Tony Hammack's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 69
6.9Avg. Review Rating

4.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #1

Aug 3, 2018

I am holding out to see where this story goes, but I really do not like this first issue in this maxi-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #2

Sep 7, 2018

This issue got me re-engaged with this series. Let's hope the third issue keeps up the momentum.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman (2017) #9

Nov 16, 2017

A solid second issue that has comedy, fear induced Wonderland landscapes, sibling rivalries, and resolution to Kates survivors guilt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman (2017) #10

Dec 21, 2017

This issue closes the arc on Kate's encounter with Scarecrow and sets up her next mission to against the “Many Arms of Death” while dealing and accepting her damage.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #11

Jan 18, 2018

It was a great individual issue with a little nostalgia (Professor Pyg), and the opportunity to be apart of a Kate's journey from self-loathing failure to confidant hero. The first step in her journey is to confront the foundation of her downward spiral, Brussels.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman (2017) #12

Feb 22, 2018

A solid story that ties up loose ends, and creates excitement for the next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batwoman (2017) #13

Mar 22, 2018

It is good to see the plot take form and advance (although at snails place). I really want more character growth from Kate. The art and Julia's reappearance are the best parts of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batwoman (2017) #14

Apr 19, 2018

Alice's endgame is the only interesting thing in this issue. My patience with this book and Kate is diminishing quickly. I want to see the strong, heroic Kate from Detective Comics, not the unsure, self-loathing one in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Nation (2018) #0

May 2, 2018

This teaser comic definitely achieved its goal. I cannot wait to read the rest of the issues in these story arcs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DCeased #1

May 3, 2019

It is the beginning of the apocalypse for the DC Universe. I wonder how the Justice League can ever beat the army or the undead?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #980

May 9, 2018

Tynion's last arc just keeps getting better with each issue. This is a definite must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #981

May 23, 2018

Tynion will surely be missed, but Detective Comics has a great foundation to build on. I am ready to read Bryan Hill's arc starting in Detective Comics #983.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #982

Jun 13, 2018

I had a great time reading this issue. Between the story and the art, I have no complaints. I am, however, looking forward to Bryan Hill's run starting in #983.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #983

Jun 27, 2018

Great start. I cannot wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #984

Jul 11, 2018

It is a solid follow-up, and I cannot wait for the next issue. Hill is doing good work, do not miss out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #985

Jul 25, 2018

After seeing Bruce's role in the creation of Karma, I am eagerly waiting to see how he will be able to shield himself from Karma's mask in order to bring him to justice. I am a little leery of the Jefferson plot in this arc though; it is not bad, but Bruce's plot is just more interesting. Bryan Hill is writing a killer arc; it is definitely worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #986

Aug 8, 2018

I like and dislike this issue. Hopefully, Hill will get the story moving along in the forthcoming issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Detective Comics (2016) #988

Sep 12, 2018

Hopefully, Robinson is able to clean up the dialogue a bit before the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Detective Comics (2016) #990

Oct 10, 2018

This story could be so much better, without Robinson.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Detective Comics (2016) #992

Nov 14, 2018

The saving grace during Robinson's arc is the art team. Each panel is crisp and sharp, with beautiful colors. I have nothing bad to say about them.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Detective Comics (2016) #993

Nov 28, 2018

A disappointing end to a disappointing arc….

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #994

Dec 12, 2018

I can actually look forward to and enjoy Detective Comics again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #995

Jan 2, 2019

What a gut-wrenching issue! So many feels…

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #996

Jan 16, 2019

This issue does not have Bruce address Leslie's death and Alfred's stabbing, which I think is a travesty. Also, the plot seems to moves too quickly, jumping from location to location with no true substance. Despite the criticisms, this issue had a lot of good moments. I did enjoy it. However, this is the weakest issue in Tomasi's run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #997

Jan 30, 2019

It was a fun and enjoyable issue. There is nothing better than Batman being attacked by sharks and piranhas.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Detective Comics (2016) #998

Feb 13, 2019

I am worried about the future of Tomasi's run, but intrigued by the concept that Batman's greatest enemy is his own fear.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #999

Feb 27, 2019

Issue #1000 is coming out on March 27. Be sure to grab a copy in celebration of such a milestone!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1000

Mar 27, 2019

There were many stories in this commemorative issue, but this issue highlights who Batman really is: he wishes there would be no more crime in Gotham, he is still scarred from his parents' deaths but we can see all the progress he has made, and he is thankful for his family.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1001

Apr 10, 2019

I feel this issue was a tad slow, but the first issue of every run has its problems because it is introducing so many different things. I am excited to see where this story is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1002

Apr 24, 2019

Since the Arkham Knight revealed his identity to Damian, hopefully, we will be let in on that secret soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1003

May 8, 2019

Although this issue moved the plot along, I still feel empty. I hope the next issue dives into the motivations of the Arkham Knight and her followers. I want to know why they are doing what they are doing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1004

May 22, 2019

I really liked Tomasi's origin for Astrid. For me, it was something new I have not read before. She is a villain who we can sympathize with. I am curious what Batman is going to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doomsday Clock #7

Sep 27, 2018

In one month, it seems we will have a face-off between Superman and Dr. Manhattan. When Dr. Manhattan appeared in the "Watchmen" universe, it was said of him, "The superman exists and he's American." He is about to go toe-to-toe with a Superman from Kansas.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doomsday Clock #8

Dec 7, 2018

Overall, it is a solid issue. It is a great story, though just not a home run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #9

