Max Funkey's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 84
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8
Aliens: Rescue #1

Jul 31, 2019

Overall, this is a solid first issue for the new series. We haven't seen much by way of characters, but the one we follow has potential. The art is strong and helps keep this series feeling close to it's 80's/90's era roots. If you're a fan of the Aliens film and comics series then Aliens: Rescue #1 will be a good fit for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Assassin Nation #1

Mar 12, 2019

Assassin Nation #1will be available in comic stores everywhere March 13, 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Assassin Nation #2

Apr 18, 2019

Overall, this issue feels like an improvement on the first one in all the best ways. Now that there are few characters to wrangle the writing feels more focused. The humor remains present and helps to contrast the violence that is necessary with a premise like this. The art and lettering maintain a high standard that serves to elevate this comic into one of my favorite ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Assassin Nation #3

May 24, 2019

Assassin Nation remains one of my favorite comics to read every month. The blend of humor, ultraviolence, and a compelling story are superb.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Assassin Nation #4

Jun 20, 2019

If you've been sleeping on this series, then you need to remedy that. Unless you've got a strong aversion to violence, this is one book that you should not be missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Assassin Nation #5

Jul 21, 2019

Assassin Nation #5 will be available in comic stores everywhere now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Battlepug #1

Sep 5, 2019

I truly wasn't sure what I would be getting with Battlepug #1. Now that I've read it, I'm not sure what I expected, but I like it. The entire issue is so tongue-in-cheek and fun that it's impossible not to smile while reading it. Clearly a love letter to Conan the Barbarian and old-school fantasy, it works on its own as well. If you're in the market for silly, adult-themed fantasy then this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dead Eyes #1

Oct 2, 2019

Dead Eyes #1 is a strong first issue from a great creative team. The cohesion of these four artists when working on this comic is impressive. While the story isn't revolutionary, it is absolutely interesting and worth following to the end. If you're a fan of crime dramas or crime-themed action movies then this will be right up your alley.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #4

Mar 5, 2019

If it isn't clear by this point, you should be reading DIE. Gillen, Hans, and the rest of the creative team have managed a series that is packed with action, and heart. It's clear that they don't have any intention of slowing down until the final panel of the final book. I cannot speak highly enough of this series and based on the last few pages of this issue, I can't wait to see how it ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #5

Apr 5, 2019

This is the fifth issue of Kieron Gillen, Stephanie Hans, and Clayton Cowles' excellent series. That means that this will be the fifth consecutive month that I bother anyone who will listen to me about picking it up and reading. I have not been enamored with a comic series in such a way in a long time and I've loved every second of it. If you are reading this review right now, the next thing you do should be to purchase DIE #5. I guarantee you it is worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #6

Aug 10, 2019

I've said it in the past and I'll say it again. DIE is a book that needs to be on everyone's pull list. It is fantasy at its most human and fantastical. There hasn't been a single disappointing issue in this entire series so far, and DIE #6 continues that trend beautifully. With the trade paperback out there is no reason not to jump into this series and enjoy it for yourself. I'm sure as hell not gonna stop telling you to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Die #7

Sep 7, 2019

To be perfectly honest DIE #7 wasn't my favorite issue of the series so far. It wasn't bad by any means, but it didn't have the same fun to it that others have. The story is still fascinating and Gillen continues to twist when I expect him to play something straight. In addition, I think this issue has more events of actual consequence than many of the past. It feels like the series is building to a serious confrontation between both groups and that will be a sight to behold. And behold it everyone should, because this is still my favorite fantasy series on shelves every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Die #8

Oct 4, 2019

While I thoroughly enjoyed DIE #8 I have to admit that it started off fairly slow. The divergent stories of the split party have made it somewhat difficult to keep track of the events of the story. That being said, the story is still worth following. With every passing issue, these characters have more life breathed into them. It is becoming increasingly unlikely that they will have a happy ending and the more we learn of them the more tragic that becomes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Die #9

