C. A. Wylie's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 21
8.7Avg. Review Rating

10
Ant-Man & The Wasp (2018) #4

Aug 8, 2018

This issue was fantastic and I was hard pressed to find any fault with it. So I gave it a perfect score. I really wish this series wasn't a mini.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ant-Man & The Wasp (2018) #5

Sep 9, 2018

This one of the best series I have read this year, if not the best series. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #22

May 3, 2018

This was a strong, well-executed issue. The art was good and the writing was on point, with it connecting to earlier arcs in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) #24

Jul 1, 2018

This issue was a great read and the creative team knocked it out of the ballpark. I wouldn't mind seeing them as the regular writer and artist, but I think they are just filling in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batgirl (2016) #25

Aug 23, 2018

Bennetts tale does a good job of showing what Babs and Dicks on and off relationship is like. Paul Dinis tale of Batgirl versus the March Harriet was really well done and gives an origin for Harriet, who Dini created. The art in all the stories was well done. This issue had some great artists in Derenick, Panosian, Pelletier, and Lupacchino. I would have to say that I enjoyed Pelletiers work best, but is probably because I am a longtime fan of his like I said earlier. The series appears to be in very good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) #26

Sep 3, 2018

This is the best issue of Batgirl I have read in a long time. The new creative team is on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batgirl (2016) #28

Oct 30, 2018

I am loving this run. This is the best run on the character since Simone left the series. Read this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batgirl (2016) #29

Dec 3, 2018

The first arc of Scotts run has been fantastic. I cannot wait to see what happens next. Buy this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Batgirl (2016) #30

Jan 8, 2019

The second arc is off to a great start. Scott has proven that she is well versed in Batgirl history.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batgirl (2016) #31

Feb 3, 2019

This book continues to impress me every month. Scott and Pelletier are a powerhouse creative team. Buy this book!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batgirl (2016) Annual #2

Sep 6, 2018

Mairghread Scott knows her stuff and weaves an interesting tale of sibling rivalry gone wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #1

Jan 24, 2019

The first issue drew me in with its differences. I am curious where Boom! Studios will take the story. It was a strong first installment that kept the heart of the original, but gives it a modern flavor. Looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 12: The Reckoning #3

Aug 27, 2018

Overall, I thought this issue was very well done. The writing and character moments were awesome. The art has improved a bit and we were left with a good climax. Really, the only reason I deduct points for this series is because I am not wowed by the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 12: The Reckoning #4

Sep 24, 2018

This series gave a nice end to the long-running Dark Horse seasons. I am sad to see it finished. It left me wanting more. But I always want more Buffy the Vampire Slayer, so that's nothing new.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Captain Marvel (2019) #1

Jan 11, 2019

The first issue was very good. I am very interested in seeing where Thompson goes with this dystopian plot. I want to pick up the second issue, and thats exactly the reaction a first issue should give. Looking forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #14

Oct 25, 2017

This series is a must read in my opinion. Orlandos writing is always on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchblade (2017) #4

Apr 10, 2018

This series is off to a great start and I highly recommend it for new and old Witchblade fans alike. I am a big fan of the original series, and the new version does not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Witchblade (2017) #6

Jun 19, 2018

This series has an interesting lead character bu what it is lacking in clarity. While the art is nice, it doesn't always convey to the reader what is happening. This story has lots of potential and I would like to see it get there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Witchblade (2017) #7

Aug 28, 2018

The series lacks cohesion in the storytelling. The art is inconsistent inside the book, while beautiful on the cover. This series has a lot of promise but hasnt really gotten there yet. I hate to say this because I love to give new things a chance, but I miss Sara Pezzini.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Witchblade (2017) #8

Oct 5, 2018

This book has potential, but it's not meeting it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Witchblade (2017) #9

Nov 18, 2018

I really, really miss the old Witchblade. This one isnt doing it for me.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More