Matt Granberry's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Corps Reviews: 61
8.0Avg. Review Rating

10
Analog #4

Jul 18, 2018

I've got to say, this is probably one of, if not the best, comic book series going right now. No disrespect to the other titles out there, but I cannot recommend this series enough. Put it in your pull list and get it, you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #16

Nov 8, 2017

With a unique art look combined with a great mystery story Batgirl and the Birds of Prey # 16 is a definite worthy read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: White Knight #2

Nov 3, 2017

This is a great continuation of the series with an impactful story and gritty, wonderful art to go with it. It all adds up to a great issue, with loads of more delight to come I wager.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: White Knight #3

Dec 6, 2017

This visually gripping and compelling story of emotion and darkness gives the reader one heck of a story to read over and over again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman (2017) #9

Nov 15, 2017

Witty dialogue, a unrelenting character with an iron will and great colorful art make for a really good book that no reader should miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bone Parish #1

Jul 25, 2018

The story is to die for (pun intended), and the art will have you staring at it for hours. This is a great start to this journey and I'm anxious to see where this creative team leads us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bone Parish #2

Aug 29, 2018

Secrets are starting to be revealed about this Winters family, and how they will do whatever it takes to protect their empire. All I'm saying is let's strap in and enjoy the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #1

Jul 25, 2018

A very good start to what is sure to be another win for this series and another win for us fans as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #18

Nov 3, 2017

Cyborg #18 is an engaging story that left me wanting more and already anticipating the next issue thanks to its unique story and wonderful art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Damage #5

May 13, 2018

Solid writing with great character development plus some darn good art makes this issue a must grab next time you are in your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Damage #6

Jun 20, 2018

Just because it's an average continuation issue doesn't mean you skip this book of you're a fan. I have a feeling things are about to get pretty interesting for Ethan Avery.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dark Ark #9

Aug 1, 2018

It seems this series just gets better and better with every issue in not only story but art as well. Who knows what surprises lie in wait for us as this book carries on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dark Ark #10

Sep 6, 2018

Juan Doe is on point once again with his art. The characters look absolutely amazing as they have since issue one. Echidna really stands with her look. She just jumps off the page and holds the readers eyes. The damned souls look gruesome in the best way possible, and of course the monsters are looking their best as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Knights Rising: The Wild Hunt #1

Feb 14, 2018

This issue is intense and complex, with plot twists and surprises you won't expect, married with art that stands out as some out best yet. The reader will be drawn into this issue very much and be clambering for more by the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deathstroke (2016) #23

Sep 6, 2017

If you are a die hard Deathstroke fan like me you'll put up with the issues that seem just filler and ho hum cause you know something is just around the corner that will blow our minds.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deathstroke (2016) #24

Oct 4, 2017

Not an awful story and it does move the arc along with good supporting art and a nice little ending to keep us wondering what will happen next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #25

Nov 1, 2017

I think maybe that the old Deathstroke may be rearing his head soon but only time will tell but in the mean time this issue delivers on great writing and great art as well

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #26

Dec 6, 2017

All in all this was a very good issue I'm happy to say; full of great dialogue coupled with superb art. This issue really wets my appetite for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathstroke (2016) #31

May 2, 2018

All in all this issue will leave you counting down the seconds until the next one because the story delivers 100% on intrigue, anticipation, and just good old entertainment. The art is, in a word, beautiful. Its just looks beautiful and it will capture the reader's eye from beginning to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deathstroke (2016) #32

Jun 6, 2018

The tension is mounting and Deathstroke and Batman don't look to slow down anytime soon. So strap in readers this ride is far from over.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #33

Jul 4, 2018

Twisty plots, excellent banter between characters, and superb art throughout the book makes this issue a must pick up come release date.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Farmhand #1

Jul 11, 2018

The concept of this story is absolutely outstanding. Guillory delivers a fresh, innovative story that captures the reader's attention from the start of the book and does not let up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Farmhand #2

