Danielle Lemos's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 9
9.4Avg. Review Rating

10
Conan the Barbarian (2019) #1

Jan 7, 2019

Conan the Barbarian #1 was a spectacular issue and one I will very likely read and reread throughout the year. As single issues go, this feels an easy contender for either a Top 10 or Top 20 of the year. In terms of comic series, the same applies. When the run on this comic concludes, the creators will have made something magnificent to behold and one of the greatest comics of the 2010s-2020s.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Exorsisters #1

Oct 21, 2018

This was a fun read and the ending to the mystery felt very satisfying. Cate and Kate are exciting characters and it'll be great to learn more about them in future issues.Pick this up at your local LCS or through Comixology.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Exorsisters #2

Nov 24, 2018

Exorsisters #2 is a very good issue and I recommend picking it up wherever possible. It is a not to be missed issue if you've picked up issue #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Shatterstar #1

Oct 5, 2018

Shatterstar #1 is an excellently made first issue and it has me hyped for issue #2. It is a neat retooling of a Shakespeare play. Pick it up at your LCS or through Comixology.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
West Coast Avengers (2018) #1

Sep 10, 2018

West Coast Avengers #1 is a can't miss book. The team behind this really hit it out of the park and I am excited to read every single issue. Kelly Thompson continues to have a deft hand at creating a dissonance between comedy and danger which makes for a great reading experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
West Coast Avengers (2018) #3

Nov 3, 2018

West Coast Avengers #3 is an absolute must pick-up. It'll help you feel good during a dark time. I can't recommend enough reading this series. It has given me so much joy since the beginning. Issues can be found at your local LCS or through Comixology, with trades likely coming soon. As individual series go, I believe this will be among the top 5 in 2018 for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
West Coast Avengers (2018) #4

Nov 27, 2018

As with the previous issues of West Coast Avengers, #4 is a must-buy. It feels unreal how good this series has been.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
West Coast Avengers (2018) #5

Dec 11, 2018

I'm glad for what happens in this issue because it truly felt necessary. A comedy series like this needs that emotional shake up every so often to allow the reader to gain insight into the characters' personalities. Otherwise, the characters would have felt like they lacked depth and were at best caricatures.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
What If? (2018): X-Men #1

Oct 6, 2018

If you're a fan of Bryan Edward Hill, you'll enjoy this issue. Even if not, I still think it's worth picking up and giving a read.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More