Aaron Phillips's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 33
8.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Batman (2016): Secret Files #2

Jul 31, 2019

This is a bloody great one shot to pick up, with some amazing contributions from a number of different creators as they dip their toes into the world of Tom King's villains of Batman. This is an easy purchase as it can be read as a standalone collection one-shot, or it will add value to the current King Batman run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Collapser #1

Jul 17, 2019

The pages are bizarre and trippy and loaded with amazing detail that will have you scanning all of the fine points of the illustrations. All of this culminates into a tense conclusion that will leave you excited and anxious to get your hands on the next issue. Overall, first issues can be difficult to balance, but the creative team has gone after this story in an aggressively creative fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Collapser #2

Aug 14, 2019

The ending of this issue is far too tantalizing, as you finally start to see Liam grasp tightly onto some semblance of sanity, madness explodes all over the pages. This series shouldn't be approached lightly, however, if you want a rollercoaster ride of dementedness, then you've arrived at the perfect property.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Doom Patrol: Weight of the Worlds (2019) #1

Jul 3, 2019

While thisDoom Patrol: Weight of the Worlds #1 doesn't deliver anything astounding, I urge new fans to stick with the series. I've seen the products that Way can deliver, and I think you will not be disappointed. He is a deep, and thoughtful writer, and heavily involves those on his creative team to contribute. With issue one though, it was fun, deep, but I'm hoping for more moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Event Leviathan #1

Jun 12, 2019

Overall, Bendis, Maleev, and Reed have delivered a truly enticing first issue for Event Leviathan.The ending was left on a great cliffhanger but felt satisfying enough that you should be eager to pick up issue two next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Event Leviathan #2

Jul 10, 2019

Overall, this story has been referenced and hinted at since the arrival of Bendis, and so far it is succeeding in living up to the expectations it set for itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Event Leviathan #3

Aug 14, 2019

A bloody brilliant issue, but I'm worried I may be driven mad trying to figure this out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Event Leviathan #4

Sep 11, 2019

Event Leviathan#4 continues to entertain and exasperate all in the same breath. Bendis has created an unmissable event as the series and the suspense continues to build. There are two issues left in the series and I can't wait for the secrets to be revealed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ignited #1

Jun 14, 2019

I believe this series will go on to tell a fascinating story from a unique point of view. This initial origin story, while uncomfortably focusing around an event such as a school shooting, doesn't shy away from the controversy, instead opting to really explore all facets of the event. I just worry it could be a little too real, too raw for some readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #9

May 3, 2019

The artwork by Huntington in this issue really lifts up the story also. Each panel is surrounded by a fluid lighter board, every one different from the last. The illustrations really driving home the impact of the two sharing space in this ethereal plane. There is a real change in the story here as both Kensho and Thurma reach a state of clarity. The issue ends, and I didn't want it to stop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #10

Jun 6, 2019

There are so many facets to love about this comic, this series, and it's evident that the creative team are in sync in trying to provide the truest representation of the lives of those that inhabit the lands we immersed ourselves with all those years ago. Only two more issues remain, and it feels like we're building to something truly impactful.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #11

Jul 13, 2019

I enjoyed the issue, but ultimately it felt too similar to the prior issue, where I was hoping to encounter or see something different as we've come to expect from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #12

Aug 22, 2019

With Netflix's Dark Crystal: Age of Resistancea little over a week away, this is a fantastic story for you to pick up whether you've kept current or need to go back and binge all 12 issues. Smith, Huntington, and Campbell have expertly created a continuation of the story of the Dark Crystal and its never-ending influence on the people and pop culture. Personally speaking, it has been so enjoyable seeing the continuation of the story of Kensho and Thurma and the ending is sure to bring a smile to anyone's face, even maybe a Skeksis.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #14

Aug 28, 2019

This was a great set up issue for what's next to come, and I personally can't wait to get my hands on it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark (2018) Annual #1

Jul 31, 2019

The panel design and the lettering are extraordinary. Leigh is able to encapsulate so many different voices, added with it the elements, and sounds of nature, that they flow from the page as if they were growing themselves. Needless to say, it's superbly crafted, and what I assume is meant to be a one-shot story, is deserving of more than just one. If you're a fan of Swamp Thing, this should be an easy pick-up and an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #5

May 22, 2019

This is a team that is so evidently all moving towards the same goal, and working together fluently. I didn't realize how eagerly I've been wanting to see a solo Martian Manhunter origin series. This is a series you definitely should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #6

Jun 26, 2019

This is very much, as of date, one of my favorite series being published this year. There are so many components of this story to get lost in. I highly recommend picking up a copy of Martian Manhunter Issue #6.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Martian Manhunter (2018) #7