Aug 8, 2018

More and more twists and turns and I'm sure more and more secrets and stand out characters are gonna be revealed as this series goes on, and I personally cannot wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Farmhand #3

Sep 12, 2018

The story is building to something very big and the art is consistently great to look at and compliments the story perfectly. Whatever the outcome this series delivers time and time again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #32

Nov 1, 2017

Al in all a very good story married with very good art that keeps the arc story moving right along in a smooth way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League of America (2017) #14

Sep 13, 2017

This story is very good in that it kept me guessing what would happen next and it didn't get off topic. Even the opening scene ties in cause you know as well as I do that what Vixen and Gregorio was talking about is gonna come back. I love the action scenes especially with Lobo fighting with one arm, I mean c'mon that's just plain cool. My favorite thing about this story is how Ryan comes into his own finally and finds his self confidence. The art is well done and fits the story very very well, Its not to gritty or dark or even too light for that matter its just right.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #15

Sep 27, 2017

Its a good solid story with good solid art to back it up and really sets up the next chapter really well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #19

Nov 22, 2017

Bottom line, this is a great book no matter how you slice it. Great dialogue. Great art. What more could you ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lowlifes #1

Jul 8, 2018

The art is just as gritty as the story, and it's beautiful. When a story and art marry in such a wonderful, symbiotic way as they have in this issue, it's a glorious thing. It makes you glad you got into comics. Sentenac delivers a sense of realism with the art of this issue. The art doesn't glamorize the story. No, if anything, the non glamour aspect of the art only enhances the grittiness and rawness of the story, and it's wonderfully done.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lowlifes #2

Jul 18, 2018

Sentenac once again gives a raw, gritty art style that is just superb in this issue. The intensity of the story flows right into the art and is on full display for all to enjoy. The emotions that Sentenac is able to capture in the characters is beyond amazing and just adds to the overall look and feel of the art.The writing is just getting better, married with art that is as intense as the story and you have a series worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Lowlifes #3

Aug 8, 2018

When I first started to read this issue I thought, ok this is gonna be the ho hum issue. The issue that doesn't stand out or reveal any shocking revelation or anything like that, but I am happy to say that by the end of this issue, I was completely and totally wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lowlifes #4

Sep 12, 2018

Suspense is building as we get closer and closer to outcome of this search for perceived justice, and I have no doubt this creative team will continue to deliver in spades.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #29

Sep 20, 2017

Nightwing #29 is a well done tie-in to the larger narrative of Dark Nights: Metal, and gives Nightwing some much needed time to shine in Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #33

Nov 15, 2017

Nicely drawn art married with an action packed story sets up the ending of this arc to the fullest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing: The New Order #2

Sep 27, 2017

This book gets right to the heart of things with an emotional story of Dick Grayson's past and his relationship with his son, Jake.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing: The New Order #3

Oct 25, 2017

This has been a great series so far that stands on its own very nicely. If you haven't read this series yet, it's not to late to catch up. And believe me, it's worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing: The New Order #4

Nov 24, 2017

Emotional and gripping, this story will leave the reader begging to see what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #14

Sep 13, 2017

Red Hood and the Outlaws #14 starts us on a unique Bizarro story that's not necessarily groundbreaking, but still a whole lot of fun. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #9

Jan 24, 2018

With a deep psychological angle married with edgy art, this issue is sure to deliver a great reading time for any comic fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shirtless Bear Fighter #4

Sep 20, 2017

This series has been a joy to read at least for me. It's not the typical comic book story but it's not meant to be and that's what makes it a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Skyward (2018) #4

Jul 18, 2018

Garbett's art perfectly compliments this story in every way. It's not so funky looking that it takes away from the story, but it offers its own unique look that marries with the writing wonderfully. Even the background of the city is wonderfully done, so much so that you sometimes forget this a world with no gravity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Slots #1

