Cody Archbold's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch, Shoot The Breeze Comics Reviews: 16
8.0Avg. Review Rating

10
Captain America (2017) #695

Nov 16, 2017

The real Steve Rogers has returned in a wonderful first issue that reminds us of the ideal hero we should all strive to be. If you didn't enjoy Secret Empire, NOW is the time to pick up Captain America again!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #28

Sep 15, 2017

This issue took half the time to read than it usually does, because its just that engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #26

Jul 8, 2017

Rami, an unemotional man and Volthoom, a man with powers driven by his emotions forming a friendship is a fun concept. They act as foils and play off each other well. And the history of the Green Lantern rings are fleshed out a bit more as well. And the design of the Plant Elemental Green Lantern is such a cool design and I really want to see more of Calleen in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #27

Jul 20, 2017

A fun set up to a multi part story. And if you're not one already, this issue will make you a Jessica Cruz fan

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #28

Aug 2, 2017

Bringing in a diverse cast of aliens with interesting dynamics makes this a gripping continuation of the previous issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #29

Aug 18, 2017

Jessicas frustration at her own lack of experience and teaching skills make her incredibly sympathetic. This is one character, who I absolutely want to succeed. And it is incredibly satisfying when she does!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns #30

Sep 7, 2017

The New Lanterns are being killed off before a significant attachment can be made. They're mostly just there for Simon and Jess' development, but they had so much potential. Ultimately, they're barely more than red shirts.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #31

Sep 23, 2017

The art just shines when the characters are expressing emotion. Seriously, when Simon and Jessica smile, I smile.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #24

Jul 12, 2017

Let's be honest, we knew this would happen. Though I really like the relationship between some of the opposing Lanterns, especially Guy and Arkillo. Hopefully, the two corps don't turn on each other over the actions of a few. Its too interesting to see them working together.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #25

Jul 26, 2017

The previous issues built up to this beautifully. A great end to one story. And a promising beginning to the next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #27

Aug 26, 2017

The art in this issue is some of the best I've seen in a while and the ending really has me excited for the next issue

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #29

Sep 30, 2017

One of the best things about Green Lanterns are the creativity of their constructs and diversity in fighting styles and this issue conveys that quite well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #30

Oct 29, 2017

Hal Jordan fights Superman in an action-packed issue, visually and emotionally satisfying from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #31

Nov 16, 2017

An interesting, tense climax and an emotionally satisfying ending make this issue a great read for new and longtime GL fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps: Rebirth #1

Jul 7, 2017

A very quick read that introduces everything you need to move forward without going so in-depth that it feels like a massive info dump that's confusing to new readers, or anyone who needs caught up, while also being a nice refresher for longtime fans. And for Hal Jordan fan's, his confidence in the face of what seems like a hopeless situation is the perfect example of what makes him a Green Lantern.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
KFC: Across the Universe #3

Jul 18, 2017

One of the funniest advertisements I've ever read, but unfortunately, it's still just an advertisement.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More