Tony Farina's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 177
8.1Avg. Review Rating

9
Aquaman (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

"We see their wars. Their poverty. The corrosion of their culture. Their wild metahumans and their degenerate leaders. You think yourself progressive, but you are part of the blight we seek to avoid."

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Aquaman (2016) #24

Jun 7, 2017

That last panel is pretty amazing. If you have not read Aquaman before, you need to start right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basketful of Heads #1

Dec 9, 2019

What an excellent starter of a series and the Hill House universe. The last page is so amazing. I am all keyed up and ready for issue two. The tension is real. The situation, while obviously insane, feels grounded in reality. Stories about baskets of talking heads will not work if all the characters are some kind of two dimensional cut outs. That is not the case here. I would say, get a basket and fill it with issue of this comic (not heads).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Basketful of Heads #2

Dec 9, 2019

Honestly, the very brief issue of Basketfull of Heads #2 is still entertaining. We learn a bit more about June. She is not your typical damsel in distress. That is good. The last page again is an excellent cliff hanger. I am ready to fill my basket for sure. Again, not with heads, but with issues of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond (2016) #35

Sep 3, 2019

False Face, like Clay Face is a villain that I can take or leave. Being someone else is a power that can be totally amazing or redundant. I am not sure how to feel about it here. It feels a bit redundant here. Still, what a great last page. There is so much to unpack there and what hope for the future of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Canary: Ignite #1

Nov 3, 2019

DC Zoom has created a wonderfully delightful universe that is for CHILDREN. Yep. Comic books for kids. When I was a kid, there were no superhero comics for me. I was thrown right into the world of a dark and dirty Gotham City. I was 14 when I furious called into a 1-900 number to literally save Jason Todd's life. Spoiler alert, I was out some money to my parents and he didn't make it. The idea that kids can just be handed a book like Black Canary: Ignite or like any other Zoom title and feel safe in knowing that the action will be intense, but there will be no blood splatters or nightmare inducing villains. In a world where kids are not allowed to be kids, DC Zoom is a breath of fresh air. This book is near perfect. Give it as a gift to your budding superhero fan and get her or him started the right way. There is plenty of time for them to read Bird of Prey, for now, let this be their Black Canary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Books of Magic (2018) #1

Oct 25, 2018

Overall, this has a ton of potential. Because of magic, we get a chance to have Tim break into the rest of the DC universe, which is something I hope for. Constantine is already a cross over hero/villain/whatever, so it is hopeful that Tim will join him on an adventure or two. It is a quick read, so slow down and enjoy the art and then, after that pretty great last page, put your order in for issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Books of Magic (2018) #2

Nov 28, 2018

This is delightful. The focus on one story is the key. The Sandman Universe has been a bit uneven out of the gate and there are clearly a lot of stories to tell. The fact that this book has a singular focus helps. Dr. Rose, who has a lot of story to tell herself, is only here for Tim. Everything is about Tim or is Tim adjacent. That singular focus will keep the readers coming back.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Books of Magic (2018) #3

Jan 3, 2019

This book is just so good. I sit impatiently each month waiting for the next book. Do yourself a favor and get caught up on this book. You will be so pleased with your purchases.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Books of Magic (2018) #4

Jan 30, 2019

The final few pages of this break your heart, then they weld it back together and give it an electric shock. Into the dreaming!? Here we go.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Books of Magic (2018) #5

Mar 4, 2019

As we reach the penultimate issue of the first story arc, we find ourselves on the edge of our seats and totally enthralled. Because Howard and company really spent the time doing the deep character work, the pacing issue is overcome. Having already seen the cover of issue six (it is on the last page), I am so excited for what is to come and you should be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Books of Magic (2018) #6

Mar 28, 2019

This wraps up the first story arc. So far, Tim and Dr. Rose have been confined to the school and Tim's neighborhood except for that glorious trip into The Dreaming last month. It has all be prologue to what we can only expect will be trip around the world and into other dimensions. I think that Tim knows Dr. Rose is not totally telling him everything, but what else can he do? I am anxiously waiting for this time next month when I can see what Howard, Fowler and company have in store. If you have not read this yet, get caught up. You have 28 days. Run, don't walk.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Books of Magic (2018) #7

Apr 25, 2019

Seriously, I can not sing the praises of this book any more. Whip smart story telling. Beautiful art. Each book ends with just the right amount of tease for the next issue. If you have not read this, you really, really should.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Books of Magic (2018) #9

Jun 28, 2019

VerdictI am not sure what to say that I have not said already except that this book constantly gets better. We do not have anything higher than a five star review, so I can not give it one. Go get the TPB of the first six and then buy these new three and then, go to your local shop and put a hold on Books of Magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Books of Magic (2018) #10

Jul 25, 2019

VerdictLook, if you are not reading Books of Magic each month you are totally missing out on an amazing book. The final page of this month is so good that I am firing up the DeLorean so I can get next month's issue. See you there.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Books of Magic (2018) #12

Oct 6, 2019

Books of Magic #12 is the prefect ending to the second arc. It is hard to believe that is has been a year since this book launched under the steady hand of Kat Howard and Tom Fowler. The covers are lovely. The characters have become important to me. I worry about them. There are high stakes. No one feels safe and that keeps me turning the pages as I am desperate to find out what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Books of Magic (2018) #13

Nov 3, 2019

Here is hoping that the next year we spend with Tim is just as wonderful as the past year. If Books of Magic #13 is any indication of the trajectory, it most certainly will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Books of Magic (2018) #14

Dec 9, 2019

I am not sure what is happening here. There is some timey wimey craziness happening. Constantine is clearly part of the Sandman Universe now and so we are going to have to deal with the new reality of that (or in this case the old reality as John is bringing the past back). I have really loved this series so far and I worry for the future of it. In Kat Howard I will trust (as long as she gets to have full control of this book again) and I will reserve my final judgment. Every book has a bumpy issue now and again. This just may be Books of Magic's speed bump.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Border Town #1

Sep 6, 2018

This feels like an homage to monster movies which works for me. There is social commentary. There is angst. There are monsters. Bring it on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #2

Oct 3, 2018

I do think that there is going to be a lot of fun to be had here. The last page was pretty amazing. Frank clearly has some bigger reason to be in Devil's Fork. I can not wait to find out what those reasons are. I am all in on this book and you should be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #3

Nov 7, 2018

This is not for the faint of heart. I mean, nothing from Vertigo is, but this book pulls no punches. There is an agenda here and it is on full display. I am not sure what the end game is here. I don't know if they plan for a long running series or if they have a way to wrap this up for us in a year or so in a way that makes us feel confused and amazed much like the brilliant Unfollow from a few years back. As long as this team is in control of the book, I will be excited for what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #4

