Crown's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: IGN Reviews: 10
8.0Avg. Review Rating

6.4
Astonishing X-Men #25

Jul 2, 2008

The good news is that the majority of the book's problems don't seem to be the lingering type (unless you're one of the people who doesn't like Bianchi's artwork). It's been a very long time since I was disappointed by a Warren Ellis penned story, so I fully expect this title to rebound with a strong second issue- hopefully by taking the arc into a less superficial, more distinct direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman #673

Jan 30, 2008

Obviously, I continue to enjoy Morrison and Daniel's run on Batman. Morrison, being firmly in his element, won't win over any of those few remaining people who don't appreciate his manic style here- but for the rest of us in the majority, this series is proving a strong example of why we adore his stories in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman #674

Feb 27, 2008

Morrison with his cerebral plotting definitely rewards the careful reader and as we head into the promised Batman R.I.P arc, he and Tony Daniel have been quietly putting together one of the best Batman runs in the character's illustrious history. This is great stuff people, great stuff- and if you haven't already, you owe it to yourself to buy all of the back issues and jump on board, because it appears that we're heading towards something even greater.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Conan the Cimmerian #1

Jul 16, 2008

Ultimately, I'm sure that Conan the Cimmerian will prove a solid staple for Dark Horse just like its predecessor did. The artwork is clean and inviting, while the writing is pretty much a spot-on homage to Howard's original vision. It's just that Cimmerian #1 chooses to tread water as opposed to properly set the series' new themes into motion. As it is, after one issue, Cimmerian already finds itself trapped in the same monotonous hole that marred the last two years of Conan stories (Hand of Nergal aside), opting to revel in the Conan myth rather than simply entertain.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fables #69

Feb 6, 2008

Fables is the type of book that makes you wish you were a part of the story yourself. It somehow manages to tickle your inner-child while still challenging the critical-thinking aspects of your mature mind. If you aren't reading it, then go back and buy all of the trades- you won't regret it. If you are reading it, then you already know what I'm talking about, and good for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Fantastic Four (1998) #556

Apr 9, 2008

I don't mean to say that this version of the Fantastic Four isn't a modern comic in its overall presentation, just that Millar and Hitch seem to understand what makes for a proper FF story. The dialogue isn't nearly as stilted and the artwork is much more realistic, but this story still manages to feel like one of the old classics. I hope Millar keeps this technique prevalent through his run on the series as it provides an absolutely stellar counter-balance to his heavier titles, and is without a doubt as much fun as anything he's written in the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Northlanders #1

Dec 5, 2007

I really can't wait to see where Wood takes this story. There is so much potential here, that this book could undoubtedly become yet another long running Vertigo classic. While there is more than enough swordplay and drama to appease the typical historical fantasy fan, Northlanders also holds enough weight to satisfy those looking for the extra dose of reality Wood famously packs into his critically acclaimed comics. If you are even slightly interested in historical fiction, or for that matter, political thrillers I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men (2004) #205

Nov 29, 2007

All in all, Messiah Complex might just be one of those rare events that actually lives up to its massive amount of hype. Color me surprised, but thankful.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men (2004) #207

Jan 23, 2008

I realize that my opinion seems a bit all over the map, but I guess that's what happens when you're conflicted. While I don't like being forced into buying six new titles every month in order to finish the full story, I still can't help but be intrigued, and in the end I'd be lying if I said I didn't enjoy Messiah Complex on a whole. When it comes right down to it, the fact that I'm even at all torn over this is a proper testimony to how great the Messiah Complex truly was. MC was good enough to make me reconsider my ironclad beliefs about the role of crossovers in the comic book industry, and I'm sure that I'm not the only one who feels that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
X-Men: Legacy (2008) #208

Feb 27, 2008

I've had a subscription to the adjective-less X-Men since the very first issue, when I was only nine years old. In fact, the book was the very first comic I ever put on a pull list. While the quality of the title has been all over the map over the last 17 years or so, I've always had a vested interest in it because it was one of the main attractions that brought me into the hobby to begin with. With that said, I'm glad to see Carey, Eaton and Romita bring it back to some semblance of importance. One can only hope they keep the quality of this issue throughout the rest of their run.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More