Olivier Roth's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 119
7.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
All-New Classic Archie: Your Pal Archie #1

Jul 26, 2017

Oh, I would be remiss to forget that we are treated to a bonus classic Betty and Veronica story at the end that includes all the best parts found in Archie comics: a competition between the two girls, some magic, and a completely oblivious Archie.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie (2015) #22

Jul 21, 2017

In the end, this story arc may not go down as the greatest of all time, however, Waid and Woods have crafted a story that will have an immediate impact on the residents of Riverdale. And more importantly, it lives up to its "Everything changes" proclamation in the never-changing world of Archie Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie (2015) #24

Sep 27, 2017

On art, Moke continues to amaze. She had done wonderful work in the past on Josie and the Pussycats and she continues to shine on the main title. It’s really hard to find anything bad when reading a comic drawn by Mok and I can’t wait to see more from her. She is fast becoming a favourite of mine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie (2015) #26

Dec 8, 2017

Month in and month out, Audrey Mok is fast becoming one of my favorite artists. Everything she does is crisp and clean and jumps off the page. However, I have to give her extra props this month for the incredibly fun sequence of Moose riding Tonie’s Dilton-modified scooter. Visual gags are a staple of Archie comics, and this was an extremely fun one this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Arya #1

Sep 27, 2017

As a debut issue in an anthology. Arya did its job in grabbing my attention and giving me a reason to continue reading. I will admit I preferred Adventure Quest by Akimiya but that is only because of the fact that it reminded so much of my past with my friends: a big plus for a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Astro City (2013) #48

Oct 18, 2017

On art duties this month is Mike Norton from Battlepug fame. Knowing his pedigree, it is no surprise that G-Dog is probably one of the cutter superheroes around. Aside from that, Norton’s art is superb throughout the issue. I’d like to also mention, his designs for the Pet Patrol were awesome. A Kittyhawk toy/plush would be greatly appreciated.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Barbarella (2017) #1

Dec 8, 2017

In conclusion, this was a fun debut issue for Carey and Yarar. I was expecting quite a bit from Carey due to his previous work, and was pleasantly surprised by Yarar’s art. I will warn though, for a comic from Dynamite, there is quite a bit of nudity in this issue that I was not expecting, so reader beware.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Racer & Shilo Norman Special #1

Aug 31, 2017

As with the other specials, we are treated to a few of Kirby's Grabbers, this time around dealing with the denizens of Supertown, namely Fastbak, the Black Racer and Vikyn the Black. These again showcase just how good Kirby was and there really isn't much else to add to that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bombshells: United #1

Sep 6, 2017

For a first chapter, Bombshells United #1 does an excellent job of making you want to read and see more. Bennett and Sauvage continue a partnership that clearly works and are also tackling a subject matter not always widely talked about today.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bombshells: United #2

Sep 26, 2017

The second half of this issue, drawn by DiChiara, moves away from the overarching theme, and moves towards a more typical Clayface story: did Clayface replace one of our heroines to gain access to their camp? It’s a tale of two different styles, but it strikes a good balance for this issue to make sure that it isn’t too heavy-handed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bombshells: United #3

Oct 11, 2017

Either way, I continue to be surprised by my enjoyment of this series. It definitely makes me want to go back and read more of Bennett’s take of the DC Bombshell universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bombshells: United #4

Oct 18, 2017

I continue to enjoy this run by Bennett as the story looks to be hitting its final strides before the end of this first arc and I can’t wait to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bombshells: United #5

Nov 1, 2017

In all, Bennett’s take on Wonder Woman and her cast of characters in World War II was a pretty fun read and fits perfectly in the digital-first model. Each chapter of this opening arc truly did feel like I was reading a singular chapter of a greater story. It also helped that Bennett properly utilized this format to tell the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bombshells: United #6

Nov 15, 2017

One advantage of this issue that helped keep the cohesiveness going was the art of Jarrell with Fitzpatrick on colours. One small critique I've had of previous issues was the fact that the same artist would do consecutive chapters, but those chapters wouldn't be in the same issue. Here, both chapters 11 and 12 keep the same art team throughout and the comic is better for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bombshells: United #7

Dec 8, 2017

Combined with the art by Ortiz, Bennett’s script for this issue accomplishes exactly what it set out to do: re-introduce a character we haven’t seen for a while in this universe, introduce new ones, and finally, give purpose to the events that unfold. A great start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bug: The Adventures of Forager #4

Sep 20, 2017

In all, this series has been great fun up to date and reminds me of another bug from the DC Universe: Ambush Bug! I wouldn’t be surprised if the Allreds had some influence from Ambush Bug’s series from the 2000s as a template for this series. They both have similar “hopping” through the DC Universe backlog to them, and as a comic history nerd, this has been a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bug: The Adventures of Forager #5

