Nick Devonald's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 87
8.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Absolute Carnage (2019) #4

Oct 16, 2019

The issue concludes with the promise of an epic showdown. #5 can’t come soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Absolute Carnage (2019) #5

Nov 20, 2019

An unbelievably good conclusion to one of comics most epic events thanks to a perfect collaboration between artist and storyteller. This is an absolute must read. I can’t emphasise enough how good this issue, and whole event, is.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Absolute Carnage (2019): Avengers #1

Oct 16, 2019

In conclusion all I can say is for completionists only. Had potential but got really lost along the way. I can’t recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Absolute Carnage (2019): Weapon Plus #1

Nov 6, 2019

Exactly what it says on the tin, this isn't going to blow anyones minds but is mostly enjoyable, recommended for readers who can't get enough of either Absolute Carnage or Weapon H. It can be bypassed though with no loss for fans not determined to collect them all. But if you only buy one tie-in, I'd recommend this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Absolute Carnage (2019): Captain Marvel #1

Nov 20, 2019

Highly recommended, great art, great storytelling, not essential reading for the main event but if you're going to pick up any of the tie-ins, I would put this one at the top of the pile.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Absolute Carnage vs. Deadpool #3

Oct 17, 2019

Not a bad tie-in issue, or series, for that matter, but one for Deadpool fans and completionists only. Those here for the main event can quite happily miss this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Absolute Carnage: Lethal Protectors #3

Oct 23, 2019

In conclusion this gives us a look at the chaos engulfing New York which has been skimmed over in the other series, brings back a whole host of characters familiar to readers from Maximum Carnage, and sets things up for an epic battle in Absolute Carnage #5. On the downside there is a lot, a lot, of references to older series that newer readers, or even less well read fans, might find confusing or off putting. Not essential reading, but recommended for more than just completionists. Casual fans of the main series can skip it though without missing out. (This is subject to change since Absolute Carnage #5 hasn’t been released, but I doubt it.)

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Alien vs. Predator: Thicker Than Blood #1

Dec 11, 2019

Despite it’s attempts to differentiate it from the crowd of subpar tie ins to the Alien or Predator franchises it misses the mark. Phenomenal artwork is the only reason to pick this comic up. There is potential here, but as a four part series and the first issue missing the mark I have concerns for the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Alien vs. Predator: Thicker Than Blood #2

Jan 15, 2020

Fantastic artwork isn’t enough to save this comic from mediocrity, unlikeable protagonists only carry the story so far. The fight scenes lift the score from last issue but still nothing incredible. I hope the rest of the series proves me wrong and improves, but it needs to be a drastic improvement.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Alienated #1

Feb 12, 2020

An exciting debut issue. Incredible writing hooks you in, outstanding art pulls you deep inside the comic, the colors bring it all to life and expert lettering makes a complex story readable with ease. A fantastic but subtle look at society and social media, this promises to be a great story. This is a comic that plays to all the strengths of the medium and wouldn’t work nearly as well in a different format.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Amazing Spider-Man (2018): Full Circle #1

Oct 23, 2019

If nothing else you owe it to yourself to see what happens when a team of Marvels finest get together. An experiment in story-telling it’s a real treat from cover to cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Angel (2019) #6

Oct 23, 2019

Another great issue, and in this modern age of binging makes me impatient for the next issue to see what happens next. A must for Buffy/Angel fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Angel (2019) #7

Nov 27, 2019

Another great issue of Angel, high standards of writing, art and colors as always. This series is really finding its feet and the pieces are all coming together to recreate the feel of the TV series. A must for old, and new, fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angel (2019) #8

Dec 18, 2019

The best issue of Angel so far, as each new comic is released there’s an improvement on the one before and like the TV series I think we’ll find this ends up eclipsing it’s parent series of Buffy. Another must have issue, great writing coupled with fantastic art and colors make this an awesome issue and a reminder that the Buffyverse is such a rich playground for these great characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Annihilation - Scourge: Alpha #1

Nov 20, 2019

A good set-up promising a series worthy of the Annihilation name, a great threat and excellent line up of heroes promise to make this an event that fans of Marvels Cosmic side won't want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Annihilation - Scourge: Fantastic Four #1

Dec 4, 2019

I look forward to all the characters coming together in Annihation Scourge: Omega. It promises to be quite an issue, and if all the one shots released so far are an indication of quality this is a series that fans of Marvel Cosmic, especially Annihilation events, are going to love.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Annihilation - Scourge: Omega #1

