Justin McCarty's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 36
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Barbarella (2017) #1

Dec 6, 2017

I probably read more Dynamite comics than any others. Despite calling myself a DC guy. But if you want superheroes of the non-big-two variety, then Dynamite is going to have most of them. I keep coming back to Dynamite because they keep giving me cool characters that I can follow without getting stuck in a multiverse loop. I follow a couple of Dynamite's comics right now, James Bond and Shadow, and I almost always pick up anything new they put out, it's not always a hit for me, but I will check it out. I'm glad I checked out Barbarella and I'm in for issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Dawnbreaker #1

Oct 4, 2017

Tonally, this has been the most fun tie-in for me. We've ended up with probably the least contrived of the tie-ins, also. It has that rock and roll feel I've really been looking for in these stories. It isn't overly dark. I'm excited to see the Metal event start to come together. There is a lot of stories left to tell. This book's team comes together to finally tell a story that has all the beats that Metal is supposed to have.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: The Murder Machine #1

Sep 27, 2017

Instead, what we have gotten is a dark exploration of a Bruce Wayne practically at a mental breakdown. At the start of the summer when Snyder talked to CBR he said this would be, "off-the-wall, bonkers fun, where we just want to melt your face off and rock out all summer long with everybody". I understand too if you listen to metal music it can be dark, but Enter Sandman had dark lyrics and was also fun. For me, this feels more like a story only about despair and the fun has been forgotten. I am only taking this one tie-in into consideration. The entire series could end up being fun. The individual parts aren't adding up yet for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: The Red Death #1

Sep 20, 2017

The tone is dark. The plot takes a little while to get where it is going. Still, a pretty fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catalyst Prime: Superb #3

Sep 20, 2017

Superb takes a very familiar template and mixes in a great character like Jonah and his alter ego Cosmosis. This could be a very popular book. Issue three has so much going for it. The arc of the two main characters is starting to come together. It ends with a fun, even if it is predictable, cliffhanger. This comic could be banal and somehow it's not. This issue though had its distractions, with two not very compatible art styles. The end result made an otherwise quality book look like it may be losing a step.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Nights: Metal #2

Sep 13, 2017

This is an epic, ambitious story, but even with all the exposition you can still feel lost, will all the groundwork pay off? I hope so.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Deadman (2017) #1

Nov 1, 2017

This was also a missed opportunity to bring new readers to an obscure third tier hero. Number ones invite you to try a book, and I'm an easy sell on a number one. It's chance to start from the beginning; there's no baggage to confuse you. This book would immediately turn off anyone wishing to try it that isn't already a superfan. It's also the kind of storytelling that turns off non-comic readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doppelganger #1

Nov 29, 2017

The doppelganger is perfect for exploring the human condition. That's why it is so familiar. The mirror image of a life. How could a life be lived in an opposite way? Could your look-alike solve your marital problems? Turn your career failures into successes? Stand up to your bullies? Make better grades in school? This comic is in good company - from Dostoevsky to Star Trek.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eugenic #1

Oct 4, 2017

Tynion, Donovan, Cunnifee, and Campbell craft an enthralling apocalyptic event. The whole story builds to a wild final few pages that leave you needing to know what is next. Eugenic can't be missed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eugenic #2

Nov 8, 2017

We jump ahead another two hundred years in the next issue. What is next for the human race?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fighting American (2017) #1

Oct 11, 2017

Fighting American may not have had a chance to become the icon Captain America was eventually to become, but Titan has an opportunity here to rectify that. There is a chance here to revisit the hokey ideals and hypocrisy of that era to comment on our current conflicted relationship with western values, wrapped in a red, white and blue adventure story. Titan Comics might have just given us a fast-paced modern classic in Fighting American.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Flash (2016) #30

Sep 13, 2017

The first half of the book has some great story beats. Too bad the second half of the story is not very interesting. The second issue in the arc could really pick up and make this villain feel like a real threat to Barry. If I do pick up the next issue it will be to see how Barry handles his personal life, not to see what Bloodwork might do next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #31

Sep 27, 2017

I haven't been completely sold on the rebirth Flash, and I only just jumped on with these two books, but in just two books I want to know more about how Barry is going to have to train himself. I need to get a few back issues, too. Of course, I have to get caught up. Hopefully, I'll find that there is a better balance between villains and character drama as my Flash reading continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Head Lopper #7

Sep 20, 2017

There is so much more that can be said about this book but I'd be gushing. Also, I'd just be repeating praise the book has gotten elsewhere. I would hate to be repetitive. Head Lopper is an adventure comic for the ages. It's a fun adventure comic with heart and humor. At seven issues in, if you are not into the comic and want to be, it's ok. It comes out quarterly so there is plenty of time between issues to catch up and get on board. You won't be disappointed. It's an award winner, do you need more reason than that?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
James Bond: Solstice (One Shot) #1

Nov 28, 2017

Solstice is subtle at times, understated even, with a fantastic emotional arc, but it's still a James Bond story. It's out now. Pick it up today!

