Heather Joy's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicosity Reviews: 31
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Army of Darkness Vol. 4 #1

Dec 3, 2014

I highly reccomend this comic, not only to long-time Evil Dead/Army of Darkness fans, but to newcomers as well. The dialogue is quick and witty, the story is easy to follow and the art is definitely something to write home about. And who doesn't want to see a chainsaw weilding zombie hunter kick a whole bunch of space ass? Especially after that surprising cliffhanger, I can definitely tell that this book is going places.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bitch Planet #2

Jan 28, 2015

Side note:The essay on feminism in the back of the book by Tasha Fierce is incredibly important and I believe everyone from all walks of life should be exposed to it. These are things I believe many of us as feminists have wanted to portray, but have had trouble articulating. Here, it is flawlessly executed in written form.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Widow (2016) #4

Jun 17, 2016

Overall this is one of the most exciting titles on the shelves right now and its painful waiting for the next issue to be released. This team executes with more precision than a surgical team and hits their mark every single time. Black Widow is in excellent hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Captain Marvel (2014) #11

Jan 14, 2015

Considering how much this book keeps improving all the time, I cannot wait to see what Ms. DeConnick has in store for us next. Captain Marvel is so important to all of us, and it's easy to see why.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2014) #12

Feb 12, 2015

Kelly Sue certainly doesn't pussyfoot around with the scientific jargon or space lingo. Star Wars nerds (like me) will especially like this issue as this is very much in that vein. Although a big chunk of this Captain Marvel run has taken place inthe final frontier (yes thats a Star Trekreference), I would very much consider this the spaciest issue to date. Weve got dark matter, weve got hyperspeed, weve got everything from main sequence stars to sublight engines. I hope you fastened your seatbelts kids, because we are punching it into overdrive here in the OMG! department. David Lopez continues to kick the whole thing up a notch with his linework, giving Carol the personality we all imagine her to have. Her facial expressions are brilliantly balanced between elegant and quirky. Thank you guys for another home run, I cant wait to see where this arc takes us!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain Marvel (2014) #15

May 15, 2015

It's a great way to end this storyline, bittersweet and hopeful. I am so thrilled that the power-duo of DeConnick and Lopez will be continuing to collaborate on Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps debuting on June 10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Civil War II #0

May 19, 2016

All in all I have high hopes for this series, as #0 lays the lines down quite simply and yet leaves much to the imagination. We can easily see how it follows in its predecessor's footsteps (and boy are those big shoes to fill) while gifting us with a breath of fresh air in the form of new characters and a brand spankin' new story the likes of which we've never seen. Hold on to your hats, people. It's going to be one hell of a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Convergence: Catwoman #1

Apr 17, 2015

Justin Gray has done a fantastic job at reanimating such a favorite character, breathing new life into a story that has long needed a jolt. This retro-reimagining is exactly what we as long-time fans have needed, and a great window into the past for newcomers. Ron Randall was the perfect choice for the project, delivering the perfect homage to 90s Catwoman while also making her entirely his own. It's a meeting of past and present that is flawlessly executed and I will sing these men the highest of praises for their fantastic work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Convergence: Harley Quinn #2

May 8, 2015

The only downside to it all is that we are left hanging with so many questions. What's next for the Sirens? What becomes of Harley's copper buttoned beau? Let's just hope that it all gets wrapped up somehow in the end, somewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Convergence: Wonder Woman #1

Apr 26, 2015

Something of note is Wonder Woman's costume in this issue. The all white ensemble reminds me of another time Diana lost her powers , the time Diana Prince became a spy! Ah, the good old sixties. Anyway, we do get to see the original costume (or as I fondly refer to it as “wonderwear”) later in the issue when Diana needs to suit up and really kick some ass. Vampire Joker ass, to be exact. Don't ask me to explain, just read it and enjoy it as I did. I promise it'll make sense. Never before, and never again, will there be such an elegantly dark Wonder Woman title. This is mostly in thanks to Joshua Middleton's art (and colors too!) being so twistedly beautiful. Every panel is addicting, a little bit of horror in his style that gives Lara Hama's brilliant story it's edge. I absolutely cannot wait until the next issue, as this story can only sky rocket from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Death Head #1