Dec 18, 2019

I wish Marvel had taken the time to tell this tale properly and give it a bit of space to breathe, as it stands however it's rushed and a big disappointment. Some of the art was really good however, and I enjoyed the fact it gave Nova a big role, but these alone aren't enough to save it from mediocrity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Annihilation - Scourge: Beta Ray Bill #1

Dec 11, 2019

Is it an outstanding issue? No, like I mentioned before these one shots are beginning to feel very paint by numbers. Is that a bad thing? Not overly, but holds it back from really standing out for the crowd. Good set up for Annihilation Scourge though, and it was good seeing Beta Ray Bill taking the lead here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Annihilation - Scourge: Nova #1

Dec 4, 2019

A real return to form for Richard Rider, an excellent issue in Annihilation Scourge, great art and excellent action scenes promise to make this a winner with fans of Marvels Cosmic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Annihilation - Scourge: Silver Surfer #1

Dec 11, 2019

Following the same formula as all the other one shots in this series readers will know what to expect. Considering this is Dan Abnett of Annihilation fame the writing isn't quite as strong as I'd come to expect. Colors really help to bring out Paul Davidson's stunning art which is probably the highlight of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Books of Magic (2018) #15

Jan 2, 2020

Threats continue to mount against Tim Hunter who is oblivious to most of them. This issue succeeds in building up tension even while not neccessarily progressing the plot very much. This arc promises to be a really good one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Books of Magic (2018) #16

Jan 22, 2020

This is another solid entry in the Books of Magic series. The tension continues to build in each issue and the next one promises a reckoning. How will these events shape Tim? Will they tip him towards good or evil? Only time will tell, but I’ll make sure to keep reading each issue to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #9

Nov 6, 2019

Don’t let the sub-par art drag you away from what is a fantastic read and comic series. Hellmouth & Angel are both fantastic, and this is the parent of the Buffyverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #10

Dec 4, 2019

Another good issue in a consistently strong run, focusing on characters that have so far been a little neglected it is sure to be a fan pleaser. Things look to be coming to a head in the next issue which promises to be good. As with all issues in the rebooted Buffyverse, highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #11

Jan 8, 2020

This issue perfectly sums up my feelings about the Buffy reboot. The writing is spot on, there are some real stand out moments, but the art lets it down again. Which makes scoring this issue a real challenge. Writing? 10/10, no question about it. The art however lets it down. When it shines it's fantastic. When it doesn't it drags the whole comic down, taking me out of the story and stopping me being completely immersed, and on the final page leaving me confused about who the character appearing is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #12

Feb 5, 2020

The whole series has been building to this issue. Excellent writing, fantastic pacing, great art and colors, the best issue of the series. As the penultimate issue of Hellmouth it manages to build up plenty of excitement while also being a brilliant issue in its own right. Well done to the whole team at Boom! Studios.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #2

Nov 13, 2019

Another fantastic issue in the rebooted Buffyverse, only two issues into Hellmouth and the stakes are already so high. The excellent storytelling matched by outstanding artwork makes this issue and whole event a must have for Buffy fans new and old.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #3

Dec 11, 2019

The Hellmouth event has been great, this is a fantastic example of comic book events done properly. Writing is spot on, the art is great to the point I’ve found myself stop reading to admire it. The conclusion to this issue is one of the best cliffhangers I've read and I can actually hear Sarah Michelle Gellar and David Boreanaz's voices in my head in the last few panels.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #4

Jan 15, 2020

The penultimate issue of Hellmouth, the story continues to build and build. I can't wait to see where they go with it next. They manage to capture the feel of the show, the writing is dramatic and art is incredible. This is the highlight of the Buffyverse and I hope these events become a regular staple going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #5

Feb 12, 2020

This issue acts as an excellent season finale for the first year of the Buffyverse. It has everything we’ve come to expect of this reboot and so much more. There’s epic battles, quieter emotional moments, good banter. It’s Buffy at its best. It succeeds in drawing all the different threads together to a satisfactory conclusion while also sowing the seeds for what’s still to come. Fans, both new and old, are going to love this. To say I’m excited for the future of the Buffyverse would be an understatement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Firefly (2018) #11

Nov 20, 2019

Fans of Boom! Studios offerings of Firefly so far will continue to enjoy this series. As this is the only continuation we’re likely to get for Firefly I say no power in the ‘Verse will stop me reading them. A few small tweaks to the formula could make this a really fantastic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Firefly (2018) #12

