmidt excel at creating a tense, pulse-pounding opener that doesn't let up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Catwoman #1

Jan 20, 2021

Future State: Catwoman #1 is a fun, well-crafted book that packs in a lot of action, movement, and interest. Ram V and Otto Schmidt excel at creating a tense, pulse-pounding opener that doesn't let up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Catwoman #2

Feb 17, 2021

Ram V and Otto Schmidt craft a compelling conclusion for Future State: Catwoman #2, even amidst the constraints of the two-shot format.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future State (2021): Harley Quinn #2

Feb 3, 2021

While Future State: Harley Quinn #2 is not quite as exciting as the first book in the series, I maintain that it is very difficult to write a two-shot. Stephanie Phillips is to be credited for her insistence on a powerful, intelligent Harley who is more than capable of toying with and then discarding some of Batman's lesser rogues. Even in the Future State, Harley Quinn is a force of nature.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn (2021) #1

Mar 24, 2021

I very much enjoyed Phillips' Harley in DC Future State, and the opening issue of Harley's own book is a lively start. I am drawn to the deeper emotional states for Harley, which the main book plumbed well at the end of the Ghost-Maker arc. I look forward to seeing these explored further, but the dialogue with Batman is excellent, and this is a promising beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn (2021) #2

Apr 28, 2021

I am curious as to why Simon Saint has positioned Strange in Gotham, and why Nakano is so ready to cede control to such a notorious rogue. Other than that, Harley Quinn #2 feels slow and small and quiet, which are not adjectives I would ever associate with Harley. I imagine things will pick up soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn (2021) #3

May 26, 2021

This book is dynamic, thoughtful, and funny: It is pure Harley.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn (2021) #4

Jun 23, 2021

Harley Quinn #4 continues the dynamism, humor, and complexity of the series. If you like Harley, and perhaps even if you do not, the book is well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn (2021) #5

Jul 28, 2021

We have a name for the new villain who is presumably connected to Simon Saint " Keepsake. I'm not hugely excited by this, but Harley Quinn remains a strong title featuring a vibrant and engaging Harley. It's hard to ask for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn (2021) #6

Aug 25, 2021

Harley and Catwoman. Enough said.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn (2021) #7

Sep 29, 2021

Keepsake remains unworthy of Harley's attention, but I'm obviously interested to see what happens with Ivy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn (2021) #8

Oct 27, 2021

The Fear State tie-in narrative is hectic and confusing, but Harley still shines in Harley Quinn #8.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn (2021) #9

Nov 24, 2021

This is a fantastic book. Phillips is an extremely talented writer, and I love her vision of Harley. The character growth in only nine issues is astonishing and will affect representations of Harley for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn (2021) #10

Dec 29, 2021

This is a terrific book. Phillips is changing Harley Quinn before our eyes, and I love this version.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn (2021) #11

Jan 26, 2022

Although it would be difficult for #11 to soar as high as #10, this remains a solid, well-crafted book with thoughtful dialogue, a fascinating and complex Harley, and plenty of laughs.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn (2021) #12

Feb 23, 2022

I am unsure if this is the end of the Keepsake arc, but there's a bit of energy and movement that seems missing from Harley Quinn #12. There's still much to like about this book, and I remain excited about the character and her ongoing redemption narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn (2021) #13

Mar 23, 2022

I am glad to say goodbye to Keepsake, Dr. Hugo, and the Fear State. Although I liked lots about Fear State, I was never convinced it was the best vehicle for showcasing Harley, and I am interested to see how the framing of Harley for Verdict's crimes interacts with the darkness in Harley's journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn (2021) #14

Apr 27, 2022

The Verdict arc is exciting so far, and the addition of Batwoman can only lift the book even higher.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn (2021) #15

May 25, 2022

The Verdict arc is rich and compelling, and I devoutly hope Batwoman sticks around for a few more issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn (2021) #16

Jun 30, 2022

Batwoman departed the scene too quickly, and it feels a bit as if the creative team is hurrying to finish the Verdict arc. This nevertheless remains an excellent book and a compelling arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn (2021) #17

Jul 27, 2022

This is a satisfying finish to the Verdict arc and remains a well-crafted and interesting book. The complex and multidimensional Harley we are getting is exactly what the character deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn (2021) #18