Jul 16, 2015

The artwork is exactly what you would hope to find in a horror setting. Joanna Estep and colorist Kelly Fitzpatrick leave just enough to the imagination to allow your mind to horrify yourself, all the while granting you the detail and expression to help you get to know these characters without oversharing. The use of shadows, along with other points of subtlety adds just enough mystery to the most crucial of scenes to take you to the depths of your subconscious, leading you into the intoxicating darkness that is Death Head. I have read many horror comics in the past year, but this is by far my favorite.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2013) #21

Oct 16, 2015

Be sure to look out for a strategically placed “Suicide Squad” reference (the upcoming movie, not the comic) which is well suited considering the Deadshot appearance. All in all, I cannot rave about this enough, enjoy everyone!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #2

Aug 17, 2016

Harley Quinn #2 provides such a wonderful detour from the seriousness of most of the other rebirth titles. The flavor of this book is like a bright sour candy that brings joy to your heart and a smile to your face. You can't have a bad day and read Harley Quinn. I dare you to try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #3

Sep 7, 2016

All in all, Harley Quinn is still going strong and only gaining in momentum. The mastermind team behind this title keeps pumping out literary gold and enriching the lives of all who get their hands on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #14

Feb 15, 2017

Jimmy Palmiotti and Amanda Connor just keep rolling out the hits and we keep screaming for more. Its been said time and time again, but in the spirit of giving credit where credit is due- Weve got another winner on our hands thanks to this ingenious duo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #22

Jun 21, 2017

With the recent addition of the one and only Paul Dini to team Harley Quinn, (along with Bret Blevins on pencils and J. Bone inking) on we are blessed with a second story at the end of each issue with Harley loves Joker, a throwback to the original nineties version of our favorite clown girl and her beloved Puddin. Grown up kids of the era will feel nothing but nostalgia, practically tasting the otter pops as they flip through pages of this rare gift of a story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #24

Jul 19, 2017

Its simple, but brilliant. Its easy, yet the depth is obvious. Its fresh, and yet its true to its classic roots as well. The next issue cannot come soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #25

Aug 9, 2017

“Harley Loves Joker” continues to be a delicious dose of nostalgia, getting stronger every issue. Its a little on the lighter side, adding a much appreciated coat of sugar to the somewhat darker portrayal of the Harley/Joker pairing that we remember from the animated series. Its easy to find yourself looking forward to this Paul Dini addition just as much to the regular story each issue. Its a delight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn and Her Gang Of Harleys #5

Aug 31, 2016

All in all, it's amazing that despite this being one of three different Harley Quinn titles on the shelves right now, just how strong the storylines are in each one of them. Jimmy Palmiotti has a huge hand in creating and perfecting the independent and almost heroic version of Harley we know and love today. It's a shame that this title has to end, but I have a feeling this story is going out with a bang. Or maybe the smash of a giant mallet. Or baseball bat. All in all when it comes to Harley Quinn, who could really predict?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellbreak #1

Feb 2, 2015

This is not the first Bunn/Churilla project and this duo still has all their famous chemistry. Keep 'em coming guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Millennium #1

Jan 21, 2015

I'm happy to see Lorimer behind the art as well, keeping the different titles fluid and consistent in their tone. I am already so incredibly invested in this book and it's only the beginning. I'll be waiting all month with baited breath.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shaft #1

Dec 3, 2014

I did not consider myself the target demographic for this story, but I found myself in love by the ending credits. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves characters with depth and a taste for realistic plots.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Gwen #2

