Danilo To's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sequential Planet Reviews: 21
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.7
Criminal (2019) #2

Feb 12, 2019

Criminal would be worth the read even if it was just about getting to know the creative team's capabilities. Terrific writing along with a spectacular artwork makes me glad that I picked this up and even more anxious for the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Red #1

Mar 20, 2019

Dark Red #1 appears to be an exciting new series displaying great quality in both writing and artwork making for something that promises to be a thrilling read every issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #4

Mar 6, 2019

Die proves itself to be an instant classic every new chapter. Breathtaking artwork accompanied with talented and experienced storytelling makes this chapter another delight in what should be a feast once this series is complete.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Doctor Strange (2018) #11

Feb 21, 2019

This issue is fun to read but apparently inconsequential as it gives the reader a quick and simple solution to what appeared to be a grave situation in last month's issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Exorsisters #4

Jan 22, 2019

Exorsisters #4 continues to drag down a series that was supposed to be centered around mysticism in exchange for a few quick chuckles and a cute art style that cannot be considered scary by anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Glow (2019) #1

Mar 26, 2019

This first issue is a funny and entertaining read and it feels good to get a new story about GLOW's lovely characters, but it merely scratched the TV series' already displayed potential to present heartfelt and heavier story lines. Which is why I'm hoping Howard will drive the comic a bit darker in the next issues, seeing as most of the story arcs in the series also started off lightly

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Gunning For Hits #3

Mar 12, 2019

Gunning For Hits might have started on a low note and scared some readers away on the first chapter, but Rougvie and Moritat have, since then, shown amazing synchrony in their their work making for great storytelling on a charming, funny and instigating comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
High Level #1

Feb 21, 2019

High Level comes in its first issue with a lot of information, but every single piece of it makes the reader excited to learn more about this world as it comes accompanied with magnificent artwork and through tremendously talented storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Man Without Fear (2019) #2

Jan 9, 2019

This issue is good enough to pass some time but does make it hard for the readers to invest themselves in buying this book every month. Though slow-paced, MacKay does an excellent job diving inside Murdock's mind and telling the not so compelling story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Man Without Fear (2019) #3

Jan 17, 2019

This issue is the best of this series so far. With more fluid storytelling relying solely on dialogue we get to see a reflection on both Matt's current state and a little action on the flashbacks. The art is amazing since page one and most definitely an upgrade from last issue's.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Man Without Fear (2019) #4

Jan 24, 2019

Man Without Fear #4 dives deeper into the fear Kingpin inspires and does so with great artwork and amazing writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Man Without Fear (2019) #5

Feb 1, 2019

This issue contains, yet again, sensational writing and storytelling, beautiful artwork and a harmony between all of it's elements that definitely make a great comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Meet The Skrulls #1

Mar 7, 2019

Meet The Skrull promises to be an interesting read from the very start. Mixing the themes of both family drama and spy thriller stories organically making sure the fans of both genres can enjoy this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Outer Darkness #5

Mar 12, 2019

Outer Darkness is an amazing series which just released what could be its first dud. Maybe this month's dull read is compensated by the next issue which concludes the comics' first story arc and, who knows, shows that this issue's lack of action was the best option to go for. Despite not enjoying this issue, I recommend picking this series as it is one of the most innovative comics being published at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Prodigy #2

Jan 9, 2019

This issue comes as it is: a second part to a bigger story. Even with nearly no deveoping of the plot it sets up the next issues smoothly. The protagonist and the antagonist get some development but are still lacking. The art is breathtaking being the best feature of the book easily

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Punks Not Dead: London Calling #1

Feb 26, 2019

The great writing, gorgeous penciling and breathtaking coloring are to show just how good this book can come to be. The story is just starting and we already get beautiful pages of 'exorcism' and other mystical manifestations.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Sharkey The Bounty Hunter #1

Feb 21, 2019

I liked this issue a lot. It shows us a promising universe and interesting characters. But, as I mentioned before, this is what Millar's appears to do best and, even with Bianchi's art, I consider it wise to not get my hopes up too high, just so I don't get disappointed with Millar's writing yet again. I recommend picking this up so you can see for yourself if it's worth the money of buying an issue a month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
The Magic Order #6

Feb 13, 2019

The Magic Order presents us with interesting characters and an interesting universe. Sadly that is what seems to make Millar's writing: great narrative construction but average narrative conduction as it has been a while since I read something of his that didn't feel rushed at the end. That being said, this is still an amazingly illustrated book that gives us a good read at the end of the day.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Umbrella Academy: Hotel Oblivion #6

Mar 26, 2019

One issue away from it's final chapter, Umbrella Academy: Hotel Oblivion still has a lot to explain. Nonetheless, this is a beautiful looking book with sensational writing giving the fans of the Hargreeves family even more than what we already got in the previous issues. This issue specifically has delivered way more than what I've been expecting from this new volume and makes me excited for the finale, making it impossible, for this reviewer, to not grade this as a masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Wicked + The Divine #41

Jan 14, 2019

For those who have been faithful to the series, this issue presents a fresh and delightful read as it puts the story back on its tracks for good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
West Coast Avengers (2018) #8

Feb 27, 2019

This series makes for a delightful read in every single issue and it deserves tons of appraisal. I've loved every chapter's artwork until now, Lim's is easily my favorite since it fits so well with Thompson's storytelling. I'm looking forward to the next issue and hope this title carries on for a while longer.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More