Nick Devonald's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 36
7.9Avg. Review Rating

10
Absolute Carnage (2019) #4

Oct 16, 2019

The issue concludes with the promise of an epic showdown. #5 can’t come soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Absolute Carnage (2019) #5

Nov 20, 2019

An unbelievably good conclusion to one of comics most epic events thanks to a perfect collaboration between artist and storyteller. This is an absolute must read. I can’t emphasise enough how good this issue, and whole event, is.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Absolute Carnage vs. Deadpool #3

Oct 17, 2019

Not a bad tie-in issue, or series, for that matter, but one for Deadpool fans and completionists only. Those here for the main event can quite happily miss this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Absolute Carnage: Avengers #1

Oct 16, 2019

In conclusion all I can say is for completionists only. Had potential but got really lost along the way. I can’t recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Absolute Carnage: Captain Marvel #1

Nov 20, 2019

Highly recommended, great art, great storytelling, not essential reading for the main event but if you're going to pick up any of the tie-ins, I would put this one at the top of the pile.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Absolute Carnage: Lethal Protectors #3

Oct 23, 2019

In conclusion this gives us a look at the chaos engulfing New York which has been skimmed over in the other series, brings back a whole host of characters familiar to readers from Maximum Carnage, and sets things up for an epic battle in Absolute Carnage #5. On the downside there is a lot, a lot, of references to older series that newer readers, or even less well read fans, might find confusing or off putting. Not essential reading, but recommended for more than just completionists. Casual fans of the main series can skip it though without missing out. (This is subject to change since Absolute Carnage #5 hasn’t been released, but I doubt it.)

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Absolute Carnage: Weapon Plus #1

Nov 6, 2019

Exactly what it says on the tin, this isn't going to blow anyones minds but is mostly enjoyable, recommended for readers who can't get enough of either Absolute Carnage or Weapon H. It can be bypassed though with no loss for fans not determined to collect them all. But if you only buy one tie-in, I'd recommend this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Alien vs. Predator: Thicker Than Blood #1

Dec 11, 2019

Despite it’s attempts to differentiate it from the crowd of subpar tie ins to the Alien or Predator franchises it misses the mark. Phenomenal artwork is the only reason to pick this comic up. There is potential here, but as a four part series and the first issue missing the mark I have concerns for the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing Spider-Man (2018): Full Circle #1

Oct 23, 2019

If nothing else you owe it to yourself to see what happens when a team of Marvels finest get together. An experiment in story-telling it’s a real treat from cover to cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Angel (2019) #6

Oct 23, 2019

Another great issue, and in this modern age of binging makes me impatient for the next issue to see what happens next. A must for Buffy/Angel fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Angel (2019) #7

Nov 27, 2019

Another great issue of Angel, high standards of writing, art and colors as always. This series is really finding its feet and the pieces are all coming together to recreate the feel of the TV series. A must for old, and new, fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Annihilation - Scourge: Alpha #1

Nov 20, 2019

A good set-up promising a series worthy of the Annihilation name, a great threat and excellent line up of heroes promise to make this an event that fans of Marvels Cosmic side won't want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Annihilation - Scourge: Fantastic Four #1

Dec 4, 2019

I look forward to all the characters coming together in Annihation Scourge: Omega. It promises to be quite an issue, and if all the one shots released so far are an indication of quality this is a series that fans of Marvel Cosmic, especially Annihilation events, are going to love.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Annihilation - Scourge: Beta Ray Bill #1

Dec 11, 2019

Is it an outstanding issue? No, like I mentioned before these one shots are beginning to feel very paint by numbers. Is that a bad thing? Not overly, but holds it back from really standing out for the crowd. Good set up for Annihilation Scourge though, and it was good seeing Beta Ray Bill taking the lead here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Annihilation - Scourge: Nova #1

Dec 4, 2019

A real return to form for Richard Rider, an excellent issue in Annihilation Scourge, great art and excellent action scenes promise to make this a winner with fans of Marvels Cosmic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Annihilation - Scourge: Silver Surfer #1

Dec 11, 2019

Following the same formula as all the other one shots in this series readers will know what to expect. Considering this is Dan Abnett of Annihilation fame the writing isn't quite as strong as I'd come to expect. Colors really help to bring out Paul Davidson's stunning art which is probably the highlight of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #9

Nov 6, 2019

Don’t let the sub-par art drag you away from what is a fantastic read and comic series. Hellmouth & Angel are both fantastic, and this is the parent of the Buffyverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #10

Dec 4, 2019

Another good issue in a consistently strong run, focusing on characters that have so far been a little neglected it is sure to be a fan pleaser. Things look to be coming to a head in the next issue which promises to be good. As with all issues in the rebooted Buffyverse, highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #2

