Holly Woodbury's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AIPT Reviews: 8
8.2Avg. Review Rating

9
Artie and the Wolf Moon OGN

Sep 6, 2021

'Artie and the Wolf Moon' is a touching, chilling story of family from an affirming perspective.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Cheer Up: Love and Pom Poms OGN

Aug 11, 2021

This book uplifts, affirms, breaks, and warms the heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Funny Creek #1

Aug 10, 2020

'Funny Creek' launches the reader into a dynamic cartoon world, purposely keeping its cards close to to the vest in terms of plot, leaving the reader to discover the world on their own.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Good Game, Well Played OGN

Apr 15, 2022

Good Game, Well Played had quite a lot of potential and wanted to enter the found family space, unfortunately, the family in this book remains lost.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hollow (2022) OGN

Sep 27, 2022

The world Hollow creates is one of affirmation and acceptance, of closeness and community. While it might seem out of place to have a story so full of goodness and heart be in the realm of some of the most iconic Halloween media, I think it fits right in, as a reminder of how we can all be better to each other, in October or otherwise.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Killer Queens #1

Aug 17, 2021

The first issue introduces a cool world -- all we can hope is that we see more of it in later installments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Skybound Presents: Afterschool #1

Jun 7, 2022

All in all, this first segment of Skybound's anthology is chilling, cinematic, and very promising for what's to come. Afterschool is markedly labeled as a "teen horror anthology, so I am curious to see what else will be explored. Anxiety and confidence are at the forefront here in 'Spineless,' and there is a metric ton of things teens go through that can be discussed in fiction. If the storytelling and framing are anything like what we read in issue one, we can bet that what comes next will be scarily good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Yummy: A History of Desserts #1

Nov 30, 2021

A funny, sweet, and heartfelt history lesson about desserts that is perfect for all ages, especially the younger folks in your life.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More