Chino DT's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geekery Magazine Reviews: 32
8.8Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Action Comics (2016) #1002

Aug 22, 2018

Great continuation for “Invisible Mafia” in which Supes will discover a facet of his beloved city which he ignores, what consequences for our hero will these events have? Will we see Superman imparting justice to the old Gothic style of Bats?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #3

Oct 3, 2018

Robin has the hard task to gather both Superboy's to escape from the hands of the mini-Legion of Doom and reverse the effects of the Red Kryptonite to have Superboy back, but things get very crazy when they receive an unexpected help from someone who likes to make killing jokes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #5

Sep 12, 2018

Being honest I felt this issue a little weak in the story with some situations a bit forced and predictable, other thing I can't get is the fact of reducing an important character like Taskmaster as a some kind of comedy relief just for filling a space that any other villain could fill, or well, maybein the future he will have a good reason to be there I don't know, however this issue introduces a new and mysterious villain into the Spidey universe and he looks very interesting and mean, and finally for those who missed the spider-sense (specially Peter Parker) this issue will give you very good news.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #6

Sep 26, 2018

I must say that I followed the last issues of The Amazing Spiderman, which started with Ryan Ottley in "Back to Basics" and now continued by Ramos with "A Trivial Pursuit", I just hope that this arc does not have a hurry ending as the last number, personally I felt a little disappointed with many forced situations there, the plot still weak but improved a bit and regained my interest in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Aquaman (2016) #39

Aug 15, 2018

This is an cxcellent comic written by the duo of Dan Abnett and Rob Williams, (very) good art by Joe Bennett, the inks of Vicente Cifuentes and the colors of Adriano Lucas leaves us with a good feeling and eager to know what will happen now under the sea.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Barbarella (2017) #11

Nov 2, 2018

It's a really complicated story to assimilate and understand if you have not read the previous numbers, I had to do some homework to understand this plot of the Rua to kill the Esseverine, but I will not deny it, it's a very well-worked script and I was fascinated by history, for now the Esseverines are safe, but what happened to our heroine?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Beyond (2016) #25

Oct 29, 2018

I found this number of Batman Beyond spectacular, full of many flashbacks that seek in some way or another to tell us about what happened with the most important members of the Bat-Family during all these years, with this new Arc it seems that a new approach is given to Terry since it indirectly touches Terry's past and the events that led him to carry the bat's cowl as well as the introduction of relatively new characters such as The Signal and Damian Wayne into this futuristic world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Kings of Fear #2

Sep 27, 2018

Later the caped crusader under the shelter of Gotham's night is gathering the evidence and clues to take him to the whereabouts of Kenneth Rhee and is facing some tough guys and getting some gunshots, but nothing will stop the dark knight in his search. Finally he manages to get a warm clue from the old apartment where Rhee lived, but Batman knows that something is not right, his old detective instinct tells him that there is something very strange in the environment and in the blink of an eye Bats is again In a state where he do not know what is reality and what is fiction, how can the best detective in the world regain sanity?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Salvation #12

Aug 8, 2018

On the other hand Magic is not alone, she counts with the remaining members of the Bloodshot Squad: Cold Man, Tank Man and Viet Man, who will break into the Omen facilities to rescue her daughter Jessie, but beware, Omen members ignore that millions of microscopic nanites run through Jessie's veins too and that makes her extremely dangerous as her father.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #2

Aug 23, 2018

This comic counts with the talents of the very known writer Peter Milligan, art by Robert Gill who worked among other titles with “X-O Manowar”, “Batgirl” and “Bloodshot Reborn” and the colors of Jos Villarrubia.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
DC/Hanna-Barbera: Deathstroke/Yogi Bear #1

Nov 1, 2018

As I said initially is a comic that fulfills the task of being entertaining but nothing more, I just imagine how complex it is to unite two different genres as cartoons and action comics and this deserve a recognition.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC/Looney Tunes: The Joker/Daffy Duck #1

Aug 30, 2018

"Silence of the Lame" places us in one of Gotham's most terrifying places (and it's not Jokers' bathroom) we are talking about the Arkham Asylum, there the Dr. Daffy Duck has the difficult task of entering in the broken mind of the Joker to psychoanalyze it and cure him for his mental disease (good luck with that!) All this will end in a frantic competition to see who is the more craziest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #986

Aug 9, 2018

Karma proves to be a hard nut to crack for the Batman, and previously it gave a low blow with the attack to The Signal, nevertheless the villain ignores that the bat knows who is hidden behind the mask of Karma. Will this new effort by Batman be enough to stop this dangerous villain? Can this new formation of Outsiders commanded by Black Lightning help Batman to stop this maniac?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #0

Sep 27, 2018

This comic is a must read for those who like me are not very familiar with the series because it explains how is the unknown process of change of Doctor, something understandable for a series that has many decades and that must change every protagonist so often, basically is the same person but his appearance and personality change.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ducktales #11

Aug 22, 2018

The night passes and it is when the mystery behind the attitude of Mc. Duck is solved, a dark and terrifying character called Somnambulo is the cause of Mc. Duck's behaviour!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Errand Boys #1

Oct 8, 2018

I think that Errand Boys has many things in his favor, it is an original story that shows the hard situation of two brothers whose lives are unexpectedly crossed by a tragic event, Jace with Tawnk must now take the most difficult errands in the more unusual and strange places doing what Jace knows how to do very well: screw up everything and runing for his life!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Exorsisters #1

