Stephanie Pouliotte's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Rogues Portal Reviews: 9
8.8Avg. Review Rating

8.6
Going to the Chapel #1

Aug 28, 2019

Going to the Chapel #1 is expected in stores on September 4, 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Going to the Chapel #2

Oct 23, 2019

The artwork continues to be stellar, and there is some great (and liberal) use of visual sound effects, especially during the first confrontation with the police. The panel layout is straightforward and consistent by necessity, as it serves to draw attention to the absurdity by letting it play out clearly and you rely on that consistent structure to help navigate the chaos. Liz Kramer ties the whole thing together with a distinctive palette, slipping the complimentary faded yellow/reddish purple into every detail.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
John Constantine: Hellblazer #1

Nov 27, 2019

Aaron Campbells dark and dingy artwork makes you feel like youre flipping through an old Hellblazer comic. There are some absolutely gruesome panels, which help earn this series its mature rating, that you cant keep from trapping your gaze. To cap it all off, Jordie Bellaire lifts Campbells ethereal monstrosities off the page with a soft glow, revealing the horrors that lie in the dark.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Locke & Key: Dog Days #1

Nov 6, 2019

Tie that with their plans to dive into a new six-book cycle (squee!) after The Golden Age, Battlegrounds could be the last one-shot or more likely a primer for the World War Key arc. Either way, it seems the new run will be kicked off by the “unbelievable event” mentioned in the Dog Days footnote. With the TV series moving smoothly with Netflix after a few false-starts, we might have a lot of Locke & Key to look forward to in the coming years, and I am absolutely stoked!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nomen Omen #1

Sep 25, 2019

Nomen Omen #1 will be available in comic shops on October 2, 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spencer & Locke 2 #2

May 15, 2019

It still impresses me how this comic integrates parts of their source material so organically, in both the plot and layout. For a comic with this kind of premise, the references can seem jarring and worked in. However, Spencer & Locke 2 has found its balance, and this issue has some great moments where they wove things in really well. We also see familiar faces from the funny pages, albeit in decidedly less funny situations. The tie was a nice touch, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Spencer & Locke 2 #3

Jun 12, 2019

The art just gets better with each issue; the team is really flexing their talent by taking all the right creative risks. There is such variety between the pages as the plot jumps around, yet it all ties together wonderfully. Spencer & Locke 2 #3 uses every inch of the page; you can tell they put in a lot of hours. The mutant snowmen were particularly creepy.I always really enjoy seeing more of Santiago's creative artwork. I'm also glad the snowman reference made a comeback. I recall seeing some murderous snowmen thrown into the background of an early issue, but as more of an Easter egg for Calvin and Hobbes fans. Lastly, I obviously love the Hero variant cover (feat. Mr. Rabbit); she is just channeling that Batman/Spawnenergy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Spencer & Locke 2 #4

Jul 3, 2019

Santiago lit it up in the final issue of Spencer and Locke 2. More than once, I found myself thinking I didnt need the text in some panels because the characters body language was so on point. The layout out must have been a challenge for this one. There was a lot to get through, but they utilize every inch of real estate — leaving just enough room to break us emotionally.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Sandman Universe: Hellblazer #1

Oct 30, 2019

The art and colours are the best Ive seen come out of the Sandman Universe. Some pages seem to barely contain the swirling kaleidoscope of chaos as realities are torn apart and stitched back together. The set pieces and visual elements are utterly mesmerizing, and there are quite a few details referenced from The Road to Nowhere. The heavy-handed dark shading and thick, black backdrop swallows this comic in darkness, with flares of colour illuminating the panels like the strike of a match.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More