Aaron Phillips's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 119
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8
2020 Ironheart #2

Jun 17, 2020

Overall, issue 2 wraps up the mini arc of Riri really pleasantly. Under the creative talents of Lore and Ayala I am optimistic that Marvel fans will have many more fantastic stories to come in the future. Right now, this is a character I can't wait to see more of!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Alien (2021) #1

Mar 24, 2021

All in all, I was wildly impressed with this first issue, and while my heart was in my throat the whole time, I thoroughly enjoyed this debut introduction into the world of the Xenomorphs for Marvel. Johnson and his creative team have brought their A game and created a premier issue worthy of taking note of.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Alien (2021) #2

Apr 21, 2021

Overall, I thought this was a solid issue that equated to a real page-turner. I had a few small quips with the approach to the art, but those final few pages, oh wow, absolutely beautiful stuff. We're into the real meat of the story now, so I'm eagerly anticipating issue three.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Alien (2021) #3

May 26, 2021

Overall, the issue reads really well, and Kennedy does a great job of creating tension. Additionally, his larger plot has me extremely intrigued, and I want to know more. He knows how to develop a great hook. The art and the coloring, however, are slightly lacking that element of impactful horror. Its fun, just a little too bright in its tone, which hinders the visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
American Vampire: 1976 #7

Jan 1, 1970

Overall, I think Root really outshone the other stories, and while Trunk left a little to be desired, I was left wanting more with Limb. There was absolutely something here though to be explored. Perhaps each of the stories would have been better suited to an individual tie-in one shot, but jammed together in one issue felt a little forced and did a disservice to what could have been offered. Ill say this though, Id recommend this on the Root story alone, Lotay brought a canon to a knife fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Avengers (1963): Curse of the Man-Thing #1

Apr 3, 2021

Overall this was an interesting premise and Orlando appears to be in his element. While some of the art doesnt live up to the concept, there were some brilliant panels that this series can definitely build from. A good first issue, but nothing mind-blowing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016): Secret Files #2

Jul 31, 2019

This is a bloody great one shot to pick up, with some amazing contributions from a number of different creators as they dip their toes into the world of Tom King's villains of Batman. This is an easy purchase as it can be read as a standalone collection one-shot, or it will add value to the current King Batman run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Beta Ray Bill (2021) #2

Apr 28, 2021

This creative teams approach to this series screams palatable excitement, as each member pours themselves into their craft. The results culminates in a vibrant, and exciting world with a character that is begging to be explored more. I am loving what Ive seen so far and I cant wait to see where the journey leads.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Beta Ray Bill (2021) #3

May 26, 2021

Overall, Beta Ray Billcontinues to be such an exciting and visually exhilarating series. Johnson and his creative team have created a compelling storyline out of a character that hasnt been explored enough. Fans of cosmic quests, demons, and fire realms, and electrifying plot points, this is the series for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bug Boys #1

Jan 21, 2020

As a father, I've read a lot of children's books, and there are not many books, especially young graphic novels, that weave together education, moral values, and humor in a way that Knetzger has been able to do. I would definitely recommend this book to parents, and guardians who read to kids, or to children who can read at a second to third-grade reading level as a safe introduction into the world of graphic novels, and comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Collapser #1

Jul 17, 2019

The pages are bizarre and trippy and loaded with amazing detail that will have you scanning all of the fine points of the illustrations. All of this culminates into a tense conclusion that will leave you excited and anxious to get your hands on the next issue. Overall, first issues can be difficult to balance, but the creative team has gone after this story in an aggressively creative fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Collapser #2

Aug 14, 2019

The ending of this issue is far too tantalizing, as you finally start to see Liam grasp tightly onto some semblance of sanity, madness explodes all over the pages. This series shouldn't be approached lightly, however, if you want a rollercoaster ride of dementedness, then you've arrived at the perfect property.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deadpool (2019) #5

Jun 10, 2020

Overall, this is an absolutely batty plot, and this chaotic issue is so wildly enjoyable. Ive only just recently jumped into this series, but I am fully invested into seeing whether Deadpool has it in him to continue managing a kingdom of monsters...on Staten Island!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deadpool (2019) #6

Aug 5, 2020

Ultimately, the issue is a great addition to the library of Deadpool storylines. Thompson and the rest of the creative team brought their A-game. This is an undeniably brilliantly funny issue that is more than worthy of your hard-earned dollars! If Thompson can keep knocking out stories like this, then Deadpool fans can sit back and enjoy the hurricane of comedy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Deadpool (2019) #10

Jan 27, 2021

Overall, this is by no means an earth-shattering issue, but it does what it is intended to do: entertain you and make you laugh. Thompson constructs a world that doesnt take itself too seriously and basks in the utterly absurd. If you love Deadpool, this is the series for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deadpool (2019): Nerdy 30 #1

