CJ Pendragon's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sirens of Sequentials Reviews: 23
8.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
A National Story of Minor Significance #1

Sep 12, 2018

With unsettling honesty about his superheroine in distress fetish, suicidal thoughts and the steps he takes to learn to compartmentalize his cluttered past and let it go, A National Story of Minor Significance is a change in pace from the preachy, feel good guru books on the shelves. For anyone struggling with depression, suicidal thoughts or bad habits like clinging to the past, BJ Mendelson and his Wonder-Woman clad sidekick walk you through his journey and simple steps to move on to your future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
After Houdini #1

Nov 6, 2018

Overall, I lovedAfter Houdiniand place it high on my list of must-reads. Jeremy Holt is a talented writer and his work never fails to transport you to another time. This one in particular is an entertaining, attention-grabbing journey that will have you holding your breath and turning the pages for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All We Ever Wanted #1

Dec 12, 2018

And if there's anythingAll We Ever Wantedimpressed upon me, it's that sometimes one person is more than enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aphrodite V #3

Sep 19, 2018

All in all, Aphrodite V is definitely one for your pull-list. With this issue being the third to release in a monthly manner, theres still plenty of time to catch up before the fourth issue hits shelves October 17, 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bone Parish #1

Aug 15, 2018

With horrific content mixed with scarier undertones of what one woman will do to secure her family's place on top,Bone Parish is a must-read for anyone in the comic book fandom. More than just another horror genre story, it touches on the longing regrets we all hold within ourselves, the desperation that we sometimes let drive us, and shows us exactly how dangerous a bad trip can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
FISK the S.U.B.S.T.I.T.U.T.E. #1

Dec 1, 2018

FISK the S.U.B.S.T.I.T.U.T.E. is available on Comixology now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Going to the Chapel #1

Sep 3, 2019

Going to the Chapel #1 was such an entertaining comic. I got swept away in the nuanced emotive storytelling and found myself pleasantly and genuinely surprised by the plot twist at the end of the first issue. While the broad idea may seem like a tired trope, I can promise you that there is not another comic series in the current market quite lik this one. It'll appeal to a very wide range of audience with it's blended genres of action, adventure, crime and romance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Goodnight Paradise #1

Jan 3, 2019

Goodnight Paradise, as a whole, is a wonderfully touching story for everyone who enjoys crime stories, or stories about humanity. Theres so much more within the pages than youd expect to find and its a must-read. The creative teams dedication and passion for Goodnight Paradise are evident in every panel, and the entire series is available now!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
High Level #1

Feb 22, 2019

High Level has everything you need for the perfect story; a badass main character who also gets to be a woman, beautiful aesthetics, stellar writing, interesting characters, mystery and an intriguing journey thats going to take Thirteen, her new cargo and readers on a trip that will make them question everything that theyve ever known. Ill be addingHigh Level to my pull, and unless you want Thirteen busting you across the face with a shattered bottle, Id suggest you do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Highspot #1

Apr 2, 2019

All in all,Highspotis a fun and quick read. It won't be as satisfying for those looking for complex plots and unexpected twists of surprise but for a fan of speedy thrills and quick-paced action, it's perfect! There's still a couple of days to catch it here on Kickstarter and I have to admit, I think you'd be missing out by not checking it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lab Raider #1

Jun 16, 2019

Lab Raider is a twisted love letter about the darker side of animal rights activism. We need to take steps to rescue mistreated animals from humanity but what steps should we be taking to make sure we don't lose our own humanity in the process? Or, as Jeanette seems to wonder sometimes, should we be worrying about that at all? With the questions of ethics swimming in her head and a horrifying discovery in the locked, top-secret basement of a targeted laboratory, Jeanette is likely on a fast track to finding out exactly how far is too far"

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Megatomic Battle Rabbit #1

Sep 26, 2018

I dont think Id be interested in following Megatomic Battle Rabbit myself, but I know both of my kids will. Its a fun read thatll be thrilling for a younger audience, or an older fan who loves space adventures and oversized anthropomorphic creatures!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mountainhead #1

Aug 15, 2019

Something is happening up on the mountain and it's headed towards the idyllic town Abraham is living in.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Poser #1