Oct 19, 2018

This comic is very good, I love the story and for me is very original and the art, oh boy! I really like the style, reminds me the Dan De Carlo's Archie from the early sixties, the sisters Harrow are very good characters with full potential and I hope we could see more of the Exorsisters!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #55

Sep 26, 2018

Flash is one of my favorite childhood Superheroes, for many years he was the best designed superhero, he also has in the Rogues the best team of villains comparable to Spider-Man's Sinister Six. With this comic, I feel the same emotion as before. Every Flash comic is special and unique and I must say that it really made a great impression on me this number.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #57

Oct 25, 2018

This issue still maintains the good rhythm that The Fastest Man Alive has in his career throughout the DC Rebirth, The Flashpoint is named again and it seems that will be another big event that will once again shake the foundations of the DC universe with Flash again as a protagonist, I hope that this new DC experiment will have the desired effect and balance the 52 worlds without losing the good moment they have been bringing with Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #5

Oct 11, 2018

Is very nice to see one of the best team-up of the golden age of comics together again, I hope at some point to see again the Blue and Gold or Green Lantern " Green Arrow team-ups, this new resurrection of Carter Hall seems to augur many Good things for Hawkman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #2

Aug 23, 2018

Far away Swamp Thing is watching the tree of wonder when suddenly he receives the visit of an old friend: John Constantine. Constantine realize that the former being known as Alec Holland is waiting for the coming of dark, unknown and terrifying forces, meanwhile Zatanna and Wonder Woman realize in a surprising way that Kent Nelson is not under Dr. Fate's antique helmet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
MCMLXXV #1

Sep 13, 2018

One thing that I personally love from a movie or a comic is that it takes you to the time where the events happens, MCMLXXV makes you feel like if you're watching an old movie from the 70's, this excellent comic has a lot of influence from elements of Pop culture of those years and great references to classic artists like Kirby and Moebius, this first issue full of good action quickly allows us to know many aspects of the life of Pamela Evans as well as her past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #30

Aug 15, 2018

The united Rangers faces Lord Dakkon in what would be the last and decisive battle, however Dakkon is still very strong for the Rangers but wait, Rita is in the game and Rita has her own plans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Quantum Age: From the World of Black Hammer #3

Oct 12, 2018

This comic that in its beginning makes a clear reference to the Legion of Superheroes looks with great potential and I am sure that the events to come will be very interesting because there is clearly a before and after in The Quantum League after the events in New York, It will be very interesting to see how much of the humanity of Archive was affected and how this will affect his future decisions.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rise of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1

Oct 19, 2018

The now mutant Harvey is loose in the city causing problems and has the mission to take the Turtles to a trap, Draxum plans to capture the turtles, what Draxum ignores is that the Turtles are experts in Chaos-Jitsu! and now their weapons have lights and some kind of power that is enough to finish Harvey and Draxum's plan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sentry (2018) #5

Oct 26, 2018

Spectacular end to an Arc that gives space to the rebirth of the Sentry (or whoever it is now) but this arc left us some questions, can the tortured mind of Bob Reynolds finally rest once he accepted the Void? How many of Bob's humanity was left after these events? And the most important question: Will Sentry be on the side of the good guys? According to Cap's words, We're going to find out soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Silver Surfer (2016) Annual #1

Sep 5, 2018

This fantastic story is written by Ethan Sacks and art goes by Andr Lima in a tribute to the art of Moebius, you really can feel the essence of the eternal Giraud on each page and the colors goes by the talented Chris O 'Halloran.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #23

Oct 22, 2018

After shot Gordon, or that's what Lady Vic believes, The Titans finds her on guard down in some place, in that instant when Lady Vic is about to leave is when the young heroes act to capture her, however the Titans are too young to confront Lady Vic and their inexperience makes she escape, but not before causing some damage, the persecution continues until the Titans finds her hidden inside a building, but when our heroes get into to the room where Lady Vic hides something explosive is about to happen to the Teens Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Beatles: Yellow Submarine #1

Sep 3, 2018

This graphic novel is a real treasure, something that should not be missing in any library, see again the characters created by Heinz Edelmann thanks to the dedication of Bill Morrison is an excellent tribute to the Beatle legacy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The New World #2

Aug 30, 2018

Thanks to Kirby's father a veteran of the second civil war, He manages to escape, however Stella and her hunters team manage to give with the Kirby's whereabouts, finally what happens when Stella meets Kirby will leave many of Us surprised.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Silencer Annual #1

Aug 31, 2018

"Family Business" brings a good story that is set before the creation of the Leviathan organization and focuses on the early beginnings of the Batman " Thalia al Ghul relationship (I hope you understand why Thalia is interested in protect Bats heh heh). Written by Dan Abnett, Drawn by Jack Herbert and colors by Hi-Fi.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
WWE #20

Aug 16, 2018

In an interesting way this comic goes towards the friendship between K.O., Zayn and the General Manager of Smack Down at this moment Daniel Bryan (Yes! Yes! Yes!) Bryan from his position avoid that of K.O. and Zayn gets fired by Shane creating some clashes against other stars of the Smack Down franchise, giving to the public very good matches, but Bryan has something more spectacular in mind, something that will test the friendship between Owens and Zayn.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More