Mar 8, 2021

Overall, there are some amazing stories in Deadpool Nerdy 30#1, and ones I enjoyed from some massively talented folks. That being said, eight stories packed into an issue, with that many authors, just leaves this feeling over-saturated with the tones clashing with one another. I like Deadpool, but Id give this one a miss personally.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Doom Patrol: Weight of the Worlds (2019) #1

Jul 3, 2019

While thisDoom Patrol: Weight of the Worlds #1 doesn't deliver anything astounding, I urge new fans to stick with the series. I've seen the products that Way can deliver, and I think you will not be disappointed. He is a deep, and thoughtful writer, and heavily involves those on his creative team to contribute. With issue one though, it was fun, deep, but I'm hoping for more moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Empyre: Avengers #0

Jun 24, 2020

Overall, I was left unimpressed with this issue. I expected to kick off this event with a bang! Ultimately, due to many missteps, it has fizzled out my excitement. It is the set up of a larger event, so perhaps this one was more of a plot setting exercise? If thats the case, I hope issue #1 comes back with a vengeance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Empyre: Road To Empyre: The Kree/Skrull War #1

Jan 1, 1970

Overall, Im really excited to have read this issue. Im astounded at how much story theyve been able to pack into these pages. Not only does it provide a solid history of Marvel comic events, but it finishes with such dramatic tension that will leave you gasping for the next tie in story!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Eternals (2021) #4

Apr 21, 2021

Overall, this was a solid issue. A specific highlight was watching as Thena, Kingo, and Druig all play mental chess with each other as to ascertain who is the mastermind behind Thanos' killing spree and why. At the same time, you have Gillen overseeing this as the puppet master trying to lead us down the rabbit hole as we follow this twisted tale. The ending was a lovely touch as well. Things are certainly gearing up now, and my level of intrigue has been dialed up to 11.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Event Leviathan #1

Jun 12, 2019

Overall, Bendis, Maleev, and Reed have delivered a truly enticing first issue for Event Leviathan.The ending was left on a great cliffhanger but felt satisfying enough that you should be eager to pick up issue two next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Event Leviathan #2

Jul 10, 2019

Overall, this story has been referenced and hinted at since the arrival of Bendis, and so far it is succeeding in living up to the expectations it set for itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Event Leviathan #3

Aug 14, 2019

A bloody brilliant issue, but I'm worried I may be driven mad trying to figure this out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Event Leviathan #4

Sep 11, 2019

Event Leviathan#4 continues to entertain and exasperate all in the same breath. Bendis has created an unmissable event as the series and the suspense continues to build. There are two issues left in the series and I can't wait for the secrets to be revealed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Event Leviathan #5

Oct 9, 2019

Of all of the issues in this story, Event Leviathan #5 will be the one that gets people talking and really trying to identify “who is Leviathan?” as the finale of the mini-series approaches. This will be the last time fans can speculate between themselves about who this villain is and what will this means for the DC comics verse moving forward. As of next month, we'll all finally have the answer, but until then, I will continue to sit anxiously on the edge of my seat wondering what it all means.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Event Leviathan #6

Nov 13, 2019

Overall, I've been such a big fan of this series, and I hope, beyond hope, they find a way to work this villain back into another big series that crosses the DC comics-verse. I found this conclusion exceptional. Whether you read it in a trade paperback or you've read issue by issue, I hope you've each found it as intense, and baffling as I have!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Future State (2021): Shazam! #1

Jan 19, 2021

Overall, the creative have crafted something highly entertaining, while being vastly contrasting to the characters we know. Sheridan has layered in so much mystery and intrigue its going to be hard to resist the urge to immediately pick up issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Future State (2021): Shazam! #2

Feb 16, 2021

Overall, this story has so much intertwined within it; its hard to believe its only been two issues. Packed with intrigue, deception, heartbreaking and shocking moments, horrific events, and a lot of action. Sheridan and team leaned heavily into this Future State story, and youve got to applaud them for the stupendous result!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ghost-Spider (2019) #10

Jun 17, 2020

Overall, this is a gut wrenching issue that will leave you infuriated at the injustice of the dynamics of modern society, but opens Gwen up to a whole new potential arc to carry her forward. Oh, its so cruel!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ignited #1

Jun 14, 2019

I believe this series will go on to tell a fascinating story from a unique point of view. This initial origin story, while uncomfortably focusing around an event such as a school shooting, doesn't shy away from the controversy, instead opting to really explore all facets of the event. I just worry it could be a little too real, too raw for some readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Immortal Hulk #41

