Aaron Phillips's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 11
7.8Avg. Review Rating

10
Event Leviathan #1

Jun 12, 2019

Overall, Bendis, Maleev, and Reed have delivered a truly enticing first issue for Event Leviathan.The ending was left on a great cliffhanger but felt satisfying enough that you should be eager to pick up issue two next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ignited #1

Jun 14, 2019

I believe this series will go on to tell a fascinating story from a unique point of view. This initial origin story, while uncomfortably focusing around an event such as a school shooting, doesn't shy away from the controversy, instead opting to really explore all facets of the event. I just worry it could be a little too real, too raw for some readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #9

May 3, 2019

The artwork by Huntington in this issue really lifts up the story also. Each panel is surrounded by a fluid lighter board, every one different from the last. The illustrations really driving home the impact of the two sharing space in this ethereal plane. There is a real change in the story here as both Kensho and Thurma reach a state of clarity. The issue ends, and I didn't want it to stop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #10

Jun 6, 2019

There are so many facets to love about this comic, this series, and it's evident that the creative team are in sync in trying to provide the truest representation of the lives of those that inhabit the lands we immersed ourselves with all those years ago. Only two more issues remain, and it feels like we're building to something truly impactful.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #5

May 22, 2019

This is a team that is so evidently all moving towards the same goal, and working together fluently. I didn't realize how eagerly I've been wanting to see a solo Martian Manhunter origin series. This is a series you definitely should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rick and Morty #50

May 31, 2019

Fans of Rick and Morty can also enjoy six variant covers, plus more easter eggs than an army Mr. Meseeks can generate. Plus, with the recent announcement that season 4 will be coming back to Adult Swim in November 2019, I would highly recommend reading through these comics to tide you over in the meantime.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rick and Morty Presents: Mr. Meeseeks #1

Jun 14, 2019

Overall, Rick And Morty Presents Mr. Meeseeks #1 is a highly enjoyable read, and I'd love to see this creative team come back together again to tackle another Meeseeks story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Stranger Things: Six #1

May 29, 2019

Given Stranger Things: Six #1spends so much time building the scene and introducing the characters, I'm hopeful issue two wastes no time in moving the story along, but as a stand-alone comic, this one fails to deliver anything of note.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018): Leviathan Rising Special #1

May 29, 2019

In relation to the main story however, the mystery that surrounds Leviathan as a villain has made this a captivating storyline that has been teased and threaded throughout many of the DC properties. This 73-page issue is certainly one you won't want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Warning #7

May 26, 2019

While I am a fan of the teasing nature of this story, I also find myself craving details. At some point, this story is going to have to give us more, and I hope it's not left too late to the point where it feels like a dump of information that contradicts with how LaRoche has gone about crafting this story. Either way, I remain fascinated with where the story is heading.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Young Justice (2019) #6

Jun 5, 2019

Overall, more care should have been taken on Young Justice and likely it should have been given a 12-issue arc to really devote the time necessary to flush out all of the characters, and the story properly. Regardless, it's a fun series, and I'm hopeful of what's to come in the tie in series that follows this.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More