Nov 7, 2019

I really enjoyed this issue. Personally I found the story beats and revelations to be particularly compelling. That being said, I could see some people finding it a little flat. With roughly 60% of the issue devoted to the fictional backstory of a literary figure, that is extremely out there. Despite that, the segment is handled with both reverence and the keen eye of an excellent storyteller. DIE #9 gets high marks from me again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #10

Dec 5, 2019

Every month another issue of DIE comes out and I fall in love again, and DIE #10 is no different. It has the perfect blend of high fantasy, self-awareness, and bleak interpersonal drama to be eternally compelling. I cannot wait to see where this series goes and what else the creative team does with it. I highly recommend this issue, not that it should surprise anyone that I've done so.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #11

Jun 28, 2020

I had honestly expected it would take some time to knock the rust off with this series, but I was wrong. With DIE #11 the series continues to go strong. Gillen and his team have something special here and I'm so excited to follow on this journey with them. Every issue adds new wrinkles and plot points, all while never feeling confusing. If you've been following from the beginning, you'll be pleased with this most recent issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Die #12

Jul 24, 2020

Overall, DIE #12 continues the strong streak for the series... it retains all of the heart, beauty, and grimness that you've come to expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #13

Sep 5, 2020

DIE #13 has me, once again, impatient to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #14

Oct 8, 2020

It feels like a beautiful, chaotic mashup of every cool fantasy thing you can imagine brought to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dr. Herbert West & Astounding Tales of Medical Malpractice OGN

May 15, 2020

The writing and art are charming but feels like it lacks a definite grasp of it's target audience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dryad #1

Mar 26, 2020

In Dryad #1, every interaction is believable, and by the end I found myself deeply invested in the Glass family. If you're a fan of high fantasy, albeit with a little heavier focus on the interpersonal side, then this is a great series for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dungeons & Dragons: At the Spine of the World #1

Nov 5, 2020

Overall, Dungeons & Dragons: At the Spine of the World #1 was fine but not excellent, the story felt like it was lacking the magic that makes high fantasy exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fairlady #1

Apr 15, 2019

After reading Fairlady I am honestly surprised that more detective stories haven't been told in fantasy settings. Thankfully, so far, this one is good. The creative team behind this story has done a great job of setting up the universe. I'm excited to see what the future holds for this series and I am hopeful that the interesting backstory provided has a big payoff in later issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Family Tree #1

Oct 30, 2019

I did not know what to expect when I signed up to review this comic. But, as a parent, it hit me a lot harder than I anticipated. The body horror and parental dread in this comic are well implemented and I can't wait to see what happens in the next issue. I recommend this for anyone who is a fan of horror, especially that of the body-horror variety.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Family Tree #2

Dec 21, 2019

Family Tree #2 is a strong follow-up to the first issue. Lemire is doing a lot with very little time and space in this series. Despite a premise that seems oddball at best, this is creepy, sad, and very earnest series. I am excited to see where the story goes from here and I highly recommend it. Honestly, you could probably start here if you missed issue #1 and not feel like you've missed out on too much, but you should definitely read both if you are able.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Family Tree #3

Jan 23, 2020

As it stands, Family Tree #3 is in direct contention for my favorite horror comic currently running. While the competition is stiff, Family Tree stands out. Few comics are as forthcoming and also as mysterious as this one. It is absolutely worth your time. Even if you've missed the first couple issues, if you enjoy horror or a good story then pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Family Tree #4

Feb 23, 2020

The more I read this series the more questions I have and the more excited I get for the next issue. Even with my small gripes I still find myself looking forward to these reviews every month. I can't stress enough that Lemire is at the top of his game with this story and everyone should be reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Family Tree #5

Mar 20, 2020

Family Tree #5 felt like a sucker punch. From the unexpectedly heart-wrenching beginning to the devastating conclusion, every moment of this story hits like a freight train. I was stunned by the end of it. I knew this series was special when I started reading it, but I truly believe this will go down as a classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Family Tree #6