Dec 5, 2018

Look, spend the money on this. These books are going to be hot items for a long time to come. You can not lose. Excellent art. Whip smart writing. A Plus. Tell your friends. Don't keep this to yourself so you can be the person who read it first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #2

Nov 17, 2019

The Hellmouth crossover event is unfolding beautifully. Who is in charge? Why is there a full city in the Hellmouth? How does Ulfreth know everyone's fears? What they hell are they? I suspect the best and only way to find out is to tune in next week for Angel #7. I know I will.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Bug: The Adventures of Forager #1

May 10, 2017

This is only a six issue mini-series, so the Allred clan has a lot to do to make this come together. I am intrigued by the story and totally enamored by the art and colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Bug: The Adventures of Forager #2

Jun 14, 2017

I am kind of glad this is only 6 issues. I am not sure how many times I can handle Forager doing the same thing. At this point, only two issues in, we have the same formulaic book twice. Can we do that four more times? Hmmm.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Knight Returns: The Last Crusade #1

Jun 15, 2016

If you like this universe, pick this up; you will not be let down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Night: A True Batman Story #1

Jun 21, 2016

Do we finally see those faceless members of the DC/Vertigo editorial team? We do. For you to see the big reveal, you should pick up the book yourself at Amazon, Barnes and Noble or wherever books and comic books are sold.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
DC Rebirth Holiday Special #1

Dec 21, 2016

I get it. I do. I don't have to like it personally to understand why it was made and to whom it appeals. It is nice to see Paul Dini do some work with Harley and it is nice to see Jessica Cruz get a win.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Booster Gold/The Flinstones #1

Mar 29, 2017

Did you know that if you put $10 in the bank in 1966, by 2472, you will have $3.8 billion? Nice. This is a fun one off that is worth your time and money. It is a nice set up for the new Jetsons comic that will most likely be essential reading for those of us who have totally loved the Hanna Barbera lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dear Justice League #1

Aug 12, 2019

Honestly, there is nothing bad to say about this book. If you are an adult comic book nerd who wants a safe way to get kids 10 and under into DC comics, Dear Justice League is the answer. If you are an adult comic book nerd who wants to take a break from the dark side of things and just want to have a flash back to the old timey days of Super Friends, but without all the cheese that comes with that show, Dear Justice League is for you. Kids of all genders and ages are welcome to this book. Run, don't walk.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Death of Hawkman #1

Oct 5, 2016

This is going to be a quick six months and I suspect when we get to the final panel of issue six, the full tragedy will be revealed. I know that by the time this story is over, I will go back to this issue and start all over. I will mark my calendar for the first week of November so I can be the first to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Death of Hawkman #2

Nov 2, 2016

Honestly, I think this is going to be a winner. There are some long-neglected characters coming back into the forefront. How does all of this tie into Rebirth? That is yet to be determined, but I suspect, when we hit issue six, all will be revealed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Death of Hawkman #3

Dec 7, 2016

I still dig the Hamlet and Horatio vibe I am getting from this book. There is still a chance for a final battle where everyone dies except Horatio. I am rooting for his “Goodnight sweet prince” moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Death of Hawkman #4

Jan 4, 2017

I like where this story is headed. I am not a huge believer in "deaths" in comic book universes but it seems to me that Andreyko is really planning on killing Hawkman. If he were not, we would not need Adam Strange to tell the story. Even if he chooses not to kill him off, this has been a fun intergalactic ride so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Death of Hawkman #5

Feb 1, 2017

This is the weak link of this series. I have been totally invested up to this point, but I am disappointed. Fingers crossed for a strong finish and the actual death of Hawkman. Not that I want him to die, but you can not call the book that and have it end differently.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Death of Hawkman #6

Mar 1, 2017

If this is setting up a stand-alone Adam Strange book, that would be a mistake too. He is a supporting character in every single way. Lets keep him that way. This book was good but not great. If there are some hardcore Hawkman fans out there, this will be pretty upsetting. I am not sure there are so this book does what it supposed to do. Advance a plot in the DC universe at the expense of a hero. Heroes die sometimes and it makes even more sense for a hero to sacrifice himself to save the universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deathstroke (2016) #46

Aug 12, 2019

I grew up reading Teen Titans, so I am always keen on keeping up with Deathstroke. Dead or alive, a story about Slade Wilson is a story worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #1

Jan 4, 2018

Honestly, this book is not going to be for everyone, but honestly, everyone needs to read it. Find that person you know who is easily swayed by some absurd story he/she read on social media and give this book to him or her. I applaud DC for allowing Mark Russell to write a book that reminds us that if we do not pay attention to history, we are doomed to repeat it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #2

Feb 9, 2018

This book is important. I am only two books in, so it is hard to argue that it is a modern day version of The Crucible, but let us keep in mind that Miller's play was about the Red Scare while being set in the time of witch hunts. This book is set in the time of the Red Scare when the President of the United States claims that people who did not clap during his State of the Union speech committed treason. I suspect that Russell and Feehan have something amazing up their sleeves. We can hope, if this goes in the direction one expects it to go, Mark Russell will finally win an Eisner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #3

Mar 8, 2018

Zinger after zinger keeps coming as this team keeps delivering. "You sound as drunk as a priest on Monday" is actually written in this book. Seriously, even out of context, that is pretty funny. Couple that with some deep thoughts and philosophical insights like, " We are all loved despite being despicable in our own way" and you have a book that will be remarkably powerful while being disappointingly too short as this is only going to be a six issue run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #4

Apr 7, 2018

This book is so good. If you are not reading you need to and then tell 5 people you know to read it. I bring it up in conversation all the time. I start with, "Do you remember Snagglepuss?" It always works. Listen, there are only two more to go. Don't be the person who picks this up after it wins a ton of awards.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #5

May 4, 2018

From cover to cover, this book has a soul. It has heart. It has a compelling story that uses the lens of history to point out our present. There is strong message being told here. Read this book. Give it to your friends. Talk about it. Share it. It is important. Do it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #6

Jun 9, 2018

I am going to buy the collected work as soon as it comes out. It will rest on a bookshelf next to other great works of literature. You should too. When you get to the ending and that post-script, if you are a Gen-Xer like me, I dare you not to get goosebumps.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Female Furies #2

Mar 8, 2019

This is the right book for the right time. You may be uncomfortable reading it, I know I was, but you need to read it. You need to hand it to your teenage daughters and your teenage sons and then you need to talk about it. Seriously, it is that important.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Female Furies #3

Apr 3, 2019

Once you are done reading this, you will build a time machine so you can move ahead until next month. I cant believe this is already half over. DC, if you are reading this, please make sure you give Cecil and Adriana more to do with these characters once this run is over. Please. Pretty please.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Female Furies #4

May 3, 2019

If you are not reading Female Furies yet, then I don't know what is wrong with you. If you are a Sociology teacher, you should make this required reading in every single class. Buy a copy and then share it. Buy ten copies and hand them out. Be the person who said, "Oh Furies won the Eisner? I was reading that from the beginning."

