Backways #2

Backways #2

Writer: Justin Jordan Artist: Eleonora Carlini Publisher: Aftershock Comics Release Date: January 24, 2018 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 3 User Reviews: 1
8.8Critic Rating
8.0User Rating

+ Pull List

  Coyote Bones leads Anna deep into the Backaways in search for Sylvia. Unfortunately, Coyote neglected to mention her varied and numerous enemies, or the forces moving to stop Anna in her quest!

From Justin Jordan (STRAYER, Green Lantern: New Guardians) and Eleonora Carlini (Batgirl, Doctor Who) comes the BRAND NEW series of magic, mystery and mayhem that is sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter and The Chronicles of Narnia!

  • 9.3
    Comic Watch - Douglas A. Ewen Jan 30, 2018

    As much as the reader wants to be involved in Annas quest to find Sylvia, the environment that surrounds her begins to paint the walls of the room you opened this compelling title in. The art of Carlini stimulates your brain and the imagery demands you to immerse yourself in a world that characters from your past, like Delirium or Morpheus from Gaimans Sandman, would feel at peace in. Jordan is not a stranger to creating words that accent the art. With every panel and every word, you forget that you're entering a domain of fiction. The desire you have to make Backways a genuine reality overtakes your imagination, and you begin to look in the ‘forgotten spaces' surrounding you, optimistically searching for a doorway into the gallant world ofBackways! Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Bleeding Cool - Joshua Davison Jan 29, 2018

    The mystery of Sylvia, Anna, and Coyote Bones deepens as we explore the Backways themselves this issue. This is a deep world, and Justin Jordan is pacing its revelations in an economic yet tantalizing fashion. This is a fun and intriguing read, and it earns a recommendation. Check it out. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    The Fandom Post - Gregory Smith Jan 30, 2018

    Backways offers the hidden world environment that has been at the heart of much 21st century fantasy, but Anna's defiant personality seems like a new twist on telling the story. With the limited development through two issues, it is hard to get a handle on what kind of story this will turn out to be even as this issue points to developing Anna as someone special. Anna has entered this magical world where the occupants see her as a threat or as a victim, but no one has yet to see her true self. The art is fun and worth the price of admission. I would recommend this to readers who enjoy teen fantasy stories of coming of age in a strange place. Read Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

February

January

More