Dec 16, 2020

Overall, this series as been a rollercoaster ride to hell and back, quite literally in some issues! Now we find ourselves at a point of coasting and needing to catch our breath, and some will see the depth in that, but I fear other readers will be feeling hard done by in comparison. TheImmortal Hulk series never slows down for long though, and I am excited to see whats in store for us next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Immortal Hulk #42

Jan 13, 2021

Overall, this just felt like a messy issue and at all in tone with the amazing previous issues. One of the many standout points of this series is the time the plot takes to marinate and develop so that when there are big reveals it lands with a massive amount of gravitas. Sadly, Immortal Hulk #42 suffers from too many contrasting art styles and a lack of balance within the plot. Not a great performance, but there are threads of story developing that could be taken somewhere in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Immortal Hulk #43

Feb 3, 2021

Overall, it was a good issue, that feels like the calm before a storm. For a few issues now, Hulk has been ripped apart and beaten to his possibly lowest point weve ever seen. Ewing appears to be building toward a moment here, and Im looking forward to see where he continues to take this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Immortal Hulk: Flatline #1

Feb 15, 2021

It is quite astonishing that Shalvey was able to bring this all together and combine it in a way that resonates so well. Wearing the cap of author, artist, and colorist is an insane amount of responsibility to throw on to one person but the Irish creator has plucked the entire vision from his mind and successfully translated it onto the page. Overall, I really enjoyed the issue, and its one that I'm positive Immortal Hulk loyalists will absolutely want to own.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Immortal Hulk: Time of Monsters #1

May 19, 2021

Overall, this issue exceeded all expectations I had of whatTime of Monsters was really about. Yet, now I find myself yearning for more stories from this archaic green nightmare. Paknadel and Ewing may have sought to write a fun one shot, but theyve stumbled on to a phenomenal idea, paired with the visuals from Ferreyra, this is a story Marvel fans would certainly be lining up for more of!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #9

May 3, 2019

The artwork by Huntington in this issue really lifts up the story also. Each panel is surrounded by a fluid lighter board, every one different from the last. The illustrations really driving home the impact of the two sharing space in this ethereal plane. There is a real change in the story here as both Kensho and Thurma reach a state of clarity. The issue ends, and I didn't want it to stop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #10

Jun 6, 2019

There are so many facets to love about this comic, this series, and it's evident that the creative team are in sync in trying to provide the truest representation of the lives of those that inhabit the lands we immersed ourselves with all those years ago. Only two more issues remain, and it feels like we're building to something truly impactful.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #11

Jul 13, 2019

I enjoyed the issue, but ultimately it felt too similar to the prior issue, where I was hoping to encounter or see something different as we've come to expect from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #12

Aug 22, 2019

With Netflix's Dark Crystal: Age of Resistancea little over a week away, this is a fantastic story for you to pick up whether you've kept current or need to go back and binge all 12 issues. Smith, Huntington, and Campbell have expertly created a continuation of the story of the Dark Crystal and its never-ending influence on the people and pop culture. Personally speaking, it has been so enjoyable seeing the continuation of the story of Kensho and Thurma and the ending is sure to bring a smile to anyone's face, even maybe a Skeksis.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance #1

Sep 25, 2019

There's a lot to enjoy about the issue, however, but it does leave you wanting more. I do believe that it will set up the arc of the whole story nicely. Ordon was a stand out character during the show and I'm hoping they take the time to elevate his backstory. A solid start, but with much expectation for a more intense story moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League Dark (2018) #14

Aug 28, 2019

This was a great set up issue for what's next to come, and I personally can't wait to get my hands on it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark (2018) Annual #1

Jul 31, 2019

The panel design and the lettering are extraordinary. Leigh is able to encapsulate so many different voices, added with it the elements, and sounds of nature, that they flow from the page as if they were growing themselves. Needless to say, it's superbly crafted, and what I assume is meant to be a one-shot story, is deserving of more than just one. If you're a fan of Swamp Thing, this should be an easy pick-up and an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Kill A Man OGN

Jun 1, 2020

Overall, this was a brilliant opening to the story of Kill A Man. Johnson, and Orlando have created a story that highlights the unscrupulousobstacles that stand in the way of gay professional fighters. I wait on baited breath for part two!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
King In Black: Immortal Hulk #1

Dec 15, 2020

Overall, this was a solid issue, albeit rather heavy. If the holidays are a difficult period for you, this could hit particularly hard. Additionally, the lack of dialogue may leave some readers left wanting. That being said, as a standalone issue, it merged two powerhouse storylines together in a unique and entertaining fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
King In Black: Scream #1

