Bryan Brown's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Word Of The Nerd Reviews: 12
7.4Avg. Review Rating

5.4
Battlestar Galactica (2016) #1

Aug 3, 2016

In the end this did not put me off completely on this new volume of Battlestar Galactica. As a fan I remain intrigued by these characters and their stories. It is nice that Cullen Bunn did a nice job treating the characters and franchise with an amount of respect. It just would have been nice to have a truly fresh story without so many recollections from past episodes. I am a fan of Bunn's work, but this isn't going to be an issue he's remembered for. This issue is just good enough to get you coming back for at least issue two. That second issue has a lot riding on it if Dynamite plans on making this series a hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blood and Dust #1

Aug 3, 2016

If Blood & Dust continues on this course readers are in for a treat in the coming months as this series unfolds. Just what is lurking in the swamp and what connection does Judd have with it? There are questions to be answered and stories to be told in this book and I cannot wait to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Bombshells: United #1

Sep 6, 2017

In spite of the confusion I had with the story, it is the overall message it tells that makes Bombshells United #1 so enjoyable. Having an interest in World War II history was a big draw for me to this issue and the Bombshells in general. I will have to make it a point to pick up the first series in trade. I can see where Bennett may be going with the story line and has my interest through the first story arc at least.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Convergence: The Atom #1

Apr 10, 2015

The story is a little hard to push through in the beginning, but does finish strong and offers a startling revelation at the end. My love of Ray Palmer aside, I didn't find this book particularly strong but again not completely without merit. After reading several other titles in the series, this clearly wasn't my favorite but the story will have some significance later on. For those not wanting to buy every single issue of Convergence, you can probably skip this one even with the big reveal at the end. Do some Google searches and you should be fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Dastardly And Muttley #1

Sep 8, 2017

So far, I haven't been impressed with many of DC's Hanna-Barbera reboots, but Dastardly & Muttley might be the best so far. Just one issue in, it is hard to determine how well this series may work out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #28

Sep 13, 2017

Robert Venditti and the rest of the creative team have really put together a stellar issue, with a thoughtful story and gorgeous art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Jem and the Holograms #1

Mar 27, 2015

SophieCampbell and M. Victoria Robado's artwork is truly the star of this issue. Colors and character design were amazing and fit the 80s subject matter spot on. Swirls of color, bright heavy eyeliner and neon hair colors nearly made me have a joyful seizure. Jem and The Holograms #1 is an explosion of color but sadly not an explosion of story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #1

Aug 4, 2016

Kill Or Be Killed #1 is very well written and illustrated, but it's hard to know whether it will have mass appeal for an ongoing series in spite of having everything going for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Star Trek: Boldly Go #1

Oct 20, 2016

Star Trek Boldly Go #1 is a delight to read and is visually stunning. Fans of Star Trek will be caught up in the potential story to come while casual readers should find this issue a satisfactory experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Star Wars Adventures #1

Sep 6, 2017

For someone who specifically avoids all-ages comics, I'm going to keep reading Star Wars Adventures at least through the first story arc. I not only enjoyed it, but I will be reading this one to my kids. Star Wars is as hot as ever right now and anything remotely associated gets gobbled up by fans who then beg for more. As a fan, I am begging for more Star Wars Adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Superior Iron Man #7

Apr 20, 2015

After Secret Wars is finished destroying and recreating the Marvel universe, I am hoping for a more solid Iron Man title.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #1

Sep 20, 2017

As easily as this story was to predict, I hope that Gail has a few surprises up her sleeve to use that will make up for a weak first issue. I was so excited to read this and perhaps that's where the fault lies, with my expectations. Here's hoping that it was I who missed the mark on Wonder Woman/Conan #1.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More