Mar 13, 2015

Robbi Rodriguez provides Latour the literary version of a high five with his accompanying modern and gorgeous artwork. Rodriguez's meticulous work with shade and contrast are incomparable, a rose by any other name would not smell as sweet in this case. This book would not be as exciting or stimulating without his imaginative take on Latour's story. Let's not forget Rico Renzi's use of color either, reminding us with a bang of pastels and brights that we aren't in Kansas anymore, or our 616 universe more appropriately.If I had one request, it would be for more spider-gwen because once a month just wont be enough!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #2

Nov 11, 2015

Despite all the humor and warm fuzziness we feel most of the time, there is a darkness that seeps through the colorful pastels and camaraderie. What happened to Peter Parker? It may not be what we were initially led to believe. What role does Harry Osborn play in this grander scheme ? I get the feeling we may fear these answers. My Spidey-Sense is tingling here, the subtext of this visual masterpiece is creeping closer. Robbi Rodriguez and his artwork is on point as ever, painting a world for gwen and the gang that is truly singular. Crack open this book and there will be no mistaking just what rabbit hole you've fallen into. The dynamic duo that is Latour/Rodriguez is sharper than ever and I could not add this title to my pull list fast enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Princess Leia #1

Mar 5, 2015

Its clear that Mark Waid knows what hes doing and was absolutely the right choice for this project. This seasoned writer/artist team has hit yet another home run with their flawless juxtaposition of talent. I cannot wait to read the next four parts of this mini-series and see just how far Princess Leia takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars: Princess Leia #3

May 1, 2015

Terry Dodson's art continues to be one of the most elegant displays hitting the stands today. I remember when I first saw his work on Captain Marvel and I was blown away by the sheer beauty of it. Here on Princess Leia, that grace and elegance is present and captivating as ever. His women are beautiful, but never over the top or unrealistic. Walking that line cannot be easy, but Dodson is a master. He and Mark Waid were the perfect choices for this book, providing us with a visual delight for all the senses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #11

Feb 8, 2017

Suicide Squad is a book that doesnt get enough credit. Since rebirth, it has definitely become an entirely different animal than what it has been in the past without losing any of the charm or ingredients that add up to make these characters work together so well. Each character is given so much depth and personality, which is no easy feat to accomplish in just a few pages at a time. Rob Williams has breathed new life into a time honored story and he is definitely the right man for the job.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #19

Jun 14, 2017

As the book continues to get better and better, the fans have much to look forward to in issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The X-Files X-Mas Special #2014

Dec 24, 2014

Part two may be slightly confusing at first to those not familiar with the X-Files spin-off title, although halfway in I would be willing to bet that this would be forgotten. The story is easy to understand and fall into, making it simple for any- and everyone reading. This story is a little lighter on the holiday theme and a lot heavier on the science fiction, rounding out the fun theme of the first part of the book. Joe Harris and Matthew Dow Smith are a more than a writer/artist team in this issue, they are a force to be reckoned with and I hope to see them join up again in future endeavors.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thor (2014) #3

Dec 10, 2014

Now that we've settled in to the fact that that there's a new Thor in town and that this one's got two “x” chromosomes, it's time to start wondering just who she is. Where does she come from? Why did Mjolnir choose her above all others? I find myself with more questions than answers after each issue, but I believe that herein lies its power. The more we read, the less we know about our helmed heroine. It leaves us desperate as we lust after the elusive truth- ensuring our dedication to this enchantingly revamped series. Thank you Jason Aaron for giving us a badass leading lady we can all root for, in a comic where gender is far from a novelty.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Thor (2014) Annual #1

Feb 26, 2015

The third story Young Thor is the most frivolous. Rob Guillorys cartoon like style adds to the shameless fun in a wonderfully colorful fashion. Fans of Loki will be happy to see him up to his old tricks as well, attempting to manipulate his brother and gain all the glory. CM Punk has clearly been a fan of Thor as a character for a while, perfectly emulating both him and the rest of the cast in a way that fans most desperately want to see. Perhaps not on a full time basis, but this is exactly what we needed at this point in time with all the commotion that is going on in regards to this title. In conclusion, the Thor Annual is a must read for all even remotely interested in the character.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More