Matt Granberry's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Bad Manta, Nation Of Nerds Reviews: 11
7.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman (2016) #31

Sep 20, 2017

The newest addition to the story of The War of Jokes and Riddles delivered on many points. Is it perfect? No. But is it a good read? Definitely.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deathstroke (2016) #23

Sep 6, 2017

If you are a die hard Deathstroke fan like me you'll put up with the issues that seem just filler and ho hum cause you know something is just around the corner that will blow our minds.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #28

Sep 22, 2017

Part one of the "Vote Harley" story is average at best and gives little reason to invest in the rest of this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #29

Sep 22, 2017

Things are heating up in this story and while it's not perfect, Justice League #29 is a notch above the norm for Hitch's Justice League run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League of America (2017) #14

Sep 13, 2017

This story is very good in that it kept me guessing what would happen next and it didn't get off topic. Even the opening scene ties in cause you know as well as I do that what Vixen and Gregorio was talking about is gonna come back. I love the action scenes especially with Lobo fighting with one arm, I mean c'mon that's just plain cool. My favorite thing about this story is how Ryan comes into his own finally and finds his self confidence. The art is well done and fits the story very very well, Its not to gritty or dark or even too light for that matter its just right.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #29

Sep 20, 2017

Nightwing #29 is a well done tie-in to the larger narrative of Dark Nights: Metal, and gives Nightwing some much needed time to shine in Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #14

Sep 13, 2017

Red Hood and the Outlaws #14 starts us on a unique Bizarro story that's not necessarily groundbreaking, but still a whole lot of fun. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shirtless Bear Fighter #4

Sep 20, 2017

This series has been a joy to read at least for me. It's not the typical comic book story but it's not meant to be and that's what makes it a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #31

Sep 22, 2017

Lois gets the chance to shine as the audacious reporter we all know her to be in a fun story with phenomenal art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Titans (2016) #15

Sep 13, 2017

This was a great story from beginning to end. I was caught up in not only the mystery of is Nightwing really a double agent but also the whole gold feathers thing, as well who is this unseen force that is attacking the Titans and H.I.V.E. I don't know if Wally is truly dead or not because its comics people death means nothing in comics, but it will be interesting to see how the Titans respond to this. Also what about Lilith will she become the thing she fears I have no idea but I 'm sure there will be plenty of twists and turns along the way as the Titans navigate through this adventure. The art is outstanding and it goes really well with the flow of the story and fits it like a glove.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #13

Sep 20, 2017

I felt like this was just a good honest superhero story. You know good guys trying to stop bad guys from doing bad things. Call me old fashioned but i never get tired of stories like this.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More