Emmet Davis's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 9
8.8Avg. Review Rating

9
Batman: One Dark Knight (2021) #1

Dec 21, 2021

Throw away the skepticism towards another Batman book. Jock does all the work, all you have to do is enjoy a fast paced ride through Gotham City. The Dark Knight reigns supreme in DC Black Labels latest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dark Knights of Steel (2021) #2

Dec 7, 2021

I did not expect to love this series so much, but a killer first issue and a follow up Dark Knights of Steel #2 that's just as good, if not better, I can safely say this is one of the best DC books of 2021. Its fantasy on a grand scale, with your favorite DC heroes reimagined. It's still the characters you know and love but with that slight twist that makes sense for the medieval world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Dark Knights of Steel (2021) #3

Jan 4, 2022

Tom Taylor and co. kick off 2022 the only way they know how: Giving fans one of the best DC books on shelves today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Enter The Blue #1

Dec 9, 2021

When it comes to the comic medium, pick one up with a level of craft unlike many you see on shelves today. You will find an emotional beat throughout that you will learn is inherent. Inherent in everything we do, just like music.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Rain (2021) #1

Jan 10, 2022

A story about love and loss. Told through the idea of nails raining from the sky. Throw out the disbelief in the idea for now and focus on the characters. Focus on Honeysuckle. Focus on Rain #1 and you will find what you may have lost.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Robin & Batman (2021) #2

Dec 14, 2021

We're watching Dick Grayson become Robin. We are watching Bruce Wayne instill his dominance and leadership as Batman. It's bonkers to think that Lemire and Nguyen are creating an established and definitive "origin" story for Dick Grayson's Robin. At this point in the bat birds history? But here we are. One of the best Bat books on the shelves today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Robin & Batman (2021) #3

Jan 10, 2022

Robin & Batman #3 ends this series. It did what was almost the unexpected. Lemire and Nguyen have created a definitive Batman and Robin story, by making a Robin and Batman story. Dark vs Light. Light always prevails.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Swamp Thing: Green Hell #1

Dec 28, 2021

Tired of Batman books ruling DC Black Label? Then put Swamp Thing: Green Hell on your pull list. Its scary, sad and outrageously beautiful to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Silver Coin #7

Dec 7, 2021

The best horror book on comic book shelves today adds another great issue to its collection. The Silver Coin #7 is scary, sad and amazing. Heads or Tales.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More