Dec 18, 2019

The story hasn’t necessarily had the impact it should have done. The argument that this is the only way we’re going to get more Firefly probably isn’t the most convincing reason to buy it. Will I keep it on my pull list? Yes, but it’s not something I’m going to rush down to my local comic book shop to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Firefly (2018) #13

Jan 22, 2020

The start of a brand new storyline, it shows a lot of promise, and hopefully won’t make the same mistakes the previous storyline did by feeling drawn out towards the end. The new art team do a great job and I can’t wait to see more of their work. Firefly fans won’t be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Firefly (2018) #14

Feb 18, 2020

This issue is a return to form for Firefly fans. Having a new art team for this arc helps to make this feel fresh and new. If this is the new standard going forward fans, new and old, are in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Firefly (2018): The Outlaw Ma Reynolds #1

Jan 8, 2020

Despite appearing to only be a one-shot this is essential reading for the main Firefly storyline. Good fun and nice to focus on Mal for a change but I missed the rest of the crew and I'm looking forward to them getting back together in the main series. My only real gripe is how this issue was set up in Firefly #12, it just didn't feel realistic to me. The change in artists is a welcome change.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Frankenstein Undone #1

Jan 29, 2020

This looks to be another unmissable chapter within the larger Mignolaverse. This gives us a closer look at Frankenstein, as well as being a surprisingly deep look at what makes a man and what makes a monster. Stenbeck’s art is great as ever and this first issue promises great things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #11

Nov 13, 2019

The future looks bleak for our heroes, and the concluding issue promises to be epic. It’s a shame that building up to that issue has left this issue feeling a bit of a weak link in this run. However the artwork is, as always, stunning, and well worth the price of admission. And this is essential reading for #12 which promises to make up for the weaker aspects of the Faithless storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Guardians of the Galaxy (2019) #12

Dec 18, 2019

As Donny Cates last issue on Guardians of the Galaxy he really ends it all on a high. Great art, some incredible references back to earlier Cosmic series he’s done, this is going to be a guaranteed fan pleaser. Now all we need is an omnibus containing all of his cosmic work to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Guardians of the Galaxy (2020) #1

Jan 22, 2020

An impressive start to a new run from Al Ewing, his obvious knowledge and reverence for everything that’s come before leaves me excited for what’s to come next. Juann Cabal does a great job on art and leaves you no doubt he’ll do excellent whether it’s quieter moments or galaxy sized epic fights. It’s early to say how good this run will be but right now I’m feeling optimistic, and long time fans are sure to love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Guardians of the Galaxy (2020) #2

Feb 19, 2020

It’s early days in Ewings run but it already looks set to be an incredible run. Clever storytelling techniques from not just Ewing but Cabal and Blee set this above other runs on Guardians. The best comics have a creative team firing on all cylinders, this one has them collaborating so closely the final product is nothing short of genius. The galaxy is sure to remain safe, it’s our heroes I’m more worried about.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hawkeye: Freefall #1

Jan 2, 2020

This comic is great fun from beginning to end. Hawkeyes narration is filled with plenty of humour and you don’t need to be well versed in the character to follow what’s going on. We’ve got an interesting setup which takes a good look at the corrupt justice system, as well as a mystery to solve in Ronin’s reappearance. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hawkeye: Freefall #2

Jan 29, 2020

Buy this issue, and the previous one, to see what all the hype is about. Stay, because it’s damn good fun, an interesting story with twists and turns, art that perfectly matches the tone. Plenty of great action, great storytelling, plenty of laughs. I’m excited to see where they take this story in the next issue and how they explain the events of the first two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hawkeye: Freefall #3

Feb 12, 2020

The twists and turns keep coming, there are laughs-a-plenty, plenty of cameos from other well known characters, so many reasons to keep coming back issue after issue. The art perfectly matches the tone of the book and makes it an essential if you’re after a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hellboy and The B.P.R.D.: The Return of Effie Kolb #1

Feb 18, 2020

It's nice to return to a classic Hellboy tale. Excellent writing, great art and of course the legendary Dave Stewart on colors make this a tale Hellboy fans won't want to miss. The only criticism I can make is I suspect it will read much better as a complete tale rather than a two-part story. And if that's the onlycriticism I can aim at it then you know you're in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy and The B.P.R.D.: Long Night at Goloski Station #1

