Kate Snchez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 90
8.7Avg. Review Rating

10
Angel (2019) #1

May 29, 2019

Overall, Angel #1is a strong debut for a reimagining of an old character that has me ready for the rest of the series. Both the script and art have created a dark world that not only fits well with the existing character but improves on it in ways I never thought possible.Angel #1is a must-read for those who watched Angeland for those who don't know who he is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angel (2019) #2

Jun 26, 2019

Angel #2 is a perfect issue that balance Angelus and Angel, with the poetry of the former when needed and the one-liners for the latter to distinguish the two, building out the two halves of the character. As a series, I am buckled in for the rest ofAngel and with the crossover event with theBuffyseries coming, I'm more than ready.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angel (2019) #3

Jul 31, 2019

With the Hellmouth event announced during SDCC, we know that inAngel #5we're going to see Angel and Buffy meet, but until then, I'm satisfied with the bonds that Hill is solidifying.Angel #3further shows readers that both Hill and Melnikov understand not only the character of Angel but the toy box of horror imagery and trope and how to play with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Angel (2019) #4

Aug 27, 2019

Finally, with Hellmouth #1 on the horizon, the first Buffy and Angel comic event starting withAngel #5, this issue does a great job of setting it up. If you were waiting for a full arc to complete before jumping in, now is your chance to pick up one of the best horror comics of the year, and truly the best iteration of Angel.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Angel (2019) #5

Sep 29, 2019

Angel #5is perfectly a set up for the Hellmouth event, but because of that, it feels slightly empty. While this isn't a bad issue, it's simply just okay, looking to bring us into a different story for a separate event and not really focused on the dynamic of the Angelseries proper.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angel (2019) #7

Nov 30, 2019

Overall,Angel #7is a good use of Angel's time away. We're learning more about our supporting cast and the world that Hill is building. With its titular character in an event, series often struggle, but with Angel,it's full steam ahead and I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ascender #2

May 31, 2019

The preview stops as a large figure approaches them. The art is gorgeous and I am immediately pulled into Kayden's emotions. His tiny body against large cargo and I need to know more. Sea of Stars #1comes out July 3rd.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ascender #3

Jun 27, 2019

Overall, Ascender continues to be a must-read title for genre fans. That being said, each issue has ended slightly abruptly, leaving me to think that this series will benefit in from trade volume form.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ascender #4

Jul 25, 2019

Overall, between the concise storytelling and beautiful artwork, Ascenderis a must read for fans of fantasy. It offers beauty, wonder, darkness, and hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ascender #5

Aug 30, 2019

Overall, Ascender #5 has moments that set up the rest of the story, but outside of Mother's person-melding moment, there aren't many things that issue causes an impact with. While I'm not blown away by the issue, I am invested in Mia's survival, which is enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ascender #6

Oct 27, 2019

The art is stunning, as it is in every issue. It's soulful and fantastic. Warm and inviting at points, cold and distant at others, and whenever Mother is in a panel, it is terrifying. Nguyen knows how to tell a story with his art and Lemire's emotional narrative has made Ascendera great science fiction " fantasy to read. It's lovely, action-packed, and has been nearly perfect across the six issues that have been published. Ascender #6brings the emotional weight and in it, we start to see the background of the current story. The world of Ascender just gets bigger and more interesting to fall into.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basketful of Heads #1

Oct 30, 2019

Overall, I'm excited for the rest of Basketful of Headseven if this issue didn't give too much away. The premise behind the talking heads at the beginning of the issue is enough to read past the set-up and if you've read Hill's work before like Locke & Keyfrom IDW Publishing you know that when he decides to hit, he's gonna hit hard.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Basketful of Heads #2

Nov 27, 2019

That said, the lack of dialogue does make for a quick read, and the inclusion of a chapter ofSea Dogsalso makes the issue feel really short. While not a bad thing, the pace picking up at the end catapults the reader into excitement that only issue number three can answer. As such, I'm hoping it will be a longer issue, or at least not feel as quick. That being said, that's a very small critique for a series that's shaping up to be a horror comic heavyweight.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basketful of Heads #3

