John Wallace's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 59
8.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Black Magick #2

Nov 26, 2015

In my opinion, Black Magick is already a must buy, its already a book worthy of discussion. I also think its worthy of awards. In fact, I have a tasty looking hat in my hall that I will pretend to eat if this book doesnt get a decent TV treatment. Time will tell, but whatever happens, make sure I get my full 30 issue fix of Rowan Black, BUY THIS BLOODY BOOK!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Magick #4

Jan 25, 2016

I really want to let you know in a coherent and cogent manner what my thoughts are, and all I could come up with for the majority of that time was OH MY GOD THIS IS AWESOME!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Brooklyn Animal Control (One-Shot) #1

Dec 8, 2015

I know that this is a one shot, but it definitely left me wanting more. It has laid the ground work nicely for whatever is going to follow, be it more in comics or a full series out of its USA Network pilot.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Clankillers #1

Jul 19, 2018

I really wanted to come out of the end of this first issue with the feeling that I would want to read more, but I didnt, and I feel a little frustrated and cheated by that (really cheated, Ive read the comic three times now). Unless Im asked to review more from the series, I wont be back. It isnt horrible, but it isnt far off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Codename Baboushka: The Conclave of Death #2

Nov 10, 2015

Overall Codename Baboushka is a nicely put together book. Its decent rather than exceptional. It doesn't really surprise in any way, but it is entertaining. Its a plot twist and an I never saw that coming away from a 4.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cognetic #1

Oct 20, 2015

James Tynion IV has done a very good job of sucking me into this drama. He appears to have the knack of creating characters that appear grounded in reality even though the situation they find themselves in is unreal. The interaction between Annie and her boss is an excellent portrayal of an individual relationship that I'm sure more than one of you could relate to.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dejah Thoris #1

Feb 2, 2016

I hoped for the best with Dejah Thoris. It wasnt awful, but it didnt exactly set the world alight either. It may be interesting to see where Barbiere takes this book, but in all honesty, I would say its likely to be of more interest to collectors and readers of the other Dynamite Barsoom comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Doc Savage: The Spider's Web #1

Dec 1, 2015

The writing is solid enough – after all, Chris Roberson is a very accomplished wordsmith. The art is also solid. Cezar Razek does a good job with the dynamic poses, but some of the panel framing feels a little odd, forced even. Overall, the story is, again, solid, nothing more, nothing less. A decent lead into what could, with a little work, be an interesting series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Euthanauts #1

Jul 18, 2018

Were off to a good solid start here. I have my niggles, and needing to read the publishers blurb to get a foothold in the issue probably shouldnt be a necessity. Its something that I can see being rectified as the story unfolds, but that approach works for a trade paperback, not a single issue. Its not Flatliners, (Ive been waiting all review to say that) and its not What Dreams May Come, but Howard and Robles are creating their own intriguing Deathscape. A really healthy start that promises more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Fistful Of Blood #2

Nov 24, 2015

Maybe I'm the wrong person to be reviewing this book, maybe I'm not. Have a look for yourself if you really want to and tell me if I'm wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Four Eyes: Hearts of Fire #2

Feb 23, 2016

This is not a particularly heartening story. Perhaps it will never be. What it is though, is a magnificently considered study of what Enrico feels he has to do to honour his father, and provide for his mother in an unforgiving world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Four Eyes: Hearts of Fire #4

Apr 28, 2016

This is a hard read but for all the right reasons. In my review for issuetwo I said that this story might never be heartening. I was wrong. There's light and hope on these pages, but also a whole lot of OMG this could still all go so wrong for Enrico and Four Eyes. But thats what makes this story a magnificently dark joy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #1

Jun 15, 2016

Overall, this is a solid first issue. Its generally well written and certainly well-presented artistically. Sure, it's let down a little by the slightly one-dimensional relationship between Jessica and Simon, but this is only the first issue, (the second if you count Rebirth) so there should be plenty of time and scope for Sam Humphries to bring more depth to their relationship. However, if not done quickly enough, this could rapidly descend into the unremarkable pit of Buddy Cop despair.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps: Rebirth #1

Jul 13, 2016

What I enjoyed most about this comic was the way that Venditti did finally lead me to a moment of awesomeness. No battles, no destruction just renewal. So, when Hal said the oath I got goosebumps.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Huck #4

Feb 16, 2016

When (not if, when) you buy these comics, you will be buying an instant classic. Normally I try and wait until the end of at least the first story arc before I make that kind of judgment, but every issue has been of the highest standard and this one is no different. Please go buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
I Hate Fairyland #3

