Danilo To's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sequential Planet Reviews: 66
8.3Avg. Review Rating

4.7
Amber Blake #1

Apr 3, 2019

The plot for this series intrigued me, it really did. I adore Nikita and whatever comes in that style, which was pretty much what this title promised. I was excited to read the first chapter and to write a review about it. Unfortunately, it was a huge disappointment in both writing and artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Artemis and the Assassin #1

Mar 19, 2020

Despite its few flaws, Artemis & The Assassin promises to be an interesting new series from Aftershock. If you're interested in time-traveling agencies like I am, it is worth giving it a go in order to support the publication. But it also might be worth waiting on the next chapter to see how the story engages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Criminal (2019) #2

Feb 12, 2019

Criminal would be worth the read even if it was just about getting to know the creative team's capabilities. Terrific writing along with a spectacular artwork makes me glad that I picked this up and even more anxious for the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Daredevil (2019) #14

Dec 9, 2019

Ever since Zdarsky was announced for the Daredevil title, we got excited. This issue, which puts the writer along with a fantastic group of other artists lives up to that excitement fully. We have a good story, good conduction and great artwork to feast our eyes upon. Definitely worth picking up if you enjoy a good comic and even more if you consider yourself a Daredevil fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Red #1

Mar 20, 2019

Dark Red #1 appears to be an exciting new series displaying great quality in both writing and artwork making for something that promises to be a thrilling read every issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dead Body Road: Bad Blood #1

Jun 24, 2020

Overall this was a fantastic read. I hadn't read a crime story since last year so it's refreshing to have a go after all this time and get this much quality. If you're a fan of crime comics then you're definitely picking this up for it is even better than the first iteration and I'm expecting it to maintain that standard.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Descendent (2019) #1

May 7, 2019

Descendent #1 is an interesting start to a mystery filled comic book, first I've ever come to read. I expected an insight on both sides of the mystery right away but realized I didn't know what I wanted as the talented creative team showed me, playing their cards close to their chest. The readers will get to see the case develop along with the characters which makes for a thrilling read of an investigative story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #4

Mar 6, 2019

Die proves itself to be an instant classic every new chapter. Breathtaking artwork accompanied with talented and experienced storytelling makes this chapter another delight in what should be a feast once this series is complete.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Doctor Doom (2019) #1

Oct 12, 2019

Despite not being a great fan of the artwork, the plot and characters have interested me deeply and I cannot wait for the next issue to come out. I also hope the series doesn't extend itself beyond needed, feeling much more, at least for now, like a great mini-series instead of a new ongoing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Doctor Strange (2018) #11

Feb 21, 2019

This issue is fun to read but apparently inconsequential as it gives the reader a quick and simple solution to what appeared to be a grave situation in last month's issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Doctor Strange (2018) #14

May 22, 2019

I love the mystic universe surrounding Doctor Strange as much as I love the characters in it. I'm hoping the following issues resolve this arc in a compelling fashion since it started off great. Besides that this, run is still worth the read for the art in it and the entertaining reintroduction of classic characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dr. Strange (2019) #2

Jan 30, 2020

If you're looking for a nice read and are a fan of Doctor Strange, you should give this series a go.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Dune: House Atreides #1

Oct 24, 2020

As someone who was excited to see how Dune would end up on a comic format, I have to say I was a little bit disappointed. Although the artwork was, indeed really good, it got obfuscated by the crazy amount of plots and just plain bad writing which violates the pinnacle rule of visual storytelling: show, don't tell. I hope this series eventually picks up seeing as Dune has a tremendous potential and I'd love to see it done properly on comics eventually.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dying Is Easy #1

Dec 11, 2019

Like mentioned at the beginning of the review, I loved how well paired Simmonds' style got with Hill's storytelling and despite my regards about the fight scene, the plot and the art are more than enough to convince me to keep up with this comic and see just how wonderful and gritty it can get.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Eve Stranger #1

May 7, 2019

Eve Stranger #1 embraces the action-filled story it promises to be. Taking it's time to present all the elements in a charismatic manner this comic should be yet another great title by an incredibly creative and resourceful group of artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Excellence #1

May 7, 2019

Excellence shows right away what it came for: excellence. Exciting action, compelling characters and an involving plot, this series is definitely worth picking up as a beautiful new gem available for us comic book readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Excellence #5

Sep 18, 2019

Excellence continues to amaze this reviewer. Every chapter takes an unexpected turn and develops its characters a little more. I can't wait to see where the plot is heading and I'm pretty confident is going to be excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Excellence #7

Jun 9, 2020

Excellence continues to live up to its name with amazing creativity and talent. It should keep up the pace as long as it steers onto its conclusion and I hope dearly that it is reminded a long way down the line as a modern classic of comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Exorsisters #4