Dec 18, 2019

Overall, in Basketful of Heads #3 the creative team knocks yet another issue out of the park. The ending of each issue thus far has left me with on a hook, waiting for the next one and I can't wait until next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basketful of Heads #4

Jan 22, 2020

With only a few issues left, Basketful of Heads #4 proves that horror fans far and wide should be looking to Hill House Comics and most definitely picking up this title. While I'm still frustrated by the seemingly short length given the inclusion of the Sea Dogs chapter per issue, that's only because I want more of June's story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond (2016) #32

May 22, 2019

Overall,Batman Beyond #32isn't great, but it isn't bad. The art and villain alone make up for frustrating character moments and so long as this charade isn't kept up much longer, the dynamic between Terry and The Splitt is sure to give a satisfying conclusion to the “Divide, Conquer, and Kill” arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman Beyond (2016) #33

Jun 26, 2019

Overall, Batman Beyond #33 has effectively pulled me back into this arc. Splitt remains an intriguing villain, not-Bruce is finally found out, and by giving the McGinnis boys a reveal, they establish some rules to False Face's powers that open the door for more intriguing doppelgnging. With the ending of this issue moving the narrative in a new direction, the excitement for what comes next will keep me reading issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman Beyond (2016) #34

Jul 24, 2019

Overall, I've grown tired of this arc and I was hoping that after the reveal of False Faces power-set, we'd see smart characters acting like themselves. Like I've explained, in Batman Beyond #34 this isn't the case. The more frustrating piece to all of this is that The Splitt is one of my favorite villains from DC Comics so far this year. They're interesting; Adam and Cade are a different kind of speedster, and their dueling personalities make their interactions with Terry great to see. False Face is also an intriguing villain.It's the failed potential of "Divide, Conquer, and Kill" that makes Batman Beyond #34 hurt the most as a fan of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond (2016) #35

Aug 28, 2019

Overall, this arc is reshaping itself and moving away from out-of-character decisions that marred previous issues. So long as the story keeps moving away from False Face pulling the wool over everyone's eyes without even trying and towards exploring The Splitt, the arc can be a good one despite the rocky start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #6

Jul 4, 2019

With all of that said, Buffy The Vampire Slayer #6 is a solid issue with enough heart and character progression to build out the world further. I am truly in love with these characters, their relationships, and I'm ready for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #7

Aug 8, 2019

Overall, I'm unsure if I can come back into the book. The jump away from Mora's art has been frustrating for the most part and I'm unsure what to do as a reader. Bellaire's narrative is beautiful and she understands the characters but sadly, Lpez's art doesn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #8

Sep 9, 2019

Overall, Bellaire's story and Angulo's colors are great but Lpez's art pulls me out of it. It's been a common complaint this arc, but the strength of the story keeps pulling me back, not to mention that Hill'sAngelseries is substantially different than Bellaire'sBuffyseries, so seeing them come together is something that I have been waiting for since it was announced.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019): The Chosen Ones #1

Aug 28, 2019

Perhaps the saddest part of The Chosen Ones #1is that "Behind the Mask" takes place 12 years after "The Mission." Given that only one Slayer can be awakened at any given time it means that Hutash did not live into old age. That being said,Buffy The Vampire Slayer: The Chosen Ones #1proves to be a wonderful and inspective piece of Slayer lore that also aims to move its audience. As a die-hard Buffy fan, I can't wait for the rest of this one-shot and how it expands the Buffy-verse.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 9 #5

Jun 5, 2019

Pick up Buffy The Vampire #5 because of the cliffhanger left after the last issue, but don't expect for it hit you in the Buffy-feels like every issue preceding it was able to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #1

Oct 9, 2019

Hellmouth #1is utter perfection. As a life-long Buffy fan, as a critic, this issue moved me and brought the depth and stakes needed for a crossover event.Hellomouth #1is a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #2