Nov 15, 2017

On art, there’s nothing I could say that has not already been said about the Allred’s. Michael and Laura have their style and have perfected it without a doubt. Everything in this issue is beautiful. One small touch I truly enjoy is the use of non bubbled, for lack of a better word, of Kazuko’s dialogue. It is omnipresent throughout the series, but is always done as funny quips explaining the situation at hand, or simple observations. I don’t know why I feel this way, but I feel it adds just that extra touch to this already great book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bug: The Adventures of Forager #6

Dec 13, 2017

P.S. Kuzuko has fast become one of my favorite new characters this year, and I hope she shows up elsewhere soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Captain Kronos #1

Sep 26, 2017

Abnett, in this first issue, has done a wonderful job of reintroducing the world to Captain Kronos and his assistants to a new generation. In just one issue you already get a sense of who these three characters are. Kronos is the self-assured, strong lead; Grost is the wily veteran with all the knowledge, and Carla is the brash, young newcomer. This, coupled with the fantastic art, truly makes a great first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #11

Aug 16, 2017

On art, Von Oeming continues to delight with expressive characters and incredible monster design - the Whisperer, and lackeys, are just the perfect amount of grotesque. As this is predominantly a “talking” issue with some action sprinkled in, the characters tend to be a little more static than I would prefer, but in all, Von Oeming continues to help elevate this comic with his visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #12

Sep 20, 2017

This series, as well as all Young Animal titles, have been a blast to read and I’m glad they are continuing, even if it’s not right away. I for one can’t wait to see what Way, Rivera and Avon Oeming have for us next in Cave’s world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Ark #1

Sep 20, 2017

Dark Age issue 1 is a strong first issue from Bunn and Doe and sets the stage for what seems to be a pretty crazy ride for the reader. Bunn smartly chose to start a few different plot threads to keep the reader wanting more. At first, this issue was not even on my radar, but now, I can’t wait to see what comes next. That is the mark of a great first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Darkseid Special #1

Aug 31, 2017

And to conclude, in the final Grabbers by Kirby himself, we get another story from Supertown and "The All-Seeing Eye" from Tales of the Unexpected #12. Again, both are very fun stories and are great examples of the King's work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dastardly And Muttley #1

Sep 6, 2017

After this first issue, I commend Ennis for continuing this insanely weird ride that DC Comics has taken the reader on with these Hanna-Barbera reimaginings. He nails the witty repartee between Mutt and Dick and sets up some intriguing clues as to what we can expect going forward in the story. If it wasn't clear from my review, Mutt begins as human, but unfortunately the cover does kinda spoil what happens to him after the crash, which you can't always lay at the feet of the writer. Either way, this was a pretty entertaining issue that was made even better by Mauricet's art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dastardly And Muttley #2

Oct 4, 2017

I began the review by indicating this issue is filled with hijinks that you would typically associate with Saturday-morning cartoons, and this is more than accurate as you continue to read, and visually see through Mauricet's art, exactly what is happening to our lead characters. To wit, we have a special agent use a "toy" gun to punch literal holes in people - and they remain alive? We have shark turned into a cartoon shark. And finally, we have a punch heard around the world. Mauricet has done an excellent job at visually representing all that is happening and I like that they chose to change the style enough when the cartoony aspects are on the page. Visually, this has been an excellent series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dastardly And Muttley #3

Nov 1, 2017

On art, Mauricet continues to shine as he brings these characters and environment to life. Since we are essentially dealing with cartoons come to life, the art has to be reflective of this and Mauricet never ceases to entertain. The incredible hijinx that he is tasked with drawing simply elevates the story and keeps bringing a smile to my face.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Donald & Mickey #1

Aug 23, 2017

In all, this new quarterly anthology by IDW is a welcome addition to today’s comic landscape. It is always fun to have a comic like Donald and Mickey that gives us classic Disney stories that can be easily enjoyed by young and old. The art is pure Disney as well, sticking closely to the house-style, which is not a bad thing whatsoever. For most, when they read about Donald and Mickey, they want classic Donald and Mickey and that is exactly what you get here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #7

Jul 26, 2017

As an interlude, this issue of Doom Patrol was a great read and continues what I believe has been quite a successful launch to the DC’s Young Animal line of comics. As well as the Chief’s story in this issue, we were also given a few glimpses into the future, and I for one, can’t wait to see where Way takes the Doom Patrol next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #8

Sep 6, 2017

One thing that has always been great about former Doom Patrol stories has been the sense of forced family that the characters had to endure. Here, Way and Derington do a good job portraying exactly that: Casey isn’t happy about her new position with Danny, stating that she loves her apartment, but is willing to move into Dannyland anyways. We also have Sam trying to reconcile with his wife who’s been in Crazy Jane’s cult for the past four years and their son Lucius experimenting with forces he probably shouldn’t be touching. And finally, we have Cliff beginning to worry about Trainor’s frequent trips to the dream world, leaving the real world behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fighting American (2017) #1

