Jacob Cordas's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bookcase, Multiversity Comics Reviews: 36
8.7Avg. Review Rating

10
A Man Among Ye #1

Jun 17, 2020

If you like pirates, this is for you. A Man Among Ye #1 signals the start of a phenomenal and prescient take on the genre. If you arent a fan of pirates, still read this. Your mind will probably be

View Issue       View Full Review
10
A Man Among Ye #2

Aug 19, 2020

A Man Among Ye #2 is a perfect pirate story with easily the best page layouts of the year. Every member of the creative team is at the peak of their ability. Attention needs to be given before the ship sets out and never comes back to

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Adventureman #2

Jul 7, 2020

Adventureman #2 is such a fun comic that even with its occasional stumbles I cant help but be excited for everything that comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
An Unkindness of Ravens #1

Sep 22, 2020

An Unkindess Of Ravens #1 is a high school witch comic that mixes horror with hokey to delightful effect.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ash & Thorn #1

Jun 24, 2020

Its a promising start of a series that is marred by some issues I hope will be ironed out soon. That being said, the concept game here is so strong, I would still recommend buying it and watching how it

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bad Mother (2020) #1

Aug 4, 2020

Bad Mother #1 is a sharp, well made start to a pulpy adventure. Any fan of pulp storytelling will feel right at home on every

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Billionaire Island #2

Jul 1, 2020

Billionaire Island #2 succeeds not just as an amazing humor comic by an all-star team but as a wonderful continuation of everything the first issue sets up. Spend whatever you need to to pick up your copy and then regret having to live in a society with money after you read it. But hey, at least you have a copy of this outstanding comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Billionaire Island #6

Sep 15, 2020

Billionaire Island #6 is a gut punch of an ending. It is equal parts hilarious and tragic. This is the late-stage capitalism satire we need right now, even if it isnt the one we want.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Canto II: The Hollow Men #1

Aug 25, 2020

Canto II: The Hollow Men #1 is a fairy tale for an era of rebellion. It is a story I needed and one we all need right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Decorum #2

Jun 10, 2020

Decorum #2 is a comic made by a group of brilliant creative minds all at the top of their game. To not read this is to miss out on one of the best comics out right now. Abandon whatever you are doing while reading this so you can go out and buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Edgar Allan Poe's Snifter of Terror: Snifter of Blood #2

Nov 18, 2020

Edgar Allan Poes Snifter Of Blood #2 is a fun and surprisingly complex take on the silliest of horror

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Faithless: II #1

Jun 9, 2020

Faithless II #1, while still a good comic, is a bit of let down. The first volume was so strong that even this solid output feels like a real missed opportunity. While I will still keep following this series, I cant shake the feeling this couldve been better.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Faithless: II #2

Jul 14, 2020

Faithless II #2 is a return to form after a lackluster first issue. The creative team is clearly on the top of their game. I apologize for ever doubting them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Faithless: II #3

Aug 18, 2020

Faithless II #3 continues the series exploration of mans ability to corrupt love adding more nuance while wonderfully expanding on the

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Faithless: II #4

Sep 16, 2020

Faithless II #4 is a solid comic that stumbles with its conclusion, rushing for a plot development that goes against the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Family Tree #6

Jun 17, 2020

Family Tree #6 is an excellent comic featuring easily the best coloring this week, if not this year. Take a break from tending your gardens, watering your plants or transforming into a plant person and read this

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Family Tree #8

Aug 26, 2020

Family Tree #8 is a solid issue that continues to avoid providing any answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Finger Guns #4

Aug 5, 2020

Finger Guns #4 is an occasionally great comic that tries just a little too hard to fit in with what the indie market looks like today. It truly sings it when it stands out, though, and I hope it leans more into it as the story progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Grendel Kentucky #1

Sep 2, 2020

This is a solid if slow start to a beautifully drawn series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
I Walk With Monsters #1

Nov 24, 2020

I Walk With Monsters #1 is a perfect first issue that demands to be read. From the first page, it does everything right and never slips up after

View Issue       View Full Review
8
It Eats What Feeds It #2

Aug 19, 2020

It Eats What It Feeds #2 is a solid continuation of a miniseries that stumbles a bit with the technical elements. With that said though, it is still a joy to

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lonely Receiver #1

Sep 2, 2020

Everything about this book works. Every creative choice is the right one. Every word and line perfectly placed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Money Shot #6

Jul 8, 2020

Money Shot #6 is a fun diversion between story arcs. While I may be excited to get to the next plot, I cant help but love every second Im getting to spend with these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Old Haunts #3

Aug 12, 2020

Old Haunts #3 has an arresting opening sequence and a solid continuation of its overarching story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
On the Stump #4

Aug 5, 2020

On The Stump #4 continues an amazing series bringing it to new heights. It is perfectly drawn, perfectly written and perfectly enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Power Pack (2020) #1

Nov 30, 2020

If you've been following 'Outlawed,' this is a must read. If you haven't been following, this is a must read. Regardless of if you are a child or an adult or one of those man-children that exists only in Judd Apatow movies, this is still a must read. It's cute and cuddly while still packing one hell of a right hook.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sabrina: Something Wicked #1

Jun 3, 2020

But if it allows me to keep getting Kelly Thompson writing a character she was born to write for and Veronica Fish and Andy Fish drawing such luscious and dynamic pages, I'm going to be coming back as soon as I can for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sea of Sorrows #1

Nov 17, 2020

Sea of Sorrows #1 is a phenomenal start to a horror story. The art and the writing take a solid concept and twist it into a horrifying experience. Read it while wearing a life

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Seven Secrets #1

Aug 11, 2020

Seven Secrets #1 struggles with the set-up for the overarching series but will almost certainly turn into a great series as it goes along.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
That Texas Blood #1

Jun 23, 2020

That Texas Blood #1 is a smart and perfectly paced neo-western noir. Put on your favorite country album, pour two fingers of whiskey and enjoy this excellent experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Goddamned: The Virgin Brides #1

Jun 30, 2020

The Goddamned: The Virgin Brides #1 is an ever better trip into this world than the original series. A filthy, profane fantasy adventure that you should check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Thompson Heller: Detective Interstellar #2

Nov 25, 2020

Thompson Heller: Interstellar Detective #2 is a great addition to the modern noir finding new corners to explore all the topics the genre is built to discuss. Hammett would be proud of this addition to the canon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Undiscovered Country #8

Sep 22, 2020

Undiscovered Country #8 is the most visually arresting issue of a series that has prided itself on visual imagination. The coloring especially continually finds creative new ways to make the world alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Villainous #1

Oct 14, 2020

Villainous #1 is a satire without sharp enough teeth. It definitely has the pieces of a more interesting story, but this book still needs more time to develop and reach its full potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wynd (2020) #1

Jun 16, 2020

This is great. Everything comes together to make another excellent BOOM! comic from another excellent team. Read it if you like comics that are good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wynd (2020) #3

Aug 26, 2020

Wynd #3 is another perfect issue in a series that can do no wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

2nd

November

More