Aug 3, 2022

This is not the Harley narrative I am looking for, but fans of Phillips's Harley will no doubt find something to appreciate here.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn (2021) #19

Aug 9, 2022

I may not be enjoying the space adventure as much as other Harley fans, but there is still something to enjoy seeing Harley in a situation we haven't seen in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn (2021) #20

Aug 17, 2022

As the story arc continues, the weekly nature of the book is wearing me down along with a Harley narrative that I don't find appealing. Certain Harley fans will still find something to appreciate, even if I am not among them.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn (2021) #21

Aug 26, 2022

Harley's character development is really astonishing, even framed within a story and a setting that is not the strongest.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn (2021) #22

Sep 28, 2022

The "Who Killed Harley Quinn arc is off to an excellent start, and I'm especially happy with Lolli's artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn (2021) #23

Oct 26, 2022

This is already a darker arc, but I suppose a story of Harley's murder and resurrection should be. I like the story and the art, and suppose what I really want most of all is for Phillips to continue on the book. Like Harley, it seems I am destined for disappointment.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn (2021) #24

Nov 23, 2022

We are hurtling towards the end of the Phillips era on the book, and at times the plotting and dialogue reflect the rush. Still, Harley is the center of the storm, and it will be interesting to see how she grapples with her new formidable nemesis.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn (2021) #25

Dec 28, 2022

The end of Phillips's run on Harley Quinn continues to feel rushed and chaotic. This isn't the strongest arc in the book thus far, but I'm still interested to see where it ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn (2021) #26

Jan 25, 2023

I have many apprehensions about this arc and what the future holds for our hero after Phillips's departure.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn (2021) #27

Mar 1, 2023

Readers of these reviews know that despite the fit with the character, I have never enjoyed Riley Rossmo's art, and the substitution of Matteo Lolli's realistic linework and expressive faces has been a dramatic improvement.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Harley Quinn (2021) #28

Mar 29, 2023

My apprehensions about Howard's plans for Harley are not assuaged by this issue. The community college device is deeply insulting and should never have passed editorial review.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Harley Quinn (2021) #29

Apr 27, 2023

The second book in the Tini Howard run is better than the first, but not by much. Come for Sweeney Boo's art; stay for Sweeney Boo's art.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Harley Quinn (2021) #30

May 24, 2023

DC seems determined to ruin the Harley Quinn book. Sweeney Boo's art remains fun to look at it, but the book itself is almost unreadable. Perhaps the next arc will be less terrible.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Harley Quinn (2021) #31

Jun 30, 2023

Harley Quinn #31 remains an extremely weak book right now. Perhaps the next arc will treat Harley and her relationships with the seriousness they deserve.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Harley Quinn (2021) #34

Nov 29, 2023

Harley Quinn #34 is not terrible but it remains a dramatic step down from the previous run.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.6
Harley Quinn (2021) #35

Dec 30, 2023

The story finally begins to cohere, but I remain underwhelmed by this Harley Quinn.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Harley Quinn (2021) #36

Jan 29, 2024

We are back in Gotham, but the narrative is bloated and breathless.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn (2021) Annual: 2022

Aug 31, 2022

Task Force XX was not the strongest arc, but Phillips did the best she could with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn (2021) Annual: 2021

Sep 1, 2021

The annual doesn't quite soar, but the narrative structure is effective and we get most everything that is currently working well with Harley Quinn.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn (2021): 30th Anniversary Special #1

Sep 21, 2022

Whew one hundred pages of Harley is a lot. While not every story succeeds (there are ten!), overall the reader gets the impression that DC Universe has assembled a cast of creatives that treat Harley with the care and dedication the character deserves. Harley is wildly popular, including with this review author. The artwork in the book is particularly strong and it is thrilling to see Stjepan eji return to telling and illustrating Harley tales. Although I like the redemptive, lighter arc for Harley that current lead writer Stephanie Phillips is relating, the darkness that eji explores is alive with possibilities. As a whole, this is a strong book. Fans will find much to enjoy here.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Knight Terrors: Harley Quinn (2023) #2

Aug 28, 2023

I liked this book. If Howard is able to slow down and focus on Harley's character development, we may be in for a better run moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

6th

February

January

More