Kate Snchez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 220
8.9Avg. Review Rating

10
Act-Age #1

Jun 25, 2020

Overall, Act-Age Volume 1is a wonderful shonen series, and one that is a must-buy. With chapters available on the VIZ Media's Shonen Jump, no need to just stop at chapter seven.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
An Incurable Case of Love #4

Jun 26, 2020

An Incurable Case of Love Volume 4is the pivotal moment in a romance manga - the main characters' first time and clear declaration of love. If Enjoji's prior work is any indication, Sakura and Tendo are full speed ahead and this hospital romance has a long life left. With Tendo,Enjoji has crafted a lovable and awkward leading man who has finally opened his heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
An Incurable Case of Love #6

Jan 14, 2021

Overall,An Incurable Case of Love Volume 6 is still a good continuation of a great series and one of my favorite josei titles currently in English print. While the heroine has her issues, the way that Tendo and Nanase have developed over time is getting close to a satisfying conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angel (2019) #1

May 29, 2019

Overall, Angel #1is a strong debut for a reimagining of an old character that has me ready for the rest of the series. Both the script and art have created a dark world that not only fits well with the existing character but improves on it in ways I never thought possible.Angel #1is a must-read for those who watched Angeland for those who don't know who he is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angel (2019) #2

Jun 26, 2019

Angel #2 is a perfect issue that balance Angelus and Angel, with the poetry of the former when needed and the one-liners for the latter to distinguish the two, building out the two halves of the character. As a series, I am buckled in for the rest ofAngel and with the crossover event with theBuffyseries coming, I'm more than ready.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angel (2019) #3

Jul 31, 2019

With the Hellmouth event announced during SDCC, we know that inAngel #5we're going to see Angel and Buffy meet, but until then, I'm satisfied with the bonds that Hill is solidifying.Angel #3further shows readers that both Hill and Melnikov understand not only the character of Angel but the toy box of horror imagery and trope and how to play with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Angel (2019) #4

Aug 27, 2019

Finally, with Hellmouth #1 on the horizon, the first Buffy and Angel comic event starting withAngel #5, this issue does a great job of setting it up. If you were waiting for a full arc to complete before jumping in, now is your chance to pick up one of the best horror comics of the year, and truly the best iteration of Angel.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Angel (2019) #5

Sep 29, 2019

Angel #5is perfectly a set up for the Hellmouth event, but because of that, it feels slightly empty. While this isn't a bad issue, it's simply just okay, looking to bring us into a different story for a separate event and not really focused on the dynamic of the Angelseries proper.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angel (2019) #7

Nov 30, 2019

Overall,Angel #7is a good use of Angel's time away. We're learning more about our supporting cast and the world that Hill is building. With its titular character in an event, series often struggle, but with Angel,it's full steam ahead and I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angel (2019) #10

Mar 28, 2020

Angel & Spike #10 solidifies the strength of the series on every level. With a new big bad for Angel's team to take on, there is action, and as Angel deals with life after Hell, there is emotion to unpack. Everything there is to love about the Buffyverse is in this issue and the series as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Anti/Hero OGN

Apr 14, 2020

Anti Herois a fun and empowering read for young girls and is a great addition to DC Kids' lineup of graphic novels. While I wanted more from it, its charisma and levity while also touching an some deeper class issues is heartening to read at a time like this. If you're looking for a nice read with your kids, this can be it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ascender #2

May 31, 2019

The preview stops as a large figure approaches them. The art is gorgeous and I am immediately pulled into Kayden's emotions. His tiny body against large cargo and I need to know more. Sea of Stars #1comes out July 3rd.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ascender #3

Jun 27, 2019

Overall, Ascender continues to be a must-read title for genre fans. That being said, each issue has ended slightly abruptly, leaving me to think that this series will benefit in from trade volume form.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ascender #4

Jul 25, 2019

Overall, between the concise storytelling and beautiful artwork, Ascenderis a must read for fans of fantasy. It offers beauty, wonder, darkness, and hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ascender #5

Aug 30, 2019

Overall, Ascender #5 has moments that set up the rest of the story, but outside of Mother's person-melding moment, there aren't many things that issue causes an impact with. While I'm not blown away by the issue, I am invested in Mia's survival, which is enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ascender #6

Oct 27, 2019

The art is stunning, as it is in every issue. It's soulful and fantastic. Warm and inviting at points, cold and distant at others, and whenever Mother is in a panel, it is terrifying. Nguyen knows how to tell a story with his art and Lemire's emotional narrative has made Ascendera great science fiction " fantasy to read. It's lovely, action-packed, and has been nearly perfect across the six issues that have been published. Ascender #6brings the emotional weight and in it, we start to see the background of the current story. The world of Ascender just gets bigger and more interesting to fall into.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basketful of Heads #1

Oct 30, 2019

Overall, I'm excited for the rest of Basketful of Headseven if this issue didn't give too much away. The premise behind the talking heads at the beginning of the issue is enough to read past the set-up and if you've read Hill's work before like Locke & Keyfrom IDW Publishing you know that when he decides to hit, he's gonna hit hard.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Basketful of Heads #2

Nov 27, 2019

That said, the lack of dialogue does make for a quick read, and the inclusion of a chapter ofSea Dogsalso makes the issue feel really short. While not a bad thing, the pace picking up at the end catapults the reader into excitement that only issue number three can answer. As such, I'm hoping it will be a longer issue, or at least not feel as quick. That being said, that's a very small critique for a series that's shaping up to be a horror comic heavyweight.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basketful of Heads #3

Dec 18, 2019

Overall, in Basketful of Heads #3 the creative team knocks yet another issue out of the park. The ending of each issue thus far has left me with on a hook, waiting for the next one and I can't wait until next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basketful of Heads #4

Jan 22, 2020

With only a few issues left, Basketful of Heads #4 proves that horror fans far and wide should be looking to Hill House Comics and most definitely picking up this title. While I'm still frustrated by the seemingly short length given the inclusion of the Sea Dogs chapter per issue, that's only because I want more of June's story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basketful of Heads #6

Mar 25, 2020

With Basketful of Head #6,the creative team continues to one-up itself. June is powerful, her circumstance is dire, and the horror is real. Slasher meets the occult meets a powerful final girl and I can't wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Basketful of Heads #7

May 26, 2020

From the art to the letters and the writing, every part of Basketful of Heads #7hits every horror bone in my body. I don't say this lightly: Basketful of Headsas a series that deserves the film adaptation treatment. This finale is a masterful end to an equally amazing series. If you haven't picked it up, there's no better time than the present.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond (2016) #32

May 22, 2019

Overall,Batman Beyond #32isn't great, but it isn't bad. The art and villain alone make up for frustrating character moments and so long as this charade isn't kept up much longer, the dynamic between Terry and The Splitt is sure to give a satisfying conclusion to the “Divide, Conquer, and Kill” arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman Beyond (2016) #33

Jun 26, 2019

Overall, Batman Beyond #33 has effectively pulled me back into this arc. Splitt remains an intriguing villain, not-Bruce is finally found out, and by giving the McGinnis boys a reveal, they establish some rules to False Face's powers that open the door for more intriguing doppelgnging. With the ending of this issue moving the narrative in a new direction, the excitement for what comes next will keep me reading issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman Beyond (2016) #34

Jul 24, 2019

Overall, I've grown tired of this arc and I was hoping that after the reveal of False Faces power-set, we'd see smart characters acting like themselves. Like I've explained, in Batman Beyond #34 this isn't the case. The more frustrating piece to all of this is that The Splitt is one of my favorite villains from DC Comics so far this year. They're interesting; Adam and Cade are a different kind of speedster, and their dueling personalities make their interactions with Terry great to see. False Face is also an intriguing villain.It's the failed potential of "Divide, Conquer, and Kill" that makes Batman Beyond #34 hurt the most as a fan of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman Beyond (2016) #35

Aug 28, 2019

Overall, this arc is reshaping itself and moving away from out-of-character decisions that marred previous issues. So long as the story keeps moving away from False Face pulling the wool over everyone's eyes without even trying and towards exploring The Splitt, the arc can be a good one despite the rocky start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: The Adventures Continue #1

Apr 1, 2020

Batman: The Adventures Continue #1is fun, nostalgic, and a truly the embodiment of the animate series it draws inspiration from. As the only comic released by DC Comics this week, it'll have the task of holding over readers, and it won't disappoint, for the most part.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beastars #7

Jun 28, 2020

Truthfully, I can't recommend Beastars Volume 7 enough. This is the perfect volume for fans of the anime to jump right in and, on top of that, it offers up a thoughtful and dynamic push in the story through Louis and Legoshi.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beastars #8