Mar 8, 2019

We are given a hint at a showdown between the two Supermen: which will destroy the other?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #2

Aug 24, 2018

Tynion has made me a fan of this title, and I cannot wait for issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #3

Sep 28, 2018

Justice League Dark is definitely worth it. This story is only going to get better as time moves along. Jump on the bandwagon now before it is too late!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #4

Oct 19, 2018

Overall, I am happy with JLD, and I cannot wait for The Witching Hour part five.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #5

Nov 23, 2018

I am incredibly impressed with each issue. This book is my favorite out of the entire DC line. And this is weird, because I hate magic. I hate magic in movies and books. Yet, I am drawn to this title. A good writer is able to bring in those who are not interested in the story. And, the art enhances an already enchanting story. This book is so good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #6

Dec 14, 2018

This is a great issue with a few unexpected twists. Will Mordru be enough to oppose Nabu, or will he suffer the same as the Stranger?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #7

Jan 18, 2019

This is a decent issue between arcs. The next arc is about the Lords of Order. So, I am pretty excited about what is to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #23

Jan 26, 2018

It was the standard story where the villain with a god complex shares her plans (and inadvertently the way to defeat her) with traitor who helped her. But, what makes this issue appealing (and this arc) is the inclusion of another Alan Moore character in the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #24

Feb 16, 2018

I felt that Caitlyn's story in this arc has been fantastic. Promethea, an Alan Moore creation, was underwhelming used in this issue. And, Batman is back.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #25

Mar 2, 2018

Read this if you love Black Canary brutally calling out Batman on his behavior and motives.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #26

Mar 16, 2018

Great end to an interesting arc. Sad to see Lobo go, but excited for the future of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #27

Mar 30, 2018

I like how Orlando is deepening Ryan's character. This whole god of superheroes thing can be very interesting, but executed poorly will be yet another bland story about the JLA facing gods. I wish Orlando the best and I am very excited about this new direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #28

Apr 13, 2018

I really enjoy this story until Ahl is in a panel; otherwise, it is an extremely fun and action-packed story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #29

Apr 27, 2018

This is a good issue for the finale of this title. I like the idea of the Justice Foundation, and I am eager to see this is incorporated into other titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Milk Wars: Doom Patrol/JLA Special #1

Mar 2, 2018

Even for the craziest of plots, I love how I feel like an inspired kid after reading this due to the subplots. Even today, I feel encouraged and strong. On that alone, this issue is a success.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Ragman #5

Feb 15, 2018

The art was beautiful while the story was lackluster. Thankfully, the end of this miniseries is coming soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ragman #6

Mar 15, 2018

Overall, it is a good conclusion to an underwhelming series. I appreciated how this series dealt with veteran's issues, but it struggled with a coherent plot and the pacing was abysmal. Although I feel this miniseries underperformed, I feel that this is a good re-introduction of Rory Regan into the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 12, 2018

They say the only way to fight fire is with fire. The Joker thinks the only way to stop the Batman Who Laughs is a Batman Who Laughs. Let's see if his theory is correct!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #2

Jan 16, 2019

I am still unsure of the overall plan for the Batman Who Laughs to this point, but I am really enjoying this mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #3

Feb 13, 2019

Well, Bruce just became the Batman Who Laughs. I am curious how he will avoid the fate of the Dark Multiverse version.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #4

Apr 10, 2019

The art was amazing. I think this is the best Jock has done this entire miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #5

May 8, 2019

This story ends on such a cliffhanger, I do not know what to expect or what to hope for in the next issue. With two issues to go, I am not sure what craziness Synder has in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Batman Who Laughs (2018): The Grim Knight #1

Mar 13, 2019

I have liked the other Batman's from across the Multiverse, but I connect to the Grim Knight the most. His story is extremely organic. Just by one decision, he would become a totally different Batman " one that would eliminate all evil instead of seeking justice.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #1

Feb 21, 2018

This is one of my favorite issues since the start of Rebirth. I highly recommend that you buy and read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #2

Mar 21, 2018

Overall, Liam Sharp has done it again. Enough said. Get it and read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #3

Apr 18, 2018

This is another solid issue. It is not as action packed or flashy as the previous two, but seeing Bruce be a detective is worth the slower pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #4

May 16, 2018

Overall, I felt that this issue did what it needed to keep the momentum of the story going.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #5

Jun 22, 2018

Great issue and I am excited to read the finale!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #6

Jul 20, 2018

I completely enjoyed each issue of this series. The art is spectacular. The plot is deep and intriguing. The mythology is engaging and enlightening. It is a solid issue, and this miniseries is just great. Liam Sharp, great work!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #18

Feb 23, 2018

Solid and fun issue. Nothing better than seeing Grandpa Bruce, Grandpa Clark, and Grandma Diana.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #19

Mar 16, 2018

It is an incredibly fun issue with a crazy plot twist at the end. You should read this arc for the sheer fun of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #20

Mar 30, 2018

It is a lot of fun seeing the Trinity banter with each other during a battle. However, it is a pleasure to see them act not just as teammates but as a family.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #21

Apr 13, 2018

Overall, it was a fun issue and I am excited to see what happens next. Even with a slightly confusing nonlinear plot, it is always fun seeing the Trinity fight some monsters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #22

Apr 27, 2018

I liked this issue and this arc overall. However, I am sad that this is the finale and that this title has come to an end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016): Witching Hour #1

Oct 5, 2018

Crossovers are hit or miss for me, but the first issue of The Witching Hour is a strong start for this crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

May

April

More