Daniel Boyd's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: BGCP Reviews: 17
6.4Avg. Review Rating

8
Black Panther (2021) #1

Nov 26, 2021

Overall, this is a solid first issue. Frankly it is worth picking up for Alex Ross' stunning front cover alone, but you will also find a compelling plot setup on the inside along with the enduring, charming characters that we all know and love from the Marvel universe. I am looking forward to seeing where this run goes and will definitely be picking up future issues when they drop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
BRZRKR #1

Mar 3, 2021

Overall, I enjoyed getting to review BRZRKR #1. It is a fun first issue that any fan of over-the-top action comics will thoroughly enjoy. It is not going to deliver a highbrow look at what it means to be mortal in the way that Watchmen does, but at the same time it is not trying to. It is trying to be an in-your-face action comic full of fun and it totally delivers on this front.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
BRZRKR #2

Apr 28, 2021

Overall, I was disappointed by BRZRKR #2. After the first issue released, several people online voiced concern that things could go downhill for this series after the novelty of the Keanu meme wore off and sadly it seems like those concerns were valid.  However, I really hope that the next few issues can turn things around and get this story back on track as I really enjoyed the first issue and would like to see this book do well.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
BRZRKR #3

Jun 15, 2021

Cool page layout, just a shame that cavemen conquering murder sprees weren't what we signed up for.Overall, this may not be the worst issue in the series so far, but as it follows the first two, it will likely leave you frustrated and fatigued by the end of it. This series really has to pick up with its next entry, otherwise I feel that a good amount of people who were initially on-board with it could give up on the series, myself included.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
BRZRKR #4

Oct 4, 2021

Overall, I was hoped that when I read BRZRKR #4 for review, it would be the saving grace of this first volume and finish on a solid, strong note. Sadly, this issue is not what it needed to be at all and just seems like such an anticlimactic way to end the first story arc of a brand new comic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
BRZRKR #5

Oct 5, 2021

Although we are still yet to see the return of adrenaline pumping action seen in the debut issue of this series, this more introspective, slow-paced style works wonders for the character of Unute. This issue has somewhat redeemed this series for me and actually even has me once again looking forward to seeing where this story goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
BRZRKR #6

Dec 21, 2021

Overall, I am happy to say in reviewing BRZRKR #6 that this series is finally delivering on what it promised readers almost a full year ago. This is a fantastically written issue that delves deeper into the character of Unute in an interesting way and it left me excited to see where this series will go in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
BRZRKR #7

Feb 24, 2022

In summary, this probably is not the worst issue of BRZRKR that has been released thus far, however it is also far from the best. This issue sort of feels akin to a filler episode of one of those drawn out TV shows that goes for 24 episodes per season. It certainly fails to make the reader feel any of the buzz that the last issue managed to achieve.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cyberpunk 2077: You Have My Word #1

Apr 29, 2021

Overall, the first issue of Cyberpunk 2077: You Have My Word achieved its intention of recapturing the feel of the game and managed to set up an intriguing story whilst doing so. It also established the foundation of some potentially stimulating characters and therefore I think that this issue is well worth a read. I am also curious to see where the story goes and will be picking up the next three issues when they drop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Far Cry: Rite of Passage #1

May 31, 2021

Overall, I really enjoyed this first issue and how well it tackled the themes of legacy, pride and chaos. It not only got me even more hyped to eventually play Far Cry 6, but also made me feel more clued up as to who these new characters are and helped me to start to understand their mind-sets and perspective. Every villain is the hero of their own story after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
God of War (2018): Fallen God #1

Mar 12, 2021

Overall, I am pretty disappointed after reading the first issue of God of War: Fallen God for review. Not enough engaging elements are present to really hook the reader. It takes a lot to make a character like Kratos boring, yet somehow Chris Roberson has managed it here. This is one to skip whether you are a God of War aficionado or not, hopefully the series will pick up a bit as it progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
King In Black: Captain America #1

Mar 4, 2021

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed taking a look at Captain America: King in Black for review. The battles that ensued in the issue, both physically and internally were fascinating to see unfold and the artwork complimented Danny Lore's well told story exquisitely. This is a series that I will definitely be keeping up-to-date on going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
King Of Spies #1

Nov 18, 2021

King of Spies #1 will release on the 1st of December and will be available wherever comics are sold.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nuclear Family #1

Feb 26, 2021

Overall, I really enjoyed getting to review Nuclear Family and is a series that I will definitely be following in the future. Stephanie Philip's writing and Tony Shasteen's artwork really drew me into the world of the story and has left me wanting more. I think that this will certainly be a series worth keeping an eye on in the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Trek: The Mirror War #1

Oct 21, 2021

Resistance is futile, if this is not one of your guilty pleasures you're missing out on the current Trek-a-thon with this, Discovery Lower Decks, Prodigy, Picard and Strange New Worlds all giving Trekkers the well-rounded universe they have been demanding for over 50 years.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Joker (2021) #1

Mar 23, 2021

Overall, I enjoyed getting to read Joker #1 for review for the most part. The actual Joker story in the issue was intriguing and well-written and I am looking forward to seeing where certain aspects of the plot will go in future issues. The artwork in this portion of the issue was also stellar. However, the Punchline segment somewhat lets the issue down and is uninteresting and somewhat of a slog to read through.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
The Killer: Affairs of State (2022) #1

Feb 25, 2022

Overall, I am hugely disappointed with this first issue. I have been looking forward to reading The Killer: Affairs Of The State #1 for review for some time and I wanted to like it so badly! Unfortunately, this first issue let me down. Hopefully the series can pick up and improve in quality through the rest of its six-issue run.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

More