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Female Furies #5

Jun 5, 2019

One to go. I am so excited to see what happens and sad to know it is almost over.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Female Furies #6

Jul 6, 2019

My final verdict is that Female Furies will be nominated for multiple Eisner Awards. You, will want to be the person who read it before that happened. Buy the individual copies. Buy the TPB when it comes out. Support your local shop, but also, support the message of this amazing, ground breaking, and absolute perfect mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Flash (2016) #1

Jun 22, 2016

The last panel is totally going to make you wish you could run through time to get the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Frostbite #1

Sep 28, 2016

Contrarily, I am one of those people who loves Kafka and thinks Mr. Robot is the best show on TV. I am finewith a slow reveal. There is something going on here and I want to figure it out. I do not want to read the last page of the mystery novel first and neither should you. This is going to be a limited series and based on what I have seen so far, it is going to be worth your time. This is a great start to a series that has great potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Frostbite #2

Oct 28, 2016

Bundle up and get reading. Don't wait for the trade paperback. That would feel like cheating. This story is going to be best consumed in small bites that leave you hungry for more. Oh, and, there is a last scene that makes you worry. Well, it made me worry. Keaton…Look out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future Quest #3

Jul 27, 2016

If this were the first issue of the series one were to read, it would work perfectly as the reader could go back and pick up issues 1 and 2 and be totally up to speed. It is recommended that the reader do just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future Quest #4

Aug 31, 2016

If you need your comic books to brood and only brood, do not pick this up. If you need your comics to take themselves totally seriously, do not pick this up. If you are someone who wants those comics, but also appreciates things that are self-aware and silly, while telling compelling stories, this is your book. The new Hanna-Barbera line is really a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future Quest #5

Oct 5, 2016

Parker is playing the long game here and patience is needed by the reader. The first few issues have been fun and there is hope with the B-Story. Luckily, this is really well drawn and all of the crazy action fits nicely in the boxes provided.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future Quest #6

Oct 28, 2016

It seems that Parker is playing a long game. It seems like he really knows what he is doing. He has a great grasp of character and dialogue. Those things keep me interested for now. A glimpse of Space Ghost is a great sign of things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future Quest #7

Nov 23, 2016

The pieces are in place. The story is moving the right way. How far it goes is uncertain, but I feel good about this glorious trip down nostalgia lane.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future Quest #8

Dec 28, 2016

I have a feeling this book is coming to a conclusion and I think that will be a good idea. I like seeing all these characters and I am not opposed to Future Quest continuing on as mash up one shots. Imagine Johnny Quest and Mi-tor in one 23-page book and then Space Ghost and The Impossibles in another the following month. With all of the chaos, Olivetti saves this issue. He is spectacular.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future Quest #9

Jan 25, 2017

I had to read this a few times to take it all in. That is what I suggest. Read the book to follow the plot. See how the Impossibles are going to get into trouble. Buzz is likely to get a stern lecture later too. We can wonder what is up with F.E.A.R. and how much we can trust Zin. The last panel leaves us wondering what will come next for Gargantuan/Frankenstein Jr. as the Herculoids arrive and are none too pleased. Yikes. Things look tense. Then, after worrying about the plot. Go through this page by page and look at Randall's magnificent artwork. There is so much to love. I can not imagine this book has much longer to go in the current state. At some point this story will end and either the book will end or we will see those individualized stories like we used to see on the old Hanna-Barbera cartoons. Either way, it is my opinion that the next few issues of this are going to be stupendous.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Future Quest #10

Feb 22, 2017

As this run comes to an end, Parker has this book heading on the right path. With that final panel of this issue, we see that he is planning an epic hero/villain/robot/monster battle of the century. I hope he brings the whole art team back for the final few issues. It should be fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future Quest #11

Mar 22, 2017

I am not sure if there is a future forFuture Quest but I suspect there is. I am hoping for short chunks of team up time. The Impossibles and Space Ghost. Johnny Quest and Birdman. You get it. That would be big fun. For now, I am looking forward to see what happens in issue 12. Doc, Jeff, you have my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future Quest #12

May 10, 2017

This is the end of the run. It was fun while it lasted, but it just didn't work. I have nothing but praise to heap on Jeff Parker for what he did here. I just think the lift was too heavy as there was just too much. I hope he comes back for more. Would I like to see Parker and Shaner team up for a Space Ghost/Team Quest crossover? Yes. I could also deal with the Impossibles having their own run where they play music and solve crimes. It would be absurd and wonderful. I appreciate what Parker brought to life here. He helped me relive my childhood and have a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future Quest Presents #7

Feb 22, 2018

As has been the case with Future Quest since its inception, this book is for an oddly specific audience. I appreciate DCs willingness to give it another go after the initial 12 part run. There are plenty of adults reading comics, and this book is for them. I hope some younger readers are picking this up and fully appreciating it for what it is. It is a lot of fun and nostalgia.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future Quest Presents #8

Mar 22, 2018

If you are a Generation Xer with a 10 year old, pick this up and share it with him or her. Then, go to Boomerang and watch some of the original shows together. That will really make this whole experience worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Future Quest Presents #9

Apr 18, 2018

This is clearly the ABC after school special version of Future Quest Presents. The focus on Dorno is smart. He is a teenager, trying to figure himself out. He gets exactly what he wants and, like a teenager, he is not sure what to do with it. There is a lot of truth to this issue and is always the case with anything written by Rob Williams, the truth is always evident. Not sure if this needs to be a two parter, but Rob Williams rarely leads us astray.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future Quest Presents #10

May 18, 2018

This was not the end of the story as I suspected it would be, so maybe this is just a dip in what will turn out to be a pretty solid story arc. The team is spectacular so I hope it can be saved. Rob Williams has earned a lot of hall passes, so let us just assume this book was him cashing one in.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future Quest Presents #11

Jun 20, 2018

As I mentioned, you can give this book to a kid and you do not have to worry that she or he will be scarred for life. If you liked the After School Specials, this book is for you. If you like Suicide Squad, you need to move past this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Future Quest Presents #12

Jul 22, 2018

This is an excellent send off. It is nostalgia filled without being saccharine sweet. It is action packed while staying rated G. It is a love letter to childhood. It is a comic that is kind of out of place in this day and age. Readers of Gotham Academymost likely loved this, and like that title, they will lament its ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #1