Jun 19, 2020

Overall with Family Tree #6 this return to one of my favorite horror series was a little weaker than I'd hoped. It still remains an excellent, and compelling horror tale. But the failure to follow-up on the outstanding cliffhanger is cruel. Regardless, I give this strong marks and will continue to recommend this series to horror fans. Its bleak, heartbreaking, and thoroughly engrossing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Family Tree #7

Jul 15, 2020

All-in-all this issue was phenomenal. Even with a minor gripe about the letters I still think there is so much to love here. I can honestly say that I will have difficulty waiting until the next issue is released. Never before have I seen a comic blend Lovecraftian horror, body horror, and over the top action in one issue and had it work. Much less to have seen it and not have wanted it any other way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Family Tree #8

Aug 30, 2020

I truly loved this issue, and...I wish that I could watch other people read it just to see the looks on their faces.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Family Tree #9

Oct 23, 2020

Overall, Family Tree #9 is an excellent blend of action, suspense, body horror, and mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House #1

May 2, 2019

Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House #1 will be available in comic stores everywhere May 1st, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House #2

Jun 13, 2019

Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House Issue #2 will be on sale in comic stores everywhere June 12th, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Grendel: Devil's Odyssey #1

Sep 25, 2019

Overall this comic just didn't hit home for me. The concept is an interesting one, but I've already seen it done. It is worth mentioning that this character has been around for decades. The character was also not very appealing to me. The art is nice but seems at war with itself. Though the story did not appeal to me, a long-time fan may find more here than I did. That being said, it is difficult for me to recommend Grendel: Devil's Odyssey #1 to anyone unfamiliar with the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Heartbeat #1

Nov 20, 2019

As a fan of horror and horror comics, I enjoyed Heartbeat #1 quite a bit. It seems to wear its inspirations on its sleeve. But what helps it to stand apart from those is the wonderful art. Llovet's style is reminiscent of Czeck painter Alphonse Mucha, which gives the comic a very classical feel. If you're a fan of 80s goth horror or vampire flicks this is a home run for you. If you like horror, in general, I'd definitely still recommend you pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Heartbeat #3

Jan 24, 2020

With Heartbeat #3 I have to say I am a little disappointed after the series' brilliant start.There is certainly room for the story to take some interesting twists and turns, and for that I am hopeful. However, it seems as though the greater interest has been placed on telling another vampire story without much to say otherwise. I still look forward to seeing where the story goes, but the ghost of a more interesting narrative is too present to ignore.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Heartbeat #4

Feb 22, 2020

Overall, I just don't like this series. I was very excited at the beginning, but the things that made it appealing have all but been abandoned. I'm willing to chalk this up to me expecting more than was promised. But at the end of the day, this was billed as a horror comic. But we are four issues in and I don't see much horror.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
James Bond (2019) #1

Dec 4, 2019

I wish I had liked Ian Fleming's James Bond #1 more as it was a joy to look at. But opening a James Bond book only to find him left out of most of it was kind of a bummer. If the accompanying story had been more exciting this would have been easily forgiven. But, unfortunately, the insurance fraud investigation doesn't provide the most compelling plotline. A fan of slow-burn action comics might enjoy this, but there are definitely better action comics out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Sirens #1

Apr 3, 2019

Overall, I enjoyed Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Sirens #1.As I read it I was able to bask in the warmth of the nostalgia for something I loved. It didn't manage to reclaim the full magic of the series it is named after, but it still provides an entertaining and thoughtful experience. Fans of the original series should still read this, as well as anyone who likes a good, old-fashioned fairy tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Sirens #2

May 12, 2019

Overall I was happy with this story. It wasn't what I expected after reading the first issue, but it subverted those expectations in a good way. The core of the story remained the same as what I enjoyed about the first, but the change in art and writer served to strengthen the issue overall. If you liked the first issue, the Storyteller TV show, or just modern renditions of ancient stories, then this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kerry and the Knight of the Forest OGN