Oct 11, 2017

On art, Mighten channels somewhat Kirby in his choice of panel layouts and the movement of the characters, but it is subtle enough, that if you didn’t know, you could probably miss it. He brings his own style that is his own to the comic as well, which helps distinguish himself that the inspirations are seen, but are not overwhelming. On colors, Bailey does a fantastic job of not drowning out Fighting American and Speedboy. They are always vibrant in their blue, red and yellow suits and easily stand out from the background.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fu Jitsu #1

Sep 28, 2017

All in all, this was a great debut issue from the team of St. Clarie and Nitz and I can’t wait to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Future Quest Presents #1

Aug 16, 2017

Even though this is a first issue, Parker had already laid the groundwork for this series with last year’s Future Quest. With Presents, he continues his strong work introducing a whole new generation to these beloved Hanna-Barbera characters of old and having Space Ghost be the first to get the spotlight was a great move.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Future Quest Presents #2

Sep 20, 2017

Ariel Olivetti brings all this to life with his beautifully painted panel work. It’s strange to say this, but I feel like Olivetti was born to draw Space Ghost and his adventures and because of this, it is almost unfair to critique him on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Future Quest Presents #3

Oct 18, 2017

Another fun issue that continues to keep the Hanna-Barbera spirit alive, and keeps making me feel like a kid watching Saturday morning cartoons. I can’t wait to see what Parker can come up with next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
G.I. Joe (2016) #9

Oct 11, 2017

As a new reader to the series, I have to say that this was an enjoyable issue to read. Sometimes, all you want from a comic is for it to be full of action while still advancing the storyline. Whether Sitterson and Milonogiannis can continue having fun with the book once they get roped into First Strike is still to be determined, but I can see them excelling in that regard.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ghost Station Zero #1

Aug 2, 2017

In the end, this was a fun first issue to Baboushka’s second adventure. Though I had my reservations with some of the art and a by-the-book plot, I’m still interested to see where this goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ghost Station Zero #2

Sep 13, 2017

Speaking of the action, I will give Chankhamma their due. The action set pieces are excellent. The fight at the beginning between Baboushka and HH felt raw in most of its movement and a lot of fun. And the last action set piece was also a lot of fun to read and see on the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ghost Station Zero #3

Oct 18, 2017

Charnkhamma on art improved in this issue. There are still a few hiccups here and there - most notably Helga's face for some reason - but in general, it was a much more pleasing visual experience. I can't quite put my finger on it, but the colours this time around were more vibrant which enhanced the rest of the look of the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #12

Aug 9, 2017

In the end, Gotham Academy will be missed. It was a fun three year ride and I truly hope some of these characters will pop up in other books down the line - if not a Gotham Academy: Third Semester book. It would be criminal never to see Maps again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham City Garage #1

Aug 16, 2017

In all, this is a good opening for DC's new digital-first comic series and should be a fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham City Garage #2

Oct 25, 2017

I enjoyed this issue as a vehicle to let the reader to get to know more of the characters of this world. Barda comes off, as she usually does, as a brave warrior willing to not only take the fight to the enemy, but also as a protector of her charge. She gives off a “Big sister” vibe when it comes to Kara, willing to protect her at any cost.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham City Garage #3

Nov 8, 2017

The art in this issue was fantastic and helped introduce me to Aneke, an artist I had never seen before. Their line work is perfectly complimented by Fitzpatrick’s colours and really brings this story to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham City Garage #5

Dec 13, 2017

This month, the art duties go to Carnero and Mulvihil who do an admirable job with the interior art. Everything is crisp, clear and has some excellent visual storytelling going on. I’m really hoping these two get to work more on this title together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hack/Slash vs Vampirella #1

Oct 4, 2017

On art, Lobosco is also another unknown to me, but again, I was really impressed. Something I've noticed a lot of artists do these days to cut down on time needed to complete a comic is to completely and utterly forget about backgrounds which Lobosco does not. Yes, there are a few panels that don't have any, but for the most part, this comic feels alive and it's not just because of the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hack/Slash vs Vampirella #2

Nov 8, 2017

Lobosco and O’Halloran continue to work wonders on art. Lobosco’s line work is clean and O’Halloran’s colours give the whole issue a nice, flat look that works well for this type of comic. I like my horror comics o be slightly darker and less flashy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hack/Slash vs Vampirella #3

Dec 13, 2017

An excellent third issue to this mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #1

