C.J. Pendragon's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geekery Magazine Reviews: 19
8.2Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Abbott #1

Jan 24, 2018

ABBOTT holds a tremendous amount of promise; there's lost love, political niceties and supernatural happenings, a little something for everyone. With the first issue of a five issue run coming out January 24, 2018, I have to demand you drop your phone and get down to your local shop. This isn't a mystery you're going to want to miss. After all, sometimes we need a reminder that there are things out there scarier, and more dangerous, than people who are just a little bit different than we are.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Adventure Time: Beginning of the End #1

May 24, 2018

All I know is that leaving Jake on the floor crying for Finn isn't the way I want to leave the story. I'll be picking up the next issue to watch what sort of trouble the mischievously bold and daring duo get into in order to have a reunion of bad puns and heartfelt sentiment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Analog #1

Apr 9, 2018

Analog #1 is a sneak peek into a not-so distant future where privacy has been stripped from everyone across the globe, and the dangerous lengths that some people will go in order to intercept the little bit being smuggled in by Ledger Men. With an air of quiet danger and intrigue,Analogpromises to be a thrilling action-packed story that may hit just a bit too close to home.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Creature of the Night #3

Apr 18, 2018

BATMAN: CREATURE OF THE NIGHT is a whirlwind of a story. Touching upon heavy and delicate themes beyond the normal death and corruption that riddles Batman comics, Busiek and Leon also weave a strong web concerning mental health and coming to grips with the darkness that lives inside us all. With a mysterious tombstone in the family plot, politicians like Jack Crowder who are just a little too clean and familiar characters appearing in new places, CREATURE OF THE NIGHT offers up an intriguing tale of what it means to lose everything…

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Nightwing vs. Hush #1

Jun 8, 2018

Prelude to the Wedding is an emotionally resonating story that focuses on not just the action between Nightwing and Hush, but on the consequences the news of the upcoming Batrimony is having around Gotham. How will Batman's greatest villains react to hearing about his nuptials? With a startling reveal from Hush, Dick is forced to open his eyes and take a closer look at the things that matter most to him.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Sins of the Father #1

Feb 21, 2018

There's hope, though. The plot thickens as the issue progresses, and the overall story promises to be at least slightly thrilling with a few interesting developments along the way. I'm not going to write Sins of the Fatheroff just yet, as Ienco and Gage are talented and come recommended, but I'll be holding my breath. Here's hoping I don't turn purple before they deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bingo Love #1

Feb 15, 2018

Join their journey, and don't forget your bingo marker; you never know when you'll hit jackpot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Bolt #11

Mar 9, 2018

If it isn't on your pull list, I suggest you fix that. Be it digital or hard-copy, Black Bolt is an emotional, adventure packed roller-coaster that holds so much promise within its pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer: Age of Doom #1

Mar 27, 2018

Black Hammer: Age of Doom #1 will be in stores April 18, 2018. Picking up at the thrilling cliffhanger from the 2017 Black Hammer series, this new creator-owned story is pushing the limits of what our heroes know and hold dear. There are secrets hiding out on their peaceful, isolated farm.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Crosswind #6

Jan 5, 2018

It could never be said that Simone is a less than stellar writer, and crosswind is the epitome of all the aspects a good story needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Delta 13 #2

Jun 22, 2018

With a story about humanity, right vs wrong and the alluring draw of the unknown,Delta 13 checks all the boxes needed to become a recommended must read. Steve Niles and Nat Jones have presented one of the better science-fiction horror stories of recent times, and it'd be insanity to miss it. But be careful, not everything is as it seems, and maybe the crew should have just listened to Sanders this one time…

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Goosebumps: Monsters At Midnight #2

Jan 8, 2018

Overall, Goosebumps MONSTERS AT MIDNIGHT was a fun throwback read thatll be a perfect comic for children, and for adults on a nostalgia kick or in search of a light read. The writing was enjoyable and read smoothly, and the illustration team presented a beautiful comic to look at. Definitely recommended, and Ill be adding it to my weekly list as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Gotham City Garage #8

Jan 25, 2018

It never feels rushed, and there's humor mixed in with a very real sense of danger that'll appeal to even the most steadfast of readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Gravetrancers #2

Jan 29, 2018

And theres something strange going on with the family who run the cemetery. Something that has dirty cops running to protect themselves, and has to do with a pit that is home to terrible things. I assure you, Gravetrancers is a real thing, and not one you want to turn your back on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gravetrancers #3

Apr 25, 2018

GraveTrancers #3 hit the shelves April 18, 2018 and it's not so far gone that you can't get caught up on the story. The Fallon siblings should be mourning and moving on from the death of their father, but I doubt this is what Maribel had in mind when she set out on this ‘therapeutic' trip with her younger brother. Now instead of facing the past she's been trying to escape, she's facing a future that is probably going to end in thirty seconds or less.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Skip to the End #1

Jun 4, 2018

Skip to the End is a masterpiece, and you'd be crazy to pass it over. Jonny is ready to relive the past in order to move on with his life, but the magic of music is in its ability to transport you to another place. As a bassist, Jonny knows that better than most. He just didn't know how true it was. And there's something just a little… off… about his sponsor…

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Tangled (2018) #1

Feb 21, 2018

While it's obviously written for a younger crowd, TANGLED was a fun read and I recommend it to children of all ages and gender.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Further Adventures of Nick Wilson #1

Jan 17, 2018

The Futher Adventures of Nick Wilson has a solid creative team behind it, and there's no way for it to disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Venom (2018) #2

Jun 15, 2018

Venom #2 is an excellent story-building issue. With just enough action and just enough backstory, you're treated to a masterfully presented story that gives you exactly the right amount of information to keep up with the characters in the story without giving away future issues. This give and pull of past and present will be crucial in aiding to the creative teams success for this newest Venom run, and I expect high praise to hail them as it unravels. The next issue will be out June 27, 2018 and trust me: You do not want to be the one missing out on this.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More