Lucas Fashina's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geekery Magazine Reviews: 68
7.2Avg. Review Rating

6.0
30 Days of Night (2017) #3

Feb 7, 2018

This isnt a stand-alone issue; however, the series as a whole has been great, Im definitely cant wait for issue #4 whenever it comes out. So, if youre a vampire enthusiast or horror fan I would recommend picking up a copy of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #993

Dec 13, 2017

Story wise its a 2 out of 5 because its supposed to be a setup issue. Heres the deal, there were some fragmentary panels of Kryptonians I just couldnt identify that artist Steve Pugh took the time to draw really well, and I cant help but speculate if this is the first appearance issue for some of the folks we will be seeing in SYFYs Krypton series slated for 2018. If thats the case this becomes a 4 out of 5 and must pick-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Agent 47: Birth of the Hitman #2

Dec 6, 2017

I would recommend picking up a copy of issues # 1 and 2 when it hits stores for the read, however if you want to go for the longshot speculation, issue #1 has a Limited 1:25 Retailer Incentive Variant Cover F drawn by Philip Tan would be the way to go. Out of 5 stars I give it a 4, in that it is good enough that I want to pick-up the 3rd issue in anticipation of whats to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2016) #685

Mar 22, 2018

This isnt a stand-alone issue; however, the actions scenes were great, I definitely cant wait for issue #686 whenever it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Barrier (2018) #1

May 9, 2018

Out of 5 stars I give it a 3. The art in Fouke was incredible in some panels and just okay in others. I just wish Marcos Martin had more time to flesh out the landscape of the story. Extra point for the Elektra panel but loss of pints for the lack of colloquial knowledge. I just couldnt get past the weird usage sometimes. I appreciated that Vaugh was trying to insert some emotion and realism into the comic, but there were several panels that felt out-of-place that Martin would probably have liked to illustrate his point in a little more detail, but suddenly had to move on for the sake of moving the story along. Otherwise this was just a good read and the art was otherworldly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman and the Signal #1

Jan 3, 2018

If you were a fan of the We are Robin story line I would recommend picking up a copy of issue of Batman and the Signal # 1 for the read, it still has that tactical street war vibe. There are some first appearances, otherwise isnt much speculation in this issue to go on; however, there is a B variant issue for #1 that may have a lower print run. Out of 5 stars I give it a 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman and the Signal #3

Apr 25, 2018

This min-series is a bit of a head scratcher. I absolutely loved thestart, and endured the delays for the answers to my questions to be answered by magic? Cmon if you were a fan of Duke Thomas this might be the one to turn you off. The great part of Duke Thomas was supposed to be that while Batman, and the rest of the family were wrestling with demi-gods, the signal would stay in Gotham and retain that tactical street war vibe. There is the first full appearance of Gnomon but a print of 37,000 doesnt give me any hope that this will be worth more than cover price down the road. Out of 5 stars I give it a 2.5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. Ra's Al Ghul #1

May 30, 2018

There is a lot to digest in Batman Prelude to the Wedding Robin vs Ras Al Ghul #1, but the development in the issues pages will leave speculators happy. Most of it feels more like the opening trailer to demonstrate that once Bat-Cat union happens there is going to be a lot more than Happy Ever After with Bruce and Damian. Wednesday warriors will want to pick this one up also keeping in mind that the five covers will connect to make on image.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #10

Dec 20, 2017

I dont have any speculation on this title; however, I do find it interesting that one of the 5 figures Multiverse Mattel figures will be releasing is a Rebirth version of Batwoman shipping by January!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Belle: Beast Hunter #1

Jan 17, 2018

Even though it is quite a departure in the normal provocative fare that I normally expect from Zenescope it is still good. I cant help wondering if this is more aimed at little girls in order to gain a wider more general audience Either way I am hooked, and will definitely check out the second issue when it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #11

Dec 15, 2017

It is not a stand-alone issue, and you may need to read some of the back issues if you are not up to speed; however, the character dialogue alone makes The Slingers Return Ben Reilly Scarlet Sider (2017) #11, definitely worth picking up. Right now, the long shot speculation for me are, issues #9-11. Issue #9 is on my radar because it has what I believe to be the first appearance of Misty Beck, Daughter of Mysterio who has powers apparently which were fully revealed in Issue #10 she. For issue #10 it just so happens that there is a Retailer Variant Cover by Brent Schoonover

