Chris Green's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sequential Planet, The Latest Pull Reviews: 17
7.5Avg. Review Rating

7
Burnouts #1

Sep 19, 2018

I look forward to seeing what future issues will hold in store for us. Until then, I'll be looking out for weird glowing creatures every time I have a drink from now on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deadpool (2012) #45

Apr 12, 2015

There were a few plot points that remained unfinished by the end of the run, such as Shiklah's whereabouts since the last issue where she uncovered her vampire army, but the explosive ending of the issue overshadows these faults. All in all, this was a good ending to a good series, and I hope that if and when Deadpool's story gets picked up again the next team can do him the justice this one has for the past few years.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Howard The Duck #1

Mar 11, 2015

I went into this book expecting little and got a lot. The story was captivating, the characters memorable, and the art stunning. I can't wait to see where this comic goes, and I hope it goes far. Howard the Duck may not have had the most impressive past (I'm still trying to forget that movie ever happened) but I believe this is the start of a new chapter. Howard the Duck #1 is an enjoyable read that I'd recommend to anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Moon Knight (2014) #10

Dec 18, 2014

While this issue may have felt a tad unnecessary as a whole, I won't say it was unenjoyable to read. Looking at this issue by itself, it had a decent story, strong writing, and excellent art. And with its conclusion, I'm very excited to see where the story will progress from here. “Moon Knight” is still one of the most exciting new comics of the year, and with the current arc wrapping up in two issues, I only see big things in store for Spector from here on out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Moon Knight (2014) #11

Jan 23, 2015

This issue raises more questions than it answers, however it does continue to build action and set up for a dramatic finale in which Spector and the unnamed doctor will inevitably face off. Moon Knight continues to be one of my favorite series on the shelves right now, and I cannot wait to see what Wood and Smallwood give us next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Moon Knight (2014) #12

Feb 20, 2015

Moon Knight #12 wasn't a bad issue, but it wasn't exactly up to par with the quality I'd come to expect from the fantastic Wood/Smallwood. It answered most of my questions and wrapped up the arc, but it also left a lot to be desired. Let us hope that Wood and Smallwood will be remembered for the run rather than the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Moon Knight (2014) #13

Mar 20, 2015

Overall, I'd say that while this was a very different book than what I was used to, I enjoyed it for what it was. Wood's story seemed to play off of Ellis' so it wasn't as much of a shock when writers switched, but this book almost felt like I was reading a whole new series. While I can't say I don't miss Wood and Smallwood, I'm very interested to see what Bunn and Ackins bring us next issue. I'm especially interested to see if Bunn gives us a long running story like Wood did, or if he gives us episodic issues like Ellis. Either way, I suggest that you all hold off on dropping this book and seeing what we get next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
New Lieutenants of Metal #1

Jul 4, 2018

There's a lot of potential here for something really fun and memorable, but only time will tell whether the creative team manages to stick an impressive landing or fall flat in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Postal #1

Feb 5, 2015

This issue felt like too much exposition on characters and settings I didn't care about. While I understand that first issues are all about introductions, this issue did nothing to make me interested in the story it wanted to tell. Perhaps later on this comic will pick up, but just going off this issue, I can't say I care to follow the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Robots Vs. Princesses #1

Aug 1, 2018

The charm of the book really sells it here, and I'm hoping in the issues to come it will be able to lift up the writing and artwork to become a series that I want to recommend to everyone I meet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #6

Jun 28, 2018

Sonic the Hedgehog continues to charm each month, and issue #6 gives us even more to love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #7

Jul 27, 2018

Sonic the Hedgehog #7 really feels like we're finally gearing up to the major conflict of the story arc, and Flynn continues to bring back the fun and excitement that made me fall in love with the blue blur in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Dying and the Dead #1

Jan 28, 2015

With all the work Hickman's been doing over at Marvel lately (Infinity, Avengers, New Avengers, Secret Wars) it's a wonder he has time to do creator-owned work. Not that I'm complaining, though. Hickman and Bodenheim have really given us a work of art with The Dying and the Dead #1. I can't wait to see what direction this story goes, but I already know that it's going to be brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
The New World #1

Jul 25, 2018

This is a great first issue, and at 60 pages is a hefty introduction to the five-part miniseries. Hopefully, Kot and Moore can continue expanding upon this world they've created and deliver an enjoyable and memorable read in the issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Witcher: Of Flesh and Flame #1

Dec 21, 2018

A promising beginning to this new miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Witcher: Of Flesh and Flame #2

Jan 23, 2019

Not quite as fun as the previous issue, but still a decent read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Witcher: Of Flesh and Flame #4

Apr 3, 2019

The miniseries ends on a high note, but I'm always sad to say goodbye to Geralt.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More