Dec 16, 2015

As I said at the beginning, I Hate Fairyland has been a quality book so far, and one of its strengths has been that there have been the plethora of new yet familiar things that Skottie Young has thrown at us. To be honest, there are so many fairy tales out therethat can be subverted in I Hate Fairyland that I think were allgoing to be entertained for some time to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Johnny Red #1

Nov 3, 2015

I'm like Tony Iverson, the millionaire owner of the Hurricane. I want to know more about the history of the aircraft, but more than that, I want to know what happened to Johnny and his Falcons over Russia. Bravo Mr Ennis and Mr Burns.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Johnny Red #3

Jan 5, 2016

All in all, this is another rip roaring yarn of derring-do, but deeper down, this comic explores just how close to victory the Germans came at Stalingrad, and just how close to the bare bones the Russian forces really were. The creative team have done this really well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Johnny Red #4

Feb 3, 2016

For the first issue since the series began, I have a niggle. I understand why the dream sequence lasted as long as it did, but it distracted me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Johnny Red #7

May 25, 2016

Bravo Mr Ennis, and bravo Mr Burns. You have created a truly exceptional comic and I cant wait for the climax next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Johnny Red #8

Aug 9, 2016

This final chapter succeeds in fulfilling the promise of the preceding seven. Ennis and Burns are at the height of their powers here, transporting us to a time of unimaginable horror, providing sympathy for the source material and adding some thoroughly modern panache. Bravo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Limbo #2

Dec 9, 2015

All in all, this is well worth picking up. The characters are developing nicely and so is the sense that absolutely anything can happen. I believe that there is a lot more that needs to be explained about the world of Dedande. There's something that the teleshaman said that has me questioning everything, and I love that. I'll continue to tune in, even if it's just to see if a gut feeling I have pans out (no I'm not telling you what it is).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Limbo #5

Mar 8, 2016

Watters and Wijngaard have really brought this fantastical story to vivid life and I really, really want to know what the hell is going to happen next. I gave issue 2 a rather spiffy 4-out-of-5, and then my brother in arms Ross bumped that score up to a 5-out-of-5 for issues 3 and 4. I have to say that this series started well and has just improved in leaps and bounds as the creative team build and reveal more and more of their tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Limbo #6

Apr 13, 2016

All in all, this is a fitting end to a magnificent roller-coaster ride. If you dont come off slightly wobbly by the end of it all, then youre simply far too jaded to even be on this plane of existence.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mystery Girl #1

Nov 10, 2015

I wanted to give the book a really high score, I really did. There are so many things in it that I liked; but the itch won't let me. Mr Tobin, if you are reading this, I love your work, but please, speak to a Brit before you try more "Britspeak".

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Penny Dreadful #1

May 11, 2016

This isn't just 20 pages of sequential art. This is 20 pages of cinematic pre-visualisation done by superb scriptwriters, aided by a magnificent concept artist. If you have any love for the T.V. show, then you must buy this comic. If you have any love for Gothic horror, then you must buy this comic, and frankly, if you have any love for well-written excellently illustrated comics, then you really should buy this comic. Do you see where I'm going with this?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Penny Dreadful #2

Jun 28, 2016

The first issue of Penny Dreadful was excellent. This second issue, isnt up to that heady standard, but it isnt awful by any means. Issue 3 looks promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #1

Feb 1, 2017

Thompson appears to be weaving a compelling tale, which Jordan is translating onto the page very well indeed. This issue was a pleasant read, and the art from Bagenda is good, as you would expect after his stint on Omega Men. Everything looks right, yknow? Sometimes you get a crossover where one aspect or another falls down, but that doesnt happen here. Well written and well rendered, this is definitely a promising start.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Power Lines #1

Mar 29, 2016

Overall, this was a well-paced comic with an interesting concept, revealing just enough to pique your interest and draw you into the next issue. If it manages to escape the racial distortions and exaggerations that can attack equally from the dark streets of the ghetto and the bright wide boulevards of suburbia, then this is a series that could have some serious legs.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Reborn #3

Dec 14, 2016

Buy this book, because Reborn is going to be one of those comic books that you'll wish you were into from the very beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rom #1

Jul 28, 2016

I wasnt expecting a nostalgia-fest with ROM as I wasnt a massive fan back in the day. To be honest though, ROM could end up being a great book to get, nostalgia-aside, especially when IDW have their crossover event. If you're ROM-curious, Hasobro-curious or even just plain curious then this could be the comic for you. Otherwise its a presentable yet middling start.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Romulus #1