Sep 14, 2016

This book has not cast the widest of nets. However, if you, like this reviewer, find that sometimes you need to read a book for and about kids to remind you that life is not as horrible as you think it is, this book is for you. There is something about a story that focuses on a kid that puts your own life in perspective. The lens through which adults view angst is different than the lens the kids are using. Angst is real pain. We can see it for what it is and be glad that our problems are not those. This book is all about growing up. Sure, growing up literally in the shadow of the Bat, but growing up nonetheless. I appreciate the truth that is told in this tale and you should too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lanterns #3

Jul 20, 2016

The new Green Lanterns are not a joke. This is a great way to have a social conversation while still having super beings flying around literally imposing their wills on the world. The tension between Simon and Jessica is real and manifests on the final page. No evil shall escape their sight. Bring it on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lanterns #5

Aug 18, 2016

The cliffhangers of each issue of this series are excellent. This issue is no different. The dysfunctional nature of the titular characters relationship is a strong foundation upon which to build a comic. There is clearly more to come with this and that is intriguing. While this issue is a bit too fast, almost breathtaking, it is a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lanterns #6

Sep 14, 2016

The reason that John Stewart is my favorite Green Lantern of all time is that he was complex as a person. Being a Green Lantern was not his only existence. Mosaic was such great title from back in the day. This book seems to be crafted in that same format. There is enough action to keep the pace fast, but the story matters. If things keep going on this trajectory, there is a chance that Jessica Cruz will soar past John as my favorite with Simon Baz as a close second.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lanterns #7

Sep 21, 2016

High quality writing, with superb art and ink. What else could a comic reader want? Oh right, explosions. The last panel leads us to believe that those are coming. This is a twice a month comic, so the action will be coming fast and furious. These characters feel like real people and that is a great thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lanterns #8

Oct 5, 2016

Eight issues in and this book keeps getting stronger. We know the Red Lanterns are waiting in the weeds. The Dominators are working hard to catch Rami. Simon and Jessica are still figuring out how to be Green Lanterns with almost no guidance. The intrigue is built by the final panel. Good thing we only have to wait two weeks to find out who that guy is (Is it Kyle? Where the hell is Kyle? Don't let it be Kyle, but seriously, is it Kyle?).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lanterns #9

Oct 19, 2016

This new story line seems pretty cool. Humphries has continued to grow the Green Lantern universe in a way that feels organic and true. The whole universe is a bit of mystery. We really only see it through the lenses of these Earthlings. By giving us rogue Guardians and ancient Lanterns, Humphrieshas filled in the gaps. I like it a lot. If you are reading this book, I assume you are thrilled.If you are just getting started, this is the perfect timeto get on board. There is a new story arc just for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #10

Nov 2, 2016

This is the best issue so far. There is a painful, really honest moment when Frank and Simon's brother, Nazir, come face to face. It broke my heart and it will break yours too. I am from Michigan so I get it. I understand the story that Humphries is telling. Pay attention to this book. I will not be shocked when it starts to win awards.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lanterns #11

Nov 16, 2016

It may sound apocryphal, but if you only have time and money for one Green Lantern comic, this is the one to get. The layers of complexity that Sam Humphries and his art team bring to this book is inspired. I am not suggesting it is easy to write Hal, John and Guy, but they are what they are. There is a history to them. Humphries and his team have to create a new world. They have to give life to these characters with whom most readers and most of the other characters in the DC Universe are unfamiliar. That is a heavy load, but this team has broad shoulders.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lanterns #12

Dec 7, 2016

It is hard to do anything but heap praise on Humphries. I am so impressed at the quality of this book because it comes out twice a month. That is a lot of ideas and a lot of panels and a lot of work. I love where this book is headed. I foresee a clash of wills between Jessica and Simon. That should be a great show.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #13

Dec 21, 2016

If you have not been reading this, what is wrong with you? Complexity in characterization. An A + artistic team. A thoughtful, timely story. This book has everything.Run, don't walk.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #14

Jan 4, 2017

I read Green Lantern comics way back in the day. My first comic was the introduction of the Demolition Team. John Stewart came along and he was my favorite. His Mosaic comic was my favorite run in the history of the all the titles. It was short lived, but it has a social commentary and it was wonderfully written by Gerard Jones. Sam Humphries has a lot of that going on in this book. This story arc was not just well written and beautifully drawn. It, like Mosaic before it, is important. Thankfully, this book is doing well and hopefully Sam has no plans to leave it. Bravo to Mr. Humphries and his team for writing a smart, artful, and glorious book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #15

Jan 19, 2017

I can not explain to you how delightful, honest and wonderful this book is. You should read it. If you have not read Green Lanterns before, this is the perfect time to start. This book starts a new story and the last scene sets up a pretty awesome crossover event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lanterns #16

Feb 1, 2017

I will follow Sam Humphries anywhere he wants to take me on this Green Lantern journey. I just hope the next issues area bit more even. Maybe it is the use of Bruce that is throwing him off, but I trust. I believe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lanterns #17

Feb 15, 2017

As Jim Gordon says, "Good work Lanterns, get the hell out of Gotham." I totally agree. I liked this story. It wasa good development for Simon, but this story was just not what I want out of the this book. It is time to head back to Dearborn and deal with that whole Volthoom/Rami thing. I am all about that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #14

Feb 8, 2017

Green Lanterns are not for everyone. Hal is a pompous jerk all the time and John is a bit sullen and Guy is a giant bag of douche. You throw Kyle and a whole bunch of other super will and fear wielding beings you have the perfect mess of awesome. Seriously, this is really going to be the perfect template for the newly announced movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #1

Sep 12, 2019

There is a cliff hanger in this issue and I suspect each issue will end with one. This is excellently paced. The art is stunning. In fact, make sure you check out the alternate covers of this. Wow. Harleen and Pamela are in excellent hands with Jody and Adriana at the wheel. Buckle up. This ride is going to be bumpy, but it is going to be so much fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #2

Oct 11, 2019

If Jody Houser put out an instruction manual for anything, I would read it. If Adriana Melo drew the diagrams in the book, I would posterize them. This book is what two creators at the top of their games looks like. Get it now. Get the alternate covers. Tell your friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #3

Nov 17, 2019

The fact that Harley and Ivy get in a convertible leads me to fear that this ends the way Thelma and Louise ends. Well, OK, that is not really possible. DC is not killing off Harley Quinn any time soon. Still, this does not look like it is going to have a good ending for anyone involved. I feel that Houser and Melo are setting us up to be emotionally destroyed by the end. I am not saying that is a bad thing. Good writing and good art will do that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn: Breaking Glass #1

