Charlie Chipman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Brazen Bull, AiPT! Reviews: 105
8.3Avg. Review Rating

9.0
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

All-Star Batman #8 is a comic that you don't want to miss. Scott Snyder writes Batman like no one else, and with the help of artist Giuseppe Camuncoli's illustrations, this is one hell of a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-Star Batman #9

Apr 19, 2017

Here is an issue that you do not want to miss...Blurring the lines between fact and fiction, not only is All Star Batman #9 an amazing closing chapter, but it is also a fulfilling story as it stands on its own. This issue is an absolute must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #10

May 10, 2017

At the start of All Star Batman #10, it becomes apparent that Scott Snyder has elected to change direction, and yet again, in doing so, provide fans with a unique reading experience

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #11

Jun 21, 2017

Part 2 of the First Ally story arc illuminates some of the darker corners of Alfred's past. Action-packed and emotional, this issue is yet another must-read from Scott Snyder.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #12

Jul 31, 2017

There are only two issues left in this arc, and I am sure that they are going be fantastic. This issue had me at the edge of my seat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #14

Oct 4, 2017

The First Ally arc has been rewarding for Batman fans, and even more so for Alfred Pennyworth fans; All-Star Batman #14 ends this Alfred-centric arc and does so on a high note.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ash vs. The Army of Darkness #0

Jun 7, 2017

ASH VS. THE ARMY OF DARKNESS #0 is exactly what one would expect it to be, a solid prelude to a series that is going to kick major ass.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ash vs. The Army of Darkness #1

Jul 5, 2017

Ash vs. The Army of Darkness will continue to get better and better, and thus, it is a must-read for those who enjoy dancing with deadites and a good soul sucking"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ash vs. The Army of Darkness #2

Aug 2, 2017

Yet again, what we have here is a comic book that, despite what you know, or don't know, about Ash and his history, is highly entertaining and worth reading. And although I'm unsure if whether Chris Sims and Chad Bowers will be able to keep the series feeling fresh as we move forward, I am confident in their abilities and have faith that readers will not only keep coming back for more but also, that new readers will stumble across this gem and get hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ash vs. The Army of Darkness #3

Sep 13, 2017

Ash Vs. The Army of Darkness #3 is a book that is worth purchasing, but, isn't a must-have, and ultimately falls short when compared to its predecessors. Still, despite falling short, Ash Vs. The Army of Darkness #3 is a decent read. Fans won't mind this one, and while it is a solid jumping on point, I would recommend that newcomers suck it up and start at the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bane: Conquest #1

May 3, 2017

Chuck Dixon and Graham Nolan are back and they are working together on a Bane comic book. Exciting, right? Bane: Conquest #1 is packed with action, and its straightforward, easy-to-digest plot makes this book easy to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #18

Mar 3, 2017

Brutally entertaining and deceptively thought-provoking, Tom King's Batman #18 is a triumph of modern 'superhero' fiction"a comic book tour de force reminiscent of the great Victorian tale of human duality: Robert Louis Stevenson's, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and while the Batman/Bane foil may not be perfect"it's damn near close.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

Batman #19 is yet another awesome chapter in the current 'I Am Bane' storyline, that while not being as deep as its predecessor, is still a brilliant work. Both Tom King and David Finch shine here. Batman #19 is a must-read for Bane fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #20

Apr 5, 2017

Batman #20 is a highly-entertaining and fitting conclusion to amazing 'I am Bane' arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #22

May 3, 2017

For several reasons, Batman #22 is a must-read for Batman fans. This issue is packed with emotion and energy and is an absolute gift to fans/long-time readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

Batman #23 teams the Dark Knight up with Swamp Thing, and while issue could have utilized their individual skills a bit better, it's entertaining. If you need to skip an issue of Batman, this is it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #33

Oct 18, 2017

With the War of Jokes and Riddles over, and Batman and Catwoman engaged, Batman #33 begins the Rules of Engagement arc. This issue is slower than I like, but this is typical King's work. Despite some minor problems, Batman #33 is a solid read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman/The Shadow #1

Apr 26, 2017

Batman/The Shadow is exactly what this 90's Kid's inner child hoped that it would be. Riley Rossmo's art, and the writing from Steve Orlando and Scott Snyder is amazing. This is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/The Shadow #2

May 24, 2017

Batman/The Shadow #2 is another great issue in an exceptional crossover series. Great art. Great writing. This is it folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman/The Shadow #3

