Garrett Hanneken's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 33
6.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
A Walk Through Hell #1

Apr 4, 2018

Overall, this comic was pitched as a horror comic and although it focuses more on the real horrors of today the comic seems to promise a more supernatural setting for the next issue. If you're okay with social commentary and putting horror on the backburner for now then I suggest picking this issue up on May 16th as it shows promise to pick up the pace and fast.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #1000

Apr 18, 2018

Action Comics #1000 shows two sides to the character's spectrum: the old-fashioned and the contemporary. Celebrating both the past and present, most stories will be heartwarming, but others may miss the mark. Fortunately, it is the last story by Brian Michael Bendis that proves Superman is in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #35

Apr 18, 2018

Aquaman may be treading in its own water, but the comic is still as enjoyable from the issue that started King Rath's rule. With consistent artwork and storytelling, this epic still shows signs as being an essential read for Aquaman and comic book fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Babyteeth #10

Apr 25, 2018

All in all Babyteeth #10 is jam-packed with action and narrative. Each character in the series gets equal page time, but the real impactful moments go to Sadie and her son. Despite Kent being the next dark lord, this issue does not lose focus on the love she has for him.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Come Into Me #1

Apr 12, 2018

Come Into Me has an eccentric but believable concept and its ideas are enhanced in both the dialogue and art. If you want a unique story with undertones of horror then I suggest you pick this comic up. It is a unique story and the more I think about it the more I realize how emotionally horrifying the set up is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Come Into Me #2

May 2, 2018

Continuing after an outstanding first issue, Come Into Me furthers its horrific concept with both art and story structure. This title doesn't appear to be slowing down the pace in any way as the consequences become increasingly terrifying and paramount.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Metal #6

Mar 28, 2018

Writer Scott Snyder and artist Greg Capullo have taken us on quite an epic journey that explores the lore of the DC universe by referencing Grant Morrison's work and even brought into play Neil Gaiman's The Sandman. With that said, this blockbuster of a comic does not slow down the pace when it reaches the end. The final issue delivers on action, a unique story, and most importantly, heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Aquaman/Jabberjaw Special #1

May 30, 2018

Aquaman Jabberjaw Special #1 is a fun and pleasing issue with a decent bonus story about heroism. The Special's message of desegregation is simple, but it shines with adding humor and compassion.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Goosebumps: Download & Die! #1

Mar 28, 2018

In regards to the art, it does fit the general tone of the comic and each character has a unique style and look which makes them stand out amongst each other. Also, the portrayal of the school to the character's households are authentic while the colors have a nice vibrant look which helped when the story felt a little slow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goosebumps: Download & Die! #2

Apr 11, 2018

Goosebumps: Download and Die! still succeeds in creating an authentic mood for young teenagers, but it would appear the comic is saving the monsters for its last issue. I can only hope that the finale is filled to the brim with the creatures that this comic has set up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Goosebumps: Download & Die! #3

May 16, 2018

The final issue of Goosebumps Download and Die! presents its homage to Goosebumps' monsters as a small threat when they deserved more. Putting my biases aside for Goosebumps, I want to appreciate this kid-friendly comic, but I can't ignore the flaws that outweigh my admiration for the series. Therefore, I still suggest this comic for kids, but if you are looking for a nostalgic read then you might want to look elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jeepers Creepers #1

Apr 25, 2018

With a small insight into the Creeper's past and an interesting but incidental setup, this comic will be enjoyable for fans of the series. However, and I may be nitpicking, the Creeper's choice of words at the end did not seem to fit the predator's persona. With that said, time will tell if the creators are able to deliver a frightening tale while not losing sight of the Creeper's characteristics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Man of Steel (2018) #1

May 30, 2018

With all that being said, The Man of Steel #1 sacrifices any outstanding or invigorating moments in order to affirm Superman holds onto his virtuous characteristics. The result is Bendis assuring fans that he knows what Superman stands for while any exhilarating parts, in which we got a taste for in Action Comics #1000, will come into play later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Man of Steel (2018) #2

Jun 6, 2018

Despite any faults, The Man of Steel #2 is a step up from the previous issue. Bendis is able to depict Superman through his actions and words that feel more natural rather than forced. Along with this, the flashback scenes and current scenes that involve the villain Rogol Zaar have me anticipating his and Superman's confrontation as this buildup appears to be working for the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Man of Steel (2018) #3

Jun 13, 2018

With that in mind, we have been strung along for two issues in this mini-series. Although Issue #3 may be guilty of continuing this habit, it did so in a suspenseful fashion that has me yearning to read the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Man of Steel (2018) #4

Jun 20, 2018

All in all, the newest installment of The Man of Steel may be Bendis' best issue to date for the title. It shows Superman as a character made out of flesh and blood all while being enhanced by Maguire's art.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Man of Steel (2018) #5

