Locke & Key: Dog Days #1 View Preview
Prev Series Next

Locke & Key: Dog Days #1

Writer: Joe Hill Artist: Gabriel Rodriguez Publisher: IDW Publishing Release Date: November 6, 2019 Cover Price: $4.99 Critic Reviews: 9 User Reviews: 2
8.4Critic Rating
6.8User Rating

TWO new stories by creators Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez-"Nailed It" and "Dog Days"-plus a behind-the-scenes tease of the coming TV series, and a 5-page preview of an all-new series by Hill and artist Martin Simmonds, too!

  • 10
    Comics: The Gathering - Nick Devonald Nov 6, 2019

    Dog Days is a welcome return to the Keyhouse, a joy to read, with the promise of more to come. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    You Don't Read Comics - Jason A. Fleece Nov 6, 2019

    For new readers, Locke and Key: Dog Days will make little sense. Its all steeped in the concepts and iconography of the original comic, with little to no information to provide context. For fans of the original work, though, Locke and Key: Dog Days is like coming home, even if the visit is all too brief. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Sequential Planet - Pashtrik Maloki Nov 6, 2019

    A trip back to the Keyhouse is always welcome, however brief it may be. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    The Super Powered Fancast - Deron Generally Nov 7, 2019

    Gabriel Rodriguez delivers some beautiful visuals in this issue. The stories themselves are subtle and Rodriguez complements that tone with art that is detailed with a sense of whimsy. Read Full Review

  • 8.2
    Rogues Portal - Stephanie Pouliotte Nov 6, 2019

    Tie that with their plans to dive into a new six-book cycle (squee!) after The Golden Age, Battlegrounds could be the last one-shot or more likely a primer for the World War Key arc. Either way, it seems the new run will be kicked off by the “unbelievable event” mentioned in the Dog Days footnote. With the TV series moving smoothly with Netflix after a few false-starts, we might have a lot of Locke & Key to look forward to in the coming years, and I am absolutely stoked! Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Big Comic Page - Mark Scott Nov 6, 2019

    Theres a lot in this book for fans of Locke & Key to be excited about. Theres great writing and artwork, theres the promise of new beginnings, and theres a great intro to a new and completely different story from Hill. Ive been a fan of the series for far too long to pass up the opportunity of laying my hands on more Locke & Key and Id heartily recommend that you dont pass it up either. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Charlie Ridgely Nov 6, 2019

    This entire one-shot is light on content, and may be disappointing for those who had their hopes up about it potentially beginning a new series. While it definitely accomplishes that, it's more of a teaser than an actual book. Read Full Review

  • 7.2
    Multiversity Comics - Matthew Blair Nov 7, 2019

    A fun little one shot for one of the best horror stories created in the past decade by a fantastic creative team. However, this is a book that would probably more suited for die hard fans and completionists only. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    GWW - Dusty Good Nov 6, 2019

    While sparse and expensive this one-shot does have some heart. Be warned though, you're not going to get your full money's worth. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More