Jan 22, 2019

Exorsisters #4 continues to drag down a series that was supposed to be centered around mysticism in exchange for a few quick chuckles and a cute art style that cannot be considered scary by anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Fairlady #2

May 15, 2019

Fantasy elements combined with greatly written mystery cases accompanied by gorgeous visuals. These are the main components of both Fairlady issues released so far, meaning I'm gonna pick up the next one with huge enthusiasm and I recommend this immensely to anyone who likes detective stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fairlady #5

Aug 21, 2019

Fairlady departs from our lives far too early as it was just starting to outline its major plot. It was a beautiful project performed by a group of deeply talented artists who I'll make sure to follow from this point on. For that, I can only thank them for giving us a small taste of what could've been.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Finger Guns #1

Feb 24, 2020

Finger Guns #1, despite being quite standard for the first issue presents a promising start to a series with an interesting premise and great potential to hit top sales this year. The artwork is what did most for it, for now, but I'm sure the writing will bring itself up a notch in the next issues. This issue presents gorgeous art and is worth picking up for getting to know the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Glow (2019) #1

Mar 26, 2019

This first issue is a funny and entertaining read and it feels good to get a new story about GLOW's lovely characters, but it merely scratched the TV series' already displayed potential to present heartfelt and heavier story lines. Which is why I'm hoping Howard will drive the comic a bit darker in the next issues, seeing as most of the story arcs in the series also started off lightly

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Gunning For Hits #3

Mar 12, 2019

Gunning For Hits might have started on a low note and scared some readers away on the first chapter, but Rougvie and Moritat have, since then, shown amazing synchrony in their their work making for great storytelling on a charming, funny and instigating comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
High Level #1

Feb 21, 2019

High Level comes in its first issue with a lot of information, but every single piece of it makes the reader excited to learn more about this world as it comes accompanied with magnificent artwork and through tremendously talented storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
John Constantine: Hellblazer #1

Nov 29, 2019

Comic readers and fans of Hellblazer from every corner of the Earth may rejoice. It is back and it is looking incredibly promising. Counting on a highly talented team, the title should bring up the quality standards back to Vertigo times and if that won't convince you to pick up this new series, I don't know what will.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
John Constantine: Hellblazer #2

Dec 20, 2019

This second chapter has developed the mystery a bit further as well as set up John's new "friendships" for something that should come down the line. It may feel something of a rehash of the last issue, but it makes sense since Constantine is still getting a grip of London nowadays and is handling a location-based situation. The next chapter is the finale of the first arc and from what I've learned of this creative team, it should be a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
John Constantine: Hellblazer #3

Jan 24, 2020

John Constantine: Hellblazer's first arc is concluded. It was a tremendously good one to begin with. The cast of artists could not have been a better one since it feels, throughout all three issues which compose this arc, that all the members of this creative team made it together, in the same room with a passion for the project. Now it's official: John Constantine is back and I, for one, cannot wait for more of his stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
King of Nowhere #2

May 30, 2020

King of Nowhere is a nice addition to anyone's pull this week for its compelling characters, world and a plot that pulls you away from the every day waking world into a quite regular dreaming world, but wondrous nonetheless. Composed by well-aligned group of professionals King of Nowhere is definitely worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Loki (2019) #1

Jul 17, 2019

If you're a fan of recent iterations of Loki you can't miss this story as it promises to deliver the best of the God of Lies along with gorgeous artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mall (2019) #1

Aug 21, 2019

This is a solid first issue. The writing presents us the world, as well as some main characters and the artwork, makes the reading compelling though it might not to that to everyone. Despite that, the creative team appears to have a good alignment of what this project is about and is delivering precisely what was intended which, for me, looks incredible!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Man Without Fear (2019) #2

Jan 9, 2019

This issue is good enough to pass some time but does make it hard for the readers to invest themselves in buying this book every month. Though slow-paced, MacKay does an excellent job diving inside Murdock's mind and telling the not so compelling story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Man Without Fear (2019) #3

Jan 17, 2019

This issue is the best of this series so far. With more fluid storytelling relying solely on dialogue we get to see a reflection on both Matt's current state and a little action on the flashbacks. The art is amazing since page one and most definitely an upgrade from last issue's.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Man Without Fear (2019) #4

Jan 24, 2019

Man Without Fear #4 dives deeper into the fear Kingpin inspires and does so with great artwork and amazing writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Man Without Fear (2019) #5

Feb 1, 2019

This issue contains, yet again, sensational writing and storytelling, beautiful artwork and a harmony between all of it's elements that definitely make a great comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Manor Black #1