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
John Wick #1

Nov 29, 2017

If you don't know John Wick you'll get a lot more for your money by just picking up the movies, and you'll get a much better feel for the character. If you are a John Wick fan, I really think this will only disappoint you. Go rewatch the movies. This has a long way to go before it does the source material justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kid Sherlock #4

Sep 20, 2017

If you have kids, love comic books, and want a comic to get your children into them, Kid Sherlock is a good one to start on. Issue 4 gives us all the elements of Sherlock and is a great story to start on. No need to worry about multi-issue arcs, all the issues have a beginning, middle, and end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Millarworld Annual #2

Sep 20, 2017

All of the stories had something going for them. And, if you're into anthologies or annuals with multiple artists, Millarworld Annual is a great grab. See for yourself some of the comic industry's future wiz-kids. The profits go to the Hero Initiative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Millennium: The Girl Who Played With Fire #1

Sep 6, 2017

This book is about empowerment and redemption. It is also worthy of the Hard Case Crime logo. The messages of the story come across loud and clear. I look forward to the next installment in the series. You should too.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Minky Woodcock, The Girl Who Handcuffed Houdini #1

Nov 15, 2017

This title has a lot going for it. With a couple more issues this story could really take off. This has been a hard review to score. I want to read more because I don't feel we've gotten all the components so far. Minky is a fun character, the art stands out, but the rest has a lot to overcome. This comic is off to a good start and I do recommend it to the mystery and hard-boiled crime fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #2

Sep 13, 2017

We are just beginning to discover what is at work below the surface of the story. Not only is Scott unsure of his decisions on Earth, is he doing the right thing on New Genesis? Entry two is just a great as the first. If you haven't started on this series yet, you should, you're missing out. This is a classic coming out in real time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #2

Sep 13, 2017

We are just beginning to discover what is at work below the surface of the story. Not only is Scott unsure of his decisions on Earth, is he doing the right thing on New Genesis? Entry two is just a great as the first. If you haven't started on this series yet, you should, you're missing out. This is a classic coming out in real time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #3

Oct 11, 2017

There is so much subtle storytelling here. The use of stories from Scott's memory, the references to Dr. Bedlam, the shaky, fuzzy depictions of panels, all tell the story without forcing any exposition on the reader. This is a book that trusts its readers to just get what is presented to them through the images. King and Gerads continue to tell a fantastic psychological drama with an emotional depth that will not let you put this comic down.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #4

Nov 8, 2017

We are starting to get a better idea of Scott's mental state. He's going to have to come to terms with this problem. It won't wait for a convenient time. It will have to be dealt with sooner or later. Orion will need to be dealt with, too. Apokalips will need to be dealt with. The anti-life equation, a metaphor, will need dealing with. It represents depression and the lack of choice. How is Mister Miracle going to escape it?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Port of Earth #1

Nov 2, 2017

With the world-building out of the way, the comic could really take off and pull us in. Even with the unique twist on this particular premise, it still is pretty familiar. We have seen class warfare in sci-fi juxtaposed to media, large government stakes, and the good cop - bad cop tropes. This book has a lot of work to do to rise above those issues and get across its message. I can't say no to an action comic, so I'm on board, for the next couple issue anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Redlands #2

Sep 6, 2017

Redlands #2 is a solid installment that kicks off the story in earnest. Pick it up September 13th.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rocko's Modern Life #1

Dec 6, 2017

If you've been missing Rocko and wanted him to make a comeback then this is where it starts for you. Next year Nickelodeon has got a Rocko special, too. 2018 is going to be a big year for Rocko.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Archies (One Shot) #1

Oct 4, 2017

It's a well-packaged story with a lot to like. The premise makes this a promising series and I look forward to this book finding its footing. Great artwork and lettering keep the book interesting, but really can't help the forced storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Demon: Hell is Earth #1

Nov 15, 2017

This issue ended with a bang. Literal Hell will be unleashed on Earth. I will be hanging around for the next issue to see if I can really connect with the story. This had a lot to keep me coming back. It has work to do to live up to its potential, however.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow (2017) #1

Sep 4, 2017

The Shadow knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men because of the darkness within his own heart. Pick this book up if you haven't yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow (2017) #2

Sep 13, 2017

I am probably biased because of my very long love of The Shadow, and it may be too early to say, but I really think The Shadow Vol. 3 will be one of the best Shadow series ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow (2017) #3

Oct 25, 2017

This book has been a slow burn for much of it, we are a long way away from getting all the secrets out, and we still haven't moved very far in the present day. It's all building to something. This is still a great book and hasn't lost a step yet. The little details, the art style, and the classic Shadow in the flashbacks are making this a great read for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Shadow (2017) #4

Nov 22, 2017

If nothing else they've got me all in on the book. When they finally let loose, I know it will be amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow/Batman #1

Oct 4, 2017

This first issue sets up a major conspiracy that spans decades. There are so many questions that leave us wanting more. I'm hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Void Trip #1

Oct 25, 2017

It's a five issue series, starting November, 22. Pick it up. You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchblade (2017) #1

Dec 6, 2017

Top Cow probably couldn't have picked a better team for this book. It comes together very well. Witchblade volume two has an opportunity to surpass the original.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

November

More