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Lightning: Cold Dead Hands #2

Dec 6, 2017

I wish Isabella had more time than 6 issues to develop this story. I appreciated that Isabella is trying to insert some social justice issues into the comic, but there were several panels that I felt Isabella would have liked to illustrate his point in a little more detail, but suddenly had to move on for the sake of moving the story along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Science #36

Jun 6, 2018

There is nothing more that I can say other than this is why I'll definitely be checking out issue #37.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Blackwood #2

Jul 4, 2018

Out of 5 stars I give it a 4. This as not a stand-alone issue but the combined works thus far has been good, and has peaked my interest enough that I want to pick-up the 3rd issue of the Blackwood whenever it comes out.Blackwood could definitely find interest from fans outside of normal comic readers, The fact that Darkhorse already had 19 movies, with 2 upcoming(Hellboy 2019, and polar) and five more in production, leads me to believe and I could see this as a TV series. Blackwood comes with 2 covers; the regular cover is drawn by Veronica Fish, and the cover B is drawn by Delcan Shalvey Jordie Bellaire.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Brother Nash #1

Jun 7, 2018

Generally, I think this is a decent start and I would read at least one more issue. Im pretty curious about the "crazy lot lizzard" and kinda want to see more of her and what she is capable of. The one thing that will really drive me crazy should it continue is the way the "Yoda like way that Nash speaks sometimes. He is incredibly casual and has to go ruin it with weird phrasing, but not in a charming way that mystical characters have in other stories. If this improves then I think this series could be a pretty fun time. It isnt the best comic ever, but it could be fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
By Night #1

Jun 14, 2018

There are three covers for By Night #1; the regular Cover A is drawn by Christine Larsen; Cover B is a Variant drawn by John Allison; ans the Cover C is a retailer incentive drawn by Variant Gurihiru.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Catalyst Prime: Astonisher #9

Jul 11, 2018

Thhough the whole series thus far has been good, the thing that is holding it back is that #9 is not really a stand alone issue and I had to go back about 5 issues to remind my self what was going on. The layouts in Astonisher #9 continues to impress; however there were about 3 pages of panels that could have been better utilized to remind the audience who the big baddie is. Otherwise this was just a good read and the art was otherworldly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cold War (2018) #2

Mar 14, 2018

Thus far Cold War #2 could definitely find interest from fans outside of normal comic readers, and I could see myself plucking down some cash to go see this in a movie theatre.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Come Into Me #2

May 2, 2018

Thus far Come Into Me has enough going for it that it could find interest from fans outside of normal comic readers, and I could see this getting the Netflix treatment. Out of 5 stars I give it a 3.5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Comic Book History of Comics #1

Jan 24, 2018

Not only is this a good read but it is definitely one for the book shelf, dare I say, one that needs to be collected in graphic novel form for the personal library.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Crude #1

Apr 11, 2018

Out of 5 stars I give it a 4.5. This issue was straight lava and I cant wait to pick-up the 2st issue. Why only a 4.5? Its because while the interior art is great, the cover doesnt really communicate whats really going on inside.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Cyber Force (2018) #1

Mar 28, 2018

I recommend picking up a copy of a Cyber Force #1 when it hits stores for the read. Though the interior art of Rojo is amazing, the cover art is bland and will make it easily overlooked on the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Damage #6

Jun 20, 2018

The interior art of DAMAGE #6, is okay. Some of the fight scenes are exciting. Visually, The sheer ferocity of Damage is on full display, especially during the transformation sequence. I was disappointed in the amount of actual Swamp Thing in here, and more Poison Ivy would have been better.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Dry County #1

Mar 15, 2018

Thus far Dry County #1 is a solid comic interest from fans outside of normal comic readers, and I could see someone trying to adapt this into a movie script. So if youre a fan of the story structure of Ghostworld go ahead and plucking down some cash.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Farmhand #1

Jul 11, 2018

The art in Farmhand #1 is actually really good, it drives home the point but not so disgusting that I was repulsed by it. It kind of has a Plants vs Zombies vibe to it. I just hope that Guillory and Wells can keep it up in the follow-on issues and give us more body parts!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Flavor #1

May 17, 2018

If you are into the Culinary Arts,love comics about strong familial relationships and overcoming odds, or have a younger reader in your life who would appreciate a good story, Flavor #1 is the perfect place to jump in. This is a strong comic with a clear path, and a story that appeals to a wide audience of readers. If you are looking for something new, give Flavor a try, it wont disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero vs. the Six Million Dollar Man #1

