Max Funkey's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 13
9.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Assassin Nation #1

Mar 12, 2019

Assassin Nation #1will be available in comic stores everywhere March 13, 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Assassin Nation #2

Apr 18, 2019

Overall, this issue feels like an improvement on the first one in all the best ways. Now that there are few characters to wrangle the writing feels more focused. The humor remains present and helps to contrast the violence that is necessary with a premise like this. The art and lettering maintain a high standard that serves to elevate this comic into one of my favorite ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Assassin Nation #3

May 24, 2019

Assassin Nation remains one of my favorite comics to read every month. The blend of humor, ultraviolence, and a compelling story are superb.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DC's Year of the Villain Special #1

May 1, 2019

Year of Villain #1 was a fun read. The expertise of the creative teams involved is in full effect. The story itself is a little disjointed, but still clear. The initial stakes are now set and I'm very interested in seeing where the event will go. If you are a fan of DC Comics and don't mind events then there aren't many better ways to spend 0.25 cents.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #4

Mar 5, 2019

If it isn't clear by this point, you should be reading DIE. Gillen, Hans, and the rest of the creative team have managed a series that is packed with action, and heart. It's clear that they don't have any intention of slowing down until the final panel of the final book. I cannot speak highly enough of this series and based on the last few pages of this issue, I can't wait to see how it ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #5

Apr 5, 2019

This is the fifth issue of Kieron Gillen, Stephanie Hans, and Clayton Cowles' excellent series. That means that this will be the fifth consecutive month that I bother anyone who will listen to me about picking it up and reading. I have not been enamored with a comic series in such a way in a long time and I've loved every second of it. If you are reading this review right now, the next thing you do should be to purchase DIE #5. I guarantee you it is worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fairlady #1

Apr 15, 2019

After reading Fairlady I am honestly surprised that more detective stories haven't been told in fantasy settings. Thankfully, so far, this one is good. The creative team behind this story has done a great job of setting up the universe. I'm excited to see what the future holds for this series and I am hopeful that the interesting backstory provided has a big payoff in later issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House #1

May 2, 2019

Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House #1 will be available in comic stores everywhere May 1st, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House #2

Jun 13, 2019

Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House Issue #2 will be on sale in comic stores everywhere June 12th, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Sirens #1

Apr 3, 2019

Overall, I enjoyed Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Sirens #1.As I read it I was able to bask in the warmth of the nostalgia for something I loved. It didn't manage to reclaim the full magic of the series it is named after, but it still provides an entertaining and thoughtful experience. Fans of the original series should still read this, as well as anyone who likes a good, old-fashioned fairy tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Sirens #2

May 12, 2019

Overall I was happy with this story. It wasn't what I expected after reading the first issue, but it subverted those expectations in a good way. The core of the story remained the same as what I enjoyed about the first, but the change in art and writer served to strengthen the issue overall. If you liked the first issue, the Storyteller TV show, or just modern renditions of ancient stories, then this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rat Queens (2017): Swamp Romp Special #1

Apr 11, 2019

Rat Queens Special: Swamp Romp will be in comics stores everywhere on April, 10th 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sonata #1

Jun 12, 2019

I'm excited to see where Sonata goes from here. It hit a lot of the beats that I'm particularly fond of. Sonata herself is plucky and clever. The planet has a life of its own and the sleeping giants are terrifying. If you're a fan of sci-fi, old or new, then Sonata #1 should hit all the right notes.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More