Jun 28, 2017

Snyder and Orland have done it yet again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Dawnbreaker #1

Oct 4, 2017

I am loving the Dark Knights/Metal event, and Batman: The Dawnbreaker #1 is, hands down, one of the best comic books to come out of this event. Both the writing and artwork is spot-on. Do not pass on the opportunity to get this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: The Drowned #1

Oct 18, 2017

Bryce Wayne is a total badass, and as far as I am concerned, in Batman: The Drowned #1 readers find one of the darkest and, perhaps, most powerful Dark Multiverse iterations of Batman that we've seen so far. If you're up-to-date with all things METAL, don't miss out on this great issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: White Knight #1

Oct 4, 2017

As far as I am concerned, any comic book creator that can throw down the gauntlet and illustrate his/her own script is worth a compliment or two. Batman: White Knight #1 is an excellent first issue crafted by one hell of an artist. Hold on to your butts folks, Batman: White Knight is going to be one wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 21, 2017

There were no red flags"nothing jumped out and screamed that what I was reading was a bad comic, but then again, nothing really impressed me either. This one is just alright, so if you're vested in the series, pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curse Words #2

Feb 25, 2017

Curse Words #2 does a great job keeping up the momentum from Issue #1, and as the plot thickens and more players are introduced, I find myself enjoying this series more and more. Buy Curse Words #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Curse Words #3

Mar 22, 2017

Although I am concerned with the apparent direction of this series, its still very entertaining, and as the plot thickens, I am still looking forward to what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Daredevil (2015) #18

Mar 15, 2017

This emotionally rich confessional was hard to put down, and since I cannot wait to see what happens next, I absolutely recommend buying/reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Jul 12, 2017

As we fall headfirst into a tale older than recorded time (it seems), the light from the DCU fades away into a darkness so pure that the mere thought of something being birthed from this abyss is frightening. This deep, dense darkness threatens existence; there is a war coming. Buy this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Metal #2

Sep 13, 2017

Saying that Dark Nights: Metal #2 is a must-read is like saying that a hydrogen bomb has the potential to do some damage. Each page is amazing for its own reason, and I cannot recommend that you run out and buy this book strongly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Metal #3

Oct 11, 2017

This series is only getting better ladies and gentlemen. I know it's hard to believe, but Dark Nights: Metal #3 is the best book of the event so far and showcases some of Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo's greatest work. An absolute must-read for DC fans!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool (2015) #28

Mar 1, 2017

While Deadpool #28 isn't a laugh riot, it has its moments. The energy levels dip in the middle, but issue #28 starts out with a bang and ends with one that's just as exciting. Gerry Duggan has produced an entertaining issue while simultaneously setting the next several chapters of this arc. Thus, it's a successful issue, and I recommend reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool: Bad Blood #1

Apr 26, 2017

If you're looking for a brutally good time, call Deadpool: Bad Blood. This, Deadpool's first original graphic novel, is one hell of an entertaining read that fans will love.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool: The Duck #5

Mar 15, 2017

If you've read the first four issues of this series, there's no reason not to pick this one up. If you're new to the series, start from the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathstroke (2016) #19

May 24, 2017

Deathstroke is a great comic for both readers who consider themselves Deathstroke fans and for those that do not. Another great chapter in the Lazarus Contract arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #21

Jul 5, 2017

As long as Defiance stays a part of the Deathstroke series, I think that it'll go far. On its own though"well, I need to see more of the group in action before I can comment on that. Regardless, Deathstroke #21 is a promising start.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #951

Feb 24, 2017

I recommend buying Detective Comics #951 if you plan to keep reading this new arc, which, I also recommend that you do. This was a good issue, although it mostly just setup the next few parts of this arc. Shiva...the Destroyer...is brutal, and I can't wait to see more of her in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #953

Mar 22, 2017

Detective Comics #953 is another great chapter in the "League of Shadows" arc, and is definitely worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #954

Apr 12, 2017

While I realize that Batman can't always know what's going on, or be two or three or seven steps ahead of the bad guys, I think that James Tynion missed the mark here, and to put it simply, I didn't believe that Batman was, well, Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #957

May 24, 2017

Detective Comics #957 is a fast-paced issue that serves as a solid re-introduction for Stephanie Brown as the Spoiler. Long-time readers will certainly be pleased with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Jun 28, 2017