Feb 28, 2018

This is not a bad comic, but it does seem to be missing something. It feels like an extended, illustrated book summary rather than the introduction to a new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Giants #1

Dec 13, 2017

I seriously went through this issue 8 times trying to find something I didnt like and couldnt find it. Its just a solid issue that gave me more than I was expecting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grimm Tales Of Terror #12

Feb 21, 2018

Even though it was a story thats been told before it was still solid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

Art wise over-all this is a great-looking book. Bryan Hitchs artwork lives up to the high expectations, though there weren't any updates to the look ofHawkman himself it still looks great, and the background details of the ruin is the star of the book thus far. the splash pages are given a lot of detail and care, and the actions scenes flow very well. The characters are given a lot of expression too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy: Krampusnacht #1

Dec 20, 2017

I would recommend picking up a copy of issues # 1 when it hits stores for the read; however, the fact that the cover and the interior art are done by Adam Hughes, and low estimated print run make it a logical speculation pick because Adam Hughes fans will want to have this in their collection. Hellboy Krampusnacht #1 has a cover C issue drawn by Hughes that is completely black and white that is absolutely daunting and probably the best of his most recent work.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Hit-Girl (2018) #1

Feb 20, 2018

Even though it took quite a license with military reality, its the devil is in the details approach to storytelling is still worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
I Am A Number #1

Dec 28, 2017

Out of 5 stars I give it a 5. Over-all its a great read. I will definitely be picking up some copies for my friends and family. I dont see any speculation happening on this but, there are some awesome panels that I could see turning into viral memes. Done right this could be a marketing monster.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infinity 8 #1

Mar 21, 2018

Even though I am high on the story and the art for Infinity 8 #1 I have low expectations as far as collecting Infinity #8 in print form. Because one question about Lion Forge still hasnt been answered. Even though they have shown the ability to adapt cartoons into comic books, can they turn their comics into cartoons or even adapt them for movies? If they can Infinity 8 would be an awesome place to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jasmine: Crown of Kings #2

Jun 6, 2018

Even though it was a story thats been told before it was still solid. As a bonusJasmine: Crown of Kings #1 comes with Four different covers. Cover A Regular is byCaanan White; the Cover B Variant drawn by Sergio Davila; the Cover Cover C variant drawn by Jay Anacleto which is my personal choice because it delivers the great cover art that Zenoscope is known for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jeepers Creepers #1

Apr 26, 2018

Out of 5 stars I give it a 3.5 . I definitely cant wait for issue #2 whenever it comes out. So, if youre a Jeepers Creepers enthusiast or horror fan I would recommend picking up a copy. Luckily it comes with 6 covers. The Regular Cover A is by Kelley Jones; there is a BLANK AUTHENTIX editon; the Cover B is by Kewber Baal; the cover C is a Photo variant; the cover D is a virgin variant by Kelley Jones (1:10); the cover E is a black and White by Kewber Baal (1:20); and the most scarce will definitely be the cover F by Kelley Jones Black and White 1:25). Either way most of them look really good.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
Jeepers Creepers #3

Jul 5, 2018

This issue was by no means a stand alone issue and I needed to back to the previous issues and do some research to get the underlying meaning. The star of this issue is the art by Kewber Baal which is dark and detailed with full on shots of the gore and monster to open and close the book. The comic isnt holding back on revealing the monster like the films tend to do.As it stands, this comic isnt very scary. So, if youre a Jeepers Creepers enthusiast or horror fan I would recommend picking up a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judas #2

Jan 10, 2018

The strengths of this book are almost too many to cite. I would definitely recommend picking up the 1st and 2nd issue copy of Judas.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #1

Jun 7, 2018

Scott Snyder knocks it out of the park here. He brings a truly epic touch to his this first issue and breaths new life into the mythology of the Justice league while respecting the legacy of the old material.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League: No Justice #1

May 9, 2018

I have been loving the direction of the DC universe lately. The DC New Age of Superheroes has had some great moments and some that have been meh. From some of the artwork that I've seen here in the Justice League No Justice #1, I think I might have to go back to some of the other issues to get some insight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kick-Ass (2018) #1