Oct 4, 2017

This world Dan Panosian has created is not for starry eyed dreamers. Its not for the weak of heart. It's a world that will chew you up and spit you out. Fortunately we just get to kick back and enjoy the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Slots #2

Nov 8, 2017

This is the best break I've found from all the superheroes and fantasy titles out there ( nothing wrong with them just saying). It's just one heck of a story with wonderful art and it's getting better and better with each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sonitus #1

Feb 21, 2018

This is one rare issue where dialogue does not rule the day but the story still comes across loud and clear. Married with a unique art style and coloring, Sonitus is one gem worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #41

May 9, 2018

All in all this is great beginning story of this arc, which I'm sure as we go, will be full of twists and turns along the way, but every story needs a good foundation and you've got one right here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #42

May 23, 2018

This story is not bad by any means, but I found myself wanting a little more substance from the story. It just reads like a good continuation of part 1 with no real surprises or plot twists.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #43

Jun 13, 2018

Intense dialogue, art that is great from top to bottom, top notch action sequences all equal to the best Suicide Squad book I've read so far. Trust me you do not want to miss this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #44

Jul 11, 2018

The art of this is story doesn't over shadow the story at all. It compliments it in every way possible. Bennett does great work as far as the details of the characters, the expressions the look of the costumes, the way they move in the panels all good. The color use is on point as well. There is not a heavy handed use of color just the right amount to give the art the right amount of depth to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #2

Mar 21, 2018

Unique storytelling and detailed art make for a wonderful continuation of this mini series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #3

Apr 18, 2018

This may not be the most exciting issue, but I believe it's a critical one for story flow and character development, as well as just enjoying fantastic art. This issue serves as foundation for what is surely going to be a shift into over drive for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Magic Order #2

Jul 19, 2018

With intrigue, mystery, and magic woven into the story along with unique, wonderfully done art I'm sure there is nothing but more surprises that will delight readers in the issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The New World #1

Jul 25, 2018

I like this series so far, the criticism is really just my own, but if you want to see what I'm talking about go get this issue. It does have a unique story and art that I'm sure will appeal to a lot of fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The New World #2

Aug 29, 2018

We can only guess the next twist and turns that's gonna come from the author as far as our two young heroes are concerned, but whatever it is, it's gonna be entertaining and colorful for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The New World #3

Sep 12, 2018

We have two more issues to go, boys and girls, and I for one can't wait to see what this talented creative team comes up with next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Titans (2016) #15

Sep 13, 2017

This was a great story from beginning to end. I was caught up in not only the mystery of is Nightwing really a double agent but also the whole gold feathers thing, as well who is this unseen force that is attacking the Titans and H.I.V.E. I don't know if Wally is truly dead or not because its comics people death means nothing in comics, but it will be interesting to see how the Titans respond to this. Also what about Lilith will she become the thing she fears I have no idea but I 'm sure there will be plenty of twists and turns along the way as the Titans navigate through this adventure. The art is outstanding and it goes really well with the flow of the story and fits it like a glove.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016) #16

Oct 18, 2017

Whether you're a Titans fan or not this is a good issue and it is worth a read in fact it's worth several reads.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #13

Sep 20, 2017

I felt like this was just a good honest superhero story. You know good guys trying to stop bad guys from doing bad things. Call me old fashioned but i never get tired of stories like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #14

Oct 18, 2017

All in all this is still a great story arc to read and it seems to be getting better with each issue so if I were you I wouldn't miss out on any more Trinity.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #17

Jan 17, 2018

This is a pretty good start to a story that offers a bit of mystery, some pretty good action and great art that marrries all together in one nice package.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Warframe #1

Oct 4, 2017

All in all not a bad start to the series. Hopefully we can see more great stuff from this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #33

Oct 25, 2017

Wonder Woman #33 is a good story with good art to compliment it, and it does a great job at setting up the next issue which I'm sure will be just as good, if not better.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More