Aug 27, 2020

Itagaki's world is immersive and it just keeps expanding. While some may write offBeastarsbecause it's focused on anthropomorphized animals, those who give the series a chance will see how deep and dark the narrative is. Itagaki plays with established tropes from romance, to slice of life, and now to Yakuza stories, and she does so with purpose. BeastarsVolume 8is another fantastic volume for a story that has no intention of slowing down.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beastars #9

Oct 30, 2020

Ultimately Beastars Volume 9 is a volume that is stuffed with content. We learn who Tem's murderer is, we learn Legoshi's backstory, love triangles evolve, and we get to see Louis be a teen again, if even for a small moment. If you fell in love with Netflix's original anime, we're only two volumes past where the anime left off, so it'll still be easy to jump right in. And if you've been enjoying the series in its English manga format, this volume won't disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beastars #10

Jan 9, 2021

Between the reveal of Legoshi's grandfather and a confrontation with Riz the brown bear, Tem's murderer, scheduled to happen in a matter of days,Beastars Volume 10 acts like a calm set-up to what will assuredly be a bombastic conclusion to the arc. With volume 11 of the series set up to pull off a lot, Beastarscontinues to be a series with nearly perfect pace, revealing aspects of its world in perfect timing with readers' expectations.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beastars #11

Feb 25, 2021

In the end, Beastars Volume 11 is the best of the series. As the end to one arc, the shocking events at the end set up a future that will leave our protagonists changed forever. If you're not reading this series yet, you need to. Boy, do you need to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bestia #1

Aug 11, 2020

Bestia Volume 1is a fun read with a magical world that is intriguing, a premise that bridges humor and action, and gorgeous art. This one is a manga to pick up if you're looking for a new read.

View Issue       View Full Review
1
Birds of Prey (2020) #1

Jun 2, 2020

I have never described a piece of media I've reviewed as racist, but that's all I can say forBird of Prey #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Period #1

Nov 5, 2020

Blue Period Volume 1 is a story that isn't just about a boy finding art. No, this is a story about showing a character grow to making choices for himself and not those around him. Yatora's journey is just beginning in this volume but the way Yamaguchi sets up the larger narrative theme of living for yourself and not others around you is one that I'm sure will pay off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #6

Jul 4, 2019

With all of that said, Buffy The Vampire Slayer #6 is a solid issue with enough heart and character progression to build out the world further. I am truly in love with these characters, their relationships, and I'm ready for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #7

Aug 8, 2019

Overall, I'm unsure if I can come back into the book. The jump away from Mora's art has been frustrating for the most part and I'm unsure what to do as a reader. Bellaire's narrative is beautiful and she understands the characters but sadly, Lpez's art doesn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #8

Sep 9, 2019

Overall, Bellaire's story and Angulo's colors are great but Lpez's art pulls me out of it. It's been a common complaint this arc, but the strength of the story keeps pulling me back, not to mention that Hill'sAngelseries is substantially different than Bellaire'sBuffyseries, so seeing them come together is something that I have been waiting for since it was announced.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019): Every Generation #1

Jun 5, 2020

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Every Generation #1is a great one-shot. While each story is powerful, the last two entries overshadow Buffy's story. This doesn't mean that it is bad, she handles a personification of grief and guilt in a great way. That said, the final two add so much lore and weight to the Buffyverse that it left me wanting more of their stories over Buffy's and ultimately left me anxiously waiting until the next origins one-shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019): The Chosen Ones #1

Aug 28, 2019

Perhaps the saddest part of The Chosen Ones #1is that "Behind the Mask" takes place 12 years after "The Mission." Given that only one Slayer can be awakened at any given time it means that Hutash did not live into old age. That being said,Buffy The Vampire Slayer: The Chosen Ones #1proves to be a wonderful and inspective piece of Slayer lore that also aims to move its audience. As a die-hard Buffy fan, I can't wait for the rest of this one-shot and how it expands the Buffy-verse.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 9 #5

Jun 5, 2019

Pick up Buffy The Vampire #5 because of the cliffhanger left after the last issue, but don't expect for it hit you in the Buffy-feels like every issue preceding it was able to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #1

Oct 9, 2019

Hellmouth #1is utter perfection. As a life-long Buffy fan, as a critic, this issue moved me and brought the depth and stakes needed for a crossover event.Hellomouth #1is a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #2

Nov 14, 2019

That being said, Carlini's art is gorgeous horror. The creature design is beautiful and the monsters are distinct from anything I've seen before " save for the vampires of the Hellmouth that draw direct inspiration from season seven of the television series. The tone of this event, set by the art, is more akin to the beauty and darkness of Gleb Melnikov's work on the art of the ongoing Angelseries than the current comedic art in theBuffy the Vampireseries. By keeping the darkness in the art and bringing in the camp in the dialogue,Hellmouth #2is a great blend of both worlds.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth #3

Dec 13, 2019

I am in love with everything about this event. From the way that Bellaire and Lambert have built our Angel and Buffy's fledgling relationship, to the choice to leave the rest of the characters in the solo-titles while we focus on the main two in this event. There is an understanding of the Buffyverse that is extremely noticeable but never repetitive. As a life-long Buffy-verse fan I can't predict where this event is going to end, who is going to end it, or even if I'll get to see Angel and Buffy romantically linked, but with Hellmouth #3I'm excited to keep reading to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow (2020) #1

Jul 8, 2020

Willow #1is well-worth the read for the die-hard Scoobies and the people who just love witches. Between the art and the story, this is an amazing addition to the Buffyverse and honestly, a needed one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow (2020) #2

Aug 13, 2020

While there isn't a lot that happens this issue, it's easy to see between the opening and closing pages that Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Willow #2 is setting up for something big to happen. Plus, now that Willows has learned of Abhainn's magic, the adventure is only beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Call of the Night #1

Mar 31, 2021

Overall,Call of the Nightfalls into the same issues many vampire [insert media here] fall into and while that's expected, it's a little disappointing in 2021. That said, if you're into absolutely vampire everything this is one to pick up for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cant Stop Cursing You #1

Mar 22, 2021

Overall, Can't Stop Cursing You Volume 1is definitely for fans of Death Note. It's for fans who love mystery, violence, and darkness in their manga. If that's you, make sure you pick this one up as fast as you can; just don't pick up your phone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chainsaw Man #1

Sep 23, 2020

Chainsaw Man Volume 1sets a wonderful foundation in just seven chapters. Fujimoto is able to drop readers into a new world, establish how it works, and knock an emotional moment out of the park. With 86 chapters currently available on VIZ Media's Shonen Jump app, you're going to have to yourself from diving directly into the next chapters of Denji's story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chainsaw Man #2

Dec 5, 2020

While Chainsaw Man Volume 2hones on his dream, it also builds out the world's lore by explaining more of the damage done by devils and alluding to how they come to be. Additionally, we see more of Kun's backstory and get to understand this potential tsundere character's cold and callous personality. By adding scope to the world, Fujimoto makes Denji finally pursue a quest larger than what he can see and thus add depth to his character. And at the same time, this expansion of lore also allows for even more eventive and horror-inspired art that pushes body horror to the max.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Chainsaw Man #3

Jan 18, 2021

Overall, Chainsaw Man Volume 3 is fantastically unsettling. It offers the wholesome Denji that readers have fallen in love with, excessive amounts of blood and violence, unsettling Devils, and ends with a gut wrenching chapter. If you're not reading the individual chapters of the manga on the Shonen Jump app, this volume will push you to it with its ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chainsaw Man #4

Apr 5, 2021

Chainsaw Man Volume 4is a striking volume. Fujimoto shows the action and the horror of the series while also making sure readers know that there aren't magic moments to bring back dead characters. It's clear once a character is gone, they're gone. Finally, Fujimoto sets the scene for a second confrontation between what's left of Division 4 and the Gun Devil's assassins.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Daigo the Beast #1

Oct 8, 2020

Daigo the Beast: Umehara Fighting Gamers! may be slightly dry for readers who aren't already fans of fighters or gamers in general. But for those who have a connection to gams, the way in which the community and competition are defined in this manga will make this a must-buy. Additionally, the art alone makes this a title to pick up for fighting game fans and it's take on Daigo Umehara makes it a piece of video game history as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Daphne Byrne #1

Jan 8, 2020

Overall, Daphne Byrne #1is a decent start with exciting elements that keep me tuned in for the rest of the series. I'm excited for the potential of this miniseries and I can't wait to see more of the occult and Daphne's goth looks later on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Daphne Byrne #2

Feb 5, 2020

While I'm pulled into this story for its premise,Daphne Byrne #2'sother elements are distracting. That said, this isn't a bad issue and I can definitely see future issues finding more of their footing as readers get more background information.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Daphne Byrne #3

