Erik Koehn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 28
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Black Hammer Annual #1

Jan 17, 2017

There is something in Black Hammer about the inevitable tragedy of the superhero. Something which goes against the very core concepts of the tropes that Black Hammer is inspired from. Yet in this annual as well as in the ongoing series this dynamic push/pull of superhero conventions and our reactions to them works well and makes for one of the most compelling superhero reads in comics today. I put this issue and this series right up there with King's The Vision and Busiek's Astro City. Lemire makes sure to balance the darkness with surreal wonder and touching relatable moments. In this collection that sense of escalating dread and Shakespearean inevitability combined with real touching emotion is on full display and offers a narrative microcosm of what Lemire is working with so well month to month and why so many people put this in their top 2016 list. You should as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Science #23

Aug 2, 2016

The only downside here is that we clearly have a bridge to the next main plot point so this issue doesn't entirely stand on it's own merits. But it is still a fun read, that is beautifully rendered and brings us further into the Onion, deeper down the rabbit hole and more lost in the world of Black Science.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
D4VEocracy #1

Jan 28, 2017

D4veocracy feels like the inevitable escalation of the previous volumes. This first issue is a satisfying and entertaining return to one of the oddest creations in comics these days. And it looks like Ferrier through D4v3 is going to be dealing with some of the biggest issues and highest stakes yet. I'm sure everything in the story will work out in end. Nah, it will probably be terrible won't it? Butthorn!

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Dante (One Shot) #1

Jan 3, 2017

I tend to give anything Hawkins does a chance and I will end up following this story down the road but I just can't recommend this book to anyone. Unless you're really into juvenile power fantasies combined with white man's guilt.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Darkness Visible #1

Feb 23, 2017

I don't want to give anyone the wrong impression. Darkness Visible #1 is a good first issue. Especially if you don't overthink and over-analyze like I do. It is competently written with engaging art. I think most people will like this book if they tried it more than I did. For me, it fails by catering to the shallow aspects of fantasy and detective genres and the plays towards social relevancy comes across like Oliver Stone wielding a sledgehammer while missing the boat on the more interesting discussion of xenophobia and racism in the face of the other.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dept. H #6

Sep 20, 2016

Dept. H #6 is a tightly paced and emotionally moving installment of one of the best books currently being published. It showcases the congruity of narrative tone, shifting temporal setting and story genre that has been the hallmark of the series. While I don't think this issue offers a good jumping on point for a new reader, I can't recommend this series enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doc Savage: Ring Of Fire #1

Apr 4, 2017

All in all, Doc Savage Ring of Fire #1 is a promising start to a new chapter in Dynamite's era of Doc Savage stories. Offering a slightly different narrative approach with a much more palpable sense of emotion and tension than previous efforts. Pulp characters, for me are one of the great joys of 20th century pop culture and I am grateful to Dynamite, Avallone, Roberson, Acosta and all the other creators for knowing that as well. Ring of Fire keeps the adventures of one of the classic characters of the pulp era alive, vital and fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Eden's Fall #3

Nov 3, 2016

Rating this single issue is a problem as it does not stand on its own. You could absolutely pick it up and through the recap and concise storytelling be able to understand what is going on. I do think you would miss much of the emotion and the deeper aspects of the shared universe would be lost. So instead, I say you go and buy ALL the Eden-verse trades and get started so you can really enjoy this issue and this crossover and be all caught up and prepared for when the show hits.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ether #1

Oct 29, 2016

Ether #1 is the start of a story rife with mysteries from beginning to end and from top to bottom. The structure and subtext providing just as much to speculate on as the in-plot murder mystery. Seldom have I read a first issue that leaves as much to ponder as this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters International #9

Oct 4, 2016

The magic of Ghostbusters Internationalis that in addition to the fun, imaginative and witty supernatural exploits you should expect it also appeals to all fans, regardless of your age or entry point to the franchise. New movie, old movie or the cartoons. It's all Ghostbusters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Giant Days #18

Sep 6, 2016

Much like the characters looking forward to their next year I look forward to the future of this book with a sense of wonder and anxiety. Wondering, as always, will Ed and Esther finally get together? Will Susan and McGraw get back together"again? Will Daisy return to her home planet? Giant Days #18 is a perfect issue of a perfect comic. And if you are hesitant to start reading the title now, don't be. The storytelling is so concise that you can start reading this book from any issue and enjoy it. Although if you do I guarantee you'll be buying all the trades after that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
God Country #2

Feb 16, 2017

This story seems to say that it is never too late. You are never too far gone or too old. That you are not completely forgotten even when the world forgets you. That the timeless archetypes of fantasy and superhero are not purely the domain of adolescent fantasies. You don't need to be the special chosen one who happens to be a gorgeous teenager or twenty-something. This is not consolation, it is redemption and hope. One last chance to be a hero and save the universe and have a kick ass brawl against the forces of darkness.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godzilla: Rage Across Time #1

Aug 23, 2016

Godzilla Rage Across Time #1 is a fun and unique start to what looks to be another great franchise comic from IDW. Robinson and Frank could have played it safe and given us a straightforward comic done in a contemporary style but instead have done a wonderful job of honoring various Japanese aesthetics while maintaining a fun kaiju story that should appeal to all fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jem: The Misfits #1

