Prev Series

Old Haunts #1

Writer: Ollie Masters, Rob Williams Artist: Laurence Campbell Publisher: AWA Release Date: May 20, 2020 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 5
8.8Critic Rating
8.5User Rating

+ Pull List

Three Made Men, standing at the brink of retirement, find their unbreakable bond put to the ultimate test when they are suddenly assaulted by the ghosts of their past. Confronted by decades of buried secrets - resentments, affairs, doublecrosses, and murders - the three friends have no choice but to unearth the deepest, darkest sin from their past and pray they don't find an empty grave.

  • 10
    Comics: The Gathering - Nick Devonald Apr 22, 2020

    A stylistic, cinematic tale of gangsters haunted by their past decisions, it’s unclear whether the intense writing or stunning art which is a highlight of the issue. This is an excellent example of a fantastic collaboration between the entire creative team to produce a chilling debut issue in another excellent offering from AWA studios. A highly recommended new series. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Graphic Policy - Brett Jun 10, 2020

    As an introduction, Old Haunts #1 is interesting and entertaining. It brings together two genres you don't see mashed up often. It's a good introduction that as a piece of the bigger story will be fine but on its own falls a little short. It lacks that little bit something special that really puts it over the top. But, like a horror film, that's also not the point. This is the lull before the storm and we really want to see the scares from here. As a set up to that, it works quite well. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    GTMedia Reviews Sep 9, 2020

    I feel like AWA books should be published with a banner that says the world's best comics line because all of these titles have been money.

    I'm about 6 series deep into AWA's line of titles and each series has covered either horror or crime. The closest I've seen to traditional super-heroics has been "Resistance" and even that series has a different level of intensity than a regular Marvel or DC comic book. This title is more in line with what I expect from the publisher and I'm happy to see the consistency of tone across the publisher's body of work.

    Old Haunts follows a trio of old-time gangsters (Alex, Primo, and Donny). Imagine if Trevor Michael and Franklin from Grand Theft Auto 5 make it to retirement age and y more

  • 8.0
    SeƱor Smokey Aug 7, 2020

    -Art style is a real tone setter, the blue hues are so nice
    -World and character building is good enough to draw me back in
    -Solid issue, looking forward to more characterization and how they use their pasts to tell a story

  • 7.5
    Liem Duong Jul 14, 2020

    Old Haunts was a good debut. We are introduced to three mafia members in the late years deciding to quit the life and enter normal lives. However all those who died under their reign has come back to haunt them. This issue was a good display of the concept. On top of these three mafia members, we are also introduced to an FBI investigator attempting to track these members. Pencil and inks by Campbell and Loughridge has some really dark lines and shadow work, giving the series a really eerie feel to this already mysterious yet simple story. Overall, a really brisk and light introduction. Nothing really stood out and was not as weighted compared to other books like Year Zero, but still a solid, good start.

  • 9.5
    Geoff3P Jul 1, 2020

  • 8.0
    tonpas1989 Jun 13, 2020

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More