David DeCorte's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Monkeys Fighting Robots Reviews: 42
7.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman (2016) #59

Nov 23, 2018

Batman #59 is an excellent new chapter in King's ongoing run. If you're not already reading this, you really should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Batman (2016) #61

Dec 19, 2018

BATMAN #61 can be a bit confusing if you're not already aware of the twist, but it's a good opener to the new story arc. It's an interesting take on what may be the most famous double-homicide in the history of the entertainment industry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Batman (2016) #62

Jan 9, 2019

Following up on the success of their fantastic run on MISTER MIRACLE, Tom King and Mitch Gerads reunite for a creeping and unsettling story in BATMAN #62. This ain't your standard Bat-story (then again, what is these days?), but I'd say it's definitely worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Batman (2016): Secret Files #1

Oct 31, 2018

BATMAN: SECRET FILES #1 is a great collection of shorts for longtime Bat-fans, or anyone looking for a more deconstructive take on the character and superhero tropes. I recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Damned #1

Sep 19, 2018

Batman: Damned #1 feels like the beginning of a much broader story. I'm at a loss as to how this can be satisfyingly wrapped-up in just two more issues, but as they say, I'm in for a penny (or $6.99, in this case).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Damned #2

Dec 12, 2018

BATMAN: DAMNED #2 is good overall. I do have issues, and worry that style might be taking precedent over substance by going over-the-top with the grim, edgy storytelling. However, the striking artwork alone would be strong enough to sell it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bitter Root #1

Nov 14, 2018

BITTER ROOT #1 is a solid contender for best new comic of the year. Incredible characters and supernatural storytelling fill-out this poignant allegory of race in America, with beautiful art to illustrate the story. An amazing debut issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Black Panther (2018) #4

Sep 26, 2018

Black Panther #4 is a solid installment in the latest run for the character. The Intergalactic Empire of Wakanda works as a sci-fi space opera of epic scale and scope. Based on what I've seen so far, though, I'm worried it may not be as friendly to new readers as promised.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Books of Magic (2018) #1

Oct 24, 2018

BOOKS OF MAGIC #1 sets up the story, but doesn't have much momentum until the last pages. It's a good start, and hopefully it keeps moving in that direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Captain Marvel (2019) #1

Jan 8, 2019

The creative team behind CAPTAIN MARVEL #1 offers strong ink and color work throughout the issue. Storywise, the first half works well, but the second half starts to unravel into multiple story strands that feel unresolved and meandering by the book's end. I'll trust that there's a plan in mind, but breaking this up into two or three more fleshed-out issues might have benefited the work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Detective Comics (2016) #991

Oct 26, 2018

DETECTIVE COMICS #991 is less of an action story and more an exploration of the character of Two-Face. It cuts deep to who the character really is, while giving us a much-needed reprieve before the showdown between Batman and Kobra.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Detective Comics (2016) #993

Nov 28, 2018

DETECTIVE COMICS #993 is a bit of a letdown as the climax to a relatively strong story arc. It's not bad, but it chooses to drop key plot elements as if they never mattered.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #994

Dec 13, 2018

DETECTIVE COMICS #994 is a great way to kick-off Tomasi's run on the series. The story offers intriguing mystery in the first half, followed by a great action sequence, all beautifully illustrated and colored. Definitely pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Detective Comics (2016) #995

Jan 4, 2019

Batman loses one person very dear to him in DETECTIVE COMICS #995, while another is nearly killed. Someone knows how to hurt Bruce Wayne, and it threatens to push him over the edge. This is a tense, mournful issue, ratcheting up the tension in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Disney Afternoon Giant #1

Nov 11, 2018

DISNEY AFTERNOON GIANT #1 is a definite nostalgia trip for nineties kids. But, I could easily see younger readers who've never heard of the original TV block enjoying this book, too. The art and writing are both highly-reminiscent of the source material. I recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Exorsisters #1

Oct 20, 2018

EXORSISTERS #1 is fine for a campy, supernatural detective sitcom. I'll check out the next issue, but the introduction didn't "wow" me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fantastic Four (2018) #4

Nov 27, 2018

FANTASTIC FOUR #4 is a much smaller story compared to the first three issues in the run. However, that's not a complaint. The smaller scale of the story gives readers a chance to process events, while still delivering on the series' most potent elements.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Frankenstein: Junji Ito Story Collection #1

Oct 29, 2018

FRANKENSTEIN by Junji Ito is an excellent addition to any horror fan's collection. The work infuses the classic tale with a shot of the uncanny, while the other tales that fill the book are strong as well. Even after Halloween passes, it will still be a treat to dive into this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Invaders (2019) #1

Jan 16, 2019

Despite being a team-up book, Namor's narrative occupies the bulk of INVADERS #1. I appreciated the subtler points of the story more on the second read-through, such as the theme of war and how it affects Namor. This is a promising first chapter in a new ongoing story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Journey Into Mystery: The Birth Of Krakoa #1

Sep 12, 2018

I highly recommend Journey Into Mystery: The Birth of Krakoa #1. It's great for fans of golden age action and horror titles, as well as anyone who wants to see The Sarge delve into the weird side in the run-up to Halloween.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Killmonger (2018) #1

Dec 4, 2018

KILLMONGER #1 reads like the opening act of a classical tragedy. The book explores what is at the core of this character who is somewhere between villain and antihero, and what fatal flaws will ultimately lead to his downfall. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Lightstep #1