Apr 17, 2020

Kerry and the Knight of the Forest has everything you could hope for in a YA graphic novel. The characters are compelling, the art is wonderful, and the messages are clear and good. Watson absolutely nails the tone of classic fairy tales, but injects a modern edge to it as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Marvel Zombies: Resurrection (2020) #1

Sep 1, 2020

I really enjoyed Marvel Zombies: Resurrection #1. It feels like equal parts Walking Dead and love letter to the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Mega Man: Fully Charged (2020) #1

Aug 26, 2020

Overall I liked Mega Man: Fully Charged #1, though it didn't grab me as much as I'd hoped it would. The story is a solid way to make the character more mature, though it isn't terribly accessible for newcomers to the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mega Man: Fully Charged (2020) #3

Oct 30, 2020

Mega Man: Fully Charged #3 is a fun and exciting nostalgia trip with a strong story hidden underneath.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mega Man: Fully Charged (2020) #4

Nov 28, 2020

Overall, Mega Man: Fully Charged #4 felt like a major payoff to the series, and it doesn't look like it will be slowing down anytime soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #1

Mar 4, 2020

Overall I enjoyed Mercy #1. The story features scenes that are practically ripped from a Dickens story and juxtaposed with brutality. And I love it. I definitely give this one high recommendation. The only real criticism to level at the storytelling is that at times it feels a bit cluttered.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #2

May 28, 2020

Despite a slow beginning... this issue improved on the first in almost every way. The mysteries were still present, but the threads were much clearer. The characters felt more fleshed out and less one-dimensional.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #3

Jun 25, 2020

Overall, I still quite enjoy this series, but I want to see more from it. The story feels like it's mirroring Lady Hellaine itself. A mask of refinement barely holding back the horrors underneath. With three issues left Mercy #3 threatens to leave much unsaid or, worse, said all at once instead of at an even pace. I still look forward to the next issue, and am too invested in the central mystery to move on. I just hope that the next issue takes a little more time to really let loose, because we can all see that Hellaine is barely keeping it together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #4

Jul 30, 2020

Overall, I was extremely pleased withMercy #4. It felt like all of the hints and foreshadowing finally came together for an extremely satisfying climax. There are new plot elements that change the trajectory of the story as well. I'm glad I stuck it out with this series. It was never bad by any means, but the amount of mystery was beginning to get a little frustrating. With all of that out of the way, I'm back to being extremely excited to see what happens next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #5

Aug 30, 2020

I, once again, find myself eagerly looking forward to next month to see what happens next in this gorgeous, messy tale

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #6

Sep 30, 2020

All-in-all I really enjoyed this series, and Mercy #6 does a fine job of putting a bow on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nailbiter Returns #1

May 27, 2020

Overall, Nailbiter Returns #1 feels like a masterclass in returning to an acclaimed series. Each member of the creative team is at the top of their game and there is never a boring moment to be found. The story has a lot of legs to go on, and the art is gorgeous. As a lapsed reader of the original series, I never felt confused by the events of this sequel. I am excited to see what comes next for Alice, and Finch, and if you like horror you will be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rat Queens (2017) #16

Jun 22, 2019

Rat Queens Issue #16 will be available in comic stores everywhere on May 19th, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rat Queens (2017) #17

Aug 3, 2019

The script is funny, heartfelt, and manages to regularly surprise with its twists. The art is gorgeous, and the colors only serve to improve that. Overall this is a damn good creative team working wonders on a great series. If you like high fantasy and aren't afraid of it being pretty raunchy, then you need to be reading this. And if you're a lapsed fan, it's a great time to get back into the series as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens (2017) #18

Sep 14, 2019

This was easily my favorite issue of this series so far. The themes and story hit home, the humor was on point, and the art and colors were gorgeous. There are a couple of plot contrivances that felt a little off, but knowing this team, that is intentional. It's a great time to be a fan of this series and Rat Queens #18 exemplifies why. Everyone should check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rat Queens (2017) #19