There is a whole let happening in the Detective Comics as of late, and in this issue, Tynion does a fantastic job keeping things fresh. Zatanna is a fine addition to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Edge of Venomverse #1

Jun 28, 2017

Edge of Venomverse #1 is a promising start to a surely epic event. Not a perfect comic, but it gets the job done, as I am now eager to read the rest of the series and can't wait for the impending Venom event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Edge of Venomverse #2

Jul 12, 2017

Filled with both laughable moments and beautiful artwork, Edge of Venomverse #2 is not one to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #22

May 17, 2017

Everything about this issue, in my mind, is ideal. The art is fantastic, the writing, spectacular. And the prologue"everyone is going to be talking about the prologue for a very long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generations: Wolverine & All-New Wolverine #1

Aug 16, 2017

Not a perfect comic, but seeing Laura and Logan fight alongside one another was very satisfying. Solid writing and artwork makes this a worthwhile buy .

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters: Funko Universe #1

May 9, 2017

Ghostbusters: Funko Universe is a one-shot comic that Funko Pop fans, as well as Ghostbusters fans will surely enjoy. Despite being a fun comic, the story between these pages is pretty epic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
God Country #5

May 17, 2017

God Country remains as one of the best comic books that are currently in print. In this issue, Donny Cates does an excellent job with progressing the story while simultaneously providing some much-needed backstory.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #26

Jul 5, 2017

This issue is visually stunning, but as of now, I'm not feeling this arc, and I'm really not looking forward to reading Green Arrow #27.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern / Space Ghost Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

While I can't recommend this book to all comic fans, I do think that some will get a kick out of it. For me, the art didn't work, but the story was decent enough and made me feel good...

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lanterns #21

Apr 19, 2017

In the matter of mere moments, the seemingly stable situation that writer Sam Humphries left us with in the previous issue of Green Lanterns has escalated and now, in Issue #21, has spiraled out of control. And thanks to this rapid escalation, this terrible set of moments Humphries has produced an awesome, worthwhile reading experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #22

May 3, 2017

GREEN LANTERNS #22 is a solid first chapter in a new arc, and while there isn't too much happening in terms of action, the future is quite bright.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Lanterns #23

May 17, 2017

The pace of the Lost in Space arc slows to a crawl, and while Green Lanterns #23 is gorgeous to look at, reading it doesn't do much.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #26

Jul 5, 2017

A whole lot of momentum was lost with this issue, and while there was an interesting unloading of information, not seeing Jessica or Simon left me feeling disconnected.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
GWAR: Orgasmageddon #1

Jun 7, 2017

GWAR: ORGASMAGEDDON #1 is a bloody good time - totally NSFW - totally awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #16

Mar 8, 2017

Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps #16 is one that Guy Gardner fans are not going to want to miss. This issue is action-packed, and believe it or not, it's also brimming with emotion. The writing is great - the art is great. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #17

Mar 22, 2017

Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps #17 brings with it a drastic change in pace as well as the end of the "Quest for the Blue Lanterns" arc. Not a must-buy per se, but a worthwhile read nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #18

Apr 12, 2017

With Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps #18 , the pace is beginning to pick up, but Venditti is still setting the stage, and this, the first chapter of a new arc isn't too entertaining, but it still worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #19

Apr 26, 2017

Part 2 of The Prism of Time, Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps #19 is an entertaining read that leaves the reader anxious to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #20

May 10, 2017

Part 3 of The Prism of Time, Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps # 20 is a filled with illustrated goodies that fans of the series will enjoy. Once it is revealed that (...) actually inadvertently caused the crisis at hand, it becomes clear that the GLC is going to have some trouble even after they beat this mysterious new foe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #21

May 24, 2017

Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps #21 offers a fitting conclusion to the Prism of Time arc as well as sets up future issues with an entertaining ending that comes as a nice surprise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #23

Jun 28, 2017

Another strong issue for the Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps series. Robert Venditti may be delaying the inevitable, but he's keeping each issue feeling fresh.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #30

Oct 11, 2017

While I wouldn't say that Hal Jordan and The Green Lantern Corps #30 falsely advertises what's found on its pages, I will say that the issue may leave some readers feeling swindled. Despite this, Hal Jordan and The Green Lantern Corps #30 is a well-written, well-illustrated book worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Infamous Iron Man #5