Mar 4, 2020

Of the Hill House Comic's line-up, Daphne Byrneis the weakest. An interesting start has fizzled out now that it's mid-way through its six-issue run and I'm unsure if I want to continue reading it. While Daphne Byrne #3ends on a cliffhanger of sorts that offers up a darker and more occult path in the narrative, it still hasn't sold me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Death Metal #3

Aug 11, 2020

Dark Nights: Death Metal #3continues to offer up deep cuts for DC Comics fans, inventive plot points, and ultimately, Snyder continues to prove how much he understands each character he writes into this large bombastic story. If there is one thing to say about Dark Nights: Death Metal,its that its clear that's its made by creatives who love the characters deeply and this translates when a fan who feels the same picks it up. Truly, as the insanity of Dark Nights: Death Metalkeeps rising, the more I fall in love with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Days on Fes #1

Mar 19, 2021

In fact, with Days on Fes, Oka doesn't manage just to highlight emotions in their characters, they also manage to bring musicians in dynamic panels to life. While they're still because of the medium, their poses and shading make them feel alive. Plus, the manga also features pages that break down what each person brought to the festival with them. Every single detail sings off the page (pun intended), and I can't wait for volume two when it hits this summer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased #2

Jun 5, 2019

In the end, we know that the world doesn't escape and thrive, as the narrator tells us, they sought to hide, but they were too late.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased #3

Jul 3, 2019

With issue number three down,DCEASED remains one of my favorite comics out right now. It is horrific, it is beautiful, and it is devastating. DCEASED #3 is a story that moves beyond shock and awe and focuses on breaking your heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
DCeased #4

Aug 7, 2019

Each kill and its consequence is crafted skillfully by an author who understands the different empathic connections we have to the heroes. Taylor exploits the emotional threads between us and our icons in the way horror should. Pick up DCEASED #4,you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased #5

Oct 2, 2019

With one issue left in the mini-series,DCeasedremains a standout comic with issue number five. It's dark, emotional, and extremely well-written, heightened when the narrator is revealed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased #6

Oct 30, 2019

The series has given us beautiful moments like Dinah becoming Earth's Green Lantern, but it's also shown us Alfred having to kill his son after a painful goodbye to Damian. There is a lot of meat in a story that also brings such detailed moments of dismemberment and gore. DCeasedis why I love horror.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DCeased: A Good Day To Die #1

Sep 4, 2019

Overall, DCEASED: A Good Day To Die #1is a good tie-in issue. It opens up the world beyond one group of heroes and offers up beautiful art. That being said, there isn't an emotional core to the book which leaves me questioning why I didn't feel more. That being said, if you're currently reading DCEASED,this is a must read and if you're new to the story, this is a great way to jump in before the other series wraps.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased: Dead Planet (2020) #1

Jul 7, 2020

Overall, DCeased: Dead Planet #1is an amazing sequel series that promises much more story, emotion, and drama as it unfolds. This was as great a continuation as it was a first issue, which speaks volumes for the creative team. While I don't know where this story is heading, especially with certain revelations that John brings to light in the issue's closing, I'm excited to be along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased: Dead Planet (2020) #2

Aug 4, 2020

DCeased: Dead Planet #2is a great issue of a series that is proving to add to the DCeased series of books by presenting readers with great characters. While I'm sure that the mini-series will bounce back between the new Justice League and Constantine, I'm excited for the possibility with two teams with very different styles coming together in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased: Hope At World's End #1

May 25, 2020

DCeased: Hope at Worlds End #1is a stellar first issue and shows that the Taylor's DCeased storytelling hasn't been played out yet. It's emotional and sets up a new story in a way that will keep fans grabbing for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
DCeased: The Unkillables #1

Feb 19, 2020

Sadly, when everything adds up, Unkillables #1 is frustrating. There are interesting things brewing for the story but as an opener, it pales in comparison to the rest of the DCeased titles"I trust Taylor's writing for this to end up in the right place for issue two but for now, this issue left me with solid mixed feelings.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
DCeased: The Unkillables #3

May 19, 2020

I love what Taylor has done with the conclusion in DCeased: Unkillables #3 and how it leaves the door open for his sequel series Dead Earth, coming later this year. I also love Lokus' colors and Temofonte's lettering, it's hard to look past the pencils. That said, the story that has been told in this mini-series is worth the read, even with its big faults.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dekoboko Sugar Days OGN

Jul 30, 2020

Dekoboko Sugar Days is a romance that is executed in the most wholesome of ways. It's a slow awkward romance with emotional pay off that focuses on what happens when the leads of a yaoi romance can bloom with the support of friends instead of fear like many other titles in this genre. I can't recommend this title enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eat, And Love Yourself OGN

Jul 11, 2020

Eat, And Love Yourselfrepresents a story that will not only help those currently struggling with an eating disorder or those who have survived one, but it even offers a valuable window into the experience for people looking to help their friends or relatives in a meaningful way. I was moved by the care and love that goes into every scene of this graphic novel. There isn't a title out there like this, and I recommend everyone add it to their reading lists.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Faithless #2

May 23, 2019

Overall, the fact that Faithless is only a six-issue series means that I will ride this story out, but I can't say that progression in the story executed with what it needed to in order to add weight to Faith's magical awakening, right after having her sexual awakening in the last issue. While Faith is interesting, Poppy's manic pixie dream girl is as frustrating as any character that fits that trope. With the high rating that I gave Faithless #1,this issue was a let-down.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Faithless #3

Jun 21, 2019

Overall, this will be my last review ofFaithless.It's direction shift and shock jock scripting is frustrating. Sadly, this limited series is one that I have been waiting for and I'm saddened to see where it is now with only two issues left. I will be following Llovet's work, but that's the only takeaway I have from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fly Me To The Moon #2

Nov 9, 2020

That said, this shonen rom-com isn't all bad, in fact the wholesome label still belongs across the way Nasa and Tsukasa interact. While we get to see their first kiss in Fly Me To The Moon Volume 2, it's a moment about emotion and commitment and showcases that both of them are new to this thing called love. While I hope we see less of talking about sex from underage characters, I would still recommend checking this series out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fly Me To The Moon #3

Jan 2, 2021

Overall,Fly Me To The Moon Volume 3is a great continuation of the series and has me back on board its hype train and looking forward to volume four. With the anime currently streaming exclusively on Crunchyroll, now is the perfect time to pick up Nasa and Tsukasa's story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fly Me To The Moon #4

Mar 4, 2021

As a whole, Fly Me To The Moon Volume 4is a solid entry to the series. Nasa and Tsukasa are a couple that continues to move forward and grow despite the hardships around them. And while I wish Kaname would stop making comments about sex when she's very clearly a child, the volume is a good read overall and worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Food Wars!: Shokugeki no Soma #35

Apr 5, 2020

Food WarsVolume 35 is stuffed with food action, bitter rivalries, and humor that the series is known for. As the penultimate volume, it carries the storytelling weight effortlessly by allowing us to see just how much Soma has grown, not only as a chef but as a person.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Food Wars!: Shokugeki no Soma #36

May 24, 2020

Food Wars! Shokugeki No Soma Volume 36 marks the end of a ridiculous series with an emotional punch. It's a good volume, with good storytelling, but it falls short of being truly great. But then again, that's the problem with endings, they can't satisfy every reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Frankenstein (2020) OGN

Jan 15, 2021

While I can see the huge benefit of using Manga Classics Frankensteinas an accessible teaching tool for students, it's hard to judge it by itself when Junji Ito's manga adaptation ofFrankenstein offers a more visceral take on the story and does so with enough deviation that makes it unique. That said,Manga Classics Frankensteinisn't bad by any means. While the art takes a little bit to get used to, especially if you're used to manga art styles, it's a fun read. And if you're a parent looking to imbue a sense of love for the "classics" this title is a good way to do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goddess Mode #6

Jun 19, 2019

Overall, Goddess Mode #6 is a phenomenal end to this arc. With the future of the series dependent on sales from this point, I hope to all the Oracles we get to see more of this world, especially considering the ramifications of the final fight. But, this issue closed out so well, that if the door remains closed, this issue completes the story well, even with some threads that can be picked up in the future. Ultimately Goddess Mode #1 " #6 is one of my favorite arcs in comics, not just for 2019 but ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Golden Japanesque: A Splendid Yokohama Romance #1

Apr 16, 2021

It's easy to feel forMaria in Golden Japanesque.She's a character that may speak softly but has much to say. Once this volume wraps, it's easy to want to see more of her development. I want to see Maria become confident in herself, and because of that, I'll pick up volume 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gotham City Monsters #1

