Carter Hutchison's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Bin Reviews: 8
8.2Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Action Comics (2016) #1001

Aug 2, 2018

All in all this issue is the most enjoyable Bendis Superman issue thus far. Bendis is on a mission to flesh out all of Metropolis (in the same way that Gotham is it's own character in the Batman books) and looks to do so in the pages of Action Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #50

Jul 11, 2018

But the biggest strength of this book is giving everyone in the Flash family their own little time to shine. Wally finds it within himself to again become the fastest man alive. Personally, I am a kid of the 90s so Wally was my Flash growing up. Seeing Wally return to the fastest of the speedsters hit me in all the nostalgic feels. Kid Flash also grows in his powers and is able to get himself and his Aunt home safely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #51

Aug 9, 2018

Overall this is a very enjoyable issue and does a great job of not just being an epilogue to Flash War but furthering the story of the DCU as a whole and sending Wally away for the moment on a high note.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Future Quest Presents #12

Jul 20, 2018

All in all, I highly recommend this book and this series. If you know the characters in detail, there are wonderful Easter eggs throughout that will satisfy your nostalgia cravings. But even if not, Jeff Parker does an excellent job of crafting a fun and easily accessible thrill ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #2

Jul 11, 2018

Overall this book is a must read in my opinion and I can't wait to see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice Vs. Masters of the Universe #1

Jul 20, 2018

At the beginning of this week I did not plan on picking up this book, much less loving it. But this issue easily won me over and the tease of Darkseid at the end will have me coming back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Scooby-Doo Team-up #40

Aug 9, 2018

Swamp Thing also works great as a character for Mystery Inc. to meet. Daphne and Velma even joke for a panel that they already met and unmasked a Swampthing. Hilariously, Velma explains that was Swampthing, not Swamp Thing. This self aware moment of humor feels right out of the cartoon. And as Daphne remarks, it's nice to see a giant swamp monster of Mystery Inc.'s side for once.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Superman (2018) #1

Jul 11, 2018

Seven issues into the Bendis Superman run and it is still struggling to find it's footing. Here's hoping that Bendis is setting this up for a major turn around, but for right now the S on Superman's chest is the only hope to be found.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

May

April

More