Mark Scott's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 71
7.3Avg. Review Rating

5.0
Amber Blake #1

Apr 2, 2019

I think I need to see more issues of this series for me to decide what I really think about it. On the face of it theres a lot of promise, but there are also a few moments that jar and take you out of the story. Maybe this is a series that would benefit from being read as an OGN or in TPB volumes? Only time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bad Luck Chuck #1

Feb 28, 2019

With this being a Dark Horse publication and also with the involvement of Matthew Dow Smith there is a very familiar and comforting quality to the artwork, something Kelly Fitzpatrick really hammers that home with her colouring. The vivid explosions and colours in the action scenes are a fantastic contrast to the depth and shadow in the quieter moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Beyonders #1

Sep 6, 2018

Wesley St. Claires (Fu Jitsu, Teen Titans) art and colouring is in a style I really enjoy, not too polished, like a hand has actually dragged a pencil across a page and I really liked his depictions of the historical aspects of the story. I genuinely dont know a lot about St. Claires previous work but hes done a great job here of bringing the drama and intrigue of Jenkins story to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Beyonders #2

Sep 26, 2018

A great concept that delivers on every level. Long live the spirit of adventure and the continuing quest for knowledge.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Blossoms 666 #1

Jan 21, 2019

Overall, whilst this isnt the best entry in the Archie Horror catalogue, Im still looking forward to seeing how it develops. However, I may end up waiting for the trade paperback to come out first so that I can read the story in its entirety.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bone Parish #1

Jul 24, 2018

Overall I did enjoy Bone Parish and Im really looking forward to whats to come but I think that this is one that might benefit from stockpiling a few issues before starting, or perhaps enjoying the story in the Trade Paperback format when it comes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bronze Age Boogie #1

Apr 2, 2019

There is also a bonus within this issue, as we get another story from a different creative team and its also a ton of fun. MAJOR URSA is penned by Tyrone Finch and illustrated by Mauricet. This is a 1950s sci-fi B-Movie in comic book form. Which, for me, is a genre that I absolutely love whether its on screen, in a novel or indeed a comic. What if the space race used Bears instead of Chimps and what if an accident during a test imbued one of those bears with human intelligence? At only eight pages long, we only get a very brief introduction to this series but its a fun take on the genre that Im looking forward to seeing more of.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cemetery Beach #1

Aug 17, 2018

I want to head into spoiler territory so badly but I really dont want to spoil it for you, all I can say is that it went to places I wasnt expecting very quickly and if I dont get my hands on the second issue very soon I could end up doing something rash.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cemetery Beach #3

Nov 14, 2018

To reiterate comments from my previous review, the 80s child in me loves the over the top action and Howards style in rendering this world is fantastic but I dont know whether Ellis has the stamina to keep pace with his vision. Fingers crossed that going forward Ellis gets back the magic that Ive known and loved for the last twenty years.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cemetery Beach #4

Dec 14, 2018

So, with apologies to Messrs Ellis and Howard for last months lack of faith, Id heartily recommend grabbing a copy of the latest issue of Cemetery Beach and just enjoying the ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cemetery Beach #5

Jan 7, 2019

So, if sci-fi and action at levels that could only be achieved in the most cocaine-fuelled imaginings of an 80s film exec is your thing then you really need to pick up this series ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cemetery Beach #7

Mar 4, 2019

As I said earlier in this review, Im really hoping that this is just the conclusion of the first arc of the story. It has certainly been left wide open for more adventures, and Im sure Im not alone in wanting to see Blackburn and Moodys adventures continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cold Spots #2

Sep 26, 2018

This series has stepped up its game dramatically and given that I was really impressed with the first issue this bodes well for the continuing story. Heres to more chills, shivers and genuine horror from a team that really knows its stuff!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cold Spots #5

Dec 19, 2018

As final issues go this is very, very well done. It gives us a conclusion which, while dark and chilling, is still extremely satisfying, but it also leaves us desperate for more. There are many unanswered questions from this series, which is not a bad thing, and to my great delight, Cullen Bunn has confirmed that this will now be the first arc of an ongoing title rather than the miniseries weve had so far, so look out for the further adventures of these characters in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Come Into Me #3

Sep 8, 2018

This is one of those rare comics that never misses a beat, managing to get more disturbing and gripping with every page, and Im predicting that this will take top spot in my Top Horror Comic list of 2018 – if not the top spot out of all the comics Ive read this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Come Into Me #4

Nov 26, 2018

As a unified creative team they have not missed a single step. Not one. They have delivered an increasing sense of dread and terror every issue and the artwork has been consistently staggering and horrific. If you havent managed to get hold of the single issues (and lord knows Black Masks somewhat erratic and eccentric approach to deadlines has made it challenging), then make sure to keep an eye out for the Trade Paperback due out in January 2019. I genuinely hope we get more stories from these guys in the future as this story has blown me away and they can only go from strength to strength.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Crackdown (2019) #1