Feb 14, 2018

I recommend picking up a copy when it hits stores for the read and the speculation. Even though it took quite a license with military reality, its the devil is in the details approach to storytelling is still worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #1

Feb 28, 2018

The Crown Atlantis/ Crown Comes Down series as a whole was great, and collated with Mera Queen of Atlantis #1 is even better. The one-two punch possibilities of the Aquaman and the Mera comic definitely has me intrigued.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Midnight Task Force #1

Jul 6, 2018

Its just a solid issue that gave me more than I was expecting. Out of 5 stars I give it a3.54. Thus farMidnight Task Force #1 could definitely find interest from fans outside of normal comic readers, and I could see this as a long running TV series. The fact that it's getting printed could help ease that transition along. Its got legitimate suspense and horror as well as a and a fun twist, interesting characters, and solid art. Seriously give this one a look. Theres a great twist at the very end and youll want to go read issue #2 as soon as you hit the end of issue #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #27

May 16, 2018

Speculators are going to have to wait till Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #28 whenever it comes out to see if the Hyperforce Power Rangers make their first appearance. There is however a new villain that goes by the name Monsieur Muster who can build power ranger out of clayso theres that. So, if youre a Power Rangers Content I would recommend picking up a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #8

Apr 19, 2018

putting on a clinic. I just hope the extra month that we have to wait for Mister Miracle #9 is worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Knight (2017) #195

May 24, 2018

Weird is a difficult thing to aim for, and the execution is much harder if your audience knows where youre trying to wind up. That's what made it so impressive.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #63

Feb 21, 2018

The series as a whole has been great. So, if youre a My Little Pony enthusiast this is a must have issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
New Challengers (2018) #1

May 16, 2018

I love some of the concepts inserted here, and though it is by no means a standalone book Scott Snyder did a solid job of setting this book up. I do think some the panels from the Darks Days Casting and Metal would have done a better job than some of the panels inserted here. There were a solid 7 panels that have now made me interested and wanting to read the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Oblivion Song #1

Mar 7, 2018

Oblivion Song #1 comes with 2 covers the cover A is by Lorenzo De Felici. The Cover B is also by Lorenzo De Felici but is a part of a limited-edition collectors set (Limited to 1,000 print) that also includes a 11 statue, an exclusive art print, and a collector's lapel pin and an exclusive foil stamp. If you plan on speculating on this title it might be worth your time to also pick up Walking Dead #176 which has an Oblivion Song preview that features the first appearance main character Nathan.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Pestilence #6

Jan 10, 2018

I wish Tieri had more time than 6 issues to develop this story. I appreciated that Tieri was trying to insert some Historical social justice issues into the comic, but there were several panels that I felt Tieri would have liked to illustrate his point in a little more detail, but suddenly had to move on, for the sake of moving the story along, Yet, I still want to pick-up the Book two whenever it starts.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Quantum and Woody (2017) #1

Dec 21, 2017

Woody continues to play the Wise Guy role is a jokester who answers the, wisecracks, and wackiness who fancies himself to be a social media star, only to find himself lonelier than before. Look Woody is of course setting up do something incredibly stupid, but what Daniel Kibblesmith and Artist Kano have managed to do in issue #1 already is lay down the groundwork that you can feel sympathetic towards his stupidity and you kinda of want to see if it works out for him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Apocalypse #25

May 10, 2018

I recommend picking up a copy when it hits stores for the read and the speculation. Even though Scooby Apocalypse already has a cult following outside of normal comic readers thanks to the cartoon it should get action in the speculation game.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Shadowman (2018) #1

Mar 28, 2018

Its a tough and complicated story that Diggle and Segovia have undertaken, but the payoff could be huge.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #1

Apr 4, 2018

It is just good clean fun, in that has caught my attention and good enough that I want to pick-up the 2nd issue in anticipation of whats to come. Many fans who grew up reading the Archie Sonic lamented the news of its end last summer. But this new version seems poised to treat the character okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spawn #282

Jan 31, 2018

This isnt a stand-alone issue; however the whole Dark Horror storyline (Spawn 276-282) was good, and has piqued my interest enough that I want to pick-up the 1st issue of the new Black Mirror character whenever it comes out. So, if youre an Image fan I would recommend picking up a copy of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Man (2016) #235