Mar 24, 2021

In the end, it was a great issue and Im left mourning the need to see more of Scream in another Marvel series. The combination of the trauma suffered from Benton paired with the power of Scream to inflict justice upon the lawless underbelly of Marvel universe was something Chapman really delivers on. For Symbiote and Venomaniac fans out there, this is a fantastic issue to get your hands on!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
King In Black: Planet Of The Symbiotes #1

Jan 1, 1970

Overall, Planet of the Symbiotes #1 is a great read for any Venomaniac. These are the kind of tie-in stories that add extra depth to a major event like The King in Black, as he wreaks havoc across the Marvel comic universe. I just can't get enough of these symbiote stories. The issue is more than worth its weight in value with two different stories to pour over, and as promised by the editors, more to come in the future! Oh, what a time to be a Venom fan at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
King In Black: Planet Of The Symbiotes #2

Feb 17, 2021

Overall, the issue starts somewhat well, and then just peters out. After the first issue dropped with such a bang, I was expecting big things from the remaining issues in the mini-series. Buy the issue for the American Kaiju visuals, but don't expect anything world-shattering with this tie-in story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Leviathan Dawn #1

Feb 26, 2020

Overall, Leviathan Dawn has sustained a powerful level of intrigue and mystique that continues the need for more exploration into the depth of these characters and this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #5

May 22, 2019

This is a team that is so evidently all moving towards the same goal, and working together fluently. I didn't realize how eagerly I've been wanting to see a solo Martian Manhunter origin series. This is a series you definitely should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #6

Jun 26, 2019

This is very much, as of date, one of my favorite series being published this year. There are so many components of this story to get lost in. I highly recommend picking up a copy of Martian Manhunter Issue #6.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Martian Manhunter (2018) #7

Jul 24, 2019

Martian Manhunter #7 was a lot more tense than I was expecting, and was a different pace and tone in comparison to the other single issues. This is one of my current favorite series on comic shelves as we speak, and it's brilliant to see them continuing to push forward so confidently with each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #8

Aug 28, 2019

As the story develops within Martian Manhunter #8,you can see those same elements in Diane that J'onn has been projecting as well; a fear, and intense anxiety that your true self will be rejected by those around them. All of this culminates into a truly beautiful union between Diane and J'onn as they finally accept each other as police partners. Orlando absolutely nails the parallel between the two protagonists, as they cross the bridge of understanding in a tango of shared experiences. Martian Manhunter #8 is a solid issue that continues to march forward with an exceptional story and masterful art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #9

Oct 23, 2019

In my opinion, this is series should be considered one of DC's most exciting new stories to date. There are a lot of fantastic DC properties out there, and while Martian Manhunter may not be held in the same esteem as Superman or Batman, this series definitely should be. This creative team produces some exceptionally progressive content on all fronts. Issue #10, is sure to be one of the most abstract issues yet, so don't miss it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #10

Nov 27, 2019

I continue to promote and sing the praise of this team and this storyline. It's worth every ounce of your time!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #11

Dec 25, 2019

The depth of what Orlando has delivered to the Martian Manhunter is how this character should always be approached moving forward. I didn't know I needed this series until I read it. It'll be sad to see the 12-issue arc come to an end, but ultimately, this has been a highly successful run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #12

Feb 5, 2020

Get Martian Manhunter on your pull list and read it until you're green in the face. This is a series I will recommend for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Marvels Snapshot (2020): Fantastic Four #1

Jan 1, 1970

Overall, this was a fun issue to read, and somewhat thought provoking given the choice of perspectives Dorkin and Dyer chose to go with. Fantastic Four: Marvels Snapshot won't be for everyone, as the pace can feel somewhat labored, and the story lacking in action. For others however, I think this will be a great break from the norm and a flashback into the golden era of comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Mutants (2019) #15

Jan 27, 2021

Overall, this heavily packed issue is setting up multiple plot points that could easily take this story in varying directions. Ayala clearly has a plan for this group of gifted youngsters, and the use of the Shadow King as a villain is a top selection! This team of creatives has combined to produce an enticing issue, layered with opportunity.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nomen Omen #6

Jun 27, 2020

Overall I can not adore this series, and issue, any more intensely than I am hoping to capture in this review. It is truly a sleeping giant in the comics industry from three fantastic creators. Issue 6 is intense in its plot, visually stimulating, and hard to believe it all came together so fluently!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nomen Omen #7

Jul 25, 2020

Overall, issue #7 is a chance to catch your breath and take stock of what happened in the rampant previous issues. Bucci appears to be laying down more depth and structure as he teases a whole new set of obstacles approaching. Will this be an issue to look back on with ingenious nods of things to come though, or broken promises that were never met? Only time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nomen Omen #8

