Max Funkey's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 31
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Aliens: Rescue #1

Jul 31, 2019

Overall, this is a solid first issue for the new series. We haven't seen much by way of characters, but the one we follow has potential. The art is strong and helps keep this series feeling close to it's 80's/90's era roots. If you're a fan of the Aliens film and comics series then Aliens: Rescue #1 will be a good fit for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Assassin Nation #1

Mar 12, 2019

Assassin Nation #1will be available in comic stores everywhere March 13, 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Assassin Nation #2

Apr 18, 2019

Overall, this issue feels like an improvement on the first one in all the best ways. Now that there are few characters to wrangle the writing feels more focused. The humor remains present and helps to contrast the violence that is necessary with a premise like this. The art and lettering maintain a high standard that serves to elevate this comic into one of my favorite ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Assassin Nation #3

May 24, 2019

Assassin Nation remains one of my favorite comics to read every month. The blend of humor, ultraviolence, and a compelling story are superb.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Assassin Nation #4

Jun 20, 2019

If you've been sleeping on this series, then you need to remedy that. Unless you've got a strong aversion to violence, this is one book that you should not be missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Assassin Nation #5

Jul 21, 2019

Assassin Nation #5 will be available in comic stores everywhere now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Battlepug #1

Sep 5, 2019

I truly wasn't sure what I would be getting with Battlepug #1. Now that I've read it, I'm not sure what I expected, but I like it. The entire issue is so tongue-in-cheek and fun that it's impossible not to smile while reading it. Clearly a love letter to Conan the Barbarian and old-school fantasy, it works on its own as well. If you're in the market for silly, adult-themed fantasy then this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead Eyes #1

Oct 2, 2019

Dead Eyes #1 is a strong first issue from a great creative team. The cohesion of these four artists when working on this comic is impressive. While the story isn't revolutionary, it is absolutely interesting and worth following to the end. If you're a fan of crime dramas or crime-themed action movies then this will be right up your alley.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #4

Mar 5, 2019

If it isn't clear by this point, you should be reading DIE. Gillen, Hans, and the rest of the creative team have managed a series that is packed with action, and heart. It's clear that they don't have any intention of slowing down until the final panel of the final book. I cannot speak highly enough of this series and based on the last few pages of this issue, I can't wait to see how it ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #5

Apr 5, 2019

This is the fifth issue of Kieron Gillen, Stephanie Hans, and Clayton Cowles' excellent series. That means that this will be the fifth consecutive month that I bother anyone who will listen to me about picking it up and reading. I have not been enamored with a comic series in such a way in a long time and I've loved every second of it. If you are reading this review right now, the next thing you do should be to purchase DIE #5. I guarantee you it is worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #6

Aug 10, 2019

I've said it in the past and I'll say it again. DIE is a book that needs to be on everyone's pull list. It is fantasy at its most human and fantastical. There hasn't been a single disappointing issue in this entire series so far, and DIE #6 continues that trend beautifully. With the trade paperback out there is no reason not to jump into this series and enjoy it for yourself. I'm sure as hell not gonna stop telling you to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Die #7

Sep 7, 2019

To be perfectly honest DIE #7 wasn't my favorite issue of the series so far. It wasn't bad by any means, but it didn't have the same fun to it that others have. The story is still fascinating and Gillen continues to twist when I expect him to play something straight. In addition, I think this issue has more events of actual consequence than many of the past. It feels like the series is building to a serious confrontation between both groups and that will be a sight to behold. And behold it everyone should, because this is still my favorite fantasy series on shelves every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Die #8

Oct 4, 2019

While I thoroughly enjoyed DIE #8 I have to admit that it started off fairly slow. The divergent stories of the split party have made it somewhat difficult to keep track of the events of the story. That being said, the story is still worth following. With every passing issue, these characters have more life breathed into them. It is becoming increasingly unlikely that they will have a happy ending and the more we learn of them the more tragic that becomes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fairlady #1

Apr 15, 2019

After reading Fairlady I am honestly surprised that more detective stories haven't been told in fantasy settings. Thankfully, so far, this one is good. The creative team behind this story has done a great job of setting up the universe. I'm excited to see what the future holds for this series and I am hopeful that the interesting backstory provided has a big payoff in later issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House #1

May 2, 2019

Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House #1 will be available in comic stores everywhere May 1st, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House #2

Jun 13, 2019

Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House Issue #2 will be on sale in comic stores everywhere June 12th, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Grendel: Devil's Odyssey #1

