Mark Scott's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 28
7.4Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Beyonders #1

Sep 6, 2018

Wesley St. Claires (Fu Jitsu, Teen Titans) art and colouring is in a style I really enjoy, not too polished, like a hand has actually dragged a pencil across a page and I really liked his depictions of the historical aspects of the story. I genuinely dont know a lot about St. Claires previous work but hes done a great job here of bringing the drama and intrigue of Jenkins story to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Beyonders #2

Sep 26, 2018

A great concept that delivers on every level. Long live the spirit of adventure and the continuing quest for knowledge.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bone Parish #1

Jul 24, 2018

Overall I did enjoy Bone Parish and Im really looking forward to whats to come but I think that this is one that might benefit from stockpiling a few issues before starting, or perhaps enjoying the story in the Trade Paperback format when it comes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cemetery Beach #1

Aug 17, 2018

I want to head into spoiler territory so badly but I really dont want to spoil it for you, all I can say is that it went to places I wasnt expecting very quickly and if I dont get my hands on the second issue very soon I could end up doing something rash.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cold Spots #2

Sep 26, 2018

This series has stepped up its game dramatically and given that I was really impressed with the first issue this bodes well for the continuing story. Heres to more chills, shivers and genuine horror from a team that really knows its stuff!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Come Into Me #3

Sep 8, 2018

This is one of those rare comics that never misses a beat, managing to get more disturbing and gripping with every page, and Im predicting that this will take top spot in my Top Horror Comic list of 2018 – if not the top spot out of all the comics Ive read this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cursed Comics Cavalcade #1

Oct 10, 2018

A perfect addition to your Halloween festivities.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Devil Within #1

Oct 10, 2018

As a creative team Phillips, House & Cunniffe have produced what could easily be another massive hit for Black Mask if this first issue is anything to go by, and Im waiting with bated breath for the next instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dick Tracy: Dead or Alive #1

Sep 20, 2018

At the end of the day, Dead or Alive is a fun, action packed, nostalgia-filled romp with a modern twist that should delight new readers and old.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #1

Jul 10, 2018

Overall, this isnt a comic thats trying too hard to be something it isnt, like some other similar titles Ive seen of late (Dynamites recent Vampirella offering, for example). Its very self-aware and as long as you go into it knowing that its deliberately intending to be a B-movie horror-comedy then I think youll have a lot of fun. Based on this first issue, Im really hoping that we get more of these stories because I dont think Im going to be satisfied with just four issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Errand Boys #1

Oct 6, 2018

Not the greatest of starts, but Id be interested to see this as a trade paperback to see if it improves over the coming episodes, if just for Koutsis artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hot Lunch Special #1

Aug 9, 2018

My only slight niggle is that the creators have introduced a lot in this issue and, whilst I think it works well, Im more of a delayed gratification kind of guy and Id like to see more time spent on the individual elements of the story. Its a hard call, though. I like the pace that has been set but I really want to know more about the history, the Khoury family, the people who helped build the business I basically want more. I just hope that Rahal and Fornes can balance my need for expansion with not losing the pace of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
House Amok #1

Sep 4, 2018

As I said above, I think, based on this first issue, that objectively Sebela has written a really interesting story, to the point where I'll definitely be looking out for the rest of the series. But for me, I do think it would be greatly improved if this felt like more of his own story instead of repeatedly using homage as a prop.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House of Whispers (2018) #1

Sep 14, 2018

I have been massively impressed by the revival of The Sandman Universe so far. I think the creative teams behind each title within it have done incredible jobs and I think this will take its place as a worthy addition to the ongoing worlds that Neil Gaiman set out almost 30 years ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #1

Jul 3, 2018

In summary then, this first issue is beautiful to look at, the writing is good and, given the chance, this could end up as another fantastic addition to the world of The Dark Crystal.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Leviathan #1

Jul 30, 2018

I'm already wishing that this was going to be longer than the five-issue run it's slated for, but this is a damned good first issue and I'm already tapping my fingers impatiently for the next instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Leviathan #2

Sep 4, 2018

Layman continues to write a fantastic story that has you turning page after page and cursing when you get to the last one. Thankfully, Pitarra and Garland have produced such incredibly detailed and vivid artwork that you're going to keep turning those pages back to get a second look. I don't give a perfect score lightly and this one is slightly influenced by the first issue but I have to take my hat off to these guy, top marks!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Moth & Whisper #1

Sep 11, 2018

AfterShock are making a big effort at the moment to produce inclusive and diverse characters so its great to see that Anderson is making the protagonist of this story genderqueer. However, Ive yet to see exactly how this fits in with either the story or the development of the character themselves, although Im hoping that there will be more expansion as the series continues to help make their gender identity feel a little more relevant to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Olivia Twist #1

Sep 9, 2018

Overall this is an intriguing start to this new series and I'll be following future issues with interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Stranger Things #1

Sep 10, 2018

As first issues go this is off to a good start and Houser and the rest of the team seem to have the makings of a decent adaptation that will keep fans of the show happy as well as fans of horror comics in general. If they can just make the whole thing a little darker and scarier then I think they have the potential to turn a good adaptation into a great one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sword Daughter #1

Jun 11, 2018

This may be set in Viking era Scandinavia, but it isnt going to be a jolly sword and sandals romp, its going to be dark and brutal and gritty and I cant wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #1

Jun 13, 2018

Image have always been a big part of my comic collection. I think theyve put out some incredible series over the years and I feel like The Weather Man really has the potential to be another. The familiarity I felt with the nods to 2000AD and LeHeups excellent narrative really drew me into the world Nathan inhabits and made me feel like I was in safe hands on the journey. This is one I will definitely be following closely in the months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Weatherman #2

Jul 18, 2018

The Weather Man continues to be in my top three titles of 2018 and based on the strength of the first two issues I think it may end up vying for the top spot before alls said and done.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Weatherman #3

Aug 14, 2018

Once again the pacing and contrast between utter brutality and laugh out loud moments that Jody LeHeup crafts are genius. Likewise, Nathan Fox continues to deliver a visual delight that really loves the over the top action sequences in this story but also really brings out the important details, the facial expressions and body language, in the more static, dialogue-led scenes. As for the colouring well, once again Id like to offer up a prayer of thanks to whichever of the Gods gave us Dave Stewart!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Weatherman #4

Sep 11, 2018

Not everything in this issue is bleak and doom and gloom, though. There are some fantastic action scenes and some real laugh out loud moments that give a pleasant and welcome relief from the tension. This is a story that I firmly believe has everything you could possibly want all in one well crafted bundle. The Weatherman continues to be, in my opinion, one of the best comics of 2018 and I hope that I can continue to find enough superlatives to do it justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
These Savage Shores #1

Oct 3, 2018

I am very impressed with this issue. I think that the mixture of traditional Gothic Horror and Indian mythology works very effectively in taking us out of our comfort zone and into a new and intriguing world where nothing is certain and anything can, and probably will, happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Vampirella/Dejah Thoris #1

Sep 28, 2018

Overall I think this is a series that has potential but as with previous Vampirella stories I think this will benefit from being read in Graphic Novel format rather than single issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Vampirella: Roses for the Dead #1

Jun 27, 2018

This issue delivers neither the depth of writing to make it a classic horror comic nor sufficient campiness to make it fun. I think I would have still given it a decent score if the artwork had been any good but it just didnt feel like Joseph Michael Linsner has any great feelings for what hes illustrating.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More