Jan 1, 1970

Overall this was a very creative issue, and the plot begins to thicken as both parties regroup, and recharge. Given a majority of the prior issues have been so well marinated in a chaotic energy, Bucci has deliberately slowed the story down, in order to build that tension back up again for the coming issues. A fantastic issue, and visually stunning work from Camagni. A really diverse story that's sure to spice up your comic haul!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Project Patron #1

Apr 7, 2021

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this issue, and you can count me for checking out the next story. Orlando, as the characters creator, has found a twist in the superheroes genre, and its bloody refreshing. The Patron is the beacon of light in a world that relies heavily upon him, and the bulb is about to go POP.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Project Patron #2

May 7, 2021

Overall, I wasnt sure what to expect of this series, but wow, the creative team has come out swinging. The story is engaging, with the intensity rising. Its an absolutely refreshing take on the superhero genre. A welcome addition to any comics pull list!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rick and Morty #50

May 31, 2019

Fans of Rick and Morty can also enjoy six variant covers, plus more easter eggs than an army Mr. Meseeks can generate. Plus, with the recent announcement that season 4 will be coming back to Adult Swim in November 2019, I would highly recommend reading through these comics to tide you over in the meantime.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Rick and Morty #55

Nov 1, 2019

Overall, it was an ok issue, but nowhere near the best work I've seen on this property. It would serve as some adequate comic relief in-between some heavier reading, but it's a little disappointing given Rick and Morty‘s new season is about to air. I hoped OniPress would have used this time to leverage the show's fervor to deliver a more in this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rick and Morty Presents: Mr. Meeseeks #1

Jun 14, 2019

Overall, Rick And Morty Presents Mr. Meeseeks #1 is a highly enjoyable read, and I'd love to see this creative team come back together again to tackle another Meeseeks story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rick and Morty Presents: Unity #1

Nov 2, 2019

After the reading the prior 'Presents' issue, I was unsure of whether these one-shot style stories featuring notable prior characters could continue. In this instance, I am happy to be proven so very wrong. As long as Oni Press keeps putting these characters in the hands of some exciting creative talent, the fans will continue to lap up this exceptional work.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rick and Morty vs. Dungeons & Dragons #1

Oct 3, 2019

If you've never read a Rick and Morty comic I highly recommend getting in on Rick And Morty Vs. Dungeons & Dragons #1, and encourage you to read the prior box set. It captures every ounce of essence from the show. It pays homage in an honest way to the Dnd routes, without sacrificing on the comedic nature of Rick And Morty.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Rick and Morty: Go To Hell #1

May 31, 2020

Overall its a fun set up for a new Rick and Morty series that has the promise to deliver something great moving forward. The pace of the issue may not be for everyone, and the visuals work are ok, but Im willing to see where this is all headed!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
ROM: Dire Wraiths #1

Jan 16, 2020

Overall, the issue feels fairly middling, due to the majority of the story being fairly slow-paced. The lack of Rom, the Solstar Knight, is a hard point to get over. Perhaps the series will develop further and use issue #1 as a springboard, but currently, I find myself already switched off. As a reader, the first issue is where the creative team should be setting the bar the highest. First impressions are last impressions, and my impressions of Rom, are sadly lackluster.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scream: Curse of Carnage #6

Jun 3, 2020

Overall, this is a really intriguing take on a lesser known, and highly underutilized character. Chapman has dropped her right into the seedy underbelly of New York, Scream is kicking arse and taking names. Any fan of previous symbiote work will definitely enjoy this!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Seven Secrets #1

Aug 12, 2020

Overall this was a really intriguing first issue from Taylor and his creative team. While vague in parts, theres enough there that I really want to see where this story goes. The art style was really captivating and I think this creative team has the ability to come together and deliver something spectacular.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadow Service #1

Jul 27, 2020

Overall, this was a brilliant start to a brand new property. Scott seems to be having so much fun by delving deep into the caverns of this story line. As a paranormal investigation series, with dark, and ominous art, this ticks a lot of brilliant boxes. You won't want to miss this disturbing first issue, so make sure to add issue #1 to your pull list!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Silk (2021) #3

May 12, 2021

In the end, this was a fun issue. Perhaps not as electric as the prior two issues, but its obvious that Goo is laying down the groundwork and backstory the series needs to build. The development of Saya as a character gives me Kingpin vibes, and I love that Goo is creating this world for Cindy to own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Something is Killing the Children #16

May 26, 2021

Overall, the issue sets a great tone for the new arc and allows us to see the horror that Erica Slaughter was born into, with the promise of so much more. The creative combination of Tynion, DellEdera, and Muerto continues to keep churning out the horror comics we all deserve. It is now the perfect time for new fans to jump into this stellar series!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spider-Man Noir (2020) #5