Sep 12, 2019

As I mentioned in the positive section, Breaking Glass is a retelling of Harley Quinn's story. People already love or hate Harley and comic fans can be fickle. If you want what you think you want, this is not for you. If you can come in with an open mind and are willing to let art be art, you will love this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
He-Man & the Masters of the Multiverse #1

Nov 26, 2019

Issue one is of He-man and the Masters of the Multiverse's heroes are not He-man and Keldor, but Friend and Fraga. It is a strong foundation, even if it is ripped from the pages of a Jet Li script. I did really like that movie so there is hope. I would recommend giving this a chance and seeing where it goes. It could be just the reboot He-man needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
House of Whispers (2018) #1

Sep 13, 2018

This is clearly a comic for grown ups. Do NOT hand this to any kid unless you want to have a lot of conversations about anatomy. Issue one shows promise. Cain and Able show up. I am ready to spend time in the dreaming in theHouse of Whispers.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House of Whispers (2018) #2

Oct 11, 2018

Again, this is just beginning and I feel that even though this is only book two, it is really still chapter one. There is a lot to like and there is a lot to wish for. Even if you are confused by the story right now, buy this book just to look at the art. It is so, so good.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
House of Whispers (2018) #3

Nov 15, 2018

This is the Sandman Universe, so I am sticking with this for the long haul and you should too. I suspect, that by the time we reach issue six, things will make sense. We will care and we can see where this is going. For now, tune in for some excellent pencil work.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
House of Whispers (2018) #5

Jan 16, 2019

I am hopeful that by issue six, which would essentially end a story arc that would tie this up for later publication, will bring everything together. I want to see all of these people in the same place, fighting, or struggling or doing something.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
House of Whispers (2018) #6

Feb 14, 2019

This is the end of an arc as I suspected it would be and there is some sort of resolution for Toya and Maggie and for Madame Erzulie and for Uncle Monday even. I think I will go back and read all six in a row to see how it stacks up that way, but for now, I am hopeful that the next part of the story, will have a narrative flow and spend some time letting us get to know and more importantly care, about these people.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House of Whispers (2018) #7

Mar 19, 2019

This looks like a step in the right direction. This is the beginning of a new story arc and I think I can see where it is going. Bringing in Anansi and The Corinthian works. Having a human host for Shakpana who is just as evil as he is excellent. I feel better about this. Having a bit more Maggie there is a good move because a voice of reason in a book with dream logic is smart. The reader can connect to her and she can be our avatar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
House of Whispers (2018) #8

Apr 11, 2019

This is the best book of the run. 8 books in and things are looking up. I can only hope that the set up for the next issue actually lasts for two. I don't want to give too much away, but you are going to want to be here for issue 9. Things are getting good.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
House of Whispers (2018) #9

May 9, 2019

As has been the case of House of Whispers so far, this is just a bit uneven. The focus is scattered, but the art is striking. Honestly, as long as Domo is drawing, this book is worth getting

View Issue       View Full Review
5
House of Whispers (2018) #10

Jun 17, 2019

VerdictSeriously, the best thing that House of Whispers could do is spend time with one story each month and then, make the switch to the next story in the final pages. Go with that for a month, end with a cliff hanger. We can handle it. I just feel constantly distracted. Characters matter. There are some good ones here, but because we don't really get to know them, we don't care much about the mortal danger and without that, this book just falls flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
House of Whispers (2018) #11

Jul 16, 2019

Honestly, if someone wanted to pick up House of Whispers on issue 11, that would be a great plan. If you have not read this book before, now is the time to start. Do not feel compelled to go back to the beginning. In fact, I would not recommend it. This has all the elements of an excellent starting point.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
House of Whispers (2018) #12

Aug 14, 2019

I am not a comic writer, nor do I play one on TV and it is easy for me to throw barbs from over here, but honestly, I just don't get why this is so uneven. It should be good. It has proven it can be good. This issue, just was not. It cut too many corners and it didn't need to. This is the “end” of the Ananse story and so it had to end on issue 12, but that seems like a bad idea. It does look like the Corinthian will play a part in what comes next, so that is something to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
House of Whispers (2018) #13

Sep 17, 2019

If this were issue 1, not 13, I think I could be all on in the fire breathing chicken of death. Seriously, that sounds like a book worth reading. However, I can't get rid of issues 1-12. That is on me. Maybe that means that House of Whispers #13 is the reboot this series has been looking for. It tried a few times before and didn't work. Now that the original art team is completely replaced, maybe, just maybe, something good will come of it. I will look forward to next month with cautious optimism.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
House of Whispers (2018) #14

Oct 11, 2019

Once again, House of Whispers is uneven. When it works, it is so good. When it does not work, it is not bad, but it just isn't as good. It is frustrating when we can see the flashes of greatness that Hopkinson and Watters have in them.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
House of Whispers (2018) #15

Nov 17, 2019

SummaryThis book really does not know what it wants to be. Each month, House of Whispers takes huge swings to try to figure it out. The strongest story, that of Maggie and LaToya from the first year, is totally gone now. Each new issues seems to bring more new people, or in this case some old people. I am just not sure that this book knows what it wants to be either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2016) #4

Sep 8, 2016

If you need a traditional superhero team up book where they are all back to back to back to back kicking some badguy ass, this will not fill your need. However, if you are willing to accept Victor as the real focus of this Justice League Reborn and you understand why he is the center, you will be happy. The art is amazing. The story is fast paced. All around, this is high quality stuff. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Justice League of America: Killer Frost Rebirth #1

Jan 25, 2017

Killer Frost is going to be a member of the Justice League of America. I think she will be a welcome supporting cast member. Her moral issues will surely cause a lot of tension and issues. That should be a really fun and interesting book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mother Panic #1

Nov 10, 2016

I like it. I think Mother Panic is a nice addition to the Bat universe. Gotham is a huge place. Horrible things are always happening there and it makes sense that some of those things are a bit too graphic and nasty for regular readers. This title, under this banner, allow readers to see Gotham the way it really is. Violet Paige is an intriguing character and I am excited to see where this is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mother Panic #7

May 24, 2017

This is issue 7. That means, it would not take much for you to get caught up. I can not recommend to you strongly enough that you should get caught up. If you love the Bat or hate the Bat, this book is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #1

Aug 10, 2016

If you are one of the people who said, "Red Hood and the Outlaws are back in Rebirth, who cares?" you need to change your attitude and pick this up. Lobdell and Soy have this train running in the right direction. Jump on before you get run over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #2

Sep 14, 2016

This book is funny. In fact, there is a joke on the cover. That sets the reader up for everything she or he needs to know. It is packed with action. It is beautifully drawn. Each issues leaves us with a cliffhanger and begging for the next issue. Bravo Mr. Lobdell. Bravo.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #3