Oct 4, 2016

This is a solid first issue. The concept is appealing, especially in this era of conspiracy and cover up. The story flies along and doesnt really go wrong at any point, however it does suffer from the problem that many comics have when they introduce a new mythos, balance. The balance between exposition, character development and action can be quite hard to find, and this issue leans quite heavily on exposition and action. That does however mean that there is a lot of room do explore Ashlar beyond her initial motivations in future issues. Im not hooked, not yet, but I'm close.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Romulus #2

Nov 29, 2016

Bryan Hill is continuing his world building in a confident manner, with interesting flourishes. It's certainly intriguing, and it's nicely complimented by Nelson Blake II's art, which is definitely growing on me. I didn't find it quite so flat this time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Seven to Eternity #3

Nov 29, 2016

I meant what I said earlier –read this comic. I say this with a little caution, as its still early doors, but Seven to Eternity could be Remender and Opeas magnum opus. If you like fantasy, if you like Westerns, if you like beautifully drawn, exquisitely coloured and magnificently written comics, then you owe it to yourself tobuy this one. If you dont pick up any other comics this week then pick up the first threeissuesof Seven to Eternity. You wont be disappointed. And if you do and you are disappointed, read them again and again until you arent!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Seven to Eternity #4

Dec 29, 2016

Remender is doing a fantastic job with this book. He is building a world with wide and varied factions, and is doing so with verve, vigour and gravitas. For all of his world building however, he is also telling a tight and taught personal tale of what will one good man do when presented with his heart's desire.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Skybourne #1

Sep 8, 2016

So back to the beginning- does this comic live up to its heady blurb? Was I swayed by the extravagant claims of the blurb? If I said, take all of the monies now. Mine, yours and his, that guy over there. He wants to buy this comic too; he just doesnt know it yet; would that answer the question?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Skybourne #2

Oct 26, 2016

Im absolutely delighted that Cho has managed to keep the considerable momentum going from the first issue whilst slowing the pace of delivery. You can count me in for the rest of this series, that's for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skybourne #3

Jan 17, 2017

Cho has imbued this book with an impressive sense of momentum, just as he did with issues one and two, and its easy to tell that hes not exactly new to this comic creating malarkey. This level of accomplished pacing isnt easily achieved, after all. This is a cleverly crafted comic book, packed with comedy, pathos and impressive concepts, even if his Taggart is a little Alfred Pennyworth and His General Morger is a smidge Thunderbolt Ross.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek/Green Lantern: Stranger Worlds #1

Dec 21, 2016

This first issue is a perfect continuation of the Star Trek/Green Lantern universe, and sets up a great quest storyline. I for one will definitely be hanging about to see where this story ends up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Strange Fruit #4

Nov 1, 2016

I'm sure that as a commentary on the racism in the Southern States of America in the 1930s there are nuances here that I have no doubt missed. That hasnt stopped me from enjoying a solid four-issue story of the superheroic efforts of a strange drifter, and of the racial struggles, in devastating conditions, of the people he ultimately tries to help.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Switch #2

Nov 25, 2015

I must admit that it was the beautiful artwork that originally drew me to have a look at Switch, but its the really well written story that is going to make me stay. Stjepan Sejic really is a comics double-threat. Hes an artist who can write and a writer who can draw.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Baker Street Peculiars #1

Mar 9, 2016

Overall this isnt a bad first issue. There are peaks and troughs, and I still dont quiteunderstand the Peculiars' initial motivation, but it doesnt detract too much from an otherwisesolid tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Baker Street Peculiars #3

May 10, 2016

When I reviewed the first issue I noted that there were some peaks and troughs, and that I didnt really know what the Peculiars' initial motivations were. That has all since been tidied up and explained with a deft hand, and what started as merely a solid story has found its feet and stepped up a notch into something thoroughly enjoyable. As a tale for all ages, this is a pleasantly nuanced and worthy read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Doorman #2

May 21, 2016

Overall, while its an interesting concept with solid art, the storytelling is a little sub-par for the time being. For me, the writers have three options for the third issue; go comedy, go serious, or go home. Of those options, serious would appear to be off the table given the artistic style of the book, and the half-way house they seem to be trying for isn't working very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Dresden Files: Wild Card #1

