Justin McCarty's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 13
8.6Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Batman: The Red Death #1

Sep 20, 2017

The tone is dark. The plot takes a little while to get where it is going. Still, a pretty fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catalyst Prime: Superb #3

Sep 20, 2017

Superb takes a very familiar template and mixes in a great character like Jonah and his alter ego Cosmosis. This could be a very popular book. Issue three has so much going for it. The arc of the two main characters is starting to come together. It ends with a fun, even if it is predictable, cliffhanger. This comic could be banal and somehow it's not. This issue though had its distractions, with two not very compatible art styles. The end result made an otherwise quality book look like it may be losing a step.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Nights: Metal #2

Sep 13, 2017

This is an epic, ambitious story, but even with all the exposition you can still feel lost, will all the groundwork pay off? I hope so.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Flash (2016) #30

Sep 13, 2017

The first half of the book has some great story beats. Too bad the second half of the story is not very interesting. The second issue in the arc could really pick up and make this villain feel like a real threat to Barry. If I do pick up the next issue it will be to see how Barry handles his personal life, not to see what Bloodwork might do next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Head Lopper #7

Sep 20, 2017

There is so much more that can be said about this book but I'd be gushing. Also, I'd just be repeating praise the book has gotten elsewhere. I would hate to be repetitive. Head Lopper is an adventure comic for the ages. It's a fun adventure comic with heart and humor. At seven issues in, if you are not into the comic and want to be, it's ok. It comes out quarterly so there is plenty of time between issues to catch up and get on board. You won't be disappointed. It's an award winner, do you need more reason than that?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kid Sherlock #4

Sep 20, 2017

If you have kids, love comic books, and want a comic to get your children into them, Kid Sherlock is a good one to start on. Issue 4 gives us all the elements of Sherlock and is a great story to start on. No need to worry about multi-issue arcs, all the issues have a beginning, middle, and end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Millarworld Annual #2

Sep 20, 2017

All of the stories had something going for them. And, if you're into anthologies or annuals with multiple artists, Millarworld Annual is a great grab. See for yourself some of the comic industry's future wiz-kids. The profits go to the Hero Initiative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Millennium: The Girl Who Played With Fire #1

Sep 6, 2017

This book is about empowerment and redemption. It is also worthy of the Hard Case Crime logo. The messages of the story come across loud and clear. I look forward to the next installment in the series. You should too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #2

Sep 13, 2017

We are just beginning to discover what is at work below the surface of the story. Not only is Scott unsure of his decisions on Earth, is he doing the right thing on New Genesis? Entry two is just a great as the first. If you haven't started on this series yet, you should, you're missing out. This is a classic coming out in real time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #2

Sep 13, 2017

We are just beginning to discover what is at work below the surface of the story. Not only is Scott unsure of his decisions on Earth, is he doing the right thing on New Genesis? Entry two is just a great as the first. If you haven't started on this series yet, you should, you're missing out. This is a classic coming out in real time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Redlands #2

Sep 6, 2017

Redlands #2 is a solid installment that kicks off the story in earnest. Pick it up September 13th.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow (2017) #1

Sep 4, 2017

The Shadow knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men because of the darkness within his own heart. Pick this book up if you haven't yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow (2017) #2

Sep 13, 2017

I am probably biased because of my very long love of The Shadow, and it may be too early to say, but I really think The Shadow Vol. 3 will be one of the best Shadow series ever.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More