Oct 4, 2017

On art, Braga does a good job throughout, but is hampered by today’s comics industry’s need to have a different cover artist than interior artist. I usually don’t mind the disconnect, but in this series, it’s pretty glaring. Braga has her own style that is wildly different than Amanda Connor who provided the covers. That, coupled with the fact that Braga chose t redesign a few characters - I have never seen Mr. Weatherbee that buff - left me wanting more from her. That said, I find she nails the heroines of the book, which is good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #2

Nov 1, 2017

Overall, I have quite enjoyed this zany crossover between four very popular comic characters that you may not have thought would ever meet. Dini and Andreyko give us just the perfect level of hijinx in each issue to keep me entertained and Braggs continues to have fun with the characters she's given.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #3

Dec 8, 2017

As much as the hijinx was fun throughout the issue, it still felt a little lacking in parts. Braga and Melo's art continues to be a high point of the series, but the story kinda took a backseat for this issue. It's not that it was bad, not by any stretch of the imagination, it's just that it was riddled with tropes and you could see where most of the story was going from a few pages out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellblazer (2016) #13

Aug 23, 2017

On art, Merino is a welcome addition to Hellblazer. He brings a certain level of grit and noir feel to the series that was sorely missing in previous issues. I have been a big proponent of artists being able to convey emotion through character’s facial expressions and Merino does this admirably in this issue. I can honestly say that Constantine, and Margaret, run the gamut of emotions throughout the issue and this just adds to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hi-Fi Fight Club #1

Aug 23, 2017

Hi-Fi Fight Club #1 was a fun debut issue in the Boom Box line-up of comics. With fun characters and a mini-cliffhanger on the final page, Usdin and Vakueva do a great job of creating interest and intrigue. Oh, and who didn’t want to work at a record store in the 90s?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hi-Fi Fight Club #2

Sep 26, 2017

Vakueva and Nalty continue to impress on art duties. Every single character introduced up to date have their own distinctive look and style that really helps distinguish one from the other. It also gives the reader visual queues on the type of person they may be. Everyone is dynamic on the page, and we can feel each character’s emotion - something I have touched upon on other reviews that I am big proponent of.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hi-Fi Fight Club #3

Oct 25, 2017

The art team also continues to impress this issue. Vakueva brings so much life to the characters on the page that it continues to bring every single character's personality to forefront. I am always a fan of characters that show true emotion in a comic and Vakueva does Chris justice throughout this issue: we see Chris go from pure elation to pure dread, to pure “I’ve figured this out”. Hats off!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hi-Fi Fight Club #4

Nov 29, 2017

In all, Heavy Vinyl has been a fun mini-series that has suffered from a few missteps, but that I would gladly recommend to anyone looking for something different in their comic pull list. I have a feeling that this mini will read much better as a trade paperback (like so many other series these days).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Josie and the Pussycats #9

Aug 23, 2017

Hopefully, this won’t be last we see of Josie and the Pussycats in this new Archie universe. With The Archies just around the corner, I hope that Josie, Valerie and Melody will get to guest-star from time to time, but a new series would be best.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Larks Killer #1

Aug 2, 2017

In the end, Willingham hoodwinked me with this comic. His opening title for the first half of the comic should have been a clear indication that his D&D inspired characters would not be the protagonists of the story, and yet I fell for this little ruse. Only when we are introduced to Lark did I truly feel the story really took off but the story was hurt somewhat by the lackluster art (in the second-half of the book).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Larks Killer #2

Sep 6, 2017

What makes this issue even better is that we are treated at the end to a short story written and illustrated by Willingham about a wizard and his genie set in this new world. It’s a fun read and adds some value to the comic - and who doesn’t like Willingham prose.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
M.A.S.K.: Mobile Armored Strike Kommand: Frist Strike #1

Nov 1, 2017

However, for those who added this issue to their pull list expecting a MASK story tie-in to First Strike, they will be sorely disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Manhunter Special #1

Aug 23, 2017

Finally, as with the other specials, we are treated to a few classic Kirby “grabbers”. These have been a joy to read and this issue is no different. It’s a great way to experience a slice of Kirby’s excellent work over the years and to also discover how wide his interests seemed to be. I would also like to mention that in “A World of Thinking Robots”, his prediction of the future is eerily accurate.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mech Cadet Yu #1

Aug 2, 2017

In all, Mech Cadet Yu is a strong first outing for the team of Pak and Miyazawa. They do a great job of introducing us to Stanford’s world. As mecha comics go, this was a pretty fun first outing and I can’t wait to see where they take it from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mech Cadet Yu #3

Oct 11, 2017

Now that we are halfway through the initial issues of Mech Cadet Yu, I’ll be interested to see where Pak takes the story going forward. Clearly there is a lot of world building that can continue to take place within the comic and I for one am here for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mech Cadet Yu #4