Sep 11, 2019

Overall, Gotham City Monsters #1 is not going to be for everyone, but for those of us who can spot a great monster tale in a formulaic structure, it's going to hit like Frankenstein's sword. As a horror fan, as a monster fan, Gotham City Monsters is my jam.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Gotham City Monsters #2

Oct 9, 2019

Overall,Gotham City Monster #2is fun but is yet again another issue of visiting each monster, while this works for set-up, it is slightly repetitive of last issue's focus. That said, this is a spooky series that perfectly capture everything that monster fans love. There are the bones to a great mini-series but hopefully, issue number three brings it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #1

Dec 31, 1969

Overall, Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy #1is a great read and start to the mini-series. Whether you love Harley and Ivy already, or newcomers to the duo, this is an issue for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #2

Oct 9, 2019

Overall, Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy #2solidifies my opinion of the mini-series as a whole. It's one that hits on the heart of the characters by creating a real relationship. In addition, even though I have never been a fan of narratives that center villains as heroes, this one works and works well. I truly can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #3

Nov 13, 2019

Overall, Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy #3is a good issue, but it isn't extraordinary. The Mad Hatter's plan for Harley seems out of nowhere and I question its inclusion in the plot outside of showing an armored Ivy taking down baddies. Which, while it doesn't damage the narrative, does throw it off slightly. That being said, I am pulled into Harley and Ivy's relationship and friendship and I'm in love with how they fight for each other. With three more issues, I'm excited to see how this mini-series concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #5

Jan 8, 2020

Truthfully, Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy #5is a fun read, but it's at its best when it's showing us the characters' relationships. That being said, the art and colors from Melo, Morales, and Hi-Fi are vibrant and dynamic. This miniseries is just happy, it's joyful, and it's fun and that's all it needs to be. With one issue left, the reveal of a hidden baddie at the end of the issues sets up for a killer last issue next month and I'm excited to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy (2019) #6

Jan 1, 1970

Melo's art wonderful, as it has been this entire mini-series and Morales' inks are strong and defined that makes each piece of the character pop. Additionally, Hi-Fi's colors are perfection. That said, Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy #6 isn't the strongest issue of the series, instead, I can see it dividing friends of the two. Not because of Ivy's hero or villain identity but because of how they separate in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hell's Paradise: Jigokuraku #2

Apr 21, 2020

Hell's Paradise: Jigokuraku Volume 2 seals the deal on this incredible story. While the first volume caught my attention, the second one has hooked me so much, I've pushed the series to the top of my Shonen Jump reading queue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hell's Paradise: Jigokuraku #3

Jul 5, 2020

Hells Paradise: Jigokuraku Volume 3 is breathtakingly brutal and beautiful. This series remains one of the best blends of body horror and action available to pick up to date. Kaku's storytelling is masterful and his art fit to be plastered across every horror fan's wall.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hell's Paradise: Jigokuraku #4

Aug 27, 2020

Hells Paradise: Jigokuraku Volume 4does exactly what it needs to do. It continues to world-build and answer questions while also presenting its audience with new possibilities and storylines, allowing for enough mystery to allow the reader to speculate. With the final chapter in this volume opening a new story door with new characters, it'll be interesting to see what happens next - and if you can't wait, you can read individual chapters on the Shonen Jump app.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hell's Paradise: Jigokuraku #5

Dec 3, 2020

Hell's Paradise: Jigokuraku Volume 5 is phenomenal yet again with a twisted beauty woven in each panel where bodies bloom and black blood splatters. Kaku's illustrations are beautiful and terrifying and everything you need, especially when coupled with extravagant action sequences. Additionally, Kaku is superb at creating an emotional connection between the reader and characters that we don't truly get time to understand. When they die, Kaku provides memories and dreams, crafting the characters in such a way that despite the limited information we have to understand, offers emotion when their number is up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hell's Paradise: Jigokuraku #6

Jan 7, 2021

Overall, Hell's Paradise: Jigokuraku Volume 6 is a great read, and Chobe's section of the volume is its strongest point. If you're not reading Hell's Paradise: Jigokuraku, you're doing yourself a disservice. This volume showcases the action the series has to offer, but it also shows how Kaku uses horror and fantasy elements to show and expand the series's world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hell's Paradise: Jigokuraku #7

Mar 5, 2021

Truthfully, there is nothing out like Hell's Paradise: Jigokuraku.Kaku understands action, body horror, monsters, and how to build out a world that his reader doesn't understand. Hell's Paradise: Jigokuraku Volume 7is yet again a phenomenal volume that pushes Kaku's artistry and raises the stakes for our band of executioners and criminals.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hellblazer: Rise and Fall #1

Sep 1, 2020

All in all, Hellblazer: Rise and Fall #1is solid. It lays the foundation for this new mini-series and does it brick by brick with John Constantine's guilt, graphic violence, and writing that gets under your skin. This is one to pick up for fans of the character and those looking for a gruesome noir with heaven and hell thrown in.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
High Level #5

Dec 31, 1969

There is only one issue left in the arc and afterHigh Level #5I'm not sure how excited I am to see the arc end and have some questions answered. With the recent announcement of the closing of the DC Vertigo imprint, I'm worried for all of the titles I'm reading from the publisher. That said, if this story was to wrap entirely after number six, it would feel like the journey had run its course.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
I Cannot Reach You #1

Mar 16, 2021

At the end of the day,I Cannot Reach You Volume 1opens up a story that needs to be told. Queer romances belong in a young audience demographic as much as they do in an older one. That's the importance of shonen-ai. To see these two boys navigating their emotions and trying as hard as they can to preserve their friendship, putting the other in front of themselves, and that's love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
John Constantine: Hellblazer #1

Nov 27, 2019

You can pick it up at comic book stores and online through our affiliate link.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Junji Ito Story Collection: Venus in the Blind Spot OGN

Aug 9, 2020

Venus in the Blind Spotis a must-buy for any and all horror fans. Whether you've ventured into Ito's twisted sense of horror in the past or you're new to his work entirely, this is the perfect place to start. WhileTomieand Uzumakistand as horror classics, Venus in the Blind Spotis here to show new readers exactly why Junji Ito is the master of horror.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kaiju Girl Caramelise #4

Apr 24, 2021

Overall,Kaiju-Girl Caramelise is well worth picking up all four volumes right now. It's sweet, hilarious, and hits a perfect spot for a kaiju-lover. Aoki has crafted a truly magical series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kingdom of the Gods #1

Apr 17, 2020

Kingdom of the Gods and the additional "Burning Hell" is horror perfection. This is a must-buy for genre fans because of its beauty and its violence.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
La Voz de M.A.Y.O: Tata Rambo #1

Nov 11, 2019

La Voz de M.A.Y.Ois a must-read graphic novel. It tells an important story, writing M.A.Y.O back into the history of Arizona and of the U.S. By including original newsletters from the organization in the closing pages, Barajas allows you to read the history yourself in tandem with his retelling of his Tata's history. This is a graphic novel that should be taught in history courses at all levels; it's a piece of history to read on your own and it's a story to share and keep alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Little Miss P #1

Aug 10, 2020

Overall,Little Miss Pis adorable. It's a title that works for a wide range of ages and can speak to a wide audience. With a live action film already in the works, this is a volume that will resonate with many readers. Not to mention, the illustrations of Little Miss P in a PERIOD PUNCH rage is both hilarious and recognizable.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lost on Planet Earth #1

Apr 18, 2020

Lost on Planet Earth #1is a great opening for a new mini-series. The story is emotive and grounded, which presents a different look at sci-fi worlds where intergalactic fleets exist.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lost on Planet Earth #2

May 20, 2020

Lost on Planet Earth #2is a great and emotional issue. The most fascinating thing about the series is that I entered it expecting it to be action-filled with a relationship at its core - a true science fiction adventure. Instead, I got a slice of life moved by characters with authentic dialogue and experiences and I am thankful for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Love and Heart #1

Mar 21, 2021

Overall,Love and Heart Volume 1is a good read when it comes to potential romance and even more so when it comes to danger. I'm not sure where volume two will go, given the revelation in the volume's final pages, but I do know that I'll be picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Love Me, Love Me Not #2

Apr 27, 2020

Sakisaka's Love Me Love, Me Not Volume 2 is a wonderful collection of chapters that beautifully explores bonds between people. The love and friendship in this series are both enjoyable, cute, and contains layers that each character is navigating. If you're looking for a lovely shojo about young love and the struggles in it, this is one series to move to the top of your reading queue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Love Me, Love Me Not #3

Jun 28, 2020

Love Me, Love Me Not Volume 3continues an emotional story told through dynamic characters. It explores the changing tides of love and how the relationships we form can shift at the drop of a hat and how friendship is the only stable factor.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Love Me, Love Me Not #4