Nov 21, 2018

I'd hesistate to say that Lightstep #1 is great, but it could be the beginning of a great series. I'm looking forward to seeing how it unfolds, and I recommend you check it out, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Lucifer (2018) #1

Oct 17, 2018

LUCIFER #1 kicks off a dark story that is heavy on mood and tension, with excellent artwork to back it up. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Man Without Fear (2019) #1

Jan 2, 2019

MAN WITHOUT FEAR #1 is a great start to this new five-issue run. We're probing deep into what's at the core of Daredevil as a character what makes him tick, and whether he's truly the Man Without Fear.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Martian Manhunter (2018) #2

Jan 12, 2019

MARTIAN MANHUNTER #2 takes what worked in the first issue, then expands on it. The Earth-bound parts of the story are more compelling, while flashbacks to J'onn's life on Mars are brilliant. Don't sleep on this series, as it may prove to be one of the year's best.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Outer Darkness #1

Nov 10, 2018

OUTER DARKNESS #1 offers a loving tribute to genre tropes. However, the horror/sci-fi narrative is engaging on its own merits. There is plenty here for fans of STAR TREK or ALIEN, but even readers outside the genre fan base should still find a lot to love.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 5, 2018

SHAZAM #1 is a welcome return for the world's mightiest mortal. It's a fun, all-ages book that dispenses with the origin stories and jumps right into the new adventures of the character and the extended Shazam family.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Snotgirl #11

Sep 6, 2018

Snotgirl #11 welcomes readers back into the story with an issue that keeps the larger mysteries on the back burner. Instead, we're focused on the development of relationships between characters, especially between Lottie and Caroline. However, the larger story still comes up, leading to a cliff hanger at the issue's end. It's a strong start to the new story, and it will leave readers primed for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Spider-Geddon #4

Nov 21, 2018

You get the impression that writer Christos Gage is feeling the pressure in SPIDER-GEDDON #4. The issue seems a bit rushed, leaving certain plot points a bit underdeveloped. However, it's not a bad entry, and the art holds up throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Spider-Geddon #5

Dec 19, 2018

The Spider-Geddon event had a lot of story to tie up in one issue. As a result, SPIDER-GEDDON #5 is extremely fast-paced once the climactic battle gets rolling. Still, it's an ambitious conclusion to the story, setting up some interesting developments for our myriad Spider-people in 2019 and beyond.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Gwen: Ghost-Spider (2018) #1

Oct 24, 2018

SPIDER-GWEN: GHOST SPIDER #1 is a high-energy continuation of the Spider-Gwen story. There's great storytelling, plus eye-catching artwork. I highly recommend it for fans of the character, as well as new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Spider-Gwen: Ghost-Spider (2018) #2

Nov 28, 2018

SPIDER-GWEN: GHOST-SPIDER #2 is a strong follow-up to an impressive first issue. The writing is tight and fast-paced, with excellent pencil and color work. This may be a new favorite of mine among Marvel's current crop of titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spider-Man: Enter The Spider-Verse #1

Nov 21, 2018

SPIDER-MAN: ENTER THE SPIDER-VERSE #1 is only tangentially-related to any of the Spider-events going on right now. It's nonessential, so pick it up if you're an avowed web-head. Otherwise, you can skip it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Best Defense: The Immortal Hulk #1

Dec 6, 2018

IMMORTAL HULK: THE BEST DEFENSE #1 is a mystery story. What it lacks in action, it more than makes up for in tension and a mounting sense of dread.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
The Freeze #1

Dec 4, 2018

THE FREEZE #1 avoids many of the cliches of the apocalypse/survival genre, providing a welcome change in the crowded field. The book offers concise, engaging storytelling with a unique art style. I recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Life Of Captain Marvel #5

Dec 19, 2018

I'm not gonna lie...I cried.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
The Unstoppable Wasp (2018) #1

Oct 17, 2018

The Unstoppable Wasp #1 is a mixed bag, but it's more "hit" than "miss." I'd recommend it for fans of the character or for those of other Marvel titles targeted at younger readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Warning #1

Nov 28, 2018

The artwork in THE WARNING #1 from Image Comics is appealing right from page one. However, the narrative isn't super cohesive, and there's not much to hook readers. It's an intriguing opener, but too soon to judge where the story is headed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Typhoid Fever (2018): X-Men #1

Nov 7, 2018

TYPHOID FEVER: X-MEN is a good middle chapter for an overall interesting three-part story. It has some issues in both the storytelling and art departments, but the positives outweigh the negatives for me overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Typhoid Fever (2018): Spider-Man #1

Oct 3, 2018

Despite some issues, TYPHOID FEVER: SPIDER-MANis a good start for this three-issue limited series. Typhoid Mary is letting madness loose on Manhattan, and it promises to take us to some interesting places despite a couple of hiccups in the story. The artwork is excellent, and I'm excited to see where we're headed next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Vault of Spiders #1

Nov 2, 2018

VAULT OF SPIDERS #1 is a fun little snapshot of some of the less-traveled corners of the Spider-Verse. Even if these characters do turn up later in the Spider-Geddon event, you'll be able to get the gist without reading this volume. It's a nonessential, but I'd recommend it either way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
What If? (2018): Punisher #1

Oct 10, 2018

What If? Punisher #1 is not a masterpiece. However, it's a solid little story, backed by great and stylish artwork. I'd recommend checking it out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More