Nov 14, 2019

That being said, Carlini's art is gorgeous horror. The creature design is beautiful and the monsters are distinct from anything I've seen before " save for the vampires of the Hellmouth that draw direct inspiration from season seven of the television series. The tone of this event, set by the art, is more akin to the beauty and darkness of Gleb Melnikov's work on the art of the ongoing Angelseries than the current comedic art in theBuffy the Vampireseries. By keeping the darkness in the art and bringing in the camp in the dialogue,Hellmouth #2is a great blend of both worlds.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #3

Dec 13, 2019

I am in love with everything about this event. From the way that Bellaire and Lambert have built our Angel and Buffy's fledgling relationship, to the choice to leave the rest of the characters in the solo-titles while we focus on the main two in this event. There is an understanding of the Buffyverse that is extremely noticeable but never repetitive. As a life-long Buffy-verse fan I can't predict where this event is going to end, who is going to end it, or even if I'll get to see Angel and Buffy romantically linked, but with Hellmouth #3I'm excited to keep reading to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daphne Byrne #1

Jan 8, 2020

Overall, Daphne Byrne #1is a decent start with exciting elements that keep me tuned in for the rest of the series. I'm excited for the potential of this miniseries and I can't wait to see more of the occult and Daphne's goth looks later on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased #2

Jun 5, 2019

In the end, we know that the world doesn't escape and thrive, as the narrator tells us, they sought to hide, but they were too late.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased #3

Jul 3, 2019

With issue number three down,DCEASED remains one of my favorite comics out right now. It is horrific, it is beautiful, and it is devastating. DCEASED #3 is a story that moves beyond shock and awe and focuses on breaking your heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
DCeased #4

Aug 7, 2019

Each kill and its consequence is crafted skillfully by an author who understands the different empathic connections we have to the heroes. Taylor exploits the emotional threads between us and our icons in the way horror should. Pick up DCEASED #4,you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased #5

Oct 2, 2019

With one issue left in the mini-series,DCeasedremains a standout comic with issue number five. It's dark, emotional, and extremely well-written, heightened when the narrator is revealed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased #6

Oct 30, 2019

The series has given us beautiful moments like Dinah becoming Earth's Green Lantern, but it's also shown us Alfred having to kill his son after a painful goodbye to Damian. There is a lot of meat in a story that also brings such detailed moments of dismemberment and gore. DCeasedis why I love horror.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DCeased: A Good Day To Die #1

Sep 4, 2019

Overall, DCEASED: A Good Day To Die #1is a good tie-in issue. It opens up the world beyond one group of heroes and offers up beautiful art. That being said, there isn't an emotional core to the book which leaves me questioning why I didn't feel more. That being said, if you're currently reading DCEASED,this is a must read and if you're new to the story, this is a great way to jump in before the other series wraps.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Faithless #2

May 23, 2019

Overall, the fact that Faithless is only a six-issue series means that I will ride this story out, but I can't say that progression in the story executed with what it needed to in order to add weight to Faith's magical awakening, right after having her sexual awakening in the last issue. While Faith is interesting, Poppy's manic pixie dream girl is as frustrating as any character that fits that trope. With the high rating that I gave Faithless #1,this issue was a let-down.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Faithless #3

Jun 21, 2019

Overall, this will be my last review ofFaithless.It's direction shift and shock jock scripting is frustrating. Sadly, this limited series is one that I have been waiting for and I'm saddened to see where it is now with only two issues left. I will be following Llovet's work, but that's the only takeaway I have from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goddess Mode #6

Jun 19, 2019

Overall, Goddess Mode #6 is a phenomenal end to this arc. With the future of the series dependent on sales from this point, I hope to all the Oracles we get to see more of this world, especially considering the ramifications of the final fight. But, this issue closed out so well, that if the door remains closed, this issue completes the story well, even with some threads that can be picked up in the future. Ultimately Goddess Mode #1 " #6 is one of my favorite arcs in comics, not just for 2019 but ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gotham City Monsters #1

Sep 11, 2019

Overall, Gotham City Monsters #1 is not going to be for everyone, but for those of us who can spot a great monster tale in a formulaic structure, it's going to hit like Frankenstein's sword. As a horror fan, as a monster fan, Gotham City Monsters is my jam.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Gotham City Monsters #2