Oct 28, 2020

This series really deserves to be talked about far more highly, a true hidden gem amongst the giant Marvel titles that are currently flooding shelves. The creative team were able to connect as a singular voice and pen a story that while reminiscent of movies like The Mummy, or Indiana Jones, still warrants utter enjoyment at the at the final product. I want more from this team, and Id love to see them come back for more Spider-Man Noir.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Stranger Things: Six #1

May 29, 2019

Given Stranger Things: Six #1spends so much time building the scene and introducing the characters, I'm hopeful issue two wastes no time in moving the story along, but as a stand-alone comic, this one fails to deliver anything of note.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Stranger Things: Six #2

Jun 25, 2019

Stranger Things: Six Issue #2 finally feels like it belongs in the world created by the Duffer brothers. It's a great read, and has revived my interest, and curiosity as to what's to come in the remaining two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Stranger Things: Six #3

Jul 27, 2019

Ultimately, this issue should have been a really big tense, and terrifying plot within the series that foreshadows evil are on the horizon. In reality it never truly delivers, and given the expectation following on from issue #2, this left me feeling even more disappointed. Especially given the rave reviews that the third season that show has just received. There's just too many elements out of balance that compound the problems of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman (2018): Leviathan Rising Special #1

May 29, 2019

In relation to the main story however, the mystery that surrounds Leviathan as a villain has made this a captivating storyline that has been teased and threaded throughout many of the DC properties. This 73-page issue is certainly one you won't want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Boys: Dear Becky #1

Apr 1, 2020

Stepping into The Boys: Dear Becky #1 is consoling in a bleak viewpoint that I for one revel in. Issue one is like being wrapped in a bear hug of comfort that feels like even though the world is on fire, The Boys are on the case and they will deliver swift retribution and gory justice to all the inhumane acts that have been levied upon this planet. This creative team has cohesively resurrected this world so effortlessly, and I for one can't wait to be horrified and engrossed by where this story leads.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Boys: Dear Becky #2

Jul 1, 2020

Overall, it was undoubtedly a fun issue that will leave you with that warm, and uncomfortable feeling that is the quintessential to the the Boys series. It will be interesting to see where the next issue takes however, as there is a slight undertone of this plot laboring on. If you're looking for a hilarious, and unrestrained story, baked in with some Superheroes getting their arse kicked, this will feel like home!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Last God (2019) #1

Oct 30, 2019

One of these gladiator slaves has fought and won some 59 of his previous encounters. A win today, would mean he'd earned his freedom. The gladiator in question is the town's favorite, Eyvindr. If only it were so easy. Immediately after the ceremonial battle, smoke arises from within the inner sanctum of the palace. All of the slaves and gladiators are hurriedly conscripted by the local guard to join them in finding out what is at the heart of the disturbance. What they find is much more shocking, and horrifying, than any of them could have imagined.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Last God (2019) #2

Nov 27, 2019

The Last God#2 shows great promise and has some stunning visuals to back it up. Ultimately though the follow up to the premier issue delivered an unclear message as it attempts to tackle too many things at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Nice House on the Lake #1

Jun 1, 2021

Overall, if youre a fan of Tynions most recent work, then you wont be disappointed with this latest addition. A mystery from the beginning that will keep you guessing, but with a bone-chilling ending that leaves you with more questions than answers. A superb read, with the promise of the start of a stunning series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Pull OGN

Nov 19, 2020

Overall, fans of futuristic dystopian lands will want to get in on this series. The creative team came at this first issue hard, and it leaves a monolithic impact. I am beyond eager to see whats in store for the rest of this series. Orland and Ortiz are not messing around!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Union (2020) #5

May 3, 2021

Overall, the premier of Britains newest superhero team was an interesting premise. Sadly though, the series plot, and the development of the characters just never felt like they resonated. Generally, it just felt very derivative of many other team up stories, but without any big wow factor. As a Brit myself I was excited for this series, all in all it was a very average read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Warning #7

May 26, 2019

While I am a fan of the teasing nature of this story, I also find myself craving details. At some point, this story is going to have to give us more, and I hope it's not left too late to the point where it feels like a dump of information that contradicts with how LaRoche has gone about crafting this story. Either way, I remain fascinated with where the story is heading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Warning #8

Jun 23, 2019

The beauty ofThe Warning #8 is that while the dialogue sometimes feels like it's lacking, the optics are beyond stunning, and are packed with enough detail they tend to add a significant layer to the primary plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Warning #9