Oct 30, 2019

Long night at Goloski station has everything we've come to expect from a Mignolaverse tale, fantastic artwork, a story which will haunt you long after you've put the comic down, each page practically dripping with melancholy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy: Winter Special: 2019 #1

Jan 15, 2020

A perfect sampler for new readers, the Winter Special is a looked forward to tradition for long time readers to dive back into Hellboys world. Short stories is arguably where Hellboy shines and these three are no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
House of Whispers (2018) #17

Jan 8, 2020

This issue looks to be getting ready to tie up a lot of threads from earlier issues and I look forward to seeing where it all goes. I’m enjoying the fact that things are rarely what they same and more often than not taken unexpected directions. Another strong addition in the world of The Sandman Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
John Constantine: Hellblazer #1

Nov 27, 2019

I can’t rave enough about what a good issue this is. I don’t think I realised how much I needed this series until I started reading it. If this is the standard from DC’s Black Label I think we’re in for a real treat. I am so excited for the future of John Constantine. If I could award more than 10/10 I wouldn’t hesitate. I can’t remember the last time I read a #1 and felt this excited about what’s to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
John Constantine: Hellblazer #2

Dec 18, 2019

I can’t fault anything in this new Hellblazer series, the writing, art, colors, all top notch. The stories interesting, taking unexpected turns, the supporting cast come alive on the page fully formed, this is comic books at their absolute best.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
John Constantine: Hellblazer #3

Jan 22, 2020

The third issue cements any doubts that this series is something special. An incredible pairing of writer, artist and colorist make this comic one of the best on the shelves at the moment. Simon Spurriers got such a good grasp of what makes John Constantine so great and has populated his world with characters who feel so real they practically jump off the page. Aaron Campbell manages to bring Constantines London to life in the most incredible way. Jordie Bellaires colors have to be amongst the best in the industry and really atmospheric. This is the comic I look forward to most month after month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Locke & Key: Dog Days #1

Nov 6, 2019

Dog Days is a welcome return to the Keyhouse, a joy to read, with the promise of more to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monstress #25

Jan 29, 2020

We have such complex characters, with different motivations and goals, that are all so well rounded. A complex and well thought out world. I can’t heap enough praise onto this series. And while this is only the first issue in this next 6 issue arc and spends a lot of time setting up what our various characters are up to it’s absolutely captivating from beginning to end, and the 30 pages are over before you know it. Epic in a way no other comic comes close to, fantastic art and storytelling, you need to be reading this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nebula (2020) #1

Feb 11, 2020

The final panel employs such a tired storytelling trope it lets down the clever and imaginative story up until that point. Looking past that, if Vita Ayala’s writing continues these otherwise high standards, with Claire Roe and Mike Spicer on art duties, fans of Marvels Cosmic comics are in for a treat. I’m enjoying how Marvel are putting the spotlight on some of their lesser cosmic characters at the moment and I hope the trend continues. We're getting a return to the heights of Dan Abnett and Andy Lannings cosmic run and I hope this trend continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Our Encounters with Evil #1

Nov 13, 2019

A good fun throwback to classic Hammer movies, fans of Mignola or Mr. Higgins Comes Home will love this. Thrilling and exciting the art style won't be to everyone's liking but give it a try. You might be surprised by how much you enjoy the art by the time you finish the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punisher: Soviet #1

Nov 13, 2019

Punisher’s greatest storyteller is back, and it’s like he’s never been away. Frank Castle is as brutal, relentless, and methodical as ever. Sensational art throughout reminiscent of the late and great Steve Dillon is just one of many reasons to head out to your comic book shop and buy this now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Punisher: Soviet #2

Dec 11, 2019

It’s Garth Ennis writing Punisher Max and really that’s all you need to know. It’s great, as good as anything he’s done in the past, and the juxtaposition between Castle and Stepanovich promises to make fun reading as well as an interesting look into Franks personality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Punisher: Soviet #3

Jan 2, 2020

This issue is classic Garth Ennis and contains echoes of a lot of his previous work. It contains some strong images, is definitely not for the faint of heart, but is great none the less. It earns its explicit content warning on the front cover. It fills in the missing blanks and sets in motion events for the rest of the series. Castle and Stepanovich promise to be a great team up. Ennis fans will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ravencroft #1

Jan 29, 2020

This series hasn’t taken off running like I expected following the one-shots. There are still a number of mysteries to be solved, with no sign of resolution yet, I only hope they start providing answers soon to hold our interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #1