Nov 13, 2019

Another fantastic issue in the rebooted Buffyverse, only two issues into Hellmouth and the stakes are already so high. The excellent storytelling matched by outstanding artwork makes this issue and whole event a must have for Buffy fans new and old.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #3

Dec 11, 2019

The Hellmouth event has been great, this is a fantastic example of comic book events done properly. Writing is spot on, the art is great to the point I’ve found myself stop reading to admire it. The conclusion to this issue is one of the best cliffhangers I've read and I can actually hear Sarah Michelle Gellar and David Boreanaz's voices in my head in the last few panels.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Firefly (2018) #11

Nov 20, 2019

Fans of Boom! Studios offerings of Firefly so far will continue to enjoy this series. As this is the only continuation we’re likely to get for Firefly I say no power in the ‘Verse will stop me reading them. A few small tweaks to the formula could make this a really fantastic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #11

Nov 13, 2019

The future looks bleak for our heroes, and the concluding issue promises to be epic. It’s a shame that building up to that issue has left this issue feeling a bit of a weak link in this run. However the artwork is, as always, stunning, and well worth the price of admission. And this is essential reading for #12 which promises to make up for the weaker aspects of the Faithless storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy and The B.P.R.D.: Long Night at Goloski Station #1

Oct 30, 2019

Long night at Goloski station has everything we've come to expect from a Mignolaverse tale, fantastic artwork, a story which will haunt you long after you've put the comic down, each page practically dripping with melancholy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
John Constantine: Hellblazer #1

Nov 27, 2019

I can’t rave enough about what a good issue this is. I don’t think I realised how much I needed this series until I started reading it. If this is the standard from DC’s Black Label I think we’re in for a real treat. I am so excited for the future of John Constantine. If I could award more than 10/10 I wouldn’t hesitate. I can’t remember the last time I read a #1 and felt this excited about what’s to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Locke & Key: Dog Days #1

Nov 6, 2019

Dog Days is a welcome return to the Keyhouse, a joy to read, with the promise of more to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Our Encounters with Evil #1

Nov 13, 2019

A good fun throwback to classic Hammer movies, fans of Mignola or Mr. Higgins Comes Home will love this. Thrilling and exciting the art style won't be to everyone's liking but give it a try. You might be surprised by how much you enjoy the art by the time you finish the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punisher: Soviet #1

Nov 13, 2019

Punisher’s greatest storyteller is back, and it’s like he’s never been away. Frank Castle is as brutal, relentless, and methodical as ever. Sensational art throughout reminiscent of the late and great Steve Dillon is just one of many reasons to head out to your comic book shop and buy this now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Punisher: Soviet #2

Dec 11, 2019

It’s Garth Ennis writing Punisher Max and really that’s all you need to know. It’s great, as good as anything he’s done in the past, and the juxtaposition between Castle and Stepanovich promises to make fun reading as well as an interesting look into Franks personality.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Scream: Curse of Carnage #1

Nov 27, 2019

A promising start, if nothing outstanding, to a new series. Time will tell whether it’ll be good or simply a cash in on Venoms success, in the meantime good art and colors make it worth picking up. I have high hopes though.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Silver Surfer: Black #5

Oct 30, 2019

This comic is filled with imagery that goes beyond the stunning art and terrific colours. This is light versus dark. Birth, death and rebirth. There is a poetry in Cates’ writing on show here. The artwork augments this and raises it above just a comic book. This isn’t just a comic. This is Art. And in case you worry this takes away from the comic it doesn’t. This is a comic that NEEDS to be read. And Donny? I think Stan would be proud of this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Man (2019) #2

Oct 16, 2019

These first two issues have been enjoyable reads. It almost feels too early on to say how good this series will be yet, too many unknowns, but if it carries on the way the first two issues did readers will be in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sandman Universe: Hellblazer #1

Oct 30, 2019

This is a welcome return to Constantine of old, a chain-smoking, swearing, back stabbing, conniving, haunted, snarky, lying bastard. Welcome back. Can't wait to see what you do next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Venom (2018) #19

Oct 30, 2019

Great writing, superb art & colours, mysteries teased, a solid entry to both Venom & Absolute Carnage, only a shame it was marred by poor decisions around the release schedule, which unfortunately drags the score down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Yondu (2019) #1

Nov 6, 2019

This Buddy movie shows plenty of promise. Fantastic art helps elevate the good writing and makes this one not to be missed for cosmic fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Yondu (2019) #2

Nov 27, 2019

So far I feel like this series is promising more than it delivers. Will it improve? Too soon to tell, but when it’s 2 issues into a 5 issue mini it’s a little worrying that it’s not delivering on the goods yet. I’ve enjoyed the art and the colors really help set the tone. Perhaps a little naively I remain hopeful for the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Yondu (2019) #3

Dec 11, 2019

The buddy movie we’ve been promised all along, I look forward to seeing the conflict growing between the two Yondu’s, and seeing if they’re both going to make it out of this in one piece.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More