Kate Snchez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 43
8.5Avg. Review Rating

10
Angel (2019) #1

May 29, 2019

Overall, Angel #1is a strong debut for a reimagining of an old character that has me ready for the rest of the series. Both the script and art have created a dark world that not only fits well with the existing character but improves on it in ways I never thought possible.Angel #1is a must-read for those who watched Angeland for those who don't know who he is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angel (2019) #2

Jun 26, 2019

Angel #2 is a perfect issue that balance Angelus and Angel, with the poetry of the former when needed and the one-liners for the latter to distinguish the two, building out the two halves of the character. As a series, I am buckled in for the rest ofAngel and with the crossover event with theBuffyseries coming, I'm more than ready.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Angel (2019) #3

Jul 31, 2019

With the Hellmouth event announced during SDCC, we know that inAngel #5we're going to see Angel and Buffy meet, but until then, I'm satisfied with the bonds that Hill is solidifying.Angel #3further shows readers that both Hill and Melnikov understand not only the character of Angel but the toy box of horror imagery and trope and how to play with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ascender #2

May 31, 2019

The preview stops as a large figure approaches them. The art is gorgeous and I am immediately pulled into Kayden's emotions. His tiny body against large cargo and I need to know more. Sea of Stars #1comes out July 3rd.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ascender #3

Jun 27, 2019

Overall, Ascender continues to be a must-read title for genre fans. That being said, each issue has ended slightly abruptly, leaving me to think that this series will benefit in from trade volume form.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ascender #4

Jul 25, 2019

Overall, between the concise storytelling and beautiful artwork, Ascenderis a must read for fans of fantasy. It offers beauty, wonder, darkness, and hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #32

May 22, 2019

Overall,Batman Beyond #32isn't great, but it isn't bad. The art and villain alone make up for frustrating character moments and so long as this charade isn't kept up much longer, the dynamic between Terry and The Splitt is sure to give a satisfying conclusion to the “Divide, Conquer, and Kill” arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #33

Jun 26, 2019

Overall, Batman Beyond #33 has effectively pulled me back into this arc. Splitt remains an intriguing villain, not-Bruce is finally found out, and by giving the McGinnis boys a reveal, they establish some rules to False Face's powers that open the door for more intriguing doppelgnging. With the ending of this issue moving the narrative in a new direction, the excitement for what comes next will keep me reading issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #34

Jul 24, 2019

Overall, I've grown tired of this arc and I was hoping that after the reveal of False Faces power-set, we'd see smart characters acting like themselves. Like I've explained, in Batman Beyond #34 this isn't the case. The more frustrating piece to all of this is that The Splitt is one of my favorite villains from DC Comics so far this year. They're interesting; Adam and Cade are a different kind of speedster, and their dueling personalities make their interactions with Terry great to see. False Face is also an intriguing villain.It's the failed potential of "Divide, Conquer, and Kill" that makes Batman Beyond #34 hurt the most as a fan of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #6

Jul 4, 2019

With all of that said, Buffy The Vampire Slayer #6 is a solid issue with enough heart and character progression to build out the world further. I am truly in love with these characters, their relationships, and I'm ready for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #7

Aug 8, 2019

Overall, I'm unsure if I can come back into the book. The jump away from Mora's art has been frustrating for the most part and I'm unsure what to do as a reader. Bellaire's narrative is beautiful and she understands the characters but sadly, Lpez's art doesn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 9 #5

Jun 5, 2019

Pick up Buffy The Vampire #5 because of the cliffhanger left after the last issue, but don't expect for it hit you in the Buffy-feels like every issue preceding it was able to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased #2

Jun 5, 2019

In the end, we know that the world doesn't escape and thrive, as the narrator tells us, they sought to hide, but they were too late.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DCeased #3

Jul 3, 2019

With issue number three down,DCEASED remains one of my favorite comics out right now. It is horrific, it is beautiful, and it is devastating. DCEASED #3 is a story that moves beyond shock and awe and focuses on breaking your heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
DCeased #4

Aug 7, 2019

Each kill and its consequence is crafted skillfully by an author who understands the different empathic connections we have to the heroes. Taylor exploits the emotional threads between us and our icons in the way horror should. Pick up DCEASED #4,you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Faithless #2

