E.A. Sofia's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicosity, Comics Bulletin Reviews: 9
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Archival Quality #1

Mar 18, 2018

Archival Quality is worth reading for the topics addressed and the horror element. I do very much hope that Ivy Noelle Weir and Steenz get to tell more stories in this world that we only get a glimpse of in this volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bombshells: United #1

Sep 17, 2017

The previous Bombshells series was one of my favorite comics and Im looking forward to reading this one as well. This book is attempting to address incredibly important topics, and that always comes with the nervousness of whether the story can live up to its promises. Superheroes exist to do the right thing and help others, and that should include looking at the bad things done in our own society, not just other societies. I hope this series will live up to the high expectations that come with the topic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Exiles (2018) #1

Apr 14, 2018

Exiles #1 was an enjoyable read. I was a bit confused regarding why this issue wasnt longer, as many introductory chapters often are, because it would have offered more time to set the stage before the last-page reveal. In any case, there was enough here that combined the old and the new, the personal and the epic, the familiar and the weird in ways that inspire curiosity regarding future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Kim & Kim: Love is a Battlefield #2

Aug 30, 2017

I'm definitely looking forward to the rest of this series, including learning more about these characters and their multiverse. I would suggest reading the previous four-issue series (which has also been released in trade paperback) first, and then this one. Kim & Kim is a welcome bit of fun in a time when some more joy is needed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ms. Marvel (2015) #27

Feb 18, 2018

The Ms. Marvel series manages to be consistently sincere in its humor and optimism, even while tackling difficult subjects. There are many times when Ive opened an issue of Ms. Marvel with trepidation, due to a subject matter being handled or where story arc seemed to be headed. Although I have my favorite issues and my criticisms, the series has been consistently wonderful. This arc and solicits for the next few issues are making big promises, and I cant wait to read them. As I say at any opportunity: if you like superheroes, read this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #704

Feb 21, 2018

Im still very much looking forward to read the next issues of this series to read the ending of a story that Ive been enthusiastically following for years. Im hoping that maybe the ending of this series will have the time to narrow the focus to the personal for what feels like it needs to be a personal story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #2

Jul 16, 2016

Dear reader, if you are (like me) a long-time superhero fan and new comics fan who often wonders where in the world (or superhero multiverse) to start reading the stories of classic characters like Wonder Woman: This series seems promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-Men: Grand Design #1

Dec 25, 2017

Grand Design is what a retelling can look like when done incredibly well, with the history of these famous characters retold in a way that appreciates the originals and acknowledges how the passage of time has made these stories into a mythology that warrants the creation of this type of book in the first place. X-Men: Grand Design is on my pull list, and I recommend that fellow X-Men fans add it to theirs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Red (2018) Annual #1

Jun 4, 2018

The X-Men Red storyline has been compelling thus far, and I thought this annual chapter didnt live up to the high standards of the series introduction. Im still looking forward to the rest of this series, but I hope that the themes introduced here are further explored in the main story. For readers who are trying to decide whether this book is worth following, Id say that this issue a non-representative chapter of what the story has been like so far in terms of themes, tone, and artwork; I suggest reading the first four issues for those looking to determine if this book is a good fit for them.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More