Oct 24, 2019

I've been loving every issue of this new creative team's work and Rat Queens #19 is no different. The action is great, the humor is crass and wonderful, and everyone is killing it. Every time I think I have a grasp on the story it takes a new shift to make things interesting again. Rat Queens is here to stay and I cannot wait to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rat Queens (2017) #20

Dec 12, 2019

Rat Queens #20 is a solid endpoint of the new creative team's first arc. It changes a few things, rearranges others, and makes sure there is still conflict going forward. I've greatly enjoyed reading this series under the new management, and continue to be for the foreseeable future. If you've been sleeping on this one, then now is a good time to start planning on getting back in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rat Queens (2017) #21

Mar 27, 2020

...it's more of the same excellence that you're accustomed to

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Rat Queens (2017) #22

Oct 3, 2020

Overall, Rat Queens #22 just felt off. The humor never quite landed for me, outside of a sequence towards the middle of the book. The art seems like a bad fit for the series, but I'm hoping that I will warm up to it eventually. Despite all of this, I'm still hopeful about the future of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Rat Queens (2017) #23

Nov 28, 2020

I found Rat Queens #23 pretty disappointing. The story continues to feel aimless. The art looks very nice, although I still don't think it's a great fit compared to previous artists... my concern for this series is really starting to grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rat Queens (2017): Swamp Romp Special #1

Apr 11, 2019

Rat Queens Special: Swamp Romp will be in comics stores everywhere on April, 10th 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Reaver #1

Jul 12, 2019

Reaver #1 will be in comic stores everywhere on July 10th, 2019

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Reaver #2

Aug 15, 2019

Overall I felt like this issue was even stronger than the first. Focusing on the characters and giving them additional depth was an excellent decision and adds some stakes to their mission. There are clearly still mysteries to discover, as well as schemes from each of the rogues involved. Thanks to the strength of this issue, I am excited to follow up and see each of them pan out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Reaver #3

Sep 13, 2019

Overall this series remains solid, but I can't help but find myself wanting a little more. It is evident that there are things going on behind the scenes in Reaver #3. However, everything so far has felt just a little too easy for the characters. I am hopeful that in future issues there is a little more struggle. Nevertheless, I am excited to see where this is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Mother #1

Dec 11, 2019

The Red Mother #1 caught me completely by surprise. I've been expanding my horror comic reading and this leaped up towards the top of my favorites this year. From the creepy opening pages to the equally creepy ending, this was a ton of fun. I can't wait to see where this series goes, especially considering how little it revealed in issue 1. If you like horror comics or are looking for a good one to start with, I can't recommend this highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Mother #2

Jan 13, 2020

The creative team behind this comic is inspired and every aspect of the story being told is fascinating. Hahn has keyed in perfectly to the very human emotions that must drive every horror story. With Luckert and Dukeshire working alongside him this series could very well go down as a classic in comic horror. I can't recommend this series highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Mother #4

Mar 20, 2020

The Red Mother#4 continues the series' streak of excellence. The story continues to provide twists and scares. But most importantly it does so in interesting ways. ...the creative team have made a horror story that feels personal and unpredictable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Mother #5

Jun 4, 2020

While the ending wasn't quite as strong as previous issues, The Red Mother #5 continues this series' streak of excellence. It serves as an ending, of sorts, but at the same time makes it clear that the central conflict is far from over. How this conflict will manifest in future issues, I don't know. But I do know that I can't wait to find out, and neither should you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Mother #6

Jul 10, 2020

The Red Mother #6 is a strong continuation of the series, though it does feel a little scant on the action. Thankfully the creative team has done such a fine job of making everything feel off that even slower issues like this one remain eerie. The narrative seems to be shifting toward a distinct Rosemary's Baby-style narrative, and I can't wait to see what happens next. While it may seem like this issue would be a solid jumping-on point for new readers, too much is lost without having read the first five. That said, if you're a fan of this series, there is a lot to enjoy here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Mother #7