Jul 18, 2019

The final scene in this issue is stunning. The colors from Simpson are just stupendous, and I've gone back to just look at this page and admire the level of work put into it. Based on that scene alone, I highly recommend you go pick up this issue right away. The Warning #9 is my favorite in the series so far and well deserving of the praise I have given it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Warning #10

Aug 16, 2019

If you have a deep love of sci-fi horror such as Ridley Scott's Alien theatrical saga, then Ed LaRoche's ‘The Warning‘ will tick all of the right boxes for you. I found this particularly surprising as I typically find horror pieces extremely unsettling, but I couldn't put these stories down and often found myself studying the pages again, and again for the all of the hidden details. I look forward to the return of this series, and my hope is we are not on hiatus too long from this magnificent story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thor (2020) #11

Jan 6, 2021

Overall, Im in awe at how captivating this series has gotten! If youre not reading this current Thor run, then youre truly missing out on something magnificent. The tension that marinates throughout the issue is palpable, and I cant get enough of it. Roll on issue #12.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thor (2020) #13

Mar 17, 2021

In general, while the issue doesn't solicit an evocative reaction, it does lay the pieces in place to set up for a glorious final showdown between Thor and Donald Blake. Cates has done well to position the pieces of his plot to keep the readers firmly hooked every month. It'll be fascinating to see how this one concludes, and I, for one, can't wait to see it. Knowing Cates, he's got more in store for these characters than we can anticipate!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thor (2020) #14

Apr 14, 2021

Overall, the Prey mini-series has really given the Cates Thor run some real weight in story. The stylistic choice to bring back an obscure character like Donald Blake and empower and twist his being to become a dark version of Thor was an absurdly great move. Maybe Im a sucker for a good old-fashioned evil doppelgnger. Where Cates takes this series from here, who knows? But if he continues to take exciting chances such as this one, then count me on board for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Venom (2018) #26

Jul 15, 2020

Overall, this was a thrilling issue to start up a brand new plot. After 26 issues, I am still highly invested into wanting to see where this all ends up. Venom is still alive and kicking, and you won't want to get caught sleeping on this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Venom (2018) #27

Aug 12, 2020

Overall, this energetic issue really grabbed onto me, and took me for one hell of a high powered ride. The art style, while different, is not without its merits as Gedeon gets to draw Venom with some excellent new abilities. This series continues to be as unpredictable as ever and Im excited to see what Cates has in store for us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Venom (2018) #30

Nov 18, 2020

Overall, as a huge symbiote fan I enjoyed the series, but it was more of a comforting "oh that was nice", as opposed to "I think my jaw just hit the floor!". I truly do believe that a short story was needed to buy the creative team some time before the huge symbiote event of the holidays truly kicks off, something that wouldn't impact the prime reality. Ultimately it reflects a "what if" storyline than anything long lasting, fun, but inconsequential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2018) #31

Jan 1, 1970

Overall, Venom#31 is an interesting issue and causes the reader to take a moment to catch their breath after the world-shattering revelations from King in Black #1. The callback to some of the original plot points was a great plot device to take stock of just how far this story, and these characters, have developed from where we first met them. But the ultimate question at the end of the issue poses: is it enough?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Venom (2018) #32

Jan 6, 2021

After the lull of the prior issue, the energy has been injected back in to the Venom series. The ending was just,chefs kiss, as Cates continues to pull from the back catalogue of Venom's vast history. Eddie refuses to go down without a fight, and he's back as the lovable anti-hero we just can't help but want to root for no matter his past.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Venom (2018) #33

Feb 3, 2021

WhileThe King in Black series has definitely been a brilliant highlight to this climactic event, you can not miss this recent run of Venom as it's clear the two are going to come crashing together very soon. Cates's fresh thinking and frenzied ideas have reminded us why we love Venom and elevated him to an elite Marvel status.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Venom (2018) #35

Jun 16, 2021

This swan song of an issue perfectly encapsulates the ending of an era that gives closure to a spectacular almost four year run. Theres so much to love here, and the transitions from creative to creative is incredibly smooth. A magnificent way to mark the 200th cover of Venom, while also creating quite a few other opportunities for other Symbiotes to now take center stage. Take a bloody big bow to everyone involved, a stupendous finale!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #6

May 20, 2021

Overall,We Only Find Them When Theyre Dead#6 promises another out of this cosmos arc. The combination of complex characters with competing power dynamics, and paired with the stunning visuals results in this being a superb story. Issue #6 carefully lays the plot for some future carnage.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Web Of Venom: Wraith #1

Sep 9, 2020

Honestly, Web of Venom: Wraith #1 is an absolute must-have tie-in for the Venom series. While this is likely to be a one-shot, it added a lot of great depth of detail for the main Venom run.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Wellington #1