Nov 15, 2017

Overall, an excellent, sharp issue and I can’t wait to see what Pak and Miyazawa come up with next. The future is definitely bright for Mech Cadet Yu.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Micronauts: First Strike #1

Sep 27, 2017

This issue was a fun introduction by Gage to the concept of the MIcronauts. I had heard the name over the years, known they had comics, toys and the like over the years, but never really paid much attention to them. Gage did a good job of quickly going over the individual Micronauts, their powers and what they bring to the table. This, combined with the overall narrative of including them in not only the crossover event, but linking them to Rom, made for a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Millarworld Annual #2

Sep 20, 2017

In all, this annual was a disappointment to me as a new reader. Most of the stories relied on past knowledge of the characters showcased and only really Superior and Huck - both Superman pastiches - explained who these characters were.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 9, 2017

Mister Miracle #1 is a hard comic to review insofar that it just works. And it works on so many levels. You can always tell when a writer/artist team knows one another pretty well because the writing compliments the art which compliments the writing. King and Gerads opening to this 12-issue mini-series is near perfect in that it gives you just enough information that leaves you wanting more. And with this 12 issue format, we know going in that King and Gerads have this already planned out, and that we won’t be left hanging in the end. I for one, cannot wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #2

Sep 13, 2017

The one thing I’ll add, it is very apparent that Gerards does it all: from pencils to inks to colour. And the colour is some of my favourite. I am always a fan when an artist utilizes colour to distinguish between worlds and Gerards does just that in Mister Miracle: you know when Barda and Scott are on Apokolips or are in the middle of battle - the colour scheme will be much darker and “redder”. Whereas, while on New Genesis, Gerards continues his distinctive style of rough drawings, but we are treated to a much lighter colour palate with extensive use of yellow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #3

Oct 11, 2017

The team-up of King and Gerards continues to astound. Now that we are three issues, you can tell that a lot of love is going into this comic series and that we are all the better for it. King’s writing is a cut above most other series at this time and Gerards art continues to be the perfect complement.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #4

Nov 8, 2017

King and Gerards have proven time and time again in these four issues that they clearly have a deep love for these characters and want to do right by them. We, as the readers, are just lucky enough that we get to experience this ride with them. We’re a third through this series and I for one cannot wait to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #5

Dec 13, 2017

In the end, this issue perfectly encapsulates the series as a whole in that we get to be a part of an incredible character study that makes us feel all those emotions described in the last paragraph as we follow King and Gerards’ exploration of what makes Scott Free Mister Miracle. With the next issue, we’ll be at the halfway mark, but I can honestly say, this is already shaping up to be one of the best series of the last decade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mother Panic #11

Sep 27, 2017

My favourite part of this month’s backup is how Hester depicts Debbie and her father apparently putting the pieces together in this case. He does this by changing up the paneling of the page from page to page. On the first page, the panels are actually puzzle pieces and as the story progresses, the pieces/panels start coming together to finally form a complete page. Amazing use of the visual format that is comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mother Panic #12

Oct 25, 2017

In the backup story, Gotham Radio, we finally get the conclusion of this mini-story from Krueger and Hester. In my last review, I mentioned how Hester and Krueger took full advantage of the 3 page format. This issue, however, I’ll admit to being a little lost at first, not realizing at first that we were finally face-to-face with the killers of Danny Ruby. The conclusion itself feels like a bait-and-switch “How the hell was I supposed to see coming?” but in the end, I really enjoyed it. Krueger did a good job with the dialogue to make the reader understand the motivation behind the killing. However, the mystery of the vigilante killer is revealed, so we’ll see if Gotham Radio continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Gods Special #1

Aug 2, 2017

Finally, this special adds two short reprinted Kirby stories written for the early New Gods issues dealing with Lonar and his mighty steed Thunderer. These are two great examples of what made Kirby the King.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Newsboy Legion & The Boy Commandos Special #1

Aug 9, 2017

Like previous Kirby 100 specials, we are treated to a Kirby “Grabber” starring the Newsboy Legion by Joe Simon and Jack Kirby. This was a fun Golden Age tale and a great addition to this somewhat ho-hum special.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Optimus Prime: First Strike #1

Oct 18, 2017

Guidi and Wycough's art was hit or miss for me throughout the issue. First the good: they did an excellent job when it came to the transformers themselves. I've continually been impressed with artists over the years that can get even some detail into these machines and this is the case in this issue. Each transformer is distinct enough from each other that I was able to remember their names throughout. The not so good, however, involves the human characters. For the most part, Faireforne, Action man and Mayday looked okay, but at times it seemed like the artists ran out of time drawing their faces. They sometimes felt "off".

