Freddie Nero's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 9
6.9Avg. Review Rating

8
Empty Zone #7

Apr 13, 2016

The story and the art have piqued my interest for sure. This is definitely going on my pulllist from now on. I even want to go get the first volume of the collected edition recently released. I highly recommend this book to anyone that handle can some adult content.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
House of Penance #2

May 11, 2016

Writing this eerie book is a veteran. After spending 15 years as DC editor on some major titles, Peter J.Tomasi made the change to writer. He wrote on Green Lantern's Blackest Night and Brightest Day, as well as other DC staples. As good as the writing is, Ian Bertram's depiction of this hellish home and its owner is what gives you goosebumps. Even without something more ominous happening, Mrs Winchester just sitting there is ghoulish enough to haunt you. I'll end this with a thought from a much better writer than myself, Geoff Johns. House of Penance “makes you want to sleep with the lights on… Wraps you around the throat and doesn't let go.” Couldn't have said it better myself. Unless you're a child, I say go pick up this book now… and read it early in the day.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Predator: Life and Death #3

May 5, 2016

I am looking forward for the conclusion of the Predator sequence of this run. I recommend if you have been reading Life and Death to keep reading. If the first 3 issues are any indication, Abnett and Thies are taking us on a wild ride. If you've been living under a rock and haven't been reading, then I rude you to catch up and keep up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Gold Key Alliance #2

May 4, 2016

I recommend this to any one who loved any or all of these characters in the past. For me, Turok was a childhood favorite of mine, so it's a joy watching him again with the others, some I am familiar with, others not so much. Also if you've never heard of any of these characters I recommend it even more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #58

May 12, 2016

To be honest, I haven't been excited about any new Ninja Turtles since the TMNT movie in 2007 and the Michael Bay incarnations to follow have soured my love for them. I even refused to read the Batman/TMNT crossover series, even though Batman is my favorite character. This single issue has changed my views, at least for the comics. If you have ever enjoyed the Ninja Turtles at any point in the last 30 years, I suggest you start reading with me. I plan to stay consistent with this promising series and to catch up on this whole run as soon as I can get my hands on the collected editions.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-O Manowar (2012) Annual #1

May 18, 2016

I definitely recommend this annual to be added to your pull-list on May 19th, especially if you have never read X-O Manowar or have been out of the loop for some time. This is a great jumping off point, so jump in and enjoy!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Assassin's Creed: Templars #2

Apr 27, 2016

Writer Fred Van Lente and artist Dennis Calero team up again for the third time. They previously worked on the Cowboys and Aliens graphic novel together, as well as X-Men Noir limited run. Calero's artwork is noir-ish, fitting the time period. The Black Cross is visually shrouded in mystery but still menacing looking all at the same. Van Lente is crafting an intriguing mystery that I am looking forward to see its completion.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Independence Day #3

May 18, 2016

All in all, if you loved the original Independence Day movie or plan on watching the upcoming sequel (which should be everybody, right?), I recommend you check this series out. Whether it serves as background info, a connector, or a refresher, everyone can enjoy this mini series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Uncle Grandpa: Good Morning Special #1

Apr 27, 2016

I recommend this book to fans of the eponymous Cartoon Network tv show, kids, or those of you who partake in extracurricular enhancers" If you don't fall into those categories, I suggest finding something more your genre.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More