Dec 18, 2019

Donny Cates' bonus story at the end makes this worth the price of admission. It's fortunate then that Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider is a great story, helped by stunning art. I look forward to the next part of this story. Following the initial Cosmic Ghost Rider run we’ve needed a good solo story featuring him and I think this could be it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #2

Jan 15, 2020

Dennis “Hopeless” Hallum proves he’s got what it takes to carry Cosmic Ghost Riders reigns. Scott Hepburn and Antonio Fabela bring that vision to life. Put your sanity away and dive deep into this bonkers tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Revenge of the Cosmic Ghost Rider #3

Feb 19, 2020

Hepburns art is perfectly suited for drawing both the manic moments and the quieter (that’s quiet-ER moments, not quiet) and is an excellent fit. Antonio Fabela’s colors accentuate the artwork and take it to a whole new level. I’m excited to read the next issue and see what’s coming next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ruins Of Ravencroft: Sabretooth #1

Jan 15, 2020

Using some clever techniques we get a continuation of the modern day Ravencroft story, as well as delving into a hidden story from Marvel history. A good horror story, I'm still not convinced on the line up of characters in the modern story. The art's good and I look forward to next weeks concluding issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ruins Of Ravencroft: Carnage #1

Jan 8, 2020

For fans of Absolute Carnage, and horror, this issue will go down well. Where the story goes remains to be seen but I’ll be sure to pick them up. Great and distinctive art between the two artists is a real highlight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ruins Of Ravencroft: Dracula #1

Jan 22, 2020

These three one-shots have left me intrigued to see where the Ravencroft series is going. The line-up of characters seems a bit random at time and hopefully an explanation will be forthcoming in the ongoing Ravencroft series. The art has been good throughout. If the goal of these one-shots has been to get people excited for the Ravencroft series then they've succeeded.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Scream: Curse of Carnage #1

Nov 27, 2019

A promising start, if nothing outstanding, to a new series. Time will tell whether it’ll be good or simply a cash in on Venoms success, in the meantime good art and colors make it worth picking up. I have high hopes though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scream: Curse of Carnage #2

Dec 18, 2019

This has all the potential to be a great series going forward, I’m really enjoying the fact we’re getting a bit of time to delve into the horror aspects of the Marvel universe. The art really is exceptional and makes this comic stand out in a sea of well-drawn comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scream: Curse of Carnage #3

Jan 29, 2020

Chapman has managed to bring some brand new aspects of symbiote mythology into play, while still managing to keep it feeling faithful to everything that’s come before. There are still lots of mysteries waiting to unfold and I have no idea where most of it’s going but I’m excited to find out. With Brown & Mooneyham on art it’s guaranteed, wherever the story goes, to be a real stand out in the horror genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Silver Surfer: Black #5

Oct 30, 2019

This comic is filled with imagery that goes beyond the stunning art and terrific colours. This is light versus dark. Birth, death and rebirth. There is a poetry in Cates’ writing on show here. The artwork augments this and raises it above just a comic book. This isn’t just a comic. This is Art. And in case you worry this takes away from the comic it doesn’t. This is a comic that NEEDS to be read. And Donny? I think Stan would be proud of this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Man (2019) #2

Oct 16, 2019

These first two issues have been enjoyable reads. It almost feels too early on to say how good this series will be yet, too many unknowns, but if it carries on the way the first two issues did readers will be in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Stranger Things: Into the Fire #1

Jan 8, 2020

For die hard fans only, those fans looking for a bit more Stranger Things won’t necessarily get what they’re after here. Not to say this is a bad comic, it’s enjoyable, it just doesn’t have the same allure the TV series does. It suffers from the same problems all tie-in comics do.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Stranger Things: Into the Fire #2

Feb 13, 2020

The art and colors are well done, some clever storytelling techniques are used. On paper this should be a great comic. The biggest problem it has is tying it into Stranger Things. It can’t capture the eighties movie vibe that the series does so well and as such will only appeal to the superfans. Unlike a lot of tv tie ins this won’t appeal to the masses more just the zealots.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sweet Heart #1

Jan 22, 2020

This is something horror fans are not going to want to miss. An adult fairy-tale, one of the only genuinely scary horror comics I’ve read, this is a must read for horror fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Dreaming (2018) #17