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Packs Of The Lowcountry #1

Oct 20, 2017

In the end, I found Packs of the Low Country a very enjoyable read. The writing by Dudley was crisp and to the point and never veered into decompression, and the art by Cardenas was greatly enhanced by Mark Dale and Kelly Fitzpatrick’s colours. I can also say, Cardenas can draw a mean forest setting. Whenever our characters were outside in the brush, Cardenas’ art really popped.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Paper Girls #18

Dec 8, 2017

All in all, this issue continues the strong work from both Chiang and Vaughan. The story may be slightly convoluted at points, but Vaughan continues to drop enough hints from issue to issue to keep you coming back for more. We are slowly learning who all these extra characters are that the girls keep running into, and thus the bigger picture continues to fill in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Riverdale #6

Sep 13, 2017

As a stand-alone issue, Maxwell and Ewing really brought a fun, yet very campy story this month. However, it was a difficult trying to suspend my disbelief reading this issue since these stories are supposed to be reflective of the ongoing narrative in the TV show which hasn’t really touched on the most supernatural aspects that are commonplace in the Archie comic universe. However, it was an excellent nonetheless and having Joe Eisma at the helm on art greatly added to my enjoyment. His simplistic style has always been appreciated when showcased in comic like Riverdale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Riverdale #7

Oct 18, 2017

As I said, I’ve really been enjoying Riverdale the comic series as we get to know more about the secondary characters that have not yet gotten their moment in the spotlight on the TV show. The fact that it is written by writers on the show helps make it feel more like a part of the TV series than most tie-ins tend to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robotech #1

Aug 2, 2017

In all, Robotech #1 was an entertaining first issue to this reimagined property. I have come to enjoy a lot of Wood’s work over the years and I am glad that he has taken up the reins of Robotech.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robotech #2

Aug 30, 2017

Turini on art continues from last issue in giving the reader some crisp linework - his Veritech fighters look really good, and I do enjoy that they are distinctive enough from other mecha out there to make them easily recognizable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robotech #3

Sep 26, 2017

After an explosive second issue, Wood and Turini have done the right thing in issue #3 and dialled back the action (there is none), to concentrate on the characters themselves. As with Lynn and Rick, we also get to learn some background tidbits about Lisa Hayes (who is on Mars?) and that Captain Gloval and Roy Fokker are hiding something about SDF-1.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Robotech #4

Nov 1, 2017

Overall, this issue was not my favorite of Wood and Turini’s run on Robotech. Unlike previous issues that had a drive to them, whether it be world building or simply showcasing the robotechnology. This issue just seemed to go for the summer blockbuster, turn off your brain, type action which unfortunately was not supported by the narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robotech #5

Dec 13, 2017

As I previously mentioned, this issue for me returns to form as it moves the story along, the SDF-1 has been away for months now in space and is making some progress getting back to Earth, but it also takes the time to add additional motivations for its characters, Rick and Roy’s stories get hints at the future and Lisa is seemingly going to be the focal point for this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rom: First Strike #1

Oct 18, 2017

Christ Panda on art, with colours by Garcia Cruz, also impressed me in his take on the Micronauts and Rom. One of the first difficulties in combining these two franchises is to make both seems important on the page and not diminish each other. This is especially true when one of the characters, Rom, is probably hundreds of times larger than his compatriots. At times the scaling of the characters was a little off - the scene where Rom waits on the repairs of the Micronauts ship - but for the most part, you could tell that the Micronauts were not as big as Rom visually. Gage also added some tidbits here and there in the dialogue to also put that point across. I'd like to give special mention to Garcia Cruz's colours: they are bright, vibrant, and jump off the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #45

Jul 28, 2017

Saga has been one of those comics that has garnered high praise during its publication run and deservedly so. What Staples and Vaughan have crafted is a very personal story told on a grand scale, and chapter forty-five continues this high level of writing and art that we have come to love these last five years. Staples and Vaughan have found the perfect balance when it comes to telling their stories of Marko, Alana and Hazel and it always a pleasure to get to read and experience them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #46

Aug 31, 2017

Staples and Vaughan, it has been said, and should be said over and over, are a powerhouse of a team. This issue continues the trend of excellent self-contained stories that explore many different topics that could easily be seen in our own, real world. In addition to Marko's story, we are shown what a cruel world can do to even the strongest of person's psyche in Petrichor, and we get to explore the topic of loss and remembrance with Hazel and her little brother. There is a reason why this is one of the top rated comics month in and month out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saga #47

Sep 28, 2017

Saga continues to be an excellently written, beautiful drawn book that is really hard to critique from month to month. I will say that this issue does contain one profanity that I would prefer not be in my comics, but I do understand that this is by no means a comic for children.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sheena: Queen of the Jungle (2017) #1

