Royals #9

Writer: Al Ewing Artist: Javier Rodriguez Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: October 4, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 9
8.8Critic Rating
8.1User Rating

FIRE FROM HEAVEN Part 1
If the Inhuman race was born of Kree experiments, then who made the Kree? Enter the Progenitors! Meanwhile the Inhuman Royal Family, led by Black Bolt and Medusa, are searching for the Prima Materia-the original Terrigen. But even if they find the chemical that will save their dying race...can they escape the revenge of its creators? It has been foretold that of the seven who left Earth, only six will return-and Medusa is already dying. Who will the Royals lose? PLUS: Includes 3 bonus MARVEL PRIMER PAGES! Story by Robbie Thompson and a TBA artist!
Rated T+

  • 9.5
    Bleeding Cool - Joshua Davison Oct 10, 2017

    Ewing and company have really nailed it with this issue of Royals. It was genuinely enjoyable and compelling. Hopefully, they can keep it up from here. Nine issues in, and Im fully on-board. Give it a read. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Brandon J. Griffin Oct 6, 2017

    It's almost Kirby-esque in how colorful and complex these cosmic layouts are. That alone makes it worthy of the Legacy banner. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Nuno Oct 5, 2017

    I'm loving the outcry from readers about a woman taking a second lover after being separated from her polygamous husband. The World Farm and the world building of the Kree and Inhumans origins in this story is topnotch. I cannot wait for the next issue.

  • 9.0
    Kalaoui Oct 12, 2017

    Great job. Loved this book and the look of it is pure cosmic Inhumans. Ewing tells a great mystery with Javier Rodriguez illustrating it in such a beautiful manner. Still unsure about Medusa and Gorgon but can see how it would happen given how things have been going for years.

  • 8.5
    JoseAmor Oct 12, 2017

    I hope Rodriguez never stops drawing this story. The Progenitor planet looks trippy and weird, and the set up here is incredible. I still don't understand what future Maximus is up to, nor do I enjoy Medusa/Gorgon.

  • 8.0
    ModestMoonMan Oct 10, 2017

    A solid start to the new "Fire From Heaven" story arc. Al Ewing has been creating something really special with his Royals run, and it seems we're getting clise to a big payoff with the Progenitors.

  • 8.0
    CrazyforRAMU Apr 20, 2018

    The Gordusa romance speeds forward, Flint deals with a crazy powerup, and the Royals dive headfirst into wild Progenitor hijinks. While I begrudge the attention given to the romantic pairing, it's not because I think I know the characters better than Al Ewing. He does a good-to-great job of justifying their feelings here (though it's also clear the relationship will have some weighty plot purpose later on). It's simply that there's fascinating high-concept cosmic stuff happening that deserves more attention. Javier Rodríguez delivers some smashing great vistas that ring the Kirby bell in a wholly positive way, but he also does some complex and subtly tricky layouts. This matches the puzzlebox feel of the Progenitor plot very nicely.

  • 7.5
    Rick Jonez Oct 5, 2017

    Gorgon/Medusa rationalization/fornication is wrong but otherwise the story was okay for a change with more advancement than previously.

  • 8.0
    Khan/Murdock Oct 10, 2017

  • 7.5
    Pantheon36 Oct 14, 2017

  • 6.0
    Jabberwocky_Superfly Oct 5, 2017

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More