Apr 20, 2016

All in all, I was impressed with the first issue of Jim Butchers The Dresden Files: Wild Card (Thats a mouthful), yes it has a lot going on before it, but dont let that put you off. Step into this tale and you will feel richly rewarded as the creative team do seem to be taking some care to allow new readers a chance to enjoy a new Harry Dresden story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Massive: Ninth Wave #2

Jan 13, 2016

Overall, this is a decent tale which I think will work better as part of a collective whole rather than as the stand-alone issue being reviewed. Knowing that there is such a large body of work that this is meant to precede, I cant help but wonder what nuances in the story I may have missed. I dont know the characters; I dont know the history (future?) but it will definitely be interesting to see how these six issues pan out. Its a thought-provoking book but it hasnt made me go “wow”. Not yet, anyway. It may be that the prequels do grab my interest and lead me to the Massive, but its not tempting me yet. That said, there are still four more issues to go after this one, so who knows?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The New World #1

Jul 25, 2018

Overall this is very well-crafted and well-paced. And, with four more issues to come, there is scope for a really tantalising tale to emerge. But dont take my word for it. Im only here to point you in the direction, its up to you to go see for yourself. Its certainly worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Rook #1

Oct 20, 2015

This comic comes close but just misses. I want to know what happens next, but not so much that I would cry if the comic didnt get a second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
The Rook #4

Jan 20, 2016

There is a kernel of a decent tale here. Well I think there might be. Gulacys art, whilst an acquired taste, hits a few high notes, the Airship exploding being one. But the art isnt good enough to save this comic. Lots of ideas, some good, some bad, some nice flourishes and cameos, but ultimately flawed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Spire #6

Jan 26, 2016

This is a fine addition to the story of The Spire so far. It adds value, history and intriguing twist to the overall arc. That said, I did have to go back and reread the first five issues again, just to make sure I didnt make an idiot of myself in this review. Its dense, but its worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Steam Man #2

Nov 17, 2015

So, after two issues, I really want to see what the hell is going to happen in the third. I thought I knew what the series was about when I saw the first cover, it was going to be steam-punk Pacific Rim. Then I read it, and it turned into a bit of a horror story. Now, after the second issue, I'm not even going to begin to speculate for issue three. I have no idea where this Steam Man is going to end up, but it has me along for a ride, probably in his left leg, getting my brains rattled about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Steam Man #4

Jan 19, 2016

If you havent already had a look, you should. The story is crazy, and the artwork fits with the steampunk craziness. The scores on the doors so far for the series have been issue 1 (3), issue 2 (4), issue 3 (4). This issue is also worthy of a 4/5.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Steam Man #5

Feb 16, 2016

Obviously, if you have all of the other four issues, then you will be buying this one anyway. Wont you? Its not the strongest of the series, but its not the weakest either. Anyway, who gets this far in only to buy four out of five issues? The big question at this point should be, will The Steam Man be worth buying when its collected? Well, yes it will. Its a tidy little story and it was worth the telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Usagi Yojimbo #150

Nov 17, 2015

Whilst I enjoyed my first dip into the Rabbit Bodyguards (thats the title of the book in English dont cha know) world for the first time in 24 years, it didnt quite do enough to blow me away.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #2

Jul 13, 2016

My churlish little niggle over one panel notwithstanding, I thoroughly enjoyed this second issue of Wonder Woman. It is truly beautiful to behold and the story promises so much. Go and read it – you know you want to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #3

Jul 27, 2016

Overall, this is another fine effort from Rucka the world re-builder and Sharp, the drawer of very, very pretty pictures. If, like me, you have no particular history with the characters (I dont believe that my childhood crush on Linda Carter counts) then you might need to have Google (other search engines are available. It is a lifestyle choice after all) handy to help you through the jungle quagmire that is Urzkartaga lore. But if thats the only drawback in this interconnected era, then pshwah, thats no drawback at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman: Rebirth #1

Jun 8, 2016

Wonder Woman has two wonderfully nuanced artists at the helm and a damn fine writer too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
World of Tanks #1

Aug 11, 2016

World of Tanks: Roll Out! purprised me. Even though the creative team are comics heavy hitters, I thought this would be a pocket liner for them. Its not. Its actually rather good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Youngblood (2017) #1

May 2, 2017

Overall I was quite taken with this first issue. Blending the old with the new hasn't quite happened yet, and could be quite tricky to get right, but issue one has done well in giving us a peek of the new, and a glimpse of the past. The brief foretaste of the future of Youngblood Reborn feels quite promising.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More