Jul 24, 2019

Martian Manhunter #7 was a lot more tense than I was expecting, and was a different pace and tone in comparison to the other single issues. This is one of my current favorite series on comic shelves as we speak, and it's brilliant to see them continuing to push forward so confidently with each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Martian Manhunter (2018) #8

Aug 28, 2019

As the story develops within Martian Manhunter #8,you can see those same elements in Diane that J'onn has been projecting as well; a fear, and intense anxiety that your true self will be rejected by those around them. All of this culminates into a truly beautiful union between Diane and J'onn as they finally accept each other as police partners. Orlando absolutely nails the parallel between the two protagonists, as they cross the bridge of understanding in a tango of shared experiences. Martian Manhunter #8 is a solid issue that continues to march forward with an exceptional story and masterful art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rick and Morty #50

May 31, 2019

Fans of Rick and Morty can also enjoy six variant covers, plus more easter eggs than an army Mr. Meseeks can generate. Plus, with the recent announcement that season 4 will be coming back to Adult Swim in November 2019, I would highly recommend reading through these comics to tide you over in the meantime.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rick and Morty Presents: Mr. Meeseeks #1

Jun 14, 2019

Overall, Rick And Morty Presents Mr. Meeseeks #1 is a highly enjoyable read, and I'd love to see this creative team come back together again to tackle another Meeseeks story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Stranger Things: Six #1

May 29, 2019

Given Stranger Things: Six #1spends so much time building the scene and introducing the characters, I'm hopeful issue two wastes no time in moving the story along, but as a stand-alone comic, this one fails to deliver anything of note.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stranger Things: Six #2

Jun 25, 2019

Stranger Things: Six Issue #2 finally feels like it belongs in the world created by the Duffer brothers. It's a great read, and has revived my interest, and curiosity as to what's to come in the remaining two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Stranger Things: Six #3

Jul 27, 2019

Ultimately, this issue should have been a really big tense, and terrifying plot within the series that foreshadows evil are on the horizon. In reality it never truly delivers, and given the expectation following on from issue #2, this left me feeling even more disappointed. Especially given the rave reviews that the third season that show has just received. There's just too many elements out of balance that compound the problems of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018): Leviathan Rising Special #1

May 29, 2019

In relation to the main story however, the mystery that surrounds Leviathan as a villain has made this a captivating storyline that has been teased and threaded throughout many of the DC properties. This 73-page issue is certainly one you won't want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Warning #7

May 26, 2019

While I am a fan of the teasing nature of this story, I also find myself craving details. At some point, this story is going to have to give us more, and I hope it's not left too late to the point where it feels like a dump of information that contradicts with how LaRoche has gone about crafting this story. Either way, I remain fascinated with where the story is heading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Warning #8

Jun 23, 2019

The beauty ofThe Warning #8 is that while the dialogue sometimes feels like it's lacking, the optics are beyond stunning, and are packed with enough detail they tend to add a significant layer to the primary plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Warning #9

Jul 18, 2019

The final scene in this issue is stunning. The colors from Simpson are just stupendous, and I've gone back to just look at this page and admire the level of work put into it. Based on that scene alone, I highly recommend you go pick up this issue right away. The Warning #9 is my favorite in the series so far and well deserving of the praise I have given it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Warning #10

Aug 16, 2019

If you have a deep love of sci-fi horror such as Ridley Scott's Alien theatrical saga, then Ed LaRoche's ‘The Warning‘ will tick all of the right boxes for you. I found this particularly surprising as I typically find horror pieces extremely unsettling, but I couldn't put these stories down and often found myself studying the pages again, and again for the all of the hidden details. I look forward to the return of this series, and my hope is we are not on hiatus too long from this magnificent story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Year of the Villain: Sinestro #1

Aug 7, 2019

Wands, in particular, has a large amount of work on his hands due to the heavy dialogue asked of this issue and it's served in a very palatable manner that's easy on the eye and doesn't bog down the illustrations. Additionally, HI-FI's colors were extremely well-served thanks to Sinestro's ultraviolet light-power which is offset in some fascinating ways as the villain enters some alternate spaces of reality. Overall though, I had high hopes for this issue, but it just felt a little flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Young Justice (2019) #6

Jun 5, 2019

Overall, more care should have been taken on Young Justice and likely it should have been given a 12-issue arc to really devote the time necessary to flush out all of the characters, and the story properly. Regardless, it's a fun series, and I'm hopeful of what's to come in the tie in series that follows this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Young Justice (2019) #7

Jul 10, 2019

Overall, Young Justice #7 is an offbeat, quirky, and outlandish issue that, so far, is my favorite. Young Justice #7 is a great read, with some brilliantly well-timed comedy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Justice (2019) #8

Sep 11, 2019

I've been dubious about this series, but I find myself happy to have stuck with the series now that the story feels more defined. Young Justice #8 is one of DC's sleeping giants and is one to watch out for.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More