Dec 24, 2016

Jem and The Holograms has been one of my absolute favorite comic books since it's first issue. But this is the comic I've been waiting for all that time. While the comic is at times a bit too wordy with exposition, and nothing much actually happens, it establishes a good story arc going forward and perfectly explains the cast and lets us in on their world. Also shows that Pizzazz is indeed one of the hidden gems (I'm so sorry) in this universe. The Misfits might be a better band and their comic might end up being a better comic. Regardless, The Misfits is a welcome expansion to this polychromatic fantasia.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Low #17

Apr 20, 2017

A critic should never talk about what a story should do or shouldn't do but I can't help it. I want this to be a hopeful story. I want there to be deliverance. The seeds of Stel's optimism has certainly taken root in this reader. So regardless of my problems with this particular issue, buy it and buy the trades.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Magnus #1

May 31, 2017

Magnus #1 is challenging, terrifying and undeniably compelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Medisin #1

May 12, 2017

Medisin #1 is a surprising, disturbing, perhaps even cynical, exploitation of superhero conventions that potentially offers an intriguing on-going story. This is a dense and overly explained first issue. Despite its flaws it's a satisfying single issue read. At the very least you will not feel ripped off by trying. And for those who love dark, gritty, violent deconstructionist superhero stories this might be your new favorite comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Namesake #1

Nov 9, 2016

Namesake promises a lot; a compelling personal story of identity and family set in a universe where the mundane and magical worlds are at odds with one another and anything can happen. Will Orlando be able to deliver on this within a four issue mini-series? I think he has set up enough to peak my interest in this story even if the first issue fell flat. But no matter what I know that Rebelka's art will make any journey into this world gorgeous to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Over The Garden Wall #8

Nov 25, 2016

Over the Garden Wall #8 is a perfect reading companion to that little one that sat next to you and watched the series with you. But for the older members of the fandom looking for a comic set in this universe, you'd be better off reading The Tome of the Unknown collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Regression #2

Jun 14, 2017

Regression might be a book I need to revisit at the conclusion of the arc as many of my complaints might be irrelevant in the context of the overall story. But as a single issue read, Regression #2 is the very definition of an average comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robotech #1

Jul 23, 2017

For new readers not familiar with Robotech, maybe you've heard of this legendary series but never sat down to watch it, I say start with this version. Wood and Turini have crafted a striking new take here without all the baggage and it seems geared towards a more sophisticated audience than what the original series intended. For old fans of the show, if you can come at this with an open mind and give this a chance I think we might be in store for something wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Saucer State #1

May 24, 2017

Whatever hope you might have had about this being either a challenging, entertaining or inventive story ends with the final page as this book, while not only box checking for resonance with the current political zeitgeist, goes for the most obvious cliff hanger. This is less Terence McKenna or the "Jose Chung" episodes of The X-Files. It's more Whitley Streiber by way of Oliver Stone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Green Hornet '66 Meets The Spirit #1

Jul 8, 2017

While many of these crossovers give us exactly what we want, Van Lente and Q offer something a bit unexpected, challenging and crazy. For taking that risk, they should be commended. I only hope the rest of the series lives up to this first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #1

Dec 4, 2016

Wonder Woman '77 Meets The Bionic Woman is a pitch perfect comic for these properties.While the plot may be fairly basic, the creative team's ability to understand and present these characters more than makes up for a light plot. This book is also perfectly safe for little girls. So whether you're an old time fan (like me!) or you want to get something for a young female comic fan that isn't overly violent or sexual and presents strong female characters, this is for all of us. And in a comic culture where the Big Two seem allergic to not having their "heroes" punch and fight each other every month this is a refreshing and hopeful read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #2

Feb 6, 2017

Is Wonder Woman '77 Meets The Bionic Woman #2 as good as issue #1? Considering what this issue has to do mechanically I think it's unfair to judge one against the other. I do think, however, that it is one of the best second issues in a series I have read in a long time and the evolution of this creative team is something to watch out for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #3

Mar 15, 2017

I have read many transmedia/crossover books over the years that have blown my mind; the comic book Ghostbusters International crossing over with The Real Ghostbusters cartoon characters, Dynamite's Swords of Sorrow crossover,. The mind bending and hallucinatory Barber/Scioli Gi Joe vs Transformers, IDW's Revolution, Archie VS Predator, Mars Attacks Popeye. This book now tops that list with each issue. Adding more plot details and a variety of story elements. Always maintaining an entertaining experience that is fresh, fun and surprising with every page turn. Despite all the wackiness and fun at the expense of the properties, what makes this book work is that at its core is a warm and blossoming friendship between the two main characters. Which in this day when most superheroes seem to have a neurotic fixation on fighting one another is absolutely refreshing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #5

Jun 27, 2017

Mangels and Tondora rev up the action and tension but never lose track of what has made this series so special " the emotionally driven storytelling, the friendship between the two main characters and the joyous love of their respective canons.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
WWE: Then. Now. Forever #1

Nov 14, 2016

This is a perfect WWE comic and a perfect wrestling comic. I would go so far as to recommend this to people beyond wrestling fandom as it is a solid comic in its own right. I truly hope we get more of this and while an ongoing storyline is intriguing I would also like to see more anthology type stories pulled from the history of the WWE.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More