Oct 9, 2019

Overall,Gotham City Monster #2is fun but is yet again another issue of visiting each monster, while this works for set-up, it is slightly repetitive of last issue's focus. That said, this is a spooky series that perfectly capture everything that monster fans love. There are the bones to a great mini-series but hopefully, issue number three brings it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #1

Dec 31, 1969

Overall, Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy #1is a great read and start to the mini-series. Whether you love Harley and Ivy already, or newcomers to the duo, this is an issue for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #2

Oct 9, 2019

Overall, Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy #2solidifies my opinion of the mini-series as a whole. It's one that hits on the heart of the characters by creating a real relationship. In addition, even though I have never been a fan of narratives that center villains as heroes, this one works and works well. I truly can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #3

Nov 13, 2019

Overall, Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy #3is a good issue, but it isn't extraordinary. The Mad Hatter's plan for Harley seems out of nowhere and I question its inclusion in the plot outside of showing an armored Ivy taking down baddies. Which, while it doesn't damage the narrative, does throw it off slightly. That being said, I am pulled into Harley and Ivy's relationship and friendship and I'm in love with how they fight for each other. With three more issues, I'm excited to see how this mini-series concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #5

Jan 8, 2020

Truthfully, Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy #5is a fun read, but it's at its best when it's showing us the characters' relationships. That being said, the art and colors from Melo, Morales, and Hi-Fi are vibrant and dynamic. This miniseries is just happy, it's joyful, and it's fun and that's all it needs to be. With one issue left, the reveal of a hidden baddie at the end of the issues sets up for a killer last issue next month and I'm excited to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
High Level #5

Dec 31, 1969

There is only one issue left in the arc and afterHigh Level #5I'm not sure how excited I am to see the arc end and have some questions answered. With the recent announcement of the closing of the DC Vertigo imprint, I'm worried for all of the titles I'm reading from the publisher. That said, if this story was to wrap entirely after number six, it would feel like the journey had run its course.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
John Constantine: Hellblazer #1

Nov 27, 2019

You can pick it up at comic book stores and online through our affiliate link.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
La Voz de M.A.Y.O: Tata Rambo #1

Nov 11, 2019

La Voz de M.A.Y.Ois a must-read graphic novel. It tells an important story, writing M.A.Y.O back into the history of Arizona and of the U.S. By including original newsletters from the organization in the closing pages, Barajas allows you to read the history yourself in tandem with his retelling of his Tata's history. This is a graphic novel that should be taught in history courses at all levels; it's a piece of history to read on your own and it's a story to share and keep alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Manor Black #1

Jul 31, 2019

Manor Black #1 has laid the building blocks for a dark world that I'm excited to fall into.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Riverdale Season 3 #3

May 7, 2019

Overall, Riverdale Season 3 #3 continues to show why fans of the show should pick up the series. While this issue does require prior knowledge of the CW series, it isn't a hindrance given its nature as a tie-in. That being said, I do recommend that those who are new to the Riverdale world start watching the show, now available on Netflix, to start to get a feel for the world and the dynamics in it to fully enjoy this comic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Riverdale Season 3 #4

Jun 24, 2019

Riverdale Season 3 #4will be available where comics are sold on June 26, 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Riverdale Season 3 #5

Aug 1, 2019

Overall, Riverdale Season 3 is a wonderful addition to the existing story of Riverdaleon the CW. It's a must-read for people who love the world that's been adapted to television and at the end of the day, each of these five issues holds two great stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #3

May 10, 2019

Overall, I highly recommend Ronin Islandfor its story, for its art, and for its heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #4

Jun 7, 2019

Overall, Ronin Island #4continues to tell a wonderful story that will have fantasy and horror fans in love with every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #5

Aug 6, 2019

Ronin Island remains a must-buy series. With the volume currently available, Ronin Island #5 is the perfect time to jump into the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #6

Sep 13, 2019

Overall, there isn't much more that I can say about Ronin Island #6.It's good, like the rest of the series has been but really separates itself from other issues by offering character depth and details. Our leads are evolving, and it's perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sabrina the Teenage Witch (2019) #2

