Manor Black #1 View Preview
Prev Series Next

Manor Black #1

Writer: Cullen Bunn, Brian Hurtt Artist: Tyler Crook Publisher: Dark Horse Comics Release Date: July 31, 2019 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 12 User Reviews: 3
8.8Critic Rating
8.2User Rating

+ Pull List

From the creators of Harrow County and The Sixth Gun comes this gothic horror fantasy about a family of sorcerers in crisis. Roman Black is the moribund patriarch of a family of powerful sorcerers. As his wicked and corrupt children fight over who will take the reins of Manor Black and become representative of the black arts, Roman adopts a young mage whom he gifts his powers to with the hope that someone good will take his place against the evil forces out to bring down his family and legacy.

  • 10
    But Why Tho? - Kate Snchez Jul 31, 2019

    Manor Black #1 has laid the building blocks for a dark world that I'm excited to fall into. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Horror DNA - James Ferguson Aug 6, 2019

    Manor Black is tailor made for fans of Harrow County and The Sixth Gun. That makes sense, of course, because those books are made by the same creative team. This serves as a spiritual successor, particularly to Harrow County, with a similar look and feel. Most of all, it delivers some of my favorite kinds of horror. It's the kind that seeps into your skin, making you uncomfortable to turn the page, but forcing you to go on. Read Full Review

  • 9.2
    The Super Powered Fancast - Deron Generally Jul 31, 2019

    Tyler Crook's art is great. I love the style of the pages and panels and how he moves the story along visually. Can't wait to see more. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Multiversity Comics - Christopher Egan Aug 2, 2019

    A perfectly creepy blend of old world horrors and magic. Bunn, Hurtt, and Crook deliver on a beautifully sinister premiere that is akin to Lovecraft, Blackwood, and Mignola. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comic Crusaders - Johnny "The Machine" Hughes Jul 22, 2019

    I sometimes feel that horror can be hard to accomplish in comics. Sure, you can have over the top gore or over the top monsters, but there is nuance that is lost, be it the music track or the “there they are behind the door; now they're gone!” type of effect. To remain so popular and so consistent as Bunn and to some extent Hurtt, show the calibre of their work, This is no different. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Major Spoilers - Stacy Baugher Jul 29, 2019

    MANOR BLACK #1 is another feather in the cap of the prolific Mr. Bunn and his collaborator Mr. Hurtt, a black, bloody feather. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    AiPT! - Nathan Simmons Jul 30, 2019

    Fans of modern gothic tales like Dark Shadows or the works of Shirley Jackson will find a lot to love in Manor Black. Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    Graphic Policy - Brett Jul 31, 2019

    I have no idea where Manor Black is going after this first issue. I expected a horror series but this is so much more delivering a unique comic that stands out from the pack. The trio of creators have another solid release here showing off the talent we've come to expect from all of them. Even with high expectations that not met them but blew past them in every way. Read Full Review

  • 8.3
    Rogues Portal - Jim Allegro Jul 24, 2019

    Crook, the artist, previously worked with Bunn on Harrow County and understands the task of building a suspenseful story. He shades the interiors of the Black family mansion in bleak hues to reinforce the idea of a family fading into irrelevance. His shadowing and loose line-work heighten the uncertainty as we follow the mage's encounter with Roman Black. The result is a fruitful collaboration between artist and writer that should continue through the miniseries. Read Full Review

  • 8.3
    Sequential Planet - Danilo To Jul 31, 2019

    This was a spectacular surprise in my pull list as I knew nothing of this comic before reading it and now I can't get enough. I hope the title maintain it's quality as it progresses because the story is deeply instigating and the magic in this world seems like a well-constructed one and that always puts a smile on this reviewer's face. Read Full Review

  • 8.2
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - David DeCorte Jul 29, 2019

    MANOR BLACK #1 is a home run. Bunn and Hurtt's storytelling is sharp, and brought to vivid life by Crook's sublime artwork. Definitely worth checking out Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Tanner Dedmon Jul 31, 2019

    Some things are better left to the imagination or left as teasers to go along with the big reveals, a balance which future issues of Manor Black will hopefully succeed in reaching. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More