Aug 15, 2020

Love Me, Love Me Not Volume 4 continues a phenomenal story about love and friendship. This volume shows characters finding themselves and righting their courses while also not ignoring any of the complications that come with their frienships and crushes. Love, in this series, is as much about protecting people as it is satisfying yourself and that's what makes this a must-read for romance fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Love Me, Love Me Not #5

Oct 25, 2020

With Ao Haru Ride completed, now is the perfect time to jump into Love Me Love Me Not. To put it simply, while the relationships just get messier, the commentary on the importance of platonic intimacy, growing friendships and putting other's needs before your own. Love Me Love Me Not Volume 5 is showcasing each character's growth not only in their relationships but alone as well, which makes the romance all the more enjoyable to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Love Me, Love Me Not #6

Dec 17, 2020

The entirety of this series is about stumbling through young love and learning about yourself and others along the way. In Love Me Love Me Not Volume 6,readers finally get some semblance of emotional progression with both Rio and Kazu voicing their feelings for Yuna and Akari respectively. Even though it isn't to the girls, it does show that the story's pace is beginning to speed up and we'll head towards a bit of emotional closure and progression. Making this volume a great addition to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Love Me, Love Me Not #7

Feb 26, 2021

Love Me Love Me Not Volume 7is my favorite in the series so far. Akari has become a self-reflexive character who has grown in her mistakes, and Yuna and Rio finally confessed to each other. While I'm not sure where the story will go from here, I'm excited for volume 8.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Love of Kill #1

Apr 6, 2021

Overall, Love of Kill Volume 1has some small stumbles with its female lead, Fe more than makes up for it with action sequences and the potential for a dark and twisted story to follow this volume. If you're looking for an assassin love story this one is just for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mama Akuma #1

Feb 2, 2021

Overall,Mama Akuma Volume 1is wholeheartedly wholesome. It's also a joyous read that offers laughs and emotion. If you're looking for a manga that just hits a happy spot in your heart, this is the one to pick up from Yen Press.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Manor Black #1

Jul 31, 2019

Manor Black #1 has laid the building blocks for a dark world that I'm excited to fall into.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mieruko-chan #2

Apr 13, 2021

Overall, when it comes to Izumi's art, Mieruko-Chan Volume 2 is stunning. When there are terrifying creatures in the background, and an oblivious cute high schooler in the foreground, the different tones of the two work well to pull the reader into the volume's story. It helps drive us towards laughs or goosebumps, and for that alone, this is a series you should definitely pick up. Now that an anime is officially in production, it's a great time to pick up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mint Chocolate #1

Jan 31, 2021

Mint Chocolate Volume 1is just a good shojo romance. It doesn't reinvent the wheel but it will give fans of the genre a great story with a cliffhanger that leaves them desperate for volume 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mint Chocolate #2

Apr 26, 2021

Overall, Mint Chocolate Volume 2 is a great shoujo romance with just enough mess and a heavy helping of communication. With the way this volume ends, volume 3 is sure to be a stand-out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Moriarty the Patriot #1

Oct 4, 2020

Overall, the theme of the series is classism and how James Moriarty is aiming to cure his country of it. He's a patriot to himself, but a scourge to the upper-class. Additionally, the balance between Moriarty's charisma and ability to move through the world of elites with his disdain for the rich is done in such a way that it never feels forces or contrived. Truthfully, Moriarty the Patriot Volume 1is a must-buy for fans of the Sherlock Holmes' literary universe and those looking to eat the rich alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Moriarty the Patriot #2

Dec 31, 2020

Overall, I can't recommend Moriarty the Patriot Volume 2 enough. It's a strong story that doesn't feel repetitive. It truly is a new story set in the Sherlock world and perfect to read right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Hero Academia #25

Oct 4, 2020

Overall, My Hero Academia Volume 25 reaffirms my love of the series and Horikoshi as a writer. The darkness of this volume, coupled with the small hope provided by the hero training, makes the volume sing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Hero Academia #26

Jan 2, 2021

The closing pages ofMy Hero Academia Volume 26are strong, and as someone who is current with the chapters out now, it ends on a note that will lead into a new arc, and a scary one at that. Overall, this volume is a strong showing for Hoikoshi's talents as a mangaka and is a nice breather before the disaster that's incoming in volume 27.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Hero Academia: Vigilantes #7

Jun 15, 2020

My Hero Academia: Vigilantes Volume 7 is a phenomenal volume and continues to prove that this manga just as good as its predecessor. Humorous and emotional, this volume packs a smashing punch and leaves you on a cliffhanger that will make you excited for Volume 8.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
My Hero Academia: Vigilantes #8

Nov 30, 2020

Furuhashi expertly captures the power and pain that Aizawa carries with him, weaving it seamlessly into Horikoshi's main story. Overall, the strength ofMy Hero Academia: Vigilantes Volume 8lies in Furuhashi's writing of Aizawa and the emotional weight it carries. For that alone, this is a must-buy volume. While I've enjoyed the series thus far, this is the first time I've felt that it was truly important and necessary to better appreciate My Hero Academiaand the world that it's in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
No Heroine #2

Jan 1, 1970

No Heroine #2is a great issue and I'm even more in love with Kayla than I was at the end of the last issue. While the issues with Spanish bother me, I still highly recommend this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Noisemakers: 25 Women Who Raised their Voices & Changed the World #1

Feb 4, 2020

Overall, Noisemakers is a great graphic novel with beautiful and important stories. While I wish they had taken time to include Latinas, specifically US-born Latinas in its pages, the overall message of the book is clear, it's not only okay to make noise, but it's necessary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Not Your Idol #1

Apr 23, 2020

Not Your Idol Vol 1 is a standout series debut. It tackles real-world issues with a flare that only shojo can bring to the conversation. While it isn't perfect, it is a strong example of powerful conversations that young readers should be having and can help many teens learn that if something happens to them, it isn't their fault, just because they're a girl.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Not Your Idol #2

Aug 14, 2020

Not Your Idol Volume 2 is phenomenal. While those who experienced trauma akin to that in the book may want to proceed with caution, this is a title that is not only beautifully written and illustrated but more importantly, necessary.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Our Not-So-Lonely Planet Travel Guide #1

Jan 1, 1970

Not-So-Lonely Planet Travel Guide Volume 1 offers a beautiful story that I'm happy is a series and not a one-shot. Asahi and Mitsuki's dynamic is playful and intimate, and there is just enough mystery to their journey to help spread the story across multiple volumes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Penguin Gentlemen OGN

Mar 18, 2021

That said, if you're looking for a cute one-shot with himbos, Penguin Gentlemenis the manga for you. It's cute, funny, endearing, and definitely fanservicey in the best ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Play it Cool, Guys #1

Mar 18, 2021

Overall,Play it Cool Guys Volume 1is a quick read with a big impact. It's fun, cool, wholesome, and really really relatable. Ever forget to plug your headphones in? Ever start walking in the opposite direction of where you need to go? These cool guys do it all the time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prince Freya #1

Mar 31, 2020

Prince Freya Vol. 1 is so good, very good in fact. As the debut for a series it packs in romance, intrigue, and high stakes, that I didn't expect just by looking at the cover and reading a somewhat familiar premise. I'm interested to see what happens next and volume 2 can't come soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prince Freya #2

Jun 30, 2020

Prince Freya Volume 2 is a standout on the VIZ Media's Shojo Beat imprint. It's filled with action, questions of morality and duty, and carries enough romance to balance it all out. With yet an other unthinkable ending, volume 3 can't come soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prince Freya #3

Oct 5, 2020

Prince Freya Volume 3is yet another strong addition to the story. It's narratives like this one that make me wish that Shojo Beat offered a service akin the Shonen Jump App with simulpublication of individual chapters. If you're looking for European fantasy to sweep you away, this is a title to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Prince Freya #4

Jan 3, 2021

Overall, Prince Freya Volume 4 is the weakest part of the story so far, but that's understandable given the strength and impact shown in volume 3. Truthfully, I just hope that Freya's strength comes back to the forefront as she travels across the countryside to build allegiances against Sigurd. More specifically, I hope Ishihara can write Freya on her own as strongly as she can write Freya when she's with Julius and Alek.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Queens Quality #9

Jun 4, 2020

Overall, Queen's Quality Volume 9 gives me the romantic payoff that so few shojo romances of any genre do. But beyond that, Motomi has presented a dynamic female lead with Fumi. She has been allowed to feel; she has been allowed to confront her pain. But above all else, she was allowed to choose herself.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Queens Quality #11

Feb 28, 2021

Overall, Queen's Quality remains one of the best titles in shojo right now. Its strong fantasy and even stronger action all while balancing a romance that hits in a relatable way. Queen's Quality Volume 11is another stellar addition to the series that sets up a growing Snake threat that will surely make for a dynamic and action-packed arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai #1