May 17, 2019

Overall, Sabrina the Teenage Witch #2 introduces us to a larger world of magic, where issue number one introduced us to the world of high school. With creature designs like the ones in this issue, I'm hoping that Greendale is on top of "a freaking ancient monster burial ground" with many more to come. As a fan of fantasy and witchy stories, Sabrina the Teenage Witch #2is a comic you need to pick up for writing, art, and the world that's being built in Greendale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sabrina the Teenage Witch (2019) #4

Aug 1, 2019

Overall, with one issue left, Sabrina the Teenage Witchis a series you need to pick up. With Sabrina the Teenage Witch #4,Thompson writes a true teenage identity story while the artists, Veronica and Andy Fish, offer up a beautiful world to jump into, one of spooky fantasy and vibrant spells.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Samurai Jack: Lost Worlds #1

May 11, 2019

Overall, Samurai JackLost Worlds #1is a must-read for anySamurai Jackfan but it may not be impactful for those who have not seen the television animation. The story hinges on a connection between the reader and the real Jack, so that when the realization hits, we feel the turn in the story. While I won't say that this isn't accessible for all readers, it will certainly land better and with more power for those familiar with or fans of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Samurai Jack: Lost Worlds #2

Jun 21, 2019

Overall, the ending Samurai Jack: Lost Worlds #2 is great, with a moral that wraps to the top of the issue and the importance of stories. That being said, this also means that I can't write much more without spoiling it and believe me, you want to pick this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Secrets of Sinister House #1

Dec 31, 1969

Secrets of Sinister House #1is a must-read for the Halloween season. It's packed with stories that chill and embody the very best of gothic horror, penny dreadfuls, and all the camp can lie in side them. With only one of the eight stories feeling detached, this is a solid anthology.It's solid horror.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sera and the Royal Stars #1

Jul 22, 2019

Sera and the Royal Stars #1 is a beautiful opening to the start of a fantasy. Tsuei knows the genre extremely well and his dialogue feels authentic, especially between Sera and her family. The dialogue is also powerful in defining Sera as a character. It shows us, rather than telling us, where her moral compass lies in the early pages as she instructs her troops to allow the enemy forces to bury their dead. From Tsuei's writing to Mok's art and Angulo's colors to Campbell's perfect lettering, I am undeniably hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sera and the Royal Stars #2

Aug 31, 2019

Overall, the fantasy world ofSera and the Sacred Starsis one that you can easily step into and be engulfed by. It's beautiful and vast. I can't wait to see where Tsuei brings it next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sera and the Royal Stars #4

Oct 26, 2019

Overall, Sera & The Royal Stars #4 is perfection. Of all the fantasies I've read in the past ten years, Sera & The Royal Starsis one that I desperately want to see adapted and kept alive long after the comic run concludes. This hero's journey is familiar while also being jam-packed with new ideas, concepts, and myths.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sera and the Royal Stars #5

Dec 9, 2019

Overall, I can not recommend Sera and the Royal Starsenough. With the trade set to release in mid-December, I implore lovers of fantasy and story to pick it up and catch up with the adventure thus far. As for Sera and the Royal Stars #5,this issue is beautiful, action-packed, and emotional in all the best ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Said Destroy #2

Jul 4, 2019

Overall, I will continue to highly recommend She Said Destroy to fans of comics, to fans of fantasy, and to fans of science fiction. It's a beautiful looking series with a story that is shaping up to build out a whole world to fall in love with.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Smooth Criminals #6

Jun 1, 2019

Overall, Smooth Criminals #6 offers up a climax to the big score we've been waiting for but ends on a cliffhanger that will you counting the days until issue seven comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Smooth Criminals #7

Jul 21, 2019

While I am in still in love withSmooth Criminalsas a series, I hope it finds a calmer pace and expands on the characters that I've come to root for.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Smooth Criminals #8