Oct 12, 2016

Tell your friends. There are only a few issues so far. Catching up will be easy. Get on board. This book is in the perfect hands. Fingers crossed that this dream team stays together for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #4

Nov 10, 2016

I really like this book. I am not ashamed to admit it. Jason was never my favorite Robin. He and Damian are tied for last place, but as Red Hood, he is just perfect. He brings the issues of the Bat world to life. It is fitting that this book and Mother Panic come out the same week. Hopefully, those two books will smash into each other as she and Jason are kindred spirits.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #5

Dec 14, 2016

I wish this was a bi-monthly book. The story has been slow to build and it is pretty clear that Lobdell knows exactly where he wants to take us, so I would like to get there a bit faster. I understand part of the Rebirth line is to rebuild the world. That takes time. I am being patient. I really am, but when does issue 6 come out? Hurry.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #6

Jan 11, 2017

Red Hood and the Outlaws is just what the Rebirth era needs. It is action packed. The characters are flawed. There are jokes. It is beautifully drawn and it has a ton of potential. I really wish this was a bi-weekly like a lot of the other titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #7

Feb 8, 2017

This book is great. I like the direction Lobdell has taken. I like that Jason compares himself to both Bruce and Bizarro. He has grown up so much in the Rebirth era while losing 10 years of his life. Complexity is always good. Complexity is probably an understatement.One must be a bit off one's rocker to strap guns on, throw on a hood and go kill people in the name of justice. This is a great book. It is only issue #7. Get on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #8

Mar 8, 2017

Have I mentioned how much I wish this book were bi-monthly? I really wish this book were bi-monthly. Everything about it is good. The upside for you is that there only 8 issues so far. Read. Get on board. If not, Artemis might punch you in the head.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #9

Apr 12, 2017

This book keeps getting better. I need more stars than 5. I love where this is headed and I never want it to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #10

May 10, 2017

The art is spot on (as always). The characters are layered (as always). This book has been so good, that it only can be judged against itself. When this comes out in TBP, this story will fit quite nicely. However, as a stand alone issue, it is a bit light.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #11

Jun 14, 2017

Once again, Dexter Soy has proven that he has a grasp of these characters that no one ever has. Seriously, if anyone else uses Bizarro as a walk on, they should bring Soy in to just draw those panels. The anguish on the face of a clone, a dead man in a mask and a fallen Amazonian princess is palpable. Honestly, I want to make a poster for every single panel. I think we should spend some time looking at his brilliant work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #37

Sep 3, 2019

If you have not picked up a Red Hood: Outlaw book before, this is the perfect time to start. The old team is trying to get home, the new team looks to be a hot mess but what else would you expect from a band of outlaws? Plus, there are jokes, lots of action and a cliffhanger ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #38

Oct 6, 2019

If you are a fan of the anti-hero, Red Hood: Outlaw is the book for you. There is action. There are jokes. There are flashbacks that let us know why we should be rooting for the bad guys. Then, there is that last page, which makes us jump for joy at the idea that the Band is finally getting back together. I know that Jason has stuff to do, but seriously, everything about this book is better when it is Red Hood and the Outlaws.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #39

Nov 3, 2019

Hooray! The band is going to get back together soon. Red Hood: Outlaw is way better when it is Red Hood and the Outlaws. The art in this book is always delightful. The jokes still land, but it has been missing the Outlaws and to that end, without Artemis to keep Jason in check, he kind of runs amok in a bad way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #40

Dec 7, 2019

I really do like the work Lobdell does with Jason Todd. I think the book is always better when he is there. However, I am not really digging this year of the villain story. The kids in Generation Outlaw may eventually spin off to their own book and that would be great for them. It would be interesting to have a “Dark Titans” book. Having them here is cumbersome and messy. The last page makes me feel good about the future though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws: Rebirth #1

Jul 27, 2016

The story has an excellent twist that sets Jason on a mission that kick starts the first story arc. Red Hood is in the right hands. If you have not tried Red Hood and the Outlaws before, this is the perfect time. If, like this writer, you unabashedly like Jason Todd and voted to keep him alive, you are going to be thrilled.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Apocalypse #13

May 10, 2017

This is a fun book that begins year two with a bang. I say, buckle up, grab a sandwich and a shotgun and come along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scooby Apocalypse #14

Jun 14, 2017

This is a fun, thoughtful, well drawn read. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sixpack & Dogwelder: Hard-Travelin' Heroz #1

Aug 24, 2016

In order to love things, you need to see their flaws. Ennis makes fun of the things we love about comics, but he does it as a comic. Satire works that way. That is what this is. If you have an open heart, this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sixpack & Dogwelder: Hard-Travelin' Heroz #2

Sep 28, 2016

This is a bridge issue, so it is a step forward, but it feels like a step back. It is supposed to get us to where our heroz start travelin' hard. Hopefully, the next issue will focus on them and the irreverent humor that Ennis is known for. The art work here is really good even if Constantine says it is not.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Sixpack & Dogwelder: Hard-Travelin' Heroz #3

Oct 28, 2016

As a fan of Ennis, I was really hoping that this book was going somewhere. I am really rooting for it go somewhere. I thought with the Dogwelder stuff it was heading down a road to somewhere. I am not sure it is on the road. There is a lot of tongue-in-cheek stuff happening that is absolutely brilliant, but then there are pages and pages of nothing happening with dialogue that is not fun or clever.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Sixpack & Dogwelder: Hard-Travelin' Heroz #4

Nov 23, 2016

While I totally respect Garth Ennis and I am always willing to bow to his creative license, I just do not see the point of this. I want to see it the point, but I do not. I love satire and I was pretty excited when this book started. I am in for the long haul, so I can only hope that next month, something happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Sixpack & Dogwelder: Hard-Travelin' Heroz #5

Dec 28, 2016

Maybe I am too stupid to understand what Ennis is doing here. Maybe, I just need someone smarter than me to explain it, but I do not get it. I dont get why this is funny. You do not like that Hellblazer is now part of the main DC universe and not in Vertigo anymore. Okay. Right. I see the point. It was funny in the first issue, but now, it is just frustrating.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Sixpack & Dogwelder: Hard-Travelin' Heroz #6

Jan 25, 2017

Everything about this book that was supposed to be funny came across as mean. Satire works when it is honest. Sure, feelings may get hurt with some stinging satire, but being mean, for the sake of being mean, does not work for me. I may be in the minority, but this whole thing was a waste of time. Please, Mr. Ennis. Make something good. I know you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad (2016) #1