Jul 31, 2019

This was a spectacular surprise in my pull list as I knew nothing of this comic before reading it and now I can't get enough. I hope the title maintain it's quality as it progresses because the story is deeply instigating and the magic in this world seems like a well-constructed one and that always puts a smile on this reviewer's face.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Meet The Skrulls #1

Mar 7, 2019

Meet The Skrull promises to be an interesting read from the very start. Mixing the themes of both family drama and spy thriller stories organically making sure the fans of both genres can enjoy this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Meet The Skrulls #5

Jun 5, 2019

The conclusion for Meet the Skrulls is an outstanding wrap-up of everything that was constructed over the five issues of the series and, as a gift, Thompson gave Marvel a new set of already beautifully developed characters to work on. To anyone who hasn't picked up this series, this is the moment I tell you to do it and guarantee you won't regret it. After having read the Secret Invasion event back in 2009, I say confidently that Meet the Skrulls, as its title suggests is, at last, a proper introduction to the culture and the struggle of this classic Marvel alien race.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Money Shot #1

Oct 23, 2019

A talented team of writers, a talented team of artists and a extremely original plot and set of characters. Money Shot is a promising new release by Vault Comics and if you're into comedy and science fiction, I cannot recommend this comic enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Money Shot #4

Feb 7, 2020

Once I dove into Money Shot I was expecting a light sci-fi set up with a lot of sex jokes and a plot focusing on comedy. Instead, I got a gripping plot about scientists doing what it takes to keep their research going, and exploring a fascinating theme in an extraordinary way! I love Money Shot and I could not recommend it enough to any comic book reader out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Outer Darkness #5

Mar 12, 2019

Outer Darkness is an amazing series which just released what could be its first dud. Maybe this month's dull read is compensated by the next issue which concludes the comics' first story arc and, who knows, shows that this issue's lack of action was the best option to go for. Despite not enjoying this issue, I recommend picking this series as it is one of the most innovative comics being published at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Outer Darkness #6

Apr 9, 2019

Last issue may have been a bit dull, but this one makes it clear that the creative team saved the best for last. Filled with action, gore and mathematical-magik this chapter makes for a great finale and makes me excited for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Prodigy #2

Jan 9, 2019

This issue comes as it is: a second part to a bigger story. Even with nearly no deveoping of the plot it sets up the next issues smoothly. The protagonist and the antagonist get some development but are still lacking. The art is breathtaking being the best feature of the book easily

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Punk Mambo #2

May 29, 2019

Punk Mambo is a classic if I've ever read one. The storytelling flows organically and is complemented perfectly with the artwork. I look forward to every issue to find out more about Victoria's past and about this wonderful world the creative team is composing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Punk Mambo #5

Aug 17, 2019

Overall, this was a really fun to read series. Charismatic characters, exciting mystical action and a pinch of actual terror here and there. Punk Mambo ends with a tease for a sequel, however, in case it doesn't get one, this was a great series on it's own. It presents a quirky combination of ideology and mysticism while maintaining an interesting plot with a marvelous artwork all the way through the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Punks Not Dead: London Calling #1

Feb 26, 2019

The great writing, gorgeous penciling and breathtaking coloring are to show just how good this book can come to be. The story is just starting and we already get beautiful pages of 'exorcism' and other mystical manifestations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Punks Not Dead: London Calling #5

Jun 30, 2019

Although I did think the ending was fitting considering the direction the story's taken, it is predictable that many readers may not think the same way. There's a lot that's deconstructed in the last pages, but, at least for this reviewer, it doesn't feel rushed. It's all been coming to this point the difference is it actually happened, there's no sudden twist or change. The story flows as it should. Though some may find that a bit dull I think it's just what such a good story as this one deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Reaver #1

Jul 10, 2019

This series is off to a great start. It combines elements that we know such as a political struggle in a fantastic world as well as the expendable misfit team we all love, yet it add new elements and its own spin on just how weird these characters are. There's still a lot to explore in the main group as well as in the comic's universe making this chapter a must read set up for what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Sea of Sorrows #1

Nov 18, 2020

Although the plot didn't hook me in just yet, I see incredible potential for a great turn down the line in the mini-series which should feel like a reward just as valuable as the gold the characters are seeking. The artwork is astonishing, to say the least and I hope it continues to mesmerize.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Sharkey The Bounty Hunter #1

Feb 21, 2019

I liked this issue a lot. It shows us a promising universe and interesting characters. But, as I mentioned before, this is what Millar's appears to do best and, even with Bianchi's art, I consider it wise to not get my hopes up too high, just so I don't get disappointed with Millar's writing yet again. I recommend picking this up so you can see for yourself if it's worth the money of buying an issue a month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Stealth #1