Aug 25, 2019

Overall, Smooth Criminals #8is a rough ending to a stellar series. While I love Mia and Brenda, the speed with which their story concludes makes me want better for them. I want the character choices to make sense but we haven't had enough time for them to do so. While I recommend the series as a whole, I'd wait for a trade to be published before picking up your copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Space Bandits #1

Jul 3, 2019

Like most Netflix joint comics,Space Banditsis a limited series, set to run for five issues. With that, it's also important to keep in mind that it is listed as an adaptation and that a Netflix has confirmed that it will be joining other Millarworld projects like Jupiter's Legacy,Empress, andHuckon the streaming platform in the future. This has me extremely excited for the following issues and ultimately has me ready for action, emotion, and more killer scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Space Bandits #2

Aug 6, 2019

The creative team behind Space Bandits is perfection. The series shows an understanding of cyberpunk aesthetics and science fiction tropes in a way that empowers the narrative. And let's be honest, Thena and Cody are just badass. If you haven't picked it up yet, Space Bandits #2 is a must-read for science fiction fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Space Bandits #5

Nov 5, 2019

Space Bandits #5,while ending its story in a complete way also opens the door for a sequel series. I for one, can't wait to ride with Thena and Cody again, my new favorite sci-fi comic team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: The Legends of Luke Skywalker: The Manga #1

Jan 27, 2020

Overall, The Legends of Luke Skywalker is a moving collection of stories that not only show us more about Luke but serves as a testament to the mythos that has surrounded him. What the manga does is bring life to Liu's beautiful stories with varying art styles, with each of the stories offering up emotion and perspective.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dollhouse Family #1

Nov 13, 2019

The Dollhouse Family#1 is a wonderful world-building first issue and the intense ending that will leave readers clamoring for more. With two series out now forHill House Comics, it's undeniable that this new imprint pop up is a horror force for comics andThe Dollhouse Familyis a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Dollhouse Family #2

Dec 11, 2019

Now two issues in, the min-series is shaping up to be wonderful. That said, I fully hope that there is more about the Dollhouse, more about the magic, and just more about Alice in the next issues. With that being said, The Dollhouse Family #2is a solid entry with a great ending moment. It's hard to do, but each issue has so far ended conclusively. The single issues work entirely by themselves as stories, while also leaving enough thread for the next issue to hold onto when it picks back up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Dollhouse Family #3

Jan 8, 2020

Overall, The Dollhouse Family #3could have been the height of the series so far, but instead, it leaves me cautious to pick up another one at all. The supernatural horror is done well while the real-world terror is lazily inserted.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The End: Doctor Strange #1

Jan 12, 2020

Doctor Strange The End #1is an emotional kick-off to watching our heroes end, and I'm excited about what other one-shots have to offer. Doctor Strange has never been so compelling as he is in his end.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The Infected: Deathbringer #1

Dec 4, 2019

Overall, the implications of The Infected: Deathbringer#1's ending holds more weight than the actual story itself. Quinn has shown that she knows how to write complicated characters buckling under expectation and responsibilities but this isn't brought over to Donna Troy. While she gets close to this, she misses the mark, lost in her own wordsmithing. But with a fluctuating team, all of these issues are understandable and I hope that the next time we see Deathbringer in other event issues, she's given her fierce due.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Infected: King Shazam #1

Nov 6, 2019

As a continuation of "The Year of the Villain," The Infected King Shazam #1succeeds and necessitates further reading of the issues in the event, which at the end of the day, is what you want from something as expansive as "The Year of the Villain."

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Low, Low Woods #1

Dec 18, 2019

There is not one element ofThe Low Low Woods #1 that feels impersonal, yet all of it feels bigger than this single issue, leaving me eager to add issue-two to my pull list as soon as I can. With one creature shown, I know there is so much more to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Replacer #1

Jun 11, 2019

For readers who have experienced this kind of trauma, this is a must-read. In some ways, it gives those of us who have lived through similar situations a vocabulary to discuss it. The Replacer is a read I highly recommend. It is deep, dark, and gut-wrenching. This graphic novella uses horror as it's intended to be used. It tells us something about ourselves, our concerns, our fears, and ultimately how all of those are not always what they seem.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sandman Universe: Hellblazer #1