Aug 18, 2016

You only need to notice that Harleys shirt reads Rebirth to fully understand what this book is about. It is funny, it has heart, it is fully aware of itself and it has Jim Lee. JIM LEE. Wow.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2016) #2

Sep 14, 2016

This two story thing is disconcerting. The main story is so good and the art is incredible. I feel like I keep getting ripped off of a full book. That is not to say the second stories are bad. They are not bad at all, I just want more of the main story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2016) #3

Sep 28, 2016

This book just keeps getting better. Williams is playing for keeps. This book is so fun but it has a heart and it is heartless. That is a hard thing to pull off, but it works.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2016) #4

Oct 12, 2016

Williams and Lee. Dream Team. Williams and whomever he brings in for each back story, pretty impressive. The causal Ramones mentions with the title of each main story has been pretty awesome too. Read this book. You will be overwhelmed with awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2016) #5

Oct 28, 2016

Look, this is only the fifth issue. If you are not reading this series, you are really missing out. Action. Humor. Story. Characters that are so real you forget this is fiction. Oh yeah…and Jim Lee.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2016) #6

Nov 16, 2016

Hack is such an interesting character and now we know how important she is as Boomerang is inside her code. I am not sure how all of that will play out, but I know I would not want that lunatic living inside my brain. The next issue is called “Harley Quinn vs the Suicide Squad.” Really, it is not Harley Quinn but Dr. Quinzel. It is going to be so good. Thankfully, I only have to wait two weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2016) #7

Dec 2, 2016

If you can only read one DC book, read this one. Of course, you will also need to read Justice League and the cross over books for the next few months, so, read those too. I know I will.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Suicide Squad (2016) #8

Dec 14, 2016

This is not as good as it has been. This is a transition issue and in general, those leave the reader wanting something. Sure, it is nice to have Boomerang back, so there is some resolution there, but overall, this was not as fulfilling as I was hoping it would be. Still, it is better than a lot of other books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad (2016) #9

Jan 11, 2017

This story is part of the Justice League vs. Suicide Squadarc, but clearly is not about that, not really. Still, it is clever. It is fun. It has Lobo (that is always good) and it has Waller at her creepy beginnings. All-in-all it is pretty solid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad (2016) #10

Jan 25, 2017

Suicide Squad, under the direction of Rob Williams, has become storytelling at its finest. Good storytelling requires interesting characters doing interesting things. I think this qualifies. The next book is called, "The end of Amanda Waller." I am intrigued but I am not concerned. No one stays dead in the DC universe. Not even Jason Todd.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2016) #11

Feb 8, 2017

The first run all had Ramones songs as titles. This one started with a Talking Heads song. Williams is talking right to me. I can only hope he keeps it up. The Suicide Squad are a bunch of punks and misfits and I love them for it. I love the world that Williams has created. I have great hopes. Plus, that ending. Damn.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad (2016) #12

Feb 22, 2017

Rob Williams just keeps reminding us that he knows how to tell a story and that he can allow characters to come to life. He has made us care about serial killers. That is no small feat. In real life, I am not a fan, but in this world, ever other week, I root for the baddies.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: El Diablo #3

Oct 19, 2016

In general, this is good, but not on par with the main title. Sure, they all hate Waller and sure they would all go to great lengths to get away from her, but really, that is not much of a story. The main title works so well because it has action and it has humor. There is angst, but the members understand they have no choice, so they relish the work. Some of that joy is missing here. Still, the stories are compelling and entice the reader back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: El Diablo #5

Dec 21, 2016

The back stories in this series have really kept the book afloat. I hope that issue six gives me some resolution for Chato. He seems like a good guy. That last page of the second story is kind of amazing. I am really looking forward to see how that concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: El Diablo #6

Jan 19, 2017

It was good to see the softer side of Waller and to take a deeper dive into Croc and Boomerang early on in this series. It should have been a stand alone El Diablo book and the other stories should have been told in the back pages of the Suicide Squad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad: Rebirth #1

Aug 3, 2016

There is a high body count and gallons of blood. If that is what you wanted out of the reborn Squad, you will be thrilled. If that is not your thing, this is not for you. Nothing about Suicide Squad is for the meek. Bring the pain.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teen Titans (2014) Annual #2

Jul 3, 2016

If you have been reading Teen Titans the whole time, you need this to round out your collection. If you are looking for a great team book, pick up the revamped Rebirth edition of both Titans and Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Teen Titans: Raven #1

Jul 5, 2019

Ultimately, Teen Titans: Raven should appeal to the right kind of reader. The art work is so good that I kept on going because I just wanted to see what else Picolo had up his sleeve. I think this is worth checking out for that alone. If you are looking for a great story about Raven, look elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Curse of Brimstone #10

Jan 9, 2019

The final page is the draw on this book that means, issue 11 is going to be totally crazy and amazing because it will be all Salesman all the time. He/she/they are the draw of this book and having an entire issue without them/him/her doesn't work.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Curse of Brimstone #11

Feb 10, 2019

Overall, just like the rest of this series, this is OK. It is not the worst thing I have read in a long time but not the best. It is a solid C. Annie is a great character who deserved better. More on that in my final review next month. For now, if you have stuck with it this long, keep on keeping on.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Curse of Brimstone #12

Mar 13, 2019

I almost wonder if this book would have worked better as a novel, with some drawings instead of a comic. I feel like Jordan has a personal story to tell here and this was just the wrong venue. I really loved Annie as a character and ultimately, this is her book and that ending, well, it really could have been something with her. I would have loved to see her continue on, but I understand why this book must come to an end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Flintstones #3

Sep 7, 2016

This book stretches everything you think you know about the residents of Bedrock. It is clever, it is funny, and it is touching. While this book is rated T, it might go over some younger readers' heads. Still, this is a solid book and it is promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Flintstones #4

Oct 5, 2016

After a bit of a step back with issue three, this issue is strong. While there is often some idea as to what is coming next with the titles of the next story, each issue, much like the show upon which it is based, is self-contained. Characters come in and out, but one could pick up anywhere and be okay. If you are a fan of excellent art and pitch-perfect, clever and intelligent writing, The Flintstones is a must.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Flintstones #5

Nov 2, 2016

Satire is hard. The book is brilliant satire. I have to say, that the only bad thing about this book is that not enough people are reading it. Seriously. Run. Do not walk. Get on a dinosaur if you have to. Get this book. Tell your friends. I have.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Flintstones #6

Dec 7, 2016

The only concern I have for this book is that it has to eventually stop because all good things come to an end and eventually, the stories will repeat themselves. For now, we must bask in the glory of The Flintstones.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Flintstones #7

