Relay #1
Series Next

Relay #1

Writer: Zac Thompson, Eric Bromberg, Donny Cates Artist: Andy Clarke Publisher: Aftershock Comics Release Date: July 11, 2018 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 14 User Reviews: 8
8.3Critic Rating
8.4User Rating

+ Pull List

A perfect future of intergalactic travel and community. Every newly discovered planet is unified culturally through a monolithic structure known as the Galactic Relay. Although the towering monument is meant to inspire conformity of ideas, technology, and progress - many resent the foreign structure. Jad Carter, a Relay employee, must keep the peace and act as an emissary to new civilizations. But when he finds the Relay's mythological creator, Hank Donaldson, his idea of reality and the universe shatters.

Equal parts The Fifth Element and Philip K Dick, and directly springboarding off the previously released  Free Comic Book Day more

  • 10
    Epicstream - Brian McCormick Jul 12, 2018

    Relay #1 is a complex world building story set in a dystopian-light sci-fi future. You would think this kind of setting would be depressing like most, but it actually has a hopeful feel to it because of a brighter color palette and a likable main character. Relay is worth picking up for the art alone, but I think you'll love the story as well. Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    SciFiPulse - Patrick Hayes Jul 14, 2018

    Get yourself a copy of this book and fall into a stunning future. The story is incredible, the characters riveting, and the visuals extraordinary. This is a MUST BUY book! Highest possible recommendation. And remember, FIND DONALDSON'S WORLD. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Batman's Bookcase - Zack Quaintance Jul 6, 2018

    Theres so much going on in Relay #1, so many ideas and concepts, all of them fascinating, and expert storytelling by the creators keeps the book from becoming unruly. In a market thoroughly-saturated by great sci-fi comics, Relay stands out, a must-read for fans of Philip K. Dick and Ursula K. Le Guin. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    411Mania - Stephen Gustafson Dec 7, 2017

    The art by Andy Clarke is absolutely incredible. I may be judged harshly for invoking the name of Moebius but his spirit is there and Clarke breathes grand life onto the page. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Chuck's Comic Of The Day - Chuck Jul 15, 2018

    It's a promising start to a smart story! Read Full Review

  • 8.9
    Weird Science - Jul 15, 2018

    This opening issue proper really set the scene very well for the forthcoming series and I think it got the balance right between stacking up the detail, without losing the reader in complexity. With an intriguing story and detailed intricate art, this is well worth diving into. Provides a great return for the investment. Read Full Review

  • 8.2
    Word Of The Nerd - Brent Jackson Jul 10, 2018

    While I am not 100% certain what exactly is going on in Relay #1, it still has me hooked. My confusion is not enough to draw me away from the story just yet, as the sci-fi angle and mystery have kept me thinking for a while after putting down this issue. The art in Relay #1 is fantastic and it is truly a beautiful book to look at. The art team brought this world to life with some stunning detail that will absolutely mesmerize your eyes. Relay #1 is a solid, yet confusing, start that will have you thinking long after you set the issue down. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Bleeding Cool - Joshua Davison May 15, 2018

    Relay #1 is an interesting and fresh sci-fi comic with plenty of unique ideas that could set up for a great series. The protagonist is especially intriguing, and Andy Clarkes artwork is great. This one earns a recommendation. Give it a read when it comes out on July 11th. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Spartantown - Enrique Rea Jul 9, 2018

    'Relay' #1 is a hard sci-fi comic in the spirit of Philip K. Dick that delivers some thought-provoking ideas in an exciting and mysterious way. It's smart and entertaining with a well-meaning leading character that wants to make us a believer too. 'Relay' has all the makings of an intriguing hit series.  Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Multiversity Comics - Matt Sadowski Jul 13, 2018

    "Relay" #1 is a promising debut, asking the questions science fiction ought to ask, and transporting us to an alternate world in which those questions can be safely tested. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Bastards - Garrett Hanneken May 9, 2018

    An enigmatic first issue that touches on topics such as faith and skepticism, Relay #1 is a unique sci-fi comic that will bring readers back to learn more about this world. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Doom Rocket - Brendan F. Hodgdon Jul 12, 2018

    Relay would be cool just as a fun AfterShock Comics jam session; a bunch of veteran creators for the publisher coming together to whip up something different. But these creators, being as talented and ambitious as they are, didn't stop there. Instead, they gave us an epic and unsettling take on some classic sci-fi ideas, one that will satisfy your eyes even as it gnaws away at your brain. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Big Comic Page - Adam Brown Jul 10, 2018

    Theres no easy way to sum up this issue as Relay is a difficult story in a number of ways. Despite a solid core theres a frustrating obfuscating mystery keeping it under wraps. Ultimately, Relay gave a perverse pleasure in not understanding whats going on. The all too common fixation and need for knowledge of comprehension of a story in its entirety is hampered here which means this is being either very or too clever. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    The Fandom Post - Chris Beveridge Jul 11, 2018

    I'm not quite sure what to make of this book yet as it introduces a lot of things and I don't feel like I have a solid enough footing to really get it yet. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More