May 23, 2019

Overall, the fact that Faithless is only a six-issue series means that I will ride this story out, but I can't say that progression in the story executed with what it needed to in order to add weight to Faith's magical awakening, right after having her sexual awakening in the last issue. While Faith is interesting, Poppy's manic pixie dream girl is as frustrating as any character that fits that trope. With the high rating that I gave Faithless #1,this issue was a let-down.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Faithless #3

Jun 21, 2019

Overall, this will be my last review ofFaithless.It's direction shift and shock jock scripting is frustrating. Sadly, this limited series is one that I have been waiting for and I'm saddened to see where it is now with only two issues left. I will be following Llovet's work, but that's the only takeaway I have from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goddess Mode #6

Jun 19, 2019

Overall, Goddess Mode #6 is a phenomenal end to this arc. With the future of the series dependent on sales from this point, I hope to all the Oracles we get to see more of this world, especially considering the ramifications of the final fight. But, this issue closed out so well, that if the door remains closed, this issue completes the story well, even with some threads that can be picked up in the future. Ultimately Goddess Mode #1 " #6 is one of my favorite arcs in comics, not just for 2019 but ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
High Level #5

Dec 31, 1969

There is only one issue left in the arc and afterHigh Level #5I'm not sure how excited I am to see the arc end and have some questions answered. With the recent announcement of the closing of the DC Vertigo imprint, I'm worried for all of the titles I'm reading from the publisher. That said, if this story was to wrap entirely after number six, it would feel like the journey had run its course.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Manor Black #1

Jul 31, 2019

Manor Black #1 has laid the building blocks for a dark world that I'm excited to fall into.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Riverdale Season 3 #3

May 7, 2019

Overall, Riverdale Season 3 #3 continues to show why fans of the show should pick up the series. While this issue does require prior knowledge of the CW series, it isn't a hindrance given its nature as a tie-in. That being said, I do recommend that those who are new to the Riverdale world start watching the show, now available on Netflix, to start to get a feel for the world and the dynamics in it to fully enjoy this comic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Riverdale Season 3 #4

Jun 24, 2019

Riverdale Season 3 #4will be available where comics are sold on June 26, 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Riverdale Season 3 #5

Aug 1, 2019

Overall, Riverdale Season 3 is a wonderful addition to the existing story of Riverdaleon the CW. It's a must-read for people who love the world that's been adapted to television and at the end of the day, each of these five issues holds two great stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #3

May 10, 2019

Overall, I highly recommend Ronin Islandfor its story, for its art, and for its heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #4

Jun 7, 2019

Overall, Ronin Island #4continues to tell a wonderful story that will have fantasy and horror fans in love with every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #5

Aug 6, 2019

Ronin Island remains a must-buy series. With the volume currently available, Ronin Island #5 is the perfect time to jump into the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sabrina the Teenage Witch (2019) #2

May 17, 2019

Overall, Sabrina the Teenage Witch #2 introduces us to a larger world of magic, where issue number one introduced us to the world of high school. With creature designs like the ones in this issue, I'm hoping that Greendale is on top of "a freaking ancient monster burial ground" with many more to come. As a fan of fantasy and witchy stories, Sabrina the Teenage Witch #2is a comic you need to pick up for writing, art, and the world that's being built in Greendale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sabrina the Teenage Witch (2019) #4

Aug 1, 2019

Overall, with one issue left, Sabrina the Teenage Witchis a series you need to pick up. With Sabrina the Teenage Witch #4,Thompson writes a true teenage identity story while the artists, Veronica and Andy Fish, offer up a beautiful world to jump into, one of spooky fantasy and vibrant spells.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Samurai Jack: Lost Worlds #1

May 11, 2019

Overall, Samurai JackLost Worlds #1is a must-read for anySamurai Jackfan but it may not be impactful for those who have not seen the television animation. The story hinges on a connection between the reader and the real Jack, so that when the realization hits, we feel the turn in the story. While I won't say that this isn't accessible for all readers, it will certainly land better and with more power for those familiar with or fans of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Samurai Jack: Lost Worlds #2

Jun 21, 2019

Overall, the ending Samurai Jack: Lost Worlds #2 is great, with a moral that wraps to the top of the issue and the importance of stories. That being said, this also means that I can't write much more without spoiling it and believe me, you want to pick this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sera and the Royal Stars #1