Jan 4, 2017

This begins the second half of Marc Russells run on this book. He comes out swinging and it is magnificent to behold. Get this book. Tell your pals. I have. Seriously, this is fantastic.How is this not the top selling book each and every week?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Flintstones #8

Feb 1, 2017

Mark Russell only has a few issues left on his run. Seriously, Gerald dammit, get reading. Tell a friend. Tell ten friends. Petition DC to turn this into a new animated series, if and only if it is written by Mark Russell and drawn perfectly by Steve Pugh.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Flintstones #9

Mar 1, 2017

Russell and Pugh just keep setting them up and knocking them down (with an armadillo I assume). There are only three issues left in this run. Enjoy the brilliance while you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Flintstones #10

Apr 5, 2017

Honestly, I could go on an on about this book, but I am going to save some of my musing for the final issue. There are only two left and I feel that my final review will go on and on. Brace yourself. Until then, laugh at the master of funny, Mark Russell.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Flintstones #11

May 3, 2017

What happens to humanity? Are they saved? Pick up this book and find out. I may like to quote Mark Russell and ruin all the jokes, but I am not going to give away the punchline. There is only one book to go. Only one. I am so sad about that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Flintstones #12

Jun 7, 2017

It is not a secret; I love this book. Seriously. It is the best thing that came out of the DC/Hanna-Barbera crossover event. In this issue, every aspect of why this title is so brilliant comes out to play. I feel like I really got to know these characters in a whole new way. It is funny, touching and wonderful. I will admit that I got a bit choked up at that final page. Unless you are a Gearldless heathen, you will too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Sheriff Of Babylon #10

Sep 7, 2016

There are no Space Cops nor Amazons. There are no aliens nor robots. Those things are great and it is good they are out there. I am going to jump into some serious robot from Detroit action right now. However, this book is powerful. It is well written. It is tense. It is real. If I were teaching modern World History, I would use this series. Issue 10, ends with the line “Where were the terrorists?” The room is full of dead Iraqis with Bob's men standing around them wearing night vision goggles. The answer to that, is in the question and it is on the last page. If you have not read this yet, start from the beginning and get caught up. You have a month before issue 11 comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Sheriff Of Babylon #11

Oct 12, 2016

The last panel. Honestly, if you did not read a word of this book, but you saw the last panel with the words, “To be concluded” there, you would run for issue one. Go. Get this book. Now. Seriously. What is wrong? Go.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sheriff Of Babylon #12

Nov 2, 2016

If you did not read this book, go to the bookstore or comic shop and get the TPB of the first six issues and then get the last six. Read them all in one sitting and try not to be shaken. There is still a place for honest story-telling at Vertigo Comics. Mr. King and Mr. Gerads, I tip my hat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Unfollow #11

Sep 7, 2016

Unfollow is not for the meek. Of course, that is the case for everything that Vertigo does. Also, like everything from Vertigo, we are faced with our own ugliness and that is important. This is not the strongest issue in the run thus far, but it advances the plot, but the last page which features Courtney's realization should make readers get in line for issue 12. Rob Williams has proven to be a storyteller who pulls no punches. This is a great story and we can only hope that we have several more years until the number remaining of the 140 is 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unfollow #12

Oct 12, 2016

This marks the end of one year of Unfollow. As is the case with everything Vertigo does, you cheer, you hold down your lunch, you cringe and you hold back tears. Rob Williams and Mike Dowling have created a world that, while it might seem like fiction, isn't. Unfollow is not just a product of two amazingly creative guys, it is a reflection of who we are and what we could easily become. We have to analyze how we work with social media and how we function in the world of “instant celebrity.” Truly, this book needs to be loaded up with awards. Raise a glass to year one and tip it back for, what I can only assume will be, a spectacular year two.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Unfollow #13

Nov 2, 2016

Year two of this book is still a mystery. Year one was so good and Williams is a character and dialogue genius so I trust his story telling as well. I am ready for year two and you should be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unfollow #16

Feb 15, 2017

If you do not like soul searching, if you do not like reality, if you do not like looking in the mirror, don't read this book. If you like those things, pick this up. Plus, Rob Effing Williams drops the mic with that last page. Damn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wacky Raceland #1

Jun 14, 2016

I am not too sure if Pontac is taking himself seriously or not. I am not sure if he wants the audience to laugh, cheer or smirk at some inside joke he thinks we are all in together. What I do know is that this book has some serious potential to be fun. Sign me up for issue two, I am ready to go racing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wacky Raceland #2

Jul 13, 2016

Considering the only negative is that the story is so good, the reader wants more, the whole experience is positive. Get in on this book before everyone else finds out and your shop sells out before you can get there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wacky Raceland #3

Aug 27, 2016

Nobody wins a race this issue. In each of the first two, the reader had a sense that this was going somewhere. This issue, while clearly world building, does not move the story along to the Announcer's promised ending. The upside to this kind of pit stop (pun intended) story is that it means the book and the race. Out of Poseidons Toilet and onto Vegas.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wacky Raceland #4

Sep 28, 2016

Buy buy buy. This is only issue 4. If you have not picked these up yet, do so. Seriously, what is stopping you? Do you hate fun?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wacky Raceland #5

Oct 19, 2016

Of the five issues, this is the weakest link. However, if I only read this one issue, I would have loved it. The problem with creating something amazing is that all of your future work will be held against what came before it. Comparing issue five to issue one feels like Closing Time in comparison to Catch-22 or Go Set a Watchman in comparison to To Kill a Mockingbird. It could be great, but it is hard to tell. I am looking forward to seeing what Pontacand team have for us next month. I hope DC gives him a double issue. There are a lot of loose ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wacky Raceland #6

Dec 2, 2016

There is an opening on the final panel that leaves a dusty, nanobot, blood caked foot in the door. We can only hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wild Storm #2

Mar 15, 2017

Issue two has a lot of promise. I like the storylines and I like that there will be a huge collision course. Since this is a stand alone property in a stand alone universe, one can only hope that we will see some spin-offs from the mind of the great Jim Lee.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wild Storm #4

May 17, 2017

Miles' husband sums it up best when he says, "So, how did crazy girl, get robot skin inside of her? Oh my God, that is something that I actually just said. God." That is pretty much where we are in this book. The characters are all in the dark, so the readers are as well. Still, the characters are interesting and they make me want to come back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Year of the Villain: The Riddler #1

Sep 16, 2019

Riddle me this.. What will it take for Mark Russell just win an Eisner already? What does he have to do but keep thoughtful, funny, touching, and intellectually demanding comics? Oh wait, he already does that. Ok, this is not a riddle. If you have not read any part of the Year of the Villain, you will be fine. If you have, you are right on track. Spend some time with a ne'er do well, who is not doing well no matter how much he tries.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More