Indiana "Indy" Marlow's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 13
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman/The Maxx #1

Oct 3, 2018

Beautifully done in so many ways. Go treat yourself to a read as soon as possible. Just maybe not right before bedtime, yeah?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman/The Maxx #3

Dec 10, 2018

Confusion aside, Im definitely going to be back for more next month. At least until I go off the deep end myself trying to figure out exactly what the hell is going on, that is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight #8

May 9, 2018

The action is all-out this issue " almost completely from start to finish is a collection of panels that wouldn't feel out of place in a Hollywood blockbuster " while at the same time tying up all the loose ends of promised confrontations strewn throughout the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Call of Duty: Zombies 2 #1

Aug 22, 2018

It's bloody silly but that's pretty much the point, and it serves as a welcome breath of fresh air for horror fans in between online shooting matches.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Metal #4

Dec 20, 2017

It doesn't feel like a throwaway money grabber that certain other companies churn out every few months. Metal pays attention to its characters, goes into detail about the impact on the universe as a whole and builds you up on the hype train to the incredible grand finale that's coming in a few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dead Rabbit #1

Sep 14, 2018

It felt like watching the beginning of a classic Michael Mann crime thriller, albeit with added vigilante masks, and I'm really looking forward to seeing how this one unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #1

Nov 8, 2018

Much like the new series this comic breathes new life into the story and characters while still maintaining the feel of both classic and new Who stories. As the doctor would say herself, "Brilliant!"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor: Year Three #9

Nov 19, 2017

Pasquale Qualano is a good pick too, as he takes the writing and paints a picture which feels like it has been lifted straight from the TV show. The characters are exactly as they appear in real life which aids the transition to comic form, and as soon as I read the first panel I instantly pictured the tones and mannerisms of speech of Capaldi and the like. The sarcastic comments and perplexed look of Nardol, the angry eyebrows with a tender elderly uncle feel of the Doctor slipping into dad humour and the genuine warm down-to-earth nature of Bill Potts are all present here and are all brilliantly done.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kid Lobotomy #1

Oct 17, 2017

Its a curious start, and while it's clearly not going to appeal to everyone, I think this one is a slow burner that will gradually pick up momentum in the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Terminator: Sector War #1

Aug 9, 2018

A great bit of hard-nosed 80s killer robot fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Batman Who Laughs (2018) #1

Dec 12, 2018

This was a real gem of an issue. The dynamic duo of Snyder and Jock is a match made in comic book heaven, a fact which has been proven since their work together on the pre-New 52 epic Black Mirror.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Vengeance, Nevada #1

Feb 22, 2018

Vengeance, Nevada has clearly sparked an interest in me where, like many other indie comics, I can't help but find myself wanting to know more. It's going to appeal to the nerds and was definitely written by one. I get strong vibes of the Fifth Element mixed in with early Brian Singer X-Men and a few other nods you'll pick up on along the way. It just feels like this introduction could have almost been stretched out into three issues rather than just one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016): Witching Hour #1

Nov 7, 2018

As I mentioned above, this issue delivers a great payoff, and one which completely silences any and all doubts I may have had when I first started reading this series. The action is fast and explosive, while also maintaining a solid line of storytelling so that it doesnt feel like everything has been squeezed into this last issue. Yes, I'd have liked to see more of the new recruits like Man-Bat, but at the same time the story ends in a way that shows DC have a lot more in store for this dirty dozen of mages and mystical creatures.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More