Sep 13, 2017

On art, we get the fantastic Moritat, who is just built for this type of series. I was first introduced to his art back in the early 2010s when he was drawing The Spirit for DC, and ever since I will sometimes pick up a comic strictly because of him. This is no different. His use of a messier style (I don’t know how else to describe it) and very expressive characters help the reader feel what is being experienced by the characters. It’s almost a shame that he isn’t also the cover artist, though J. Scott Campbell is no slouch either when it comes to Pin-up style covers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sheena: Queen of the Jungle (2017) #2

Oct 11, 2017

Sheena Queen of the Jungle continues to be a joy to read. It gives off enough of the classic pulp feel without stagnating in the genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sheena: Queen of the Jungle (2017) #3

Nov 16, 2017

On art this month, it shows that Moritat shared art duties with Macheras. Unlike in issue two where it was difficult to distinguish where Moritat started and where he ended with his co-artist, this month, it is pretty clear. Macheras has a great style and it is similar enough to Moritat’s, but distinct enough that there is a clear break when Macheras takes over from Moritat.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sheena: Queen of the Jungle (2017) #4

Dec 13, 2017

All in all, this was a pretty disappointing fourth issue from a series that showed so much promise at first. Hopefully issue 5 will rebound.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spy Seal #1

Aug 16, 2017

For a first issue, Spy Seal #1 was definitely a fun read that brought me back to my childhood. As with good debut issues, it gave us a good primer for Malcolm’s world and gave us enough to want to come back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spy Seal #2

Sep 13, 2017

My only negative to this issue, and probably to the series in general, is that because it is so reminiscent of European comics, the progression of the story seems a little stilted and would probably benefit if it was a graphic novel instead of individual issues. Once the graphic novel comes out of the first story-arc, it will definitely become a must-read, I’m almost sure of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spy Seal #3

Oct 18, 2017

I have one small gripe though and that is general to the use of anthropomorphic of characters in comics. Especially when it comes to birds like Kes. Having the visual of her “flapping” her arms as if they were wings was a little weird to see on the page, but still, a minor gripe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spy Seal #4

Nov 29, 2017

All in all, Spy Seal was a very fun read that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a fun adventure. Reading it in single issues was a lot of fun, but this may be one of those minis that is best to read in trade, if only to be able to keep track of who is who from moment to moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sword of Ages #1

Nov 29, 2017

All this amounts to a pretty fun read and some pretty gorgeous art throughout. The one thing you don’t learn right away in this issue, but get a glimpse of as you read the additional pages is, this is a story we’ve seen before. A pretty well-known story at that. But Rodriguez does a good job of hiding that fact throughout the issue, and it is better for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Swordquest #2

Aug 2, 2017

All in all, Swordquest continues to be an enjoyable read from month to month. Dynamite has been known to snag up fledgling, or even dead properties, and bring new life to them and this is definitely the case with this new Atari line of comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Swordquest #3

Sep 6, 2017

Ghostwriter X continues their stellar work on the book. They get to have some fun with Mr. Juros throughout the latter half - he seems to be just an ordinary business man, but X gives him enough presence throughout, with some visual winks and nods here and there, that you know there is something more to the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #8

Aug 16, 2017

In all, Aguirre-Sacasa’s writing of a classic Archie character like Sabrina is a lot of fun. She’s strong-willed, rebellious and will do what she feels is necessary, damn the consequences. After reading this issue, I want to learn more about this new world he is creating for Sabrina and that is never a bad thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Family Trade #1

Oct 11, 2017

The art is also a pretty big attraction to this series. Beem is another in a series of artists that paint everything which adds enough uniqueness to the comic that you don’t always see on the shelves. Hopefully Beem will be given enough time between issues to complete them since their style is not always great for a monthly schedule. Time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Family Trade #2

Nov 15, 2017

Beem’s painted art continues to impress in this second issue and I would recommend this series on Beem’s art alone.The red cheeks that Beem seems to give to everyone can be a little distracting, but otherwise, each page is beautifully painted and helps sell the story as it unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Infinite Loop: Nothing But The Truth #1

Sep 26, 2017

In all, I was very impressed by this first issue of a series I quite frankly completely missed the first time around. I’ve been on a pretty big time-travel kick lately and this definitely is a welcome addition.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Infinite Loop: Nothing But The Truth #2

Oct 18, 2017

With the ending though, that opens up quite the possibilities for the next issue and I’ll be curious to see where Teddy and the rest of the characters go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Jetsons (2017) #1

Nov 1, 2017

You can see from this first issue that Palmiotti, though writing a more adult themed Jetsons, still demonstrates a love of the original characters. Every one of them has traits from the old cartoon, but now are made more real, with real world problems. It’s a take on an old franchise that I can get behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Jetsons (2017) #2

Dec 8, 2017

For a second issue, Palomiotti and Brito on art, do a marvelous job in making us continue to care about these characters and what they are going through. I think the best part about the comic is the family dynamic that we get from the various interactions between each Jetson. Even though they all seem to be living their own lives, they are still connected and love one another and want to see each succeed. And having Rosie be the grandmother is still a stroke of genius.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Mighty Crusaders (2017) #1