Feb 22, 2017

While the color work does earn this book some extra points, what deserves the most credit in this issue is the ending. Now, while the ending isn't a cliffhanger per se, it is a bit of a jaw-dropper. Some of you may have already put together the big reveal at the end, but for those of you who haven't, it's a nice a surprise. And while I'm not about to spoil it here, I will say that the ending gives me hope for the future of the series. I have a feeling that things are about to get a whole lot worse for Victor.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Infamous Iron Man #6

Mar 29, 2017

Both the art and the writing has been inconsistent, but I do like the concept of this series, and thus far that has been enough to keep me reading. Pick this one up, it's getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #1

May 3, 2017

While some fans may not be up for reading a comic that serves as a prelude to a video game...that is based on comics, Injustice 2 #1 is an entertaining read that is filled with solid writing and artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Injustice 2 #2

May 17, 2017

With Injustice 2 #2, the lines are still being drawn and the opposing teams are still being assembled, but regardless of this, the issue is packed with action and intensity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Judge Dredd: Cry of the Werewolf #1

Mar 21, 2017

Judge Dredd: Cry of the Werewolf is a classic story, filled with amazing artwork from legendary comic book artist, Steve Dillon, and it shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judge Dredd: Deviations #1

Mar 21, 2017

While Judge Dredd: Deviations lacks the intensity of 'Cry of the Werewolf,' John McCrae did a wonderful job producing an alternate ending/sequel to a classic Judge Dredd story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League / Power Rangers #3

Mar 11, 2017

Although the issue looks good, and it's fun, I think that we JL and PR fans deserve a bit more than just a fun comic filled with decent art, right? The plot has been anything but consistent, and while I am still hopeful for the remaining crossover issues, I'm quite disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #1

Feb 23, 2017

Justice League of America #1 is riddled with conflict and it's great. This issue is much better than its predecessor and ended up being exactly what I was hoping it would be. If you have any interest in any of the characters that make up this new team, or if you just really enjoy great artwork, be sure to pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #2

Mar 9, 2017

After reading Issue #2, I am convinced that writer Steve Orlando's vision for the remainder of JLA is epic and that the series will pick back up within the next issue or so, but Justice League of America #2 is a bit of a buzzkill, and thanks to the change in pace, I can't recommend picking this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kill the Minotaur #1

Jun 14, 2017

A modern retelling that is sure to please even the most demanding of fans, Kill The Minotaur is a fresh take on an old tale that promises readers an epic experience with each turn of the page. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kill the Minotaur #2

Jul 19, 2017

Kill the Minotaur #2 abandons readers in a nightmarish landscape, traps them with a hellish beast, and some how, manages to inspire a yearning for adventure and discovery.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Kill the Minotaur #4

Sep 20, 2017

Yet again, the creative team behind Kill the Minotaur produces a fantastic issue worth reading and re-reading. With only two issues left, I am eager to continue reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Killer Instinct #1

Sep 20, 2017

Far from captivating, Killer Instinct #1 is a decent enough comic that, according to the publisher will be an epic and worthwhile read. I don't see any evidence of that, but I am willing to read another issue or two. Fans of the franchise, and more specifically, fans that have played the most recent game, may get a kick out of this. For newcomers"you may want to pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Maestros #1

Oct 18, 2017

Maestros #1 is an enchanting romp that'll leave readers spellbound. This debut issue is packed tight with story and wonder. Maestros is one to watch; hop on the train to the realms now, you'll be glad that you did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Manhunter Special #1

Aug 23, 2017

Keith Giffen and Dan Didio have come together, with the help of their artists, of course, to create something that will surely leave long time readers feeling nostalgic. Jack Kirby (and I have said this before) certainly would have been proud.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 9, 2017

Mitch Gerards and Tom King"two of the industry's best"are tackling one of the Fourth World's most interesting characters, Mister Miracle, and this first issue has far exceeded my expectations"Mister Miracle is a masterclass in modern visual storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Gods Special #1

Aug 2, 2017

The New Gods Special (2017-) #1 is an awesome tribute to one of the most influential men in the industry. A definite must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Plastic #1

Apr 25, 2017

Plastic #1 is as strange as they come, but it's an amazing comic that should not be missed. This one is going to be a favorite over the next few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Plastic #2

May 24, 2017

Issue #2 of Plastic is wonderfully absurd, and it makes good on the promises of Issue #1. This is another must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic #5