Feb 21, 2019

If mindless action is your thing then youre going to have a blast with this, but if you look for something with an actual plot and a genuine enthusiasm for what the creative team are doing then Id maybe skip this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Criminal (2019) #1

Jan 8, 2019

It takes something really special for the same creative team to produce such a consistently incredible body of work on the same title for almost fifteen years but that is exactly what Brubaker & Phillips have done and they show absolutely no sign of slowing down.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Crimson Lotus #1

Nov 21, 2018

Overall this is an intriguing start and one Im keen to follow but, as with all of the standalone entries in the Mignolaverse, I think this is going to be one that is best read as a graphic novel rather than in single issues. From past experience Ive found that the single issue format frequently takes you out of the story and doesnt allow you to fully appreciate its nuances, and Ive most enjoyed either being able to read the whole story in one go or in the longer trade paperback format.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cursed Comics Cavalcade #1

Oct 10, 2018

A perfect addition to your Halloween festivities.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Red #1

Mar 5, 2019

As I subtly suggested above, this series has really caught me by surprise. Its superb both narratively and visually and Im comfortable citing this as the next big vampire story to hit the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead Kings #1

Oct 24, 2018

I absolutely loved this first issue, I think this has the potential to be very special and just the promise that were going to move into Russian folklore married to the strength of the story so far has me very excited for the coming issues

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dead Kings #2

Dec 13, 2018

I thought the first issue was brilliant and I think this second issue is continuing to build on what could be an epic story that will continue to surprise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dead Kings #3

Feb 16, 2019

Another stellar effort from this creative team, and a story that I cant wait to see more of. If you arent reading this yet, then sort your life out and pick up a copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Devil Within #1

Oct 10, 2018

As a creative team Phillips, House & Cunniffe have produced what could easily be another massive hit for Black Mask if this first issue is anything to go by, and Im waiting with bated breath for the next instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dick Tracy: Dead or Alive #1

Sep 20, 2018

At the end of the day, Dead or Alive is a fun, action packed, nostalgia-filled romp with a modern twist that should delight new readers and old.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Electric Warriors #1

Nov 15, 2018

Overall, just having Orlando on the project will keep me interested enough to read the next issue but this isnt a great start to a new title and it really needs to step up its game in terms of the artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #1

Jul 10, 2018

Overall, this isnt a comic thats trying too hard to be something it isnt, like some other similar titles Ive seen of late (Dynamites recent Vampirella offering, for example). Its very self-aware and as long as you go into it knowing that its deliberately intending to be a B-movie horror-comedy then I think youll have a lot of fun. Based on this first issue, Im really hoping that we get more of these stories because I dont think Im going to be satisfied with just four issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Elvira: The Shape of Elvira #1

Jan 29, 2019

On a good day Dynamite produces some great comics, but this is not one of their good days. As much as I wanted to like this story, it felt like a cheap and lazy effort which lacked the charm and charisma that should be effortless with a franchise this well established.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Errand Boys #1

Oct 6, 2018

Not the greatest of starts, but Id be interested to see this as a trade paperback to see if it improves over the coming episodes, if just for Koutsis artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Fairlady #1

Mar 24, 2019

Overall, the similarities between Fairlady and Saga drag it down and make it this an underwhelming experience, which is a real shame. Fairlady really deserves to have its own voice and style, and theres the potential for this to be a great series but at the moment, its just coming across as a pale imitation of someone elses work for the time being.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faithless #1

Mar 19, 2019

I have been lucky enough to read this as an advance preview. As soon as I finished it, I ordered the first issue in both covers, and put in pre-orders for the rest of the series. Its also probably a testament to how good this first issue is that I also pre-ordered the Hard Cover collection, and thats not due to be released for almost twelve months

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gogor #1

Apr 13, 2019

I had a lot of fun with this story. As with all first issues, theres so much we dont know and plenty of teasers about whats to come, and Im really looking forward to seeing where Armanis adventures take us in issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gunning For Hits #1

Jan 8, 2019

A perfect first comic of the year for any music and gangster fans out there, and one thats already setting a high bar to jump over for the rest of 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hack/Slash vs. Chaos! #1

Dec 4, 2018

As I said previously, there have been highs and lows to Hack/Slash over the last 14 years, but Tim Seeley has always delivered an entertaining ride, and with Lobosco and Cunniffe on board, I think we have the makings of another great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
High Level #1

Feb 20, 2019

Ive really enjoyed this first issue, and while its always hard to see the shape of a story from such a brief first glimpse, I think this is going to become a truly great series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hot Lunch Special #1