Sep 25, 2019

Overall this comic just didn't hit home for me. The concept is an interesting one, but I've already seen it done. It is worth mentioning that this character has been around for decades. The character was also not very appealing to me. The art is nice but seems at war with itself. Though the story did not appeal to me, a long-time fan may find more here than I did. That being said, it is difficult for me to recommend Grendel: Devil's Odyssey #1 to anyone unfamiliar with the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Sirens #1

Apr 3, 2019

Overall, I enjoyed Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Sirens #1.As I read it I was able to bask in the warmth of the nostalgia for something I loved. It didn't manage to reclaim the full magic of the series it is named after, but it still provides an entertaining and thoughtful experience. Fans of the original series should still read this, as well as anyone who likes a good, old-fashioned fairy tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Sirens #2

May 12, 2019

Overall I was happy with this story. It wasn't what I expected after reading the first issue, but it subverted those expectations in a good way. The core of the story remained the same as what I enjoyed about the first, but the change in art and writer served to strengthen the issue overall. If you liked the first issue, the Storyteller TV show, or just modern renditions of ancient stories, then this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #16

Jun 22, 2019

Rat Queens Issue #16 will be available in comic stores everywhere on May 19th, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #17

Aug 3, 2019

The script is funny, heartfelt, and manages to regularly surprise with its twists. The art is gorgeous, and the colors only serve to improve that. Overall this is a damn good creative team working wonders on a great series. If you like high fantasy and aren't afraid of it being pretty raunchy, then you need to be reading this. And if you're a lapsed fan, it's a great time to get back into the series as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens (2017) #18

Sep 14, 2019

This was easily my favorite issue of this series so far. The themes and story hit home, the humor was on point, and the art and colors were gorgeous. There are a couple of plot contrivances that felt a little off, but knowing this team, that is intentional. It's a great time to be a fan of this series and Rat Queens #18 exemplifies why. Everyone should check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rat Queens (2017): Swamp Romp Special #1

Apr 11, 2019

Rat Queens Special: Swamp Romp will be in comics stores everywhere on April, 10th 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Reaver #1

Jul 12, 2019

Reaver #1 will be in comic stores everywhere on July 10th, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Reaver #2

Aug 15, 2019

Overall I felt like this issue was even stronger than the first. Focusing on the characters and giving them additional depth was an excellent decision and adds some stakes to their mission. There are clearly still mysteries to discover, as well as schemes from each of the rogues involved. Thanks to the strength of this issue, I am excited to follow up and see each of them pan out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Reaver #3

Sep 13, 2019

Overall this series remains solid, but I can't help but find myself wanting a little more. It is evident that there are things going on behind the scenes in Reaver #3. However, everything so far has felt just a little too easy for the characters. I am hopeful that in future issues there is a little more struggle. Nevertheless, I am excited to see where this is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Red Sonja (2019): Lord of Fools #1

Aug 2, 2019

Overall I wasn't particularly impressed with this issue. The script felt all over the place and the art and letters were the only real strong point. Normally this type of story feels right up my alley, but for some reason this time it fell flat. If you're a fan of Red Sonja, there might be more here for you than there was for me. If not, then I have a lot of trouble recommending it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sea of Stars #1

Jul 3, 2019

Overall, Sea of Stars #1 is a strong first issue. Plenty of time is spent establishing the emotional stakes of the rest of the series, which I appreciate. I am fascinated with seeing where this series will go. If you enjoy science-fiction or are looking for a good way to dip your toes in, this is a great series to check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sonata #1

Jun 12, 2019

I'm excited to see where Sonata goes from here. It hit a lot of the beats that I'm particularly fond of. Sonata herself is plucky and clever. The planet has a life of its own and the sleeping giants are terrifying. If you're a fan of sci-fi, old or new, then Sonata #1 should hit all the right notes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sonata #2

Jul 18, 2019

Overall I was disappointed with Sonata #2. I'm still interested in the story, and the twists and turns definitely have my curiosity. But it didn't feel as tight or well paced as the first issue did. There are a lot of good ideas here and the central story is compelling, but this one fell a little flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Year of the Villain: Special #1

May 1, 2019

Year of Villain #1 was a fun read. The expertise of the creative teams involved is in full effect. The story itself is a little disjointed, but still clear. The initial stakes are now set and I'm very interested in seeing where the event will go. If you are a fan of DC Comics and don't mind events then there aren't many better ways to spend 0.25 cents.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More