Aug 28, 2020

Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai is a wonderful story of finding acceptance, pushing back against the tide of popular opinion, and how love can save us when we're disappearing. It's adorable and, while its fanservice is never gratuitous or outweighs the narrative, there were small moments that could have stood to be left out, primarily Sakuta's encounter in the park which leads him to be in police custody for a short while. But ultimately, Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpaiis a manga filled with heart and emotion and is one of the best titles to have been adapted this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Remina OGN

Dec 10, 2020

Overall, Reminais a graphic Lovecraftian cosmic-horror novel that pushes the envelope and shows the worst of us all. And, in true Ito fashion, all pathways that seem to offer hope only provide a bleak emptiness fitting of space.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
RePlay (2020) #1

Aug 1, 2020

RePlay is a stellar romance, yaoi or otherwise. It's a story that truly explores how friendship becomes more than and deals with growing out of your high school self to become an adult with different priorities and responsibilities. This is a must-read for fans of the genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Requiem of the Rose King #12

Jun 8, 2020

Overall, Requiem of the Rose King Volume 12is a great read. Consisting of 55 chapters, this series is a great read for those looking for politics, romance, and the supernatural all in a period setting. While there are many iterations of The Bard's work, none are quite like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Requiem of the Rose King #13

Nov 2, 2020

Requiem of the Rose King is a series that I would recommend even to non-manga readers, due in large part to how Kanno has expertly adapted Shakespeare's material. While those who are drawn to this series for its politics may be sad with this installment, it hit every note for me. The beauty of this volume can't be understated, a lull in the darkness of the story that's sure to rise in volume 14.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Revolutionary Girl Utena: After the Revolution #1

Nov 8, 2020

Revolutionary Girl Utena: After the Revolutionis a volume that makes a great addition to fans of Utena and what she represents. As a symbol of power and change, this volume is a wonderful celebration of Utena's legacy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Riverdale Season 3 #3

May 7, 2019

Overall, Riverdale Season 3 #3 continues to show why fans of the show should pick up the series. While this issue does require prior knowledge of the CW series, it isn't a hindrance given its nature as a tie-in. That being said, I do recommend that those who are new to the Riverdale world start watching the show, now available on Netflix, to start to get a feel for the world and the dynamics in it to fully enjoy this comic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Riverdale Season 3 #4

Jun 24, 2019

Riverdale Season 3 #4will be available where comics are sold on June 26, 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Riverdale Season 3 #5

Aug 1, 2019

Overall, Riverdale Season 3 is a wonderful addition to the existing story of Riverdaleon the CW. It's a must-read for people who love the world that's been adapted to television and at the end of the day, each of these five issues holds two great stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #3

May 10, 2019

Overall, I highly recommend Ronin Islandfor its story, for its art, and for its heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #4

Jun 7, 2019

Overall, Ronin Island #4continues to tell a wonderful story that will have fantasy and horror fans in love with every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #5

Aug 6, 2019

Ronin Island remains a must-buy series. With the volume currently available, Ronin Island #5 is the perfect time to jump into the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #6

Sep 13, 2019

Overall, there isn't much more that I can say about Ronin Island #6.It's good, like the rest of the series has been but really separates itself from other issues by offering character depth and details. Our leads are evolving, and it's perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sabrina the Teenage Witch (2019) #2

May 17, 2019

Overall, Sabrina the Teenage Witch #2 introduces us to a larger world of magic, where issue number one introduced us to the world of high school. With creature designs like the ones in this issue, I'm hoping that Greendale is on top of "a freaking ancient monster burial ground" with many more to come. As a fan of fantasy and witchy stories, Sabrina the Teenage Witch #2is a comic you need to pick up for writing, art, and the world that's being built in Greendale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sabrina the Teenage Witch (2019) #4

Aug 1, 2019

Overall, with one issue left, Sabrina the Teenage Witchis a series you need to pick up. With Sabrina the Teenage Witch #4,Thompson writes a true teenage identity story while the artists, Veronica and Andy Fish, offer up a beautiful world to jump into, one of spooky fantasy and vibrant spells.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Samurai 8: The Tale of Hachimaru #2

Apr 20, 2020

Samurai 8: The Tale of Hachimaru is going to be next hit in the shonen world, it sees an animated form, and for now, it's a must read whether you're picking up the volumes of reading via the Shonen Jump subscription. Volume 2 is magnificent and emotional, taking what felt like a simple story about a boy and his dog in the first volume into new genre territory with loads more grand reveals, epic battles, and shonen flare to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Samurai 8: The Tale of Hachimaru #3

Jul 29, 2020

Overall, Samurai 8: The Tale of Hachimaru Volume 3is weighed down by its exposition and filling each page with speech balloons that obscure phenomenal art and tell the story rather than trusting the audience to infer while reading and taking in Okubo's art. While this isn't a bad volume per-say, it's middle of the road which is frustrating given the emotional power of volume 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Samurai Jack: Lost Worlds #1

May 11, 2019

Overall, Samurai JackLost Worlds #1is a must-read for anySamurai Jackfan but it may not be impactful for those who have not seen the television animation. The story hinges on a connection between the reader and the real Jack, so that when the realization hits, we feel the turn in the story. While I won't say that this isn't accessible for all readers, it will certainly land better and with more power for those familiar with or fans of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Samurai Jack: Lost Worlds #2

Jun 21, 2019

Overall, the ending Samurai Jack: Lost Worlds #2 is great, with a moral that wraps to the top of the issue and the importance of stories. That being said, this also means that I can't write much more without spoiling it and believe me, you want to pick this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sasaki and Miyano #1

Feb 10, 2021

Sasaki and Miyano Volume 1 is a great debut for the series. It lays out exactly what it is at the beginning, and by the end, the emotion has reached the point of spill-over with Sasaki beginning to have to restrain his love for Miyano out of fear of making him uncomfortable. With Volume 2 coming out in April, we'll have to wait a bit until we get the chance to see what comes of this adorable romance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sasaki and Miyano #2

Apr 22, 2021

Overall, Sasaki and Miyano Volume 2 continues a heartwarming story about the awkwardness of first love and finding yourself in it. It's wholesome, heartfelt, and features leads who understand the importance of learning to understand each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Secrets of Sinister House #1

Dec 31, 1969

Secrets of Sinister House #1is a must-read for the Halloween season. It's packed with stories that chill and embody the very best of gothic horror, penny dreadfuls, and all the camp can lie in side them. With only one of the eight stories feeling detached, this is a solid anthology.It's solid horror.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sera and the Royal Stars #1

Jul 22, 2019

Sera and the Royal Stars #1 is a beautiful opening to the start of a fantasy. Tsuei knows the genre extremely well and his dialogue feels authentic, especially between Sera and her family. The dialogue is also powerful in defining Sera as a character. It shows us, rather than telling us, where her moral compass lies in the early pages as she instructs her troops to allow the enemy forces to bury their dead. From Tsuei's writing to Mok's art and Angulo's colors to Campbell's perfect lettering, I am undeniably hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sera and the Royal Stars #2

Aug 31, 2019

Overall, the fantasy world ofSera and the Sacred Starsis one that you can easily step into and be engulfed by. It's beautiful and vast. I can't wait to see where Tsuei brings it next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sera and the Royal Stars #4

Oct 26, 2019

Overall, Sera & The Royal Stars #4 is perfection. Of all the fantasies I've read in the past ten years, Sera & The Royal Starsis one that I desperately want to see adapted and kept alive long after the comic run concludes. This hero's journey is familiar while also being jam-packed with new ideas, concepts, and myths.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sera and the Royal Stars #5

Dec 9, 2019

Overall, I can not recommend Sera and the Royal Starsenough. With the trade set to release in mid-December, I implore lovers of fantasy and story to pick it up and catch up with the adventure thus far. As for Sera and the Royal Stars #5,this issue is beautiful, action-packed, and emotional in all the best ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Said Destroy #2

Jul 4, 2019

Overall, I will continue to highly recommend She Said Destroy to fans of comics, to fans of fantasy, and to fans of science fiction. It's a beautiful looking series with a story that is shaping up to build out a whole world to fall in love with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shikimori's Not Just a Cutie #1

Nov 19, 2020

Overall, Shikimori's Not Just a Cutieis a fun read and can bring some pure joy to your life, which let's be honest, we all need right now. Izumi is in love in Shikimori and it's about time that you fall in love with her too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shortcake Cake #9