Aug 23, 2017

Part 5 of 5, Plastic #5 offers a twisted ending to a twisted tale, that really, couldn't be any better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ragman #1

Oct 11, 2017

Ray Fawkes and Inaki Miranda breath life into a mystical character that first hit the pages in the 1970's. Ragman #1 is a fantastic start to what promises to be a memorable mini-series. Don't miss this one folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Redlands #1

Aug 9, 2017

It's been quite some time that a first issue has gotten this excited and this eager to continue. reading. Packed with action and shy of uninteresting exposition, Redlands brings the blood and promises to thrill for issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Regression #1

May 12, 2017

Regression #1 offers a promising start to a uniquely grotesque tale. Not perfect, but this debut issue is a worthwhile read...if you can stomach it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Regression #2

Jun 14, 2017

I'm unsure of whether I went into my reading of this issue expecting too much, but for me, it just didn't work. I'm hoping though that this issue is only a speed bump of sorts, and before long, we'll be back on track.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Regression #3

Jul 12, 2017

Regression has improved since the last issue, but I am still looking for more than I am getting. There is potential, but changes have to be made. I'm still looking for more of the intensity that the initial issue offered.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Regression #4

Aug 16, 2017

Regression is the type of series that I want to rave about, but unfortunately, I can't. I'm still waiting for something big to happen, but the story has picked back up at least.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shirtless Bear Fighter #3

Aug 23, 2017

Shirtless Bear-Fighter #3 starts slow, but before long it picks up and starts kicking fuzzy ass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shirtless Bear Fighter #4

Sep 20, 2017

Shirtless Bear-Fighter is a fantastic series that deserves every ounce of praise that it receives. Issue #4 is solid and for those who have read the first three issues, why are you even questioning buying this one?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Super Sons #2

Mar 16, 2017

Super Sons #2 is a breath of fresh air. Packed with action and levity, this is actually the comic that you need to take you away from the monotony

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #3

Apr 19, 2017

Super Sons #3 is filled with action and just the right amount of boyhood banter to remind the reader that their protagonists are young boys. Another fantastic issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2016) #33

Oct 18, 2017

Superman #33 is a fast-paced book that fans will tear through with excitement. Any Superman arc that involves Apokolips is alright with me; expect an epic next few issues folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Teen Titans (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

In Teen Titans Annual: The Lazarus Contract #1, an epic story comes to an epic end with a bang that will be felt throughout the DC Universe for some time. Not a perfect ending, but one worth reading nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Belfry (One Shot) #1

Feb 23, 2017

The Belfry #1 is a fantastic one-shot from writer/artist Gabriel Hardman. This is a comic that absolutely should not be missed. Horror comics don't get much better than this. When you're done reading, you're going to crave more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Killer Inside Me #1

Apr 19, 2017

If you're looking for some hard-hitting noir, well, then look no further, The Killer Inside Me is the book for you. Fans of American Psycho will most certainly enjoy this collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #165

Mar 2, 2017

A nearly perfect issue, The Walking Dead #165 is intense and should not be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The X-Files: Funko Universe #1

May 17, 2017

The X-Files: Funko Universe one-shot is light and entertaining, and filled with laughably adorable stories that fans of the series will certainly appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #11

May 12, 2017

Titans #11, the first chapter of the new crossover arc, The Lazarus Contract, is a promising start that creates intrigue and excitement.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) Annual #1

Mar 29, 2017

Titans Annual #1 has several things going for it, but it's a bit too long, and while the ending leaves one asking questions, it's also rather unsatisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #12

Aug 16, 2017

All in all, this issue was solid and I recommend it. I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next, and as long as this series keeps moving in this direction, you can bet that I'll be reading along.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trinity (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

Trinity Annual #1 makes for an epic read thanks to the quickened pace, added length, and high stakes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Turok (2017) #1

Aug 2, 2017

Whether I went into my reading of this book with unrealistic expectations or not, this one just didn't work for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
War Mother #1

Aug 23, 2017

War Mother #1 is an exciting first issue to a series that promises to amaze month after month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Mar 22, 2017

X-O Manowar #1 is an absolutely amazing comic book that elevates the medium. Do not miss the opportunity to be a part of something great, Read this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-O Manowar (2017) #2

May 1, 2017

X-O Manowar is a great work of modern Science Fiction, and Issue #2 of this groundbreaking should not be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More