Tony Hammack's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 45
6.7Avg. Review Rating

4.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #1

Aug 3, 2018

I am holding out to see where this story goes, but I really do not like this first issue in this maxi-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Adventures of the Super Sons #2

Sep 7, 2018

This issue got me re-engaged with this series. Let's hope the third issue keeps up the momentum.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman (2017) #9

Nov 16, 2017

A solid second issue that has comedy, fear induced Wonderland landscapes, sibling rivalries, and resolution to Kates survivors guilt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman (2017) #10

Dec 21, 2017

This issue closes the arc on Kate's encounter with Scarecrow and sets up her next mission to against the “Many Arms of Death” while dealing and accepting her damage.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #11

Jan 18, 2018

It was a great individual issue with a little nostalgia (Professor Pyg), and the opportunity to be apart of a Kate's journey from self-loathing failure to confidant hero. The first step in her journey is to confront the foundation of her downward spiral, Brussels.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman (2017) #12

Feb 22, 2018

A solid story that ties up loose ends, and creates excitement for the next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batwoman (2017) #13

Mar 22, 2018

It is good to see the plot take form and advance (although at snails place). I really want more character growth from Kate. The art and Julia's reappearance are the best parts of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batwoman (2017) #14

Apr 19, 2018

Alice's endgame is the only interesting thing in this issue. My patience with this book and Kate is diminishing quickly. I want to see the strong, heroic Kate from Detective Comics, not the unsure, self-loathing one in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Nation (2018) #0

May 2, 2018

This teaser comic definitely achieved its goal. I cannot wait to read the rest of the issues in these story arcs.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #980

May 9, 2018

Tynion's last arc just keeps getting better with each issue. This is a definite must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #981

May 23, 2018

Tynion will surely be missed, but Detective Comics has a great foundation to build on. I am ready to read Bryan Hill's arc starting in Detective Comics #983.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #982

Jun 13, 2018

I had a great time reading this issue. Between the story and the art, I have no complaints. I am, however, looking forward to Bryan Hill's run starting in #983.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #983

Jun 27, 2018

Great start. I cannot wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #984

Jul 11, 2018

It is a solid follow-up, and I cannot wait for the next issue. Hill is doing good work, do not miss out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #985

Jul 25, 2018

After seeing Bruce's role in the creation of Karma, I am eagerly waiting to see how he will be able to shield himself from Karma's mask in order to bring him to justice. I am a little leery of the Jefferson plot in this arc though; it is not bad, but Bruce's plot is just more interesting. Bryan Hill is writing a killer arc; it is definitely worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #986

Aug 8, 2018

I like and dislike this issue. Hopefully, Hill will get the story moving along in the forthcoming issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Detective Comics (2016) #988

Sep 12, 2018

Hopefully, Robinson is able to clean up the dialogue a bit before the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Detective Comics (2016) #990

Oct 10, 2018

This story could be so much better, without Robinson.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Detective Comics (2016) #992

Nov 14, 2018

The saving grace during Robinson's arc is the art team. Each panel is crisp and sharp, with beautiful colors. I have nothing bad to say about them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doomsday Clock #7

Sep 27, 2018

In one month, it seems we will have a face-off between Superman and Dr. Manhattan. When Dr. Manhattan appeared in the "Watchmen" universe, it was said of him, "The superman exists and he's American." He is about to go toe-to-toe with a Superman from Kansas.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #2

Aug 24, 2018

Tynion has made me a fan of this title, and I cannot wait for issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #3

Sep 28, 2018

Justice League Dark is definitely worth it. This story is only going to get better as time moves along. Jump on the bandwagon now before it is too late!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark (2018) #4

Oct 19, 2018

Overall, I am happy with JLD, and I cannot wait for The Witching Hour part five.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #23

Jan 26, 2018

It was the standard story where the villain with a god complex shares her plans (and inadvertently the way to defeat her) with traitor who helped her. But, what makes this issue appealing (and this arc) is the inclusion of another Alan Moore character in the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #24

Feb 16, 2018

I felt that Caitlyn's story in this arc has been fantastic. Promethea, an Alan Moore creation, was underwhelming used in this issue. And, Batman is back.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #25

Mar 2, 2018

Read this if you love Black Canary brutally calling out Batman on his behavior and motives.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #26

Mar 16, 2018

Great end to an interesting arc. Sad to see Lobo go, but excited for the future of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #27

Mar 30, 2018

I like how Orlando is deepening Ryan's character. This whole god of superheroes thing can be very interesting, but executed poorly will be yet another bland story about the JLA facing gods. I wish Orlando the best and I am very excited about this new direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #28

Apr 13, 2018

I really enjoy this story until Ahl is in a panel; otherwise, it is an extremely fun and action-packed story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #29

Apr 27, 2018

This is a good issue for the finale of this title. I like the idea of the Justice Foundation, and I am eager to see this is incorporated into other titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Milk Wars: Doom Patrol/JLA Special #1

Mar 2, 2018

Even for the craziest of plots, I love how I feel like an inspired kid after reading this due to the subplots. Even today, I feel encouraged and strong. On that alone, this issue is a success.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Ragman #5

Feb 15, 2018

The art was beautiful while the story was lackluster. Thankfully, the end of this miniseries is coming soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ragman #6

Mar 15, 2018

Overall, it is a good conclusion to an underwhelming series. I appreciated how this series dealt with veteran's issues, but it struggled with a coherent plot and the pacing was abysmal. Although I feel this miniseries underperformed, I feel that this is a good re-introduction of Rory Regan into the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #1

Feb 21, 2018

This is one of my favorite issues since the start of Rebirth. I highly recommend that you buy and read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #2

Mar 21, 2018

Overall, Liam Sharp has done it again. Enough said. Get it and read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #3

Apr 18, 2018

This is another solid issue. It is not as action packed or flashy as the previous two, but seeing Bruce be a detective is worth the slower pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #4

May 16, 2018

Overall, I felt that this issue did what it needed to keep the momentum of the story going.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #5

Jun 22, 2018

Great issue and I am excited to read the finale!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #6

Jul 20, 2018

I completely enjoyed each issue of this series. The art is spectacular. The plot is deep and intriguing. The mythology is engaging and enlightening. It is a solid issue, and this miniseries is just great. Liam Sharp, great work!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #18

Feb 23, 2018

Solid and fun issue. Nothing better than seeing Grandpa Bruce, Grandpa Clark, and Grandma Diana.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #19

Mar 16, 2018

It is an incredibly fun issue with a crazy plot twist at the end. You should read this arc for the sheer fun of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #20

Mar 30, 2018

It is a lot of fun seeing the Trinity banter with each other during a battle. However, it is a pleasure to see them act not just as teammates but as a family.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #21

Apr 13, 2018

Overall, it was a fun issue and I am excited to see what happens next. Even with a slightly confusing nonlinear plot, it is always fun seeing the Trinity fight some monsters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #22

Apr 27, 2018

I liked this issue and this arc overall. However, I am sad that this is the finale and that this title has come to an end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016): Witching Hour #1

Oct 5, 2018

Crossovers are hit or miss for me, but the first issue of The Witching Hour is a strong start for this crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More