Aug 9, 2018

My only slight niggle is that the creators have introduced a lot in this issue and, whilst I think it works well, Im more of a delayed gratification kind of guy and Id like to see more time spent on the individual elements of the story. Its a hard call, though. I like the pace that has been set but I really want to know more about the history, the Khoury family, the people who helped build the business I basically want more. I just hope that Rahal and Fornes can balance my need for expansion with not losing the pace of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
House Amok #1

Sep 4, 2018

As I said above, I think, based on this first issue, that objectively Sebela has written a really interesting story, to the point where I'll definitely be looking out for the rest of the series. But for me, I do think it would be greatly improved if this felt like more of his own story instead of repeatedly using homage as a prop.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House of Whispers (2018) #1

Sep 14, 2018

I have been massively impressed by the revival of The Sandman Universe so far. I think the creative teams behind each title within it have done incredible jobs and I think this will take its place as a worthy addition to the ongoing worlds that Neil Gaiman set out almost 30 years ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #1

Jul 3, 2018

In summary then, this first issue is beautiful to look at, the writing is good and, given the chance, this could end up as another fantastic addition to the world of The Dark Crystal.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Leviathan #1

Jul 30, 2018

I'm already wishing that this was going to be longer than the five-issue run it's slated for, but this is a damned good first issue and I'm already tapping my fingers impatiently for the next instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Leviathan #2

Sep 4, 2018

Layman continues to write a fantastic story that has you turning page after page and cursing when you get to the last one. Thankfully, Pitarra and Garland have produced such incredibly detailed and vivid artwork that you're going to keep turning those pages back to get a second look. I don't give a perfect score lightly and this one is slightly influenced by the first issue but I have to take my hat off to these guy, top marks!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Low Road West #2

Oct 19, 2018

With three issues left to go, I can only imagine that we have something spectacular coming our way and I for one am really looking forward to seeing how this is going to develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Moth & Whisper #1

Sep 11, 2018

AfterShock are making a big effort at the moment to produce inclusive and diverse characters so its great to see that Anderson is making the protagonist of this story genderqueer. However, Ive yet to see exactly how this fits in with either the story or the development of the character themselves, although Im hoping that there will be more expansion as the series continues to help make their gender identity feel a little more relevant to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Olivia Twist #1

Sep 9, 2018

Overall this is an intriguing start to this new series and I'll be following future issues with interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Operation Overlord #1

Mar 1, 2019

Im pleased to see the effort that Rebellion has put into bringing back comics that a lot of people thought were lost forever. Ive been buying a lot of the recent reprints via their Treasury of British Comics label. The reprint of the Stories from BATTLE is one that I am sure has been eagerly awaited by many, many people and Im looking forward to seeing what else were getting as well as having the opportunity to read a story Ive never seen before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Parker: The Hunter #1

Feb 12, 2019

THE HUNTER is the first of four of Cookes adaptations of the Parker novels, and a book that I think you really need to read. Read it if youre a Noir fan, read it if youre a fan of any of the films, read it if youre a fan of Donald Westlake, read it if youre a fan of Darwyn Cooke, but whatever your reason, just read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Planet of the Apes: The Simian Age #1

Dec 10, 2018

Overall, if youre a fan of The Planet Of The Apes, youll enjoy this. Its a good addition to the existing worlds within the franchise. If youve never picked up a POTA comic then Id recommend picking this up, as hopefully itll encourage you to delve deeper into at least one of the timelines featured in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Sonja (2019) #1

Feb 6, 2019

Red Sonja will always remain a firm favourite of mine, and Im always eager to see new titles in the series. Whilst this issue certainly has its flaws, its a good start and I think, if youre a Red Sonja fan, this is going to be a series thats well worth your time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Stranger Things #1

Sep 10, 2018

As first issues go this is off to a good start and Houser and the rest of the team seem to have the makings of a decent adaptation that will keep fans of the show happy as well as fans of horror comics in general. If they can just make the whole thing a little darker and scarier then I think they have the potential to turn a good adaptation into a great one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sword Daughter #1

Jun 11, 2018

This may be set in Viking era Scandinavia, but it isnt going to be a jolly sword and sandals romp, its going to be dark and brutal and gritty and I cant wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Goon (2019) #1

Mar 12, 2019

BUY THIS COMIC YA FILTHY SLACK-JAW OR ITS KNIFE TO THE EYE TIME!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Warning #1

Nov 28, 2018

My main hope therefore is that over the next few issues well see this develop into the kind of sci-fi opera that Laroche deserves the chance to show us.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #1

Jun 13, 2018

Image have always been a big part of my comic collection. I think theyve put out some incredible series over the years and I feel like The Weather Man really has the potential to be another. The familiarity I felt with the nods to 2000AD and LeHeups excellent narrative really drew me into the world Nathan inhabits and made me feel like I was in safe hands on the journey. This is one I will definitely be following closely in the months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Weatherman #2

