David Fairbanks's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 29
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8
Adventure Time #16

May 28, 2013

As always, the backups provide a great place for some lesser known talent to shine while bringing a style to Adventure Time that probably wouldn't be allowed for a full book. Honestly, most of the time the backups are my favorite parts, and Sina Grace and S. Steven Struble's "Opposite Day" and Reed, Grant, and Jai Nitz with Pranas T. Naujokaitis have a cute two-page in "Ninja Princess."

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Alabaster: Wolves #3

Jun 25, 2012

Dark Horse has a gem on their hands here, one that will probably be consistently enjoyable for as long as Kiernan, Lieber and Rosenberg want to keep it going; do yourself a favor and pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Blue #1

Feb 22, 2012

But don't just take my word for it, go see for yourself! Grant has the whole thing online at www.boltonblue.com, and if you like it, Top Shelf will be shipping it out in March.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Change #1

Dec 10, 2012

Add on Sloane Leong's colors, from the muted blues of the space scenes to the sterility of Sonia's agent's office to the vibrance of the late-issue action scenes, and it becomes clear that Change is another addition to Image's growing stable of comics being produced by masters of their crafts.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Conan the Barbarian Burns with Life and Love #1

Aug 8, 2012

I don't know that I could've asked for a better introduction to the Conan mythos, though I worry I've been spoiled and that wherever I go next won't hold up to Dark Horse's latest installment. Worst case scenario, I suppose I'll just have to wait for issue #7, as it is sure to be epic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Daredevil (2011) #20

Nov 26, 2012

This is yet another in a string of great issues; easily one of the best books Marvel is putting on the stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Darth Vader and Son #1

May 16, 2012

Jeffrey Brown seems to have a knack for knowing just exactly how to tug at the right heartstrings with his autobiographical comics; whether they're stories of relationships (his "Girlfriend Trilogy"), growing up (Funny Misshapen Body), or even just simple comics about his cat (Cat Getting Out of a Bag and Other Observations), he's carved himself a home in many readers' hearts and bookshelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Demon Knights #5

Jan 16, 2012

Myself, I think I'll pick up my copy of Seven Soldiers or The Demon Omnibus the next time I want to read the adventures of Etrigan or the Shining Knight. Should I expect more from Demon Knights than an average D&D campaign with DC licensed characters? Should you?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Doctor Who: Dave Gibbons Treasury Edition #1

Sep 14, 2012

You'll need to weigh whether $10 is a reasonable price for about 70 pages of oversized Dave Gibbons artwork that, but for me, it was a no-brainer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dracula World Orde #1

Jun 13, 2012

My only complaint is that we live in a world where it isn't economically feasible for DWO to have been released as anything more than a single issue at this time and it feels like it really belongs as the first chunk of a graphic novel. Brill promises to keep going for as long as he's got it in him, but the final page left me thirsty for more much sooner than they'll probably be able to deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Edison Rex #1

Jul 4, 2012

Edison Rex was a bit of a roller coaster for me, but it ended on the high point of a hopefully comedic adventure comic that has me curious about where it's headed. And the price point is at the magical $1 that I can justify for digital content, so they'll probably have a hold of me for at least the first story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
EmiTown Vol. 2 #1

Feb 22, 2012

One of the biggest strengths of the book is that the times when it hit home for me were when it was reminding me that maybe I'm not crazy; when we see the little neuroses we have show up in others, it's a reminder that someone else has gone through the same crap we have and made it through to the other side. Emi Lenox is a stellar cartoonist and certainly one to keep your eye on in the future. Like Keatinge said, she's just going to get greater.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Feynman #1

Feb 1, 2012

Ask most of America to name a physicist and those who don't draw a blank will probably respond with either Einstein, Stephen Hawking or most likely a character from The Big Bang Theory. If you're lucky, they might say Carl Sagan. But the physicist that many of us plucky physics majors wanted to become most was usually one Richard Phillips Feynman. A lover of life and simplicity and art and music and women, Feynman was also one of the most brilliant physicists in the history of humanity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Glory #30

Nov 26, 2012

Glory is still quite fun -- I'll be sad to see it go when it's done -- but it certainly feels like it's dragging its tail a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
King City #1

Mar 22, 2012

King City is the cleverest comic you can buy right now. When it was coming out in singles, it put everything else I was reading to shame. At $20, you can't go wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Multiple Warheads: Alphabet to Infinity #1

Oct 23, 2012

Strange is Graham's modus operandi, and with Multiple Warheads he gives us strangeness, violence, love, sex, and puns -- oh god, the puns! -- in what I would call a career-defining work for anyone else. For Graham, it's just business as usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Multiple Warheads: Alphabet to Infinity #2

Dec 3, 2012

My only real complaint is that, although they are fun, I generally find myself less interested in Nura's adventures than those of Nik and Sex. The interludes are not bad by any stretch of the imagination, though, I just don't think they are for me right now. That said, I do feel like the Nura story is amping up and going to go somewhere interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prophet #24

Apr 26, 2012

I can't remember having this kind of excitement for a comic since I was a kid. I feel I must again remind you: John Prophet has a tail.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Prophet #31

Dec 3, 2012

The latest issue gives us a fair bit more insight into the war between Old Man Prophet's army and the Earth Empire, keeping me excited for when (if?) that comes to fruition, and Milonogiannis keeps killing it on art. He has a unique style that wouldn't fit in on many books, but it feels right at home here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents Vol. 2 #3

Jan 23, 2012

There's really not much more to say, other than that T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents continues to impress me every month. It's not amazing, but it's certainly more enjoyable and fun than the bulk of comics that come out every week.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #16

Dec 3, 2012

Kuhn's pencils give some pages an almost Mignola-esque feel to them, and I am really impressed with the series and the stories it looks like they are wanting to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Bulletproof Coffin: Disinterred #1

Jan 24, 2012

Mostly self-indulgent ramblings can be found at @bairfanx and untilsomethingbreaks.blogspot.com.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The October Girl #1

Jul 4, 2012

I'll be keeping my eye on The October Girl, especially at $1 for ten pages. A dollar is that magical price point where I won't really feel like I've lost much even if I end up disappointed, but I'm hoping for something amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
The Only Living Boy #1

Aug 8, 2012

The Only Living Boy isn't so much a bad comic as a painfully adequate one. As the first chapter of what appears to be a much longer story, it could get better, but it's got a long way to go before I consider taking a look at the series again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Underwater Welder #1

Aug 1, 2012

The Underwater Welder is a beautifully crafted tale of one man's need to make sense of his past and accept himself if he has any hope of being prepared for his future. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Unwritten #43

Nov 26, 2012

Carey yet again teaches us not to get too attached to any characters that aren't Tom, Savoy, and Lizzie as more secondary characters bite the dust and Tom's quest to discover who he is and why he exists carries on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Wake #1

Jun 5, 2013

My only real complaint is that this first issue is almost wholly build-up, which makes me worry that Snyder's going to do his usual and drag out a five-issue story over the course of this ten-issue miniseries, but the fact that we have three different timelines going on -- two of which we have only just glimpsed -- makes me think that The Wake will feel just as rewarding ten months from now as it did in this first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
TMNT Villain Microseries #2

May 28, 2013

Flashback scenes to Stockman's relationship with his father bore a very different art and coloring style, serving as nice breaks while we glimpse Stockman's past and discover that he's the kind of man who plays the long game, meaning that while his role in this issue wasn't the most interesting, he could become a pretty big player in the grand scheme of things.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wild Children #1

Aug 8, 2012

I could try to describe it all to you, but really it's something that needs to be experienced. 

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More