Jan 2, 2020

Another great issue, making this series another great issue in the Sandman Universe. The characterisation has been fantastic and I love seeing where the characters are going, even if it does seem to be to new depths. While everything seems to be coming to a head it’s difficult to know where it’s going to go and what will happen next. And it’s this mystery, this unknown, which helps bring me back issue after issue to find out what’s coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Man Who Effed Up Time #1

Feb 5, 2020

A great first issue which pulls us deep into the mystery, it’s great fun, and the end of the issue brings home the stakes at play for our main character. Good art throughout helps to bring home how absurd and insane this issue is and keeps it entertaining. This is a series I look forward to following.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sandman Universe: Hellblazer #1

Oct 30, 2019

This is a welcome return to Constantine of old, a chain-smoking, swearing, back stabbing, conniving, haunted, snarky, lying bastard. Welcome back. Can't wait to see what you do next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thor (2020) #1

Jan 1, 2020

As a New Year dawns a New Thor stands ready to take on a galactic threat that threatens the entire Marvel universe. Luckily the team of Donny Cates, Nic Klein and Matthew Wilson are more than up to the job of telling this story. This isn’t just for fans of Thor, or Marvel, this is a comic all comic fans NEED TO BE READING. Yes, it’s that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thor (2020) #2

Jan 29, 2020

Donny Cates continues to be paired with some of Marvels hottest artists which make for some of the best comics in the industry. If these first two issues are anything to go by fans of Thor, and Marvel in general, are in for a real good time going forward. Twists and turns to keep the reader guessing, possibly the most dangerous threat the Marvel universe has faced, and Thor in a new role promise some exciting storytelling going forward. Nic Klein’s art has to be seen to be believed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thor (2020) #3

Feb 12, 2020

With the creative team of Donny Cates, Nic Klein and Matt Wilson we were obviously going to be onto a winner. The amount of love and passion the three of them have for this project is abundantly clear. This is shaping up to be one of, if not THE, best runs on Thor. And I can say this with certainty despite only being three issues in. That’s how good it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Venom (2018) #19

Oct 30, 2019

Great writing, superb art & colours, mysteries teased, a solid entry to both Venom & Absolute Carnage, only a shame it was marred by poor decisions around the release schedule, which unfortunately drags the score down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Venom (2018) #21

Dec 26, 2019

After the craziness of Absolute Carnage we get a chance for a brand new story arc, a throwback to a classic ASM story, and a chance to slow things down before the inevitable insanity of Knull’s arrival and what that’ll mean for our heroes. A great premise for the story I can’t wait to see where the story goes. Mark Bagleys art is good while we wait for Ryan Stegmans return.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Venom (2018) #22

Jan 8, 2020

If you’ve been reading Donny Cates’ run on Venom there’s no doubt in my mind you’ll be heading to your local book shop at your earliest convenience to pick it up, this is one of the best things happening in comics right now. And if you’re not then you need to catch up on the rest of this run then buy this one. The writing, the art, the characters, it’s all top notch. A standout issue in an incredible run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Venom (2018) #23

Feb 12, 2020

Another incredible issue in an outstanding run. Cates consistently increases the tension, and here he shows us there can be consequences in comics. Bagley’s art makes the island feel real, and Martins colors make the most of the great art. Everyone needs to be reading Venom Island.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Yondu (2019) #1

Nov 6, 2019

This Buddy movie shows plenty of promise. Fantastic art helps elevate the good writing and makes this one not to be missed for cosmic fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Yondu (2019) #2

Nov 27, 2019

So far I feel like this series is promising more than it delivers. Will it improve? Too soon to tell, but when it’s 2 issues into a 5 issue mini it’s a little worrying that it’s not delivering on the goods yet. I’ve enjoyed the art and the colors really help set the tone. Perhaps a little naively I remain hopeful for the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Yondu (2019) #3

Dec 11, 2019

The buddy movie we’ve been promised all along, I look forward to seeing the conflict growing between the two Yondu’s, and seeing if they’re both going to make it out of this in one piece.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Yondu (2019) #4

Jan 8, 2020

The buddy movie is really beginning to shine, I recommend getting through the earlier shakier issues just for this issue. Great writing, even better characterisation, and an art style that perfectly compliments the story make Yondu a surprise hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Yondu (2019) #5

Feb 5, 2020

This has been a brilliant conclusion to a great series, the final couple of pages really show how much the Yondu’s have influenced each other in their time together. Zac Thompson & Lonnie Nadler make a great team on writing, John McCrea’s art brings their story to life with some fantastic action. I recommend not only this issue but the whole series.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More