Oct 30, 2019

Overall, The Sandman Universe Presents:Hellblazer #1is a gorgeous exploration into John Constantine's mind, his torment, and how he constructs his identity. I'm in love with this one-shot's beauty but also the pain that is shows Constantine moves through. I'm a trauma-mangled person too and the way that Spurrier explains Constantine's constant state of madness, as well as the world inflicting it on him, is well-done. Spurrier's Constantine is someone I've bought into because of this one-shot and now, I can't wait for John Constantine, Hellblazer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Secret Life of Pets #1

May 23, 2019

Overall, this issue is a great read for either those who love cute animals and the existing franchise and children alike. With art that sings and pets with personality, The Secret Life of Pets #1is a great addition to Titan's kids' comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unearth #2

Aug 15, 2019

Overall, Unearth #2 is another great issue in an already amazing series. Since this issue is light on the grotesque " well, outside the pustules on the walls " I'm expecting more body horror as the series continues and we start to spend more time with the diseased. It's safe to say I'm strapped in for this ride and I can't wait for issue three.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unearth #3

Sep 12, 2019

Unearth is the series I have wanted. It has the energy of Alien with the suspense and body horror of The Thing and all wrapped into a unique story. It's a must read for horror fans far and wide.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #750

Jan 22, 2020

This issue also provides fans with eight variant covers that tracks Wonder Woman's identity over the 80 decades she's been published in with one from the 1940s by Joshua Middleton, the 1950s by Jenny Frison, the 1960s by J. Scott Campbell and Sabine Rich, the 1970s by Olivier Coipel, the 1980s by George Prez and Laura Martin, the 1990s by Brian Bolland, the 2000s by Adam Hughes, and the 2010s by Jim Lee, Scott Williams & Alex Sinclair.Wonder Woman #750stands a love letter to the titular character. Overall, this issue is going to mean a lot to many people and I'm happy to say it's a worthy celebration for our hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Wonder Woman: Come Back To Me #1

Jul 17, 2019

I can't say that Wonder Woman: Come Back to Me #1 scratches my Wonder Woman itch, but it does have some stellar posing shots of our hero that I would gladly frame and hang in my office. Beyond that, it isn't bad, it's just there. Whether this is because this is the third printing of this particular story or it's because of the story, Wonder Woman: Come Back to Me #1 is average in everything but the design of Wonder Woman herself.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #1

Dec 18, 2019

Overall, I think thatWonder Woman: Dead Earthwill thrive once all four books have been released. While I love the title there are some glaring issues that keep this book from greatness though I have absolute faith in its development which makes me frustrated that the book is coming out every other month, but is to be expected with the 48-page count. If you're looking for a different kind of Wonder Woman story, pick upDead Earth.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Xena: Warrior Princess (2019) #2

May 16, 2019

Overall, I came to this new series out of a love for Xena and I'm staying because of a creative team that feeds that nostalgia while also offering up an interesting and unique world of their own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Xena: Warrior Princess (2019) #3

Jun 16, 2019

Overall, Xena: Warrior Princess #3continues a great series. Each month, I patiently wait for the next issue like I used to wait for new episodes of the television show. I can't think of a better writer behind my childhood icon, and as the story seems to be taking us well beyond Greek mythology, the series is fresh, fun, and something I have fallen completely in love with.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Xena: Warrior Princess (2019) #4

Jul 14, 2019

Overall, and I feel like I say this with every issue review, Xena: Warrior Princess #4has me more in love with this iteration of the characters that I know and love. Beyond that, I am excited to see more myths being reimagined and interacted with, and since the trio has been teleported to yet another interesting place on the final page, I can't wait to pick up issue number five.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Xena: Warrior Princess (2019) #6

Sep 22, 2019

Overall, Xena: Warrior Princess #6is another success for Dynamite and the creative team. I say it every time I review this title but it continues to ring true, this is the Xena I missed from pop culture and each issue feels like a warm hug from the fandom to me thanks to Ayala's storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

More