Aug 15, 2020

I've been a big fan of this series for months, and I am happy to say that The Red Mother #7 meets my high expectations. Every horror story should have something to say, and the subtext and message of this one are strong. It stands tall both as a rumination on trauma and survivors guilt, and as a Rosemary's Baby-esque thriller. This is a horror series that truly shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Mother #9

Oct 15, 2020

The work that this creative team has done to craft a meaningful horror story is laudable. If you've been keeping up with this series, you'll love the most recent issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Mother #10

Nov 12, 2020

In terms of psychological horror I there isn't another series out there doing it better than Haun and Luckert right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Red Sonja (2019): Lord of Fools #1

Aug 2, 2019

Overall I wasn't particularly impressed with this issue. The script felt all over the place and the art and letters were the only real strong point. Normally this type of story feels right up my alley, but for some reason this time it fell flat. If you're a fan of Red Sonja, there might be more here for you than there was for me. If not, then I have a lot of trouble recommending it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sea of Stars #1

Jul 3, 2019

Overall, Sea of Stars #1 is a strong first issue. Plenty of time is spent establishing the emotional stakes of the rest of the series, which I appreciate. I am fascinated with seeing where this series will go. If you enjoy science-fiction or are looking for a good way to dip your toes in, this is a great series to check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sonata #1

Jun 12, 2019

I'm excited to see where Sonata goes from here. It hit a lot of the beats that I'm particularly fond of. Sonata herself is plucky and clever. The planet has a life of its own and the sleeping giants are terrifying. If you're a fan of sci-fi, old or new, then Sonata #1 should hit all the right notes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sonata #2

Jul 18, 2019

Overall I was disappointed with Sonata #2. I'm still interested in the story, and the twists and turns definitely have my curiosity. But it didn't feel as tight or well paced as the first issue did. There are a lot of good ideas here and the central story is compelling, but this one fell a little flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Taskmaster (2020) #1

Nov 11, 2020

Overall I'm a big fan of Taskmaster #1 and I can't wait to see where it goes from here. The creative team has a fun and exciting idea, a great character to execute it with, and a perfect understanding of how that character should behave.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The After Realm Quarterly #1

Feb 5, 2020

The After Realm Quarterly Issue #1 is an odd but endearing start to a series. There are a few hiccups that keep it from being perfect, but I found it thoroughly enjoyable. This is compounded with the interesting direction that the story takes as it goes on. If you're a fan of Norse mythology, fantasy, or coming of age stories then this one could be a very good fit for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
The Clock #1

Jan 9, 2020

I really struggled with this book. There are a lot of smart concepts and a good story that is buried under poor execution. It is exceedingly difficult to care about any of the characters presented. Things happen to them, some of them sad, some of them not. But it feels like these events all simply occur so that the story can move forward. If more work was put into the characters this could have been extremely effective. As a result, I can't really recommend this. Instead, I would recommend the excellent Undiscovered Country and Unearth as alternatives.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #1

Sep 2, 2020

We Only Find Them When They're Dead #1 is a brilliant first step into a cold and uncaring universe. It serves as both fascinating science fiction, and condemnation of the systems that dehumanize us. I am usually very difficult to please when it comes to sci-fi, but this series will remain on my pull list until it ends. This issue is a must-read for fans of science fiction.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #2

Oct 8, 2020

Despite the fact that issue #1 went through three printings, I still don't feel like enough people have read this series. It should be on everyone's list

View Issue       View Full Review
10
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #3

Nov 13, 2020

It is easily one of the most complete ongoing series that I have ever read. The art is amazing, and the story is engaging and brilliantly told. Once again, I cannot wait to see what happens next as the creative team has somehow raised the stakes for the third issue in a row.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Year of the Villain: Special #1

May 1, 2019

Year of Villain #1 was a fun read. The expertise of the creative teams involved is in full effect. The story itself is a little disjointed, but still clear. The initial stakes are now set and I'm very interested in seeing where the event will go. If you are a fan of DC Comics and don't mind events then there aren't many better ways to spend 0.25 cents.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

2nd

November

More