Mar 18, 2020

Stealth presents yet a new twist to the superhero genre of comics and it does so with masterful storytelling created by an amazing team of artists who give this new vision all the charm it deserves. I really hope they downgrade the severity of the situation that was just set up right away and keep it as a defining character trait.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Test #1

Jul 4, 2019

Test's first issue puts in a motion a new sci-fi story which should involve conspiracy, futuristic paraphernalia and fighting off against establishment rules in a interesting remix of many familiar elements by a talented team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Boys: Dear Becky #1

Jun 5, 2020

If you've read up to this point and you're a fan of The Boys original comic book series and any previous installations. If you've only watched the show, maybe it's time to catch up on the slightly different plot points between comic and TV series in order to be able to keep up with this new title. With a great return of a legendary cast of artists, I, for one, am relieved and satisfied with the quality of this new iteration and cannot wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
The Clock #1

Jan 7, 2020

The Clock presented an incredibly interesting plot which sadly started with poor execution in its first chapter. There is, as I mentioned before, obvious potential, and I sincerely hope that the quality picks up in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Crow: Lethe #1

Mar 8, 2020

The Crow: Lethe is off to a great start! A solid introduction to the characters and to the protagonist's mystery and counting with an obviously dedicated team of artists, this series should count for a wonderful addition to The Crow mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
The Magic Order #6

Feb 13, 2019

The Magic Order presents us with interesting characters and an interesting universe. Sadly that is what seems to make Millar's writing: great narrative construction but average narrative conduction as it has been a while since I read something of his that didn't feel rushed at the end. That being said, this is still an amazingly illustrated book that gives us a good read at the end of the day.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Scumbag #1

Oct 24, 2020

Being a Rick Remender title, The Scumbag has already drawn attention on its release due to the writer's (rightfully occurring) hype. However Image's new series is off to a promising start as we all expected. Not only because of Remender's skillful writing but also because of an incredibly talented team that is creating this new title with him. I definitely recommend giving The Scumbag a read to see if it's for you, because it is definitely for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Umbrella Academy: Hotel Oblivion #6

Mar 26, 2019

One issue away from it's final chapter, Umbrella Academy: Hotel Oblivion still has a lot to explain. Nonetheless, this is a beautiful looking book with sensational writing giving the fans of the Hargreeves family even more than what we already got in the previous issues. This issue specifically has delivered way more than what I've been expecting from this new volume and makes me excited for the finale, making it impossible, for this reviewer, to not grade this as a masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The White Trees #2

Sep 24, 2019

White Trees was a quick and blessing breeze which came along as fast as it went away. Yet, it is easily one of the best fantasy comics of the year because whatever the team chose to do, they did it right. If you don't like the story you'll like the characters, if not that the artwork. It's a simple and entertaining plot done with tons of style and passions easily making this a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Wicked + The Divine #41

Jan 14, 2019

For those who have been faithful to the series, this issue presents a fresh and delightful read as it puts the story back on its tracks for good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Tommy Gun Wizards #1

Aug 28, 2019

loved this comic, from the plot to its characters and world construction. I hope it lasts for as long as the creative team needs it to because both issues were incredibly nice to read every single page of the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Trees: Three Fates #2

Oct 15, 2019

As the story goes so far, Trees: Three Fates may not interest every reader, but, as I mentioned before, I trust Ellis has some good cards up his sleeve which should be even more powerful with the artistic team involved in this project. I look forward to the next chapter!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Twin Worlds #1

May 12, 2020

Twin Worlds was a great surprise for me. I'm not the biggest fan of epic sagas but the boldness of combining science fiction and fantasy is always an interesting hook. The storytelling of this comics' team is incredibly well aligned and I sure hope it gets a long run so we can see what will be of little Vin Rea and Vin Rakkan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
West Coast Avengers (2018) #8

Feb 27, 2019

This series makes for a delightful read in every single issue and it deserves tons of appraisal. I've loved every chapter's artwork until now, Lim's is easily my favorite since it fits so well with Thompson's storytelling. I'm looking forward to the next issue and hope this title carries on for a while longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Wynd (2020) #1

Jun 17, 2020

I'm not really a big avid medieval fantasy reader but I really enjoyed reading Wynd. The experience set up by the amazingly assembled cast of professionals really comes across. The fact that every issue is double the length of regular ones also helps as this is a comic you should really enjoy if you take a while, sit down and take it all in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Wynd (2020) #5

Oct 28, 2020

This was an epic first volume. As I mentioned early this could have just been another fantasy hero's journey. It was a hero's journey, but not just another one. Wynd takes many established tropes as a guide but never as a rule and the talented team behind it gives this comics soul that reflects just how much passion and dedication was put into this project. Wynd's story is not over. This was just the beginning and I, for one, cannot wait for the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

2nd

November

October

More