Daniel Goldberg's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 10
7.2Avg. Review Rating

5
Batman: Urban Legends (2021) #2

Apr 14, 2021

With the departure of a Harley story, this collection really only stands upon the "Cheer" story involving Red Hood. The Outsiders story is niche and only worth it if you are already following the Outsiders. The Oracle adventure is not good. And as the first chapter hinted, Grifter just isn't weighty enough of a character to merit this many pages. All that said, the Red Hood arc in "Cheer" is excellent, so if you love Red Hood, you might consider investing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics (2016) #1035

Apr 27, 2021

Both the main story of Detective Comics #1035 and the backup story soar. Writer Mariko Tamaki is off to a fantastic start, and I am so excited to see where the book goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Harley Quinn #1

Jan 6, 2021

I love Harley Quinn, and it's fun to see what a solid creative team can do unfettered from the constraints of continuity. The writing especially feels authentic to the Harley I most like to see represented, and in particular it honors her character development and growth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Catwoman #1

Jan 20, 2021

Future State: Catwoman #1 is a fun, well-crafted book that packs in a lot of action, movement, and interest. Ram V and Otto Schmidt excel at creating a tense, pulse-pounding opener that doesn't let up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Catwoman #1

Jan 20, 2021

Future State: Catwoman #1 is a fun, well-crafted book that packs in a lot of action, movement, and interest. Ram V and Otto Schmidt excel at creating a tense, pulse-pounding opener that doesn't let up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future State (2021): Catwoman #2

Feb 17, 2021

Ram V and Otto Schmidt craft a compelling conclusion for Future State: Catwoman #2, even amidst the constraints of the two-shot format.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future State (2021): Harley Quinn #2

Feb 3, 2021

While Future State: Harley Quinn #2 is not quite as exciting as the first book in the series, I maintain that it is very difficult to write a two-shot. Stephanie Phillips is to be credited for her insistence on a powerful, intelligent Harley who is more than capable of toying with and then discarding some of Batman's lesser rogues. Even in the Future State, Harley Quinn is a force of nature.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn (2021) #1

Mar 24, 2021

I very much enjoyed Phillips' Harley in DC Future State, and the opening issue of Harley's own book is a lively start. I am drawn to the deeper emotional states for Harley, which the main book plumbed well at the end of the Ghost-Maker arc. I look forward to seeing these explored further, but the dialogue with Batman is excellent, and this is a promising beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Harley Quinn (2021) #2

Apr 28, 2021

I am curious as to why Simon Saint has positioned Strange in Gotham, and why Nakano is so ready to cede control to such a notorious rogue. Other than that, Harley Quinn #2 feels slow and small and quiet, which are not adjectives I would ever associate with Harley. I imagine things will pick up soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn (2021) #3

May 26, 2021

This book is dynamic, thoughtful, and funny: It is pure Harley.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More