Dec 8, 2017

The rest of the cast comprises a couple of newer characters that long-time Mighty Crusader fans may not know, some older characters as well some that were introduced when Dark Circle came back into print a few years ago. This, combined with a pretty fun first issue, gives me hope that this will be a pretty fun series to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Shadow (2017) #1

Aug 9, 2017

In all, this issue does a good job of hooking the reader and I definitely want to read more. I’ve always been a sucker for a good old-fashioned pulp story, and this was a good opening for just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Shadow (2017) #2

Sep 13, 2017

As far as pulp-style stories go, this has been a fun series up to date. I actually can’t wait to read more. I really enjoy that not one beat is wasted within the story and that Spurrier and Watters are making sure to tie everything together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Shadow (2017) #3

Oct 25, 2017

I’ve also enjoyed Spurrier and Watters’ exploration of The Shadow’s past, as Mary keeps finding new ways for her burn-victim to relieve his past and to make some sense to it. These glimpses also provide the reader with a way to better know who this character is, especially those of us who are newer to the character, or haven’t read his stories in years.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Shadow/Batman #1

Oct 4, 2017

The biggest redeeming factor for this comic is Timpano’s art. Every page was a joy to look at. His Batman, Shadow and Robin all look amazing, dynamic and just the appropriate amount of dark throughout. His style just “fits” with this type of comic and was really enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Transformers: Lost Light: First Strike #1

Nov 8, 2017

In the end, this is one pretty fun comic that gives us exactly what it promises: a quick exploration of characters that may not be central to the main First Strike storyline but those are a lot of fun nonetheless. Added to the fun story is the excellent visuals from Tramontano. She can draw one mean transformer (and Arcee and Kup look awesome).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #30

Sep 13, 2017

In the second story in this issue, we get a story that I was able to relate to a bit, since I completely agree with Scrooge: when buying art, do you truly want to spend an exorbitant amount of money on something you believe you can make yourself? And that’s exactly what Scrooge sets out to do: make his own masterpiece. As with the first story, plenty of hijinks follows with an ending that can be seen from a mile away, but nonetheless still makes for a fun story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Vampirella (2017) #5

Aug 16, 2017

His counterpart on art, Broxton has been equally great. All of his characters are a little rough around the edges, but that works for the book. I really enjoy his take on Vampirella as well since he brings a certain coquettishness to our heroine. You know, just by looking at her that she not only has a plan in mind at all times, but knows that she will prevail in the end. It also helps that he is inker and colourist of his own work since it keeps the art consistent throughout, a major plus these days in the comic book world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Vampirella (2017) #6

Aug 30, 2017

Vampirella continues to be a fun read from month to month. Cornell’s take has been quite refreshing and as a fan of his, I can’t wait to see where he goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Vampirella (2017) #7

Oct 18, 2017

On art, Belanger does an amazing job at conveying who these characters are. Having to draw multiple versions of Vampirella could have been a chore for other artists, but Belanger works to make sure each and every one of the them resembles their former counterparts in the comics from the past. It’s also the little features that he doesn’t miss, like the popped collar on Classic Vampirella that distinguishes her from other takes that have a similar outfit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wild Storm #7

Sep 20, 2017

It greatly helps this series also to have an artist like Davis-Hunt. He’s been showing that he can do both the smaller, quieter moments as well as the big action scenes - with probably a little more blood than we’re used to possibly. The way he shows off John’s escape from IO was different than how other artists would portray that scene, and it made it a lot of fun to follow. In all, another great issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wild Storm #8

Oct 18, 2017

Davis-Hunt continues to work his magic in this series and gets to flex his artistic muscle throughout the issue. The scenes with Marlowe explaining his origins to Angela and the interactions between Jenny and the Doctor are visually beautiful and continue to add to the story in ways that have to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wild Storm #9

Nov 15, 2017

In this issue, Davis-Hunt gets to flex his artistic muscle once more and it’s still, once again, great to see. One thing I’ve noticed through this series has been Ellis’ willingness to always give one, sprawling scene to Davis-Hunt to showcase his artistic talent. This time, it comes in the form of John’s sequence (once again actually). Beautiful yet brutal is all I can say about those pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Witchblade (2017) #1

Dec 8, 2017

Unfortunately, that is pretty much all I can talk about this issue without going into spoiler territory. What I can say is, the art by Ingranata is beautiful with great color contributions from Valenza. The art helps bring home the impact of the story within the pages and really makes me want to read more. Though the story is a little bit paint-by-numbers as to how Alex will become the witchblade, it is still enjoyable in Kittredge’s great use of foreshadowing throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

November

More