Connor Russell's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 17
7.4Avg. Review Rating

6
'68: Jungle Jim #1

Apr 3, 2013

All in all I thought this issue, although not amazing it was decently executed. It has done its job in raising my curiosity and my need to have it satisfied. It is a series that I would like to continue reading because I want to see how everything is going to be done. I know fans of horror and zombies will love this. The biggest annoyance is how much the character talks to himself, it was kind of off-putting. We get it, the guy is possibly insane…

View Issue       View Full Review
8
'68: Jungle Jim #2

May 1, 2013

This issue really has sold this series to me, in fact I'm interested in going back and reading the previous volumes set in this world. Any fan of horror and zombies will enjoy this book and even if you feel tired of zombies, I recommend to at least check it out. Things really look like they are about to escalate, which is something I enjoy seeing develop. Get on it. Oh and I'm glad that my fears of “Jim” being an experiment of sorts looks to be completely wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
'68: Jungle Jim #3

Jun 6, 2013

I have been enjoying this series and honestly cannot wait for the final issue. This team work together really damn well and Mark Kidwell has sold the '68 series to me, I want to read the others in the series. I recommend this book to anyone a fan of horror or just zombies in general. Especially if you people are fans of gore.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
'68: Jungle Jim #4

Jul 11, 2013

Fans of zombies, the ones that want to see the violence and gore (none of that Warm Bodies and World War Z crud) than this is definitely the story that you want to read. This will appeal to fans of horror and action. I can easily recommend this to people. This issue and the series overall was a good one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Akaneiro #1

May 23, 2013

While I wasn't overly impressed with the book as a whole, I can say that it has me in enough that I want to see where they will go with it. Maybe only read this book if you are bored and don't have a great load of anything to do, because in my opinion you aren't missing out on much.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Akaneiro #2

Jun 27, 2013

This issue hasn't really done anything in the way of adding from what was offered in the previous one. Don't get me wrong it isn't bad but it definitely doesn't kick much above the average bar. I am thinking of checking the game out however, with being able to explore the world myself I may get a better feel for everything. Still check it out if you haven't got much else to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Akaneiro #3

Jul 31, 2013

I know it seems I picked a little more on the negatives and I'm sorry if it seemed a little one-sided but that's how I felt. There are some positive pointers to this team on this trio of books but to me it still sits as an overall average as the downs outweighed the highs. I may check the game out, I don't know.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ballistic #1

Jul 10, 2013

I'd love to know where these guys came up with the world portrayed in Ballistic because it's messed up and its awesome. As a first issue for a series it delivers all the punches and has sucked me into wanting to see more and reading this as it continues. I cannot recommend this book to every comic reader as I believe it will have a small niche market, but if you like weird than check out Ballistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Constantine #1

Apr 4, 2013

Now I've been speaking on this as a new reader to the character. I haven't had the opportunity to read Hellblazer (don't hate me) so I can't compare. But as a new reader I did enjoy this issue. I am more interested in the character now and want to see how he works. I found this to be a pretty strong issue and you know what, I couldn't find something wrong with it, though that's probably just me. But I think it works well as an introduction and with that I cannot fault it, although it doesn't have that “x-factor” to be perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Constantine #2

May 9, 2013

As I said I am a new reader to this character so don't hate on me if I like something that isn't “true” to the character. I enjoy it and I want to continue reading it. If you are new to our hero, check it out. Old fans? Check it out anyways, you never know.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Constantine #3

May 11, 2013

I've enjoyed what's been put out so far and I hope this creative team sticks around for a while longer because I quite enjoy it. Yes I say this as a new reader to the character but what of it? I enjoy what is in front of me and what I read impresses me, and that's all that matters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
King Conan: Hour of the Dragon #1

May 29, 2013

This book has done everything that an issue one should do, especially issue ones for arcs or mini-series in an already established franchise. They are meant to hook new readers and share what we are missing out on. This book has made me want to check out more Conan; in fact I may go buy a collection soon. Seriously, check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
King Conan: Hour of the Dragon #2

Jun 27, 2013

Again I am impressed with my exploration of the world of Conan the Barbarian and I do mean it when I say I want more exposure to this world. I can recommend this to new readers of Conan and I'm sure established fans would like to check this out as well, it's just so well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Legend Of The Shadow Clan #4

May 9, 2013

I am excited to see how this first arc will conclude. It’s going to be intense and I'd really like to see how Smith achieves this. This series has so far continued to deliver in all areas and I really hope that standard continues. Any fan of action or ninjas will enjoy this series. Seriously if you haven't yet, check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Peanuts #3

Mar 27, 2012

I think that these creative teams have done Schulz justice and that they have breathed new life into his beloved characters. They definitely echo the ways of the original man and reading something lighthearted I found was a really good change to most things that are out these days. It is a comic that will delight fans of old and bring in fans anew. And as a treat for the older fans and those that wanna compare to the original, there are some of Schulz's original strips in between the stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Shadowman (2012) #6

Apr 3, 2013

This book just hits it on all the right notes. I think this may end up sneaking up and being a huge hit this year, I know that’s a big call but it really is starting to show so much promise. Six issues in, I really hope Valiant can keep it up. Do yourself a favor, pick up Shadowman, you can't go wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Deep Sea #1

May 22, 2013

My main problem with The Deep Sea is even though it says it is a one-shot, it isn't really. At the end it says "End. (for now)". This slightly annoys me because it isn't truly a one-shot and self-contained story; it's obviously going to lead into a graphic novel or mini-series. Just do it as that; an issue one or the first chapter for a graphic novel. Sorry I'm nitpicking again. I am interested in seeing where the story is going to go and I will continue to read it. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

6th

June

More