Aug 8, 2020

Ultimately, Shortcake Cake Volume 9 is emotional and balanced. Each choice that Morishita makes is well thought out and contributes to the overall narrative, especially the strategically placed flashbacks throughout the volume. Additionally, Morishita's art is heartfelt and one of my favorite things about the series as a whole. If you're looking for a sweet romance, this is a series to pick up and Volume 9 is one of the best volumes in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shortcake Cake #10

Nov 8, 2020

Overall, Shortcake Cake Volume 10 is an emotional read and one that pushes the story past a romance and into the complexities of familial bonds and the trauma that can come from them. The strength of this series is in it's adorable romance yes, but also the friendships and bonds that Morishita develops outside of our shojo heroine as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Smooth Criminals #6

Jun 1, 2019

Overall, Smooth Criminals #6 offers up a climax to the big score we've been waiting for but ends on a cliffhanger that will you counting the days until issue seven comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Smooth Criminals #7

Jul 21, 2019

While I am in still in love withSmooth Criminalsas a series, I hope it finds a calmer pace and expands on the characters that I've come to root for.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Smooth Criminals #8

Aug 25, 2019

Overall, Smooth Criminals #8is a rough ending to a stellar series. While I love Mia and Brenda, the speed with which their story concludes makes me want better for them. I want the character choices to make sense but we haven't had enough time for them to do so. While I recommend the series as a whole, I'd wait for a trade to be published before picking up your copy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Somethings Wrong With Us #1

May 14, 2020

As an opening volume,Something's Wrong With Ussets up the story beautifully. While it still uses some traditional story beats that we're used to, like marriage being rushed into like its note big deal after first sight, it also gives you enough a dynamic story. In this volume, Ando has set up a story that I need to keep reading. Not only isSomething's Wrong With Us Volume1 the start of interesting romance but it's also a thrilling murder mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Somethings Wrong With Us #2

Jun 12, 2020

Something's Wrong With Us Volume 2has pulled me deeper into the story. Ando makes sure to move the story from the past to the present by showcasing the affects of that murderous night while also showcasing Tsubaki's dysfunctional family dynamic. But above all else, the tense romance between Nao and Tsubaki is a must read from fans of complicated romances of the steamier shojo variety.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Space Bandits #1

Jul 3, 2019

Like most Netflix joint comics,Space Banditsis a limited series, set to run for five issues. With that, it's also important to keep in mind that it is listed as an adaptation and that a Netflix has confirmed that it will be joining other Millarworld projects like Jupiter's Legacy,Empress, andHuckon the streaming platform in the future. This has me extremely excited for the following issues and ultimately has me ready for action, emotion, and more killer scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Space Bandits #2

Aug 6, 2019

The creative team behind Space Bandits is perfection. The series shows an understanding of cyberpunk aesthetics and science fiction tropes in a way that empowers the narrative. And let's be honest, Thena and Cody are just badass. If you haven't picked it up yet, Space Bandits #2 is a must-read for science fiction fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Space Bandits #5

Nov 5, 2019

Space Bandits #5,while ending its story in a complete way also opens the door for a sequel series. I for one, can't wait to ride with Thena and Cody again, my new favorite sci-fi comic team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spy x Family #1

May 27, 2020

Spy X Family Volume 1 is adorable, action-packed, and focused on three dynamic characters. Both Endo's writing and illustrations make for a series that is perfect for fans of the iconic Lupin III.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spy x Family #2

Aug 21, 2020

Spy x Family Volume 2is a great second volume of the series and Endo does a lot of work to craft a light-hearted narrative with just enough action punch to make it dynamic and one of Jump's stronger titles. This is translated through the dialogue but more importantly through the illustrations.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spy x Family #3

Dec 1, 2020

Endo executes the balance between humor and romance effortlessly and once again leaves readers with characters that you can fall for. Additionally, Endo's art is extremely unique, specifically in how they illustrate emotions for each character. The exaggeration of their faces in simplistic ways makes for comedy and the dialogue pulls at your heart and makes you laugh. Overall,Spy x Family Volume 3is a great continuation of the series and a volume I highly recommend. Additionally, like the other physical volumes, the physical version has a beautiful cover with a light gloss that makes it perfect for collectors.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spy x Family #4

Feb 27, 2021

Spy x Family Volume 4continues to be a strong series and one of my favorites published from VIZ's Shonen Jump imprint. Hilarious, heartfelt, and filled with intrigue and family shenanigans, the Forger family features some of the best characters out right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: The Legends of Luke Skywalker: The Manga #1

Jan 27, 2020

Overall, The Legends of Luke Skywalker is a moving collection of stories that not only show us more about Luke but serves as a testament to the mythos that has surrounded him. What the manga does is bring life to Liu's beautiful stories with varying art styles, with each of the stories offering up emotion and perspective.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star-Crossed!! #1

Feb 21, 2021

Overall, Star-Crossed!! Volume 1 is a great start to a new series from Junko and well worth picking up. It's funny, light, and bound to make idol fans go "oh no it's me" more than a few times.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sweet Heart #1

Mar 10, 2020

Sweet Heart #1gives us a look at not only great comic book writing but good horror writing. This series is taking the real fears that people living with chronic illness and maps it onto to a fantasy. I can see my own struggle, and that's what makes this issue hit so hard.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sweet Heart #2

Apr 8, 2020

Sweet Heart#2is yet another amazing issue of a must-read title. There is emotion, beauty, and heavy commentary all wrapped into a horror comic, showcasing exactly what the horror genre can offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sweet Heart #3

Apr 15, 2020

Sweet Heart #3is a great issue that pushes the series as a whole and gives us a new side of Maddie, one that has turned her rage and trauma into tools of survival.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sweet Heart #4

Jan 1, 1970

As a penultimate issue,Sweet Heart #4has to be climactic enough to make readers eager for the finale while also being reserved enough as to not overshadow the final issue. This is a balance that is hard to strike and thankfully, I think Gilbertson and company have struck it. This issues raises the stakes, transforms Mattie as a character, and has opened the door wide enough for the final issue to walk right through and continue to blow audiences away.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sweet Heart #5

May 4, 2020

Overall, Sweet Heart #5 is a phenomenal close to an already great series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dollhouse Family #1

Nov 13, 2019

The Dollhouse Family#1 is a wonderful world-building first issue and the intense ending that will leave readers clamoring for more. With two series out now forHill House Comics, it's undeniable that this new imprint pop up is a horror force for comics andThe Dollhouse Familyis a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Dollhouse Family #2

Dec 11, 2019

Now two issues in, the min-series is shaping up to be wonderful. That said, I fully hope that there is more about the Dollhouse, more about the magic, and just more about Alice in the next issues. With that being said, The Dollhouse Family #2is a solid entry with a great ending moment. It's hard to do, but each issue has so far ended conclusively. The single issues work entirely by themselves as stories, while also leaving enough thread for the next issue to hold onto when it picks back up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Dollhouse Family #3

Jan 8, 2020

Overall, The Dollhouse Family #3could have been the height of the series so far, but instead, it leaves me cautious to pick up another one at all. The supernatural horror is done well while the real-world terror is lazily inserted.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Dollhouse Family #4

Jan 1, 1970

Overall, I'm not as in love withThe Dollhouse Family #4as I have been in previous issues and I knew that would be hard after last issue's ending. That said, the way this issue ends, with gloom and all the shock that I appreciate horror comics for, was satisfying. While the narrative is still uneven and I'm still lost when it comes to the historical moments in the issue, the series is still worth a read, if not to just see where it's going.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Dollhouse Family #5

Mar 11, 2020

The Dollhouse Family #5 does the job a penultimate issue is supposed to go, it got me excited for the conclusion, which was all I wanted it to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Dollhouse Family #6

May 19, 2020

Sadly, I just wanted more impact from this series and The Dollhouse Family#6didn't deliver it. There were moments of great storytelling in twisting who the hero of the story is in the end but ultimately, I just wanted more. Carey has an eye for writing horror, but the problem with this series was that it was spent in two time periods and not driving emotion in the Alice's story

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The End: Doctor Strange #1

Jan 12, 2020

Doctor Strange The End #1is an emotional kick-off to watching our heroes end, and I'm excited about what other one-shots have to offer. Doctor Strange has never been so compelling as he is in his end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Girl Without a Face #1

Mar 19, 2021

Overall,The Girl Without a Faceis an emotional read that lives in wholesomeness and love. Tearonaron is able to tell an entire life in only 188-pages and while I would love to meet these two characters again, this one-shot is perfectly fine on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Infected: King Shazam #1

Nov 6, 2019

As a continuation of "The Year of the Villain," The Infected King Shazam #1succeeds and necessitates further reading of the issues in the event, which at the end of the day, is what you want from something as expansive as "The Year of the Villain."