Jun 27, 2018

As much as I've enjoyed this series so far, The Man of Steel #5 did not advance that enjoyment. However, I can see some people liking this penultimate issue since it does set things up for a conclusion. Albeit, I don't think those that enjoyed it can ignore the unfinished artwork accompanied by the draggy story progression in this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Man of Steel (2018) #6

Jul 4, 2018

Like I said before, some fans may want to continue reading Bendis' Superman after reading this issue since it sets up several factors that still need answering. However, some fans may feel indifferent or cheated about the events that folded out since this issue serves as nothing but a cliffhanger. All in all, The Man of Steel is a prelude for Superman and Action Comics, a prelude that caught my interest but could have done more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Manifest Destiny #35

May 23, 2018

Manifest Destiny may have put the brakes on the creatures for now, but that hasn't stopped the series from telling an exciting story. In light of this, the series needed attention on other characters other than Lewis and Clark and this issue proved to satisfy this need.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Challengers (2018) #1

May 16, 2018

Overall, New Challengers appears to be a promising start for an adventure comic. You feel as if you're on this journey with the team ready to travel through the unknown. However, this issue doesn't get you familiar with the team members that you'll be on this journey with nor does it give you a reason as to what the purpose of the adventure is, but there lies the mystery that might hook readers to come back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #21

Apr 11, 2018

Overall, this issue may have lacked with any real action as it focuses on Bizarro's inner struggle. But this struggle is handled well by adding emotion on both the dialogue side and art side. From here on out we can see the main conflict, Bizarro's baleful intelligence, in recent issues start to be confronted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Relay #1

May 9, 2018

An enigmatic first issue that touches on topics such as faith and skepticism, Relay #1 is a unique sci-fi comic that will bring readers back to learn more about this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
She Could Fly #1

Jul 11, 2018

All things considered, this comic has grabbed my attention and will hopefully grab yours. If you are looking for something that stands out among the plethora of titles coming out then I suggest you check out She Could Fly. To sum it up, it is a peculiar story about an even more peculiar girl.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #1

Apr 4, 2018

This first issue is an enjoyable welcoming for Sonic to IDW and although it doesn't do much it still delivers on the classic Sonic that most of us grew up with. However, I would've still liked to see something fresh in this comic, something that could've hooked me better to pick up the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #2

Apr 11, 2018

Overall, this issue is visually great with the dynamic art and the dialogue weaved into the action. If you want to see an array of Sonic attacks and are a fan of Amy Rose then I suggest picking up this issue, but keep in mind that the story will come off as redundant even though the action is turned up a notch.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Curse of Brimstone #1

Apr 4, 2018

This comic may have done little for me, but I still believe this story has potential to pick up as Joe takes on the role of Brimstone. I might still recommend this comic for those that are intrigued by a darker DC character, but you still won't get much of that here. Which is why the second issue needs to visually be stimulating, and Joe needs to be likable as Brimstone. If the next issue is able to make up for the dull town and pitiable character then there still might be fuel for the fire.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Curse of Brimstone #2

May 2, 2018

The Curse of Brimstone #2 is a step up from the previous issue with a more fleshed out environment and a slight improvement on the main character's demeanor. But despite these improvements, this comic is still struggling to make a statement on its rural setting while not forgetting to make the characters just as important.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Curse of Brimstone #3

Jun 6, 2018

Although I am not the biggest fan of the artwork, the story is trying to work its way to something better than what it started with. We begin to feel for the protagonist as opposed to him coming off as a sullen nobody. If this comic is able to keep working towards what issue #3 establishes, then the series might see an improvement, but as of now, I can't say I would recommend this comic with any conviction.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Immortal Men #1

Apr 11, 2018

The Immortal Men overly plays on the unexpected hero, but makes up for it with an intriguing group of heroes who are on the defense. With that said, this first issue may bring readers back to learn more about The Immortal Men and the stakes at risk, but they may find themselves not caring for the main protagonist.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Immortal Men #2

May 9, 2018

The Immortal Men #2 enriches the team members but sacrifices the attention given to the main protagonist. There is still more to be done to flesh out this team and the stakes at risk, and I still have hope that this comic will do just that in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Immortal Men #3

Jun 13, 2018

The Immortal Men #3 serves as a much-needed break from the action as it focuses on characters. However, I still don't feel any connection or care for the main protagonist, but regardless it was still beneficial to learn about The Immortal Men. I am just not sure if it is too late for me to feel connected to these characters since the story is starting to feel slightly bland.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Terrifics #2

Mar 28, 2018

The issue felt a bit short as the characters make their way out of the dark multiverse and then next thing I know it is over. Luckily, the issue ended on an interesting note as we discover that the characters are bonded to one another due to their time spent trying to take the probe off of Tom Strong's distress signal.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Terrifics #4

May 23, 2018

Although The Terrifics has done a good job of balancing characters, this issue would have succeeded further if it spent more time focusing on Phantom Girl. With that considered, this issue's greatest strength begets its greatest weakness.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More