Dec 19, 2019

Where I was hoping to be regaled with a Sherlock Holmes type of mystery tinged with some paranormal investigation, in the end, I found myself feeling no attachment to a story that while a great concept, had no follow-through.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Werewolf By Night (2020) #3

Dec 30, 2020

Overall, the story was enjoyable, but nothing mind-blowing. Werewolf By Night #3 lacks some of the impact the prior issues had visually, even while the story's depth does deliver an entertaining plot. The ending of the issue does set up an exciting conclusion to this mini-series, so we'll have to wait and see what's in store from this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wolverine: Black, White & Blood #1

Nov 4, 2020

Overall, wow! Black, White, & Blood delivered on many different levels. Of the three stories that comprise the issue, two were stellar and the imagery included will be one that comic collectors will want to get a hold of. For fans of Wolverine, this is an issue you do not want to miss. It'll be exciting to see what the future issues hold from other creators who are lined up for this mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wonder Woman (2016) #751

Feb 12, 2020

Overall, I enjoyed the story and I'm curious to see where Orlando will be taking this arc with Wonder Woman. There were some stories mentioned in the final few pages I am not covering to keep it spoiler-free, but this definitely opens up some really interesting issues moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman (2016) #752

Feb 26, 2020

Overall, issue #752 course corrects from a bumpy prior issue and begins to dive into the heart of an interesting story. Orlandos grand design for this story is beginning to take shape, and I'm ready to consume issue #753 as soon as it's ready.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wonder Woman (2016) #753

Mar 11, 2020

I think overall, it just felt too safe. I wanted to be left more in a state of awe, and feel like that the creative team really poured themselves into it, rather than they completed a project.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Corp (2021) #1

May 12, 2021

I, for one, am excited about this series and the complexities of industry Howard will seek to address. While the ongoings of Corporations and international bureaucracy might not be everyones cup of tea, this series is absolutely worth the time! Its Wallstreet meets X-Men. I mean, whats shadier than men with more money and power than they know what to do with?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Factor (2020) #1

Jul 29, 2020

Overall, X-Factor has made a sexy, messy splash. The team dynamic is lively, and fun, with an aggressive get it done mentality. There are many different elements here to get involved with, and it feels like Williams especially had an absolute ball putting this together, and it really shows on the pages. X-Factor are back!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Factor (2020) #2

Aug 26, 2020

Overall, this was another fun issue. My biggest complaint is that when I got to the end I was absolutely craving more. This is not to say I didnt enjoy it, it was a lot of fun, but I absolutely devoured this issue so quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Factor (2020) #3

Sep 9, 2020

In the end, the entire creative team has taken this property and really hooked their claws into the shape of it. X-Factor has been crafted into something more modern, reflecting social narratives that are easily recognizable, and a team that matches the times. X-Factor is a worthy inclusion that only deepens the excellent X-Men and Krakoan lore!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Year of the Villain: Sinestro #1

Aug 7, 2019

Wands, in particular, has a large amount of work on his hands due to the heavy dialogue asked of this issue and it's served in a very palatable manner that's easy on the eye and doesn't bog down the illustrations. Additionally, HI-FI's colors were extremely well-served thanks to Sinestro's ultraviolet light-power which is offset in some fascinating ways as the villain enters some alternate spaces of reality. Overall though, I had high hopes for this issue, but it just felt a little flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Young Justice (2019) #6

Jun 5, 2019

Overall, more care should have been taken on Young Justice and likely it should have been given a 12-issue arc to really devote the time necessary to flush out all of the characters, and the story properly. Regardless, it's a fun series, and I'm hopeful of what's to come in the tie in series that follows this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Young Justice (2019) #7

Jul 10, 2019

Overall, Young Justice #7 is an offbeat, quirky, and outlandish issue that, so far, is my favorite. Young Justice #7 is a great read, with some brilliantly well-timed comedy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Justice (2019) #8

Sep 11, 2019

I've been dubious about this series, but I find myself happy to have stuck with the series now that the story feels more defined. Young Justice #8 is one of DC's sleeping giants and is one to watch out for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Young Justice (2019) #9

Oct 2, 2019

The issue has a really nice flow to it, and I really loved we're getting the detail I feel has been sorely lacking from this series. A certain depth has been added as the tension and danger feel genuine, as opposed to the earlier issues. Arajo's art stole the show in Young Justice #9and I hope we get to see more of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Young Justice (2019) #10

Nov 6, 2019

I didn't want it to, but this major universe change really threw me out of the whole issue. If you removed this aspect or had given Tim a stronger name change and suit design, I'd be rating this issue a 4.5/5. As it is though, they didn't, and I'm just not able to get over this decision.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

4th

July

More