Sep 1, 2018

Overall,Poseris going to be the next big thing for Waxwork Comics. An indie slasher that centers around youthful rebellion, good music, and humanizing flaws, it promises to hold unexpected twists on the journey that lies ahead. Don't wait to jump on the bandwagon:Poser #1hits stores September 5, 2018 and you want to be on this from the start. If you're not" well, you know what they say about people who join in on the newest trends:

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Poser #2

Oct 3, 2018

I do think this issue has a more human element to it. In the aftermath of Maddy's murder, we see a lot of emotions. We get to witness the consequences of Ash's self-destruction, see her relationships fall apart and take a peek into the true character of a few other characters as well. It was like a glimpse into the reality of a scene that we don't often get to see; the humanity of punk-rock music isn't just rebellion, it's emotional highs and lows, it's interactive and it's always, always real. And witnessing the reactions to a psychotic murder puts an interesting spin on that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Poser #3

Nov 7, 2018

Poser #3 is in stores today, November 7, 2018. A monthly release, it's worth the few extra dollars to bask in the nostalgic horror that most mediums seem to veer away from nowadays. If you're into slasher horror, punk rock music or just really, really good story-telling, then this is a book that should already be on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Poser #4

Jan 14, 2019

With a surprise twist at the end, Poser #4 was an absolutely beautiful wrap to whats been one of the most fun comics of the past few months. Short and sweet, it hits fast and hard, leaving you with your head spinning and your pulse pumping, much like the scene at the center of it all. But I wouldnt be me if I didnt find a way to pull a message from the story: theres a heavy note of anti-bullying under the words of Poser and how the actions we take upon others can have devastating effects on people. For more stories that touch upon messages for humanity, take a look at All We Ever Wanted: Stories of a Better World, an anthology that some of the creative team can be found in!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rainbow Brite #1

Sep 30, 2018

Overall, Id recommend Rainbow Brite #1 to any child or adult who has nostalgia in their hearts. Its an empowering story for young girls, and girls of color as Willow herself is a black girl, that I feel would be welcomed with open arms and hearts by the targeted demographic. Rainbow Brite is the sort of story we need to bring in new readers, and to invite children to fall in love with the source content like many of their parents did at their age, and thats a bonding experience that stays with you for a lifetime. A fun, humorous and adventurous epic, Rainbow Brite is going to be a wonderful success for Dynamite Comics and the creative team behind it. It goes on sale October 3, so try not to miss it at your LCS!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rainbow Brite #2

Nov 14, 2018

Wisp has been whisked to relative safety to another world, one that's normally bright and colorful, but is now devoid of

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Plot #1

Sep 7, 2019

Overall, The Plot #1 is a must-read. With touching themes about family, loss and grief mixed in with long-buried pasts and secrets, it's almost guaranteed that it turns into an emotional rollercoaster that has you on the edge of your seat, with your heart in your throat and jumping when the cat gets in your lap. We see in the first issue a small exploration into adolescent angst, family dysfunction and the challenges of returning to a place where you have a past. A visually gorgeous first issue with top-shelf storytelling, The Plot #1 is absolutely required reading for anyone who claims to be a fan of comics or horror.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Shepherd: Apokatastasis #1

Oct 31, 2018

All in all, I enjoyed The Shepherd and would highly recommend it to anyone who likes supernatural comics or ones that explore death and the afterlife. It is, at its core, a story about family and vengeance and the risks were willing to take for the people we love the most.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unstoppable Wasp #2

Sep 29, 2018

I cannot recommend The Unstoppable Wasp #2 highly enough. If you're a younger reader, a parent or someone who just enjoys empowering and fun stories, then this is definitely the book for you. I, for one, cannot wait to read what happens next and to watch Nadia and her new friends burn the patriarchy in the science world and rewrite history.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unstoppable Wasp (2018) #1

Oct 15, 2018

The Unstoppable Wasp #1 is a fun and entertaining read with some more mature themes in it. They're dealt with pretty well, and I don't think it would make a younger reader ask too many questions but parents may want to read ahead just to be sure for their own child. At any rate, it's a definite recommendation from me for anyone looking for a comic for their young teen, regardless of gender, or for a new take on a character we all love. Legacy characters can be tricky, but Whitely and Gurihiru handle Wasp deftly in this issue, and I have every reason to believe the following run will be just as delightfully well-done and pleasant to read as this.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More