Christoph Staffl's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Rogues Portal Reviews: 14
9.5Avg. Review Rating

9.5
No One Left To Fight #1

Jul 3, 2019

No One Left to Fight #1 sets up an intriguing world, with fascinating characters. Each of them comes with a rich history, which results in some conflicts that we need to explore throughout the next issues. After reading the first installment, the story could go both ways: either a remarkable, intimate tale into a heroes psyche or an exciting premise that quickly falls apart because of a strange emphasis. I am leaning towards the first one and will be glad to pick up issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
No One Left To Fight #2

Aug 7, 2019

What I am trying to say is: There is no reason you should not pick up No One Left to Fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
No One Left To Fight #3

Sep 4, 2019

I just hope we don't move from place to place with each new issue, but instead spend some more time with the new characters, their surroundings, and therefore explore everything on an even deeper level. But so far, No One Left to Fight has been a fantastic journey, and I can't wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
No One Left To Fight #4

Oct 2, 2019

As was the case with previous issues, the artwork in No One Left to Fight #4 is to die for. First, we get to experience the mystical forest, then a shift in tone and colors as we get the short scene with Fargie and the kids (is that a band waiting to be founded?). And the finale just looks otherworldly. Just look at the details of the character designs. Every hair seems to be placed with care and minutia. Add the colors, and you get a magnificent-looking comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
No One Left To Fight #5

Nov 6, 2019

The only downside: it ends way too soon, which is just cruel. But the journey we've made through the last five issues feels complete at the end. Even though some questions remain unanswered, it's best to end on a high note. Whatever might come next marks the beginning of another arc. Maybe we even get to discover the world of No One Left to Fight from another perspective. Or perhaps this really is the end of it all?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Spawn #296

Apr 24, 2019

At first, I was a bit hesitant about this issue. Reading through all of Als history could be a bit of a drag. However, Spawn #296 proves me wrong. The creative team delivers a fun and engaging ride, and I cant wait for the next issue to come out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Spawn #297

May 29, 2019

That being said, I am glad that the history lesson is done, and we can continue on with the actual story. Only three more issues to go and we arrive at 300. I can't wait to see what McFarlane has in store for us. But it sure as hell will be good. He even reunites with Greg Capullo to bring us an oversized anniversary issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spawn #298

Jun 26, 2019

Spawn #298 prepares the world and the characters in it for the upcoming anniversary, and sometimes it shows. But for the most part, I enjoyed the issue. Not just because of the great artwork, but also because McFarlane draws a bigger picture through the conversations in this issue (pun intended).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Spawn #299

Jul 31, 2019

The action sequences make sense; the art is gorgeous; and the appearance of long-forgotten characters is a treat for long-time fans like me. However, the anniversary next month had me hoping to get a bit more out of the issues this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spawn #300

Sep 9, 2019

If I had one wish, though, I would ask for Sam and Twitch to return. Maybe next month this wish already comes true. Who knows. Here is to 300 issues of Spawn and 300 more!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Spawn #301

Oct 16, 2019

So far, I am not disappointed in the anniversary — and record-breaking — issues of Spawn. I very much look forward to the next issues. Quite like X-Men, a new era lies ahead of us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Spawn #302

Nov 6, 2019

The black-and-white back-up story, concerning She-Spawn, gives the issue a fresh look and feel. Hopefully, she gets to do more in future issues. Finally, I want to mention letterer Tom Orzechowski as McFarlane honors him at the end. Since Issue #1, he has been the letterer of Spawn, and the comic would not be the same without him. He guides us so smoothly through Als adventures, and the best lettering is the one you dont notice at all. It is just there, and it works. So here is to all the letterers: thank you for putting all those different voices in our heads!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spawn #303

Jan 1, 1970

Finally, we get two backstories at the end of this issue both with very different vibes. I am a bit concerned, but also intrigued. As I said, let's see where the story takes us. That's it for now; have fun reading this newest issue of Spawn!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spawn #304

Jan 13, 2020

Still, something else comes to the surface as well: Al might not know everything. It is a simple fact, but because of its simplicity, even more critical. The main character's viewpoint is just that: a viewpoint. Nothing more, nothing less. The last words of the issue come from Mark Rosen, who has played a key role for quite some time now. His intricate knowledge of the characters in this world are refreshing, and I can't wait to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More