View Issue       View Full Review
4
The Infected: Deathbringer #1

Dec 4, 2019

Overall, the implications of The Infected: Deathbringer#1's ending holds more weight than the actual story itself. Quinn has shown that she knows how to write complicated characters buckling under expectation and responsibilities but this isn't brought over to Donna Troy. While she gets close to this, she misses the mark, lost in her own wordsmithing. But with a fluctuating team, all of these issues are understandable and I hope that the next time we see Deathbringer in other event issues, she's given her fierce due.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The King's Beast #1

Jan 10, 2021

Overall, The King's Beast Volume 1 is heavy on the world-building, but it all works to immerse the reader into the story. That said, knowing that this volume and the second one were released in Japan simultaneously, as noted multiple times in the volume, makes it feel like something is missing. Perhaps it was how the volume was presented as having both romance and revenge that it feels like something is missing. That said, this is a strong debut to a series that I'm sure will only get stronger.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Low, Low Woods #1

Dec 18, 2019

There is not one element ofThe Low Low Woods #1 that feels impersonal, yet all of it feels bigger than this single issue, leaving me eager to add issue-two to my pull list as soon as I can. With one creature shown, I know there is so much more to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Low, Low Woods #3

Feb 19, 2020

In just three issues The Low Low Woods has struck a chord deep inside me. It's a dark mystery that embodies an eerie fantasy that has me gripped from page one of issue one to page 24 of The Low Low Woods #3. This is the best title from Hill House Comics and truly the best horror title out right now. Machado's worldbuilding is both beautiful and disturbing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Low, Low Woods #4

Mar 18, 2020

The Low Low Woods #4is yet another example of Machado's literary strength and keeps the mini-series as the best that Hill House Comics has to offer. If you haven't picked this series up yet, now is the time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Low, Low Woods #5

May 26, 2020

The Low Low Woods #5is beautiful. It's powerful. And to put it simply, this series is the top of what Hill House Comics offers. There is mystery, magic, and malevolence on every page that pushes the reader deeper into the fantastical town of Shudder-To-Think. As we go deeper, the trauma keeps exposing itself, and I can't wait to see where it ends up next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Replacer #1

Jun 11, 2019

For readers who have experienced this kind of trauma, this is a must-read. In some ways, it gives those of us who have lived through similar situations a vocabulary to discuss it. The Replacer is a read I highly recommend. It is deep, dark, and gut-wrenching. This graphic novella uses horror as it's intended to be used. It tells us something about ourselves, our concerns, our fears, and ultimately how all of those are not always what they seem.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sandman Universe: Hellblazer #1

Oct 30, 2019

Overall, The Sandman Universe Presents:Hellblazer #1is a gorgeous exploration into John Constantine's mind, his torment, and how he constructs his identity. I'm in love with this one-shot's beauty but also the pain that is shows Constantine moves through. I'm a trauma-mangled person too and the way that Spurrier explains Constantine's constant state of madness, as well as the world inflicting it on him, is well-done. Spurrier's Constantine is someone I've bought into because of this one-shot and now, I can't wait for John Constantine, Hellblazer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Secret Life of Pets #1

May 23, 2019

Overall, this issue is a great read for either those who love cute animals and the existing franchise and children alike. With art that sings and pets with personality, The Secret Life of Pets #1is a great addition to Titan's kids' comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Witch and the Beast #1

Nov 8, 2020

I can't recommend The Witch and the Beast Volume 1 enough. Kousuke Satake's work with both story and art is phenomenal. As a debut, it's dark, violent, and so very gorgeous and ultimately lives up to the promise of Full Metal Alchemist mixed with Cowboy Bebop.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
There Are Things I Cant Tell You #1

Jul 19, 2020

There Are Things I Can't Tell Youis an emotional and beautiful romance that also offers up a critique on the way society forces people to hold themselves back from happiness. There is a beauty in this one-shot that makes it one of my favorite BL titles. From illustration to writing, Mofumofu does an excellent job of filling each page with a tenderness and understanding that you need when picking up a romance title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Those Not-So-Sweet Boys #1

Feb 21, 2021

Overall, Those Not-So-Sweet Boys Volume 1 is a joy to read and I can't wait to see how their frienship blooms. But, I'm even more excited to see how a messy shojo high school romance also plays out given the bread crumbs dropped in the last chapter of this volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Toritan: Birds of a Feather #1

Sep 8, 2020

The slow nature of this story is essential to what makes it so heartwarming, funny, and a must-read. That said, the only issue I have with Toritan: Birds of a Featheris that volume 2 isn't slated for release until March of next year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unearth #2

Aug 15, 2019

Overall, Unearth #2 is another great issue in an already amazing series. Since this issue is light on the grotesque " well, outside the pustules on the walls " I'm expecting more body horror as the series continues and we start to spend more time with the diseased. It's safe to say I'm strapped in for this ride and I can't wait for issue three.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unearth #3

Sep 12, 2019

Unearth is the series I have wanted. It has the energy of Alien with the suspense and body horror of The Thing and all wrapped into a unique story. It's a must read for horror fans far and wide.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vampire: The Masquerade #1

Aug 5, 2020

There is a wonderful and dangerous world in Vault'sVampire: The Masquerade #1 and it's just the beginning for it. If you're worried about stepping into the vampiric underbelly of the Twin Cities with this issue because you've never played a game in the franchise, fear not. This is a story for vampire loves of all backgrounds and with a cover that exudes bigBlissenergy, it's a must-buy for horror fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wave, Listen To Me! #1

Jun 8, 2020

Wave, Listen to Me! is a great read, especially for manga fans looking for a story that takes the rage from a messy breakup to the page. I can see Minare's story being cathartic for many women and honestly just adults struggling in their jobs and just looking for something to go right.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #750

Jan 22, 2020

This issue also provides fans with eight variant covers that tracks Wonder Woman's identity over the 80 decades she's been published in with one from the 1940s by Joshua Middleton, the 1950s by Jenny Frison, the 1960s by J. Scott Campbell and Sabine Rich, the 1970s by Olivier Coipel, the 1980s by George Prez and Laura Martin, the 1990s by Brian Bolland, the 2000s by Adam Hughes, and the 2010s by Jim Lee, Scott Williams & Alex Sinclair.Wonder Woman #750stands a love letter to the titular character. Overall, this issue is going to mean a lot to many people and I'm happy to say it's a worthy celebration for our hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Wonder Woman: Come Back To Me #1

Jul 17, 2019

I can't say that Wonder Woman: Come Back to Me #1 scratches my Wonder Woman itch, but it does have some stellar posing shots of our hero that I would gladly frame and hang in my office. Beyond that, it isn't bad, it's just there. Whether this is because this is the third printing of this particular story or it's because of the story, Wonder Woman: Come Back to Me #1 is average in everything but the design of Wonder Woman herself.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wonder Woman: Dead Earth #1

Dec 18, 2019

Overall, I think thatWonder Woman: Dead Earthwill thrive once all four books have been released. While I love the title there are some glaring issues that keep this book from greatness though I have absolute faith in its development which makes me frustrated that the book is coming out every other month, but is to be expected with the 48-page count. If you're looking for a different kind of Wonder Woman story, pick upDead Earth.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Xena: Warrior Princess (2019) #2

May 16, 2019

Overall, I came to this new series out of a love for Xena and I'm staying because of a creative team that feeds that nostalgia while also offering up an interesting and unique world of their own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Xena: Warrior Princess (2019) #3

Jun 16, 2019

Overall, Xena: Warrior Princess #3continues a great series. Each month, I patiently wait for the next issue like I used to wait for new episodes of the television show. I can't think of a better writer behind my childhood icon, and as the story seems to be taking us well beyond Greek mythology, the series is fresh, fun, and something I have fallen completely in love with.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Xena: Warrior Princess (2019) #4

Jul 14, 2019

Overall, and I feel like I say this with every issue review, Xena: Warrior Princess #4has me more in love with this iteration of the characters that I know and love. Beyond that, I am excited to see more myths being reimagined and interacted with, and since the trio has been teleported to yet another interesting place on the final page, I can't wait to pick up issue number five.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Xena: Warrior Princess (2019) #6

Sep 22, 2019

Overall, Xena: Warrior Princess #6is another success for Dynamite and the creative team. I say it every time I review this title but it continues to ring true, this is the Xena I missed from pop culture and each issue feels like a warm hug from the fandom to me thanks to Ayala's storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Zom 100: Bucket List of the Dead #1

Feb 15, 2021

Overall, ZOM 100 is funny, and filled with moments that readers can see themselves in - even with the fanservice. Additionally, the art is fun, gorey, and somehow lighthearted. But truly, my favorite thing about this manga is that Akira isn't your traditional hapless male protagonist living out his fantasy. He's actually a capable former rugby player who just wants to live before he dies. And that's a story we can all get behind.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More