Dec 8, 2017

I would definitely recommend picking up a copy of issues # 234 and 235 for the read, as it looks like they will be lead-ons into Spider-men #5 an issue that Bendis has indicated will be a major issue Out of 5 stars I give it a 4, in that it is good enough that I want to pick-up the 3rd issue in anticipation of whats to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #39

Jan 17, 2018

Heres the deal, there were a lot of Easter eggs spread out through some of the panels from Watchmen lore that I just couldnt identify, that artist Barry Kitson took the time to draw really well and I cant help but speculate that some of the characters will play into future issues of the Doomsday Clock. Either way I cant wait to see how DC pulls of the prestige part of this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #43

Mar 21, 2018

Story wise it was little tough to get the first 3 pages or so, but after that it was pure gold and highly entertaining. I am not even going to pretend like I understood everything that was going on or said but it was still good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2016): Special #1

May 17, 2018

It really deserved a better cover. Otherwise it was probably one of the best Superman stories I've read lately , truly an outstanding read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Swamp Thing Winter Special #1

Feb 8, 2018

In total there are about 80 pages of great stuff. The first 40 pages contain the story. The subsequent pages contain panels and art work, and part of the script that was meant for the originally planned mini-series; however, the issue as a whole was great. So, if youre a Swamp Thing or horror fan I would recommend picking up a copy of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #21

Apr 18, 2018

Out of 5 stars I give it a 3.5. It is a tough and complicated story that Allor has undertaken but the payoff could be huge. Even though it took quite a license with reality, I am high on the story and the interior art. The story as a whole was great but the lettering in the beginning was a little off-putting and probably could have been illustrated better. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Universe #21 has three covers: Cover A Regular Freddie E Williams II Cover;Cover B Variant Mark Torres Cover; Cover C Incentive Nathan Greno Variant Cover

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Curse of Brimstone #1

Apr 4, 2018

The strengths of this book are almost too many to cite. If the writing in #1 stays as strong through the course of Curse of Brimstone, it could definitely find interest from fans outside of normal comic readers. As for speculation I am not quite so high on it because thus far all of the New Age of Heroes books have been ranging from 45-50,000. I would definitely recommend picking up the 1st issue for the read and I am adding Curse of the Brimstone to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dead Hand #1

Apr 12, 2018

Out of 5 stars I give it a 5. The strengths of this book are almost too many to cite. Though the Cold War provides a basic structural backbone the attention to character building and complexity means it can spawn a nearly endless array of individual stories.If the writing in #1 stays as strong through the course of Dead Hand, it could definitely find interest from fans outside of normal comic readers and blow the roof off the office box. I would definitely recommend picking up the 1st issue for the read and I am adding the Dead Hand to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Magic Order #1

Jun 13, 2018

Wednesday warriors hoping to cash in off of this title should be aware that Pre-orders are already through-the-roof, with over 140,000 pre-orders. Keep in mind that even top-selling comic books these days from Marvel or DC only sell around 100,000 copies (on a good month). However, digital copies will also be available come release day through Image comics website.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Silencer #1

Jan 31, 2018

This being a first appearance of Honor Guest, It does have legs and I can envision the character having a pretty good run but I would wait a little bit before speculating on this book, either way it is a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Titans (2016) #23

Jul 11, 2018

Despite the misguided drive of the masses, the strengths of this book are almost too many to cite without spoilers. I would definitely recommend picking up this issue for the read. If you must speculate on this issue there are three different covers; the Cover A is drawn by Brandon Peterson; however the DC comics Cover B have been the most popular so definitely consider picking that one up drawn by Stjepan Sejic; but the one that will be the hardest to find will be the Cover C sketch cover drawn by Brandon Peterson (1:20) .

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Tony Stark: Iron Man #1

Jun 21, 2018

At the end of the day the whole business end of the variant covers is what kept me from totally enjoying this issue, but the story is good enough enough that I am going to trash it. Lesson Learned: don't judge a book by 20 not-so good looking covers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Vampirella (2017): Rose For The Dead #1

Jun 27, 2018

My feelings on the art for this book are a bit mixed. I love the various covers, with the Billy Tucci, andJoseph Michael Linsnerones really standing out. But that also works against the interior work, which is at times worthy of being a poster and other times looks rushed. The dialogue at times was a little confusing, but the fact that it tries so hard to to take on the social and gender issues of the day makes me like this book quite a bit. It is keeping up the tradition of good old fashioned science-fiction/horror: telling a fun story while also sharing a message that applies to the world today.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More