Jesusfreak #1
Prev Series Next

Jesusfreak #1

Writer: Joe Casey Artist: Benjamin Marra Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: March 20, 2019 Cover Price: $17.99 Critic Reviews: 6
8.2Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

+ Pull List

The year is 26 C.E. A young Nazarean carpenter is having some trouble adjusting to the violent world around him-and finding his place within it. He knows he's different, but he doesn't know why. Not yet, anyway. A bloody, two-fisted tale of historical heroic fiction brought to you by JOE CASEY (SEX, BUTCHER BAKER, THE RIGHTEOUS MAKER, MCMLXXV) and BENJAMIN MARRA (Night Business, Terror Assaulter: O.M.W.O.T.).

  • 10
    Comic Crusaders - Robert Swanson Mar 20, 2019

    The sad thing about this book is that so many people who narrow view, or even a sense of unwillingness to step outside of the box, will never pick up this book. Instead they will judge the book based on it's cover, and never realize that a talented group of people took the time to put something that doesn't hurt religion, but instead something that does it's own thing that doesn't take away from the teaching of Jesus. If you are looking for this book to be that last minute Sunday School lesson, maybe you should leave it at home. However, if you want to show people how comic's are more then just regular superhero stories, then this is a good choice to explain that. Do yourself a favor and read it if you can find it. I enjoyed and it will be buying the book. And if you want to have a lot of fun while reading this book, put on the Conan the Barbarian soundtrack and turn the page! Read Full Review

  • 10
    Geekery Magazine - Chino DT Mar 21, 2019

    As I said previously is a very well elaborated story which will surely will have a continuation, in this graphic novel we will see Jesus on his way to find faith, being the son of God is not something easy to overcome, although in his way he has to kick some Roman asses because this Jesus will not turn the other cheek so easily. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Graphic Policy - pharoahmiles Mar 23, 2019

    Overall, it's an action-packed story through biblical times that I wanted to compare to Spartacus but feels more like Ghost Dog: Way Of The Samurai. The story by Casey is fun, engaging, and wildly imaginative. The art by Marra is breathtaking. Altogether, a story that will intrigue readers and think of these historical and religious figures in a totally new way. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    The Brazen Bull - Dave Robbins Mar 19, 2019

    Meditation and martial arts abound in this historical fiction about a Nazarene, his defiance against Roman authority, and his dedication to political insurrection. Jesusfreak is more weird than thought provoking, but it is entertaining, so there's that, at least. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Graphic Policy - Brett Mar 20, 2019

    There's a lot of potential here but the comic never quite commits as to what it wants to be. It's entertaining in a pulp/grindhouse sort of way but at times it feels like it wants to be serious and other times it wants to be something like a John Carpenter film. With a bit more focus, the story would be amazing and a lot of fun. As is, it feels like it's unsure as to what it wants to be much like the Jesus it depicts. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Newsarama - David Pepose Mar 21, 2019

    Fans of Casey or Marra will likely dig this book, but it never gets the controversial momentum its title promises to really get its shine. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!



Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More