Jul 22, 2019

Sera and the Royal Stars #1 is a beautiful opening to the start of a fantasy. Tsuei knows the genre extremely well and his dialogue feels authentic, especially between Sera and her family. The dialogue is also powerful in defining Sera as a character. It shows us, rather than telling us, where her moral compass lies in the early pages as she instructs her troops to allow the enemy forces to bury their dead. From Tsuei's writing to Mok's art and Angulo's colors to Campbell's perfect lettering, I am undeniably hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Said Destroy #2

Jul 4, 2019

Overall, I will continue to highly recommend She Said Destroy to fans of comics, to fans of fantasy, and to fans of science fiction. It's a beautiful looking series with a story that is shaping up to build out a whole world to fall in love with.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Smooth Criminals #6

Jun 1, 2019

Overall, Smooth Criminals #6 offers up a climax to the big score we've been waiting for but ends on a cliffhanger that will you counting the days until issue seven comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Smooth Criminals #7

Jul 21, 2019

While I am in still in love withSmooth Criminalsas a series, I hope it finds a calmer pace and expands on the characters that I've come to root for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Space Bandits #1

Jul 3, 2019

Like most Netflix joint comics,Space Banditsis a limited series, set to run for five issues. With that, it's also important to keep in mind that it is listed as an adaptation and that a Netflix has confirmed that it will be joining other Millarworld projects like Jupiter's Legacy,Empress, andHuckon the streaming platform in the future. This has me extremely excited for the following issues and ultimately has me ready for action, emotion, and more killer scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Space Bandits #2

Aug 6, 2019

The creative team behind Space Bandits is perfection. The series shows an understanding of cyberpunk aesthetics and science fiction tropes in a way that empowers the narrative. And let's be honest, Thena and Cody are just badass. If you haven't picked it up yet, Space Bandits #2 is a must-read for science fiction fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Replacer #1

Jun 11, 2019

For readers who have experienced this kind of trauma, this is a must-read. In some ways, it gives those of us who have lived through similar situations a vocabulary to discuss it. The Replacer is a read I highly recommend. It is deep, dark, and gut-wrenching. This graphic novella uses horror as it's intended to be used. It tells us something about ourselves, our concerns, our fears, and ultimately how all of those are not always what they seem.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Secret Life of Pets #1

May 23, 2019

Overall, this issue is a great read for either those who love cute animals and the existing franchise and children alike. With art that sings and pets with personality, The Secret Life of Pets #1is a great addition to Titan's kids' comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unearth #2

Aug 15, 2019

Overall, Unearth #2 is another great issue in an already amazing series. Since this issue is light on the grotesque " well, outside the pustules on the walls " I'm expecting more body horror as the series continues and we start to spend more time with the diseased. It's safe to say I'm strapped in for this ride and I can't wait for issue three.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wonder Woman: Come Back To Me #1

Jul 17, 2019

I can't say that Wonder Woman: Come Back to Me #1 scratches my Wonder Woman itch, but it does have some stellar posing shots of our hero that I would gladly frame and hang in my office. Beyond that, it isn't bad, it's just there. Whether this is because this is the third printing of this particular story or it's because of the story, Wonder Woman: Come Back to Me #1 is average in everything but the design of Wonder Woman herself.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Xena: Warrior Princess (2019) #2

May 16, 2019

Overall, I came to this new series out of a love for Xena and I'm staying because of a creative team that feeds that nostalgia while also offering up an interesting and unique world of their own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Xena: Warrior Princess (2019) #3

Jun 16, 2019

Overall, Xena: Warrior Princess #3continues a great series. Each month, I patiently wait for the next issue like I used to wait for new episodes of the television show. I can't think of a better writer behind my childhood icon, and as the story seems to be taking us well beyond Greek mythology, the series is fresh, fun, and something I have fallen completely in love with.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Xena: Warrior Princess (2019) #4

Jul 14, 2019

Overall, and I feel like I say this with every issue review, Xena: Warrior Princess #4has me more in love with this iteration of the characters that I know and love. Beyond that, I am excited to see more myths being reimagined and interacted with, and since the trio has been teleported to yet another interesting place on the final page, I can't wait to pick up issue number five.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More