Jul 18, 2018

The Weather Man continues to be in my top three titles of 2018 and based on the strength of the first two issues I think it may end up vying for the top spot before alls said and done.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Weatherman #3

Aug 14, 2018

Once again the pacing and contrast between utter brutality and laugh out loud moments that Jody LeHeup crafts are genius. Likewise, Nathan Fox continues to deliver a visual delight that really loves the over the top action sequences in this story but also really brings out the important details, the facial expressions and body language, in the more static, dialogue-led scenes. As for the colouring well, once again Id like to offer up a prayer of thanks to whichever of the Gods gave us Dave Stewart!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Weatherman #4

Sep 11, 2018

Not everything in this issue is bleak and doom and gloom, though. There are some fantastic action scenes and some real laugh out loud moments that give a pleasant and welcome relief from the tension. This is a story that I firmly believe has everything you could possibly want all in one well crafted bundle. The Weatherman continues to be, in my opinion, one of the best comics of 2018 and I hope that I can continue to find enough superlatives to do it justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Whispering Dark #1

Oct 23, 2018

This is a great first issue, a dark, tense and claustrophobic story about a team facing insurmountable odds that threaten their sanity… and maybe even their very souls.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Whispering Dark #3

Jan 3, 2019

Its safe to say that Im a massive fan of this series and that if it continues as strongly as it has started then its definitely going to be a title to watch out for in 2019. I sincerely hope that Emgrd and Aira continue to bring us this same level of exceptional quality and I'm already desperate to get my hands on the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Whispering Dark #4

Feb 12, 2019

If you havent picked this up yet, Id highly recommend grabbing all four issues of this series while you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
These Savage Shores #1

Oct 3, 2018

I am very impressed with this issue. I think that the mixture of traditional Gothic Horror and Indian mythology works very effectively in taking us out of our comfort zone and into a new and intriguing world where nothing is certain and anything can, and probably will, happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
These Savage Shores #2

Nov 28, 2018

A lot of care and effort has gone into the presentation of this series and its clearly paying off. If they can keep up this quality and this passion for the rest of the series then this has the makings of an absolute classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
These Savage Shores #3

Feb 6, 2019

If you havent already picked up this series then I seriously cannot think of anything else that I could recommend more at the moment. Its a fantastic blend of historical drama and supernatural thriller with some of the best creative talent in the industry behind it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
These Savage Shores #4

Apr 16, 2019

Four issues. Thats all weve had so far. Just four issues and this series already feels like an epic saga that could span generations. There is a potential to bring this story through the ages, up to the modern day, especially with the developments of this issue. I dont think I can offer up much more in the way of praise for this series, if you are already reading it, I hope youre enjoying it as much as I am. If not, please, please pick up a copy. I promise you wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Vampirella/Dejah Thoris #1

Sep 28, 2018

Overall I think this is a series that has potential but as with previous Vampirella stories I think this will benefit from being read in Graphic Novel format rather than single issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Vampirella: Roses for the Dead #1

Jun 27, 2018

This issue delivers neither the depth of writing to make it a classic horror comic nor sufficient campiness to make it fun. I think I would have still given it a decent score if the artwork had been any good but it just didnt feel like Joseph Michael Linsner has any great feelings for what hes illustrating.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
William Gibson's Alien 3 #1

Nov 12, 2018

So, with my reservations about delivering this story in single issues and my problems with the art, this unfortunately and ultimately is a disappointing delivery of what should be a celebration of what could have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wizard Beach #1

Dec 6, 2018

I really enjoyed Wizard Beach. Its a familiar enough tale which manages to feel new and vibrant and different at the same time. Theres a lot of fun to be had and a lot to discover in here if you take on board the books main theme and just slow down and notice the world around you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wizard Beach #2

Jan 10, 2019

Another fun-filled, magical episode in the adventures of Hexley and the denizens of Wizard Beach that I would easily recommend to any fan of the fantasy genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wizard Beach #3

Feb 13, 2019

If youve got the patience to wait for each issue to arrive then I heartily recommend this as something to bring a smile to your face and add a bright spot to your day. Im going to keep picking up the issues but I wish I could have a giant grimoire-like volume to pull down from my shelves right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wytches: Bad Egg Halloween Special #1

Oct 29, 2018

As a standalone story I couldnt possibly have wished for better than what has been delivered here. If this is truly a prequel to the next volume then I cannot wait to see what Snyder, Jock & Hollingsworth have in store for us, but I know its going to be epic! Im trying to